Edinburgh History

11 hours ago, luckyBatistuta said:

417E4C43-2C89-46B2-BB1B-91E9FCD62F8A.jpeg

Featuring the Regal Arms in Morrison St opposite Semple St. It was renamed Mackay's Centre Spot

when Gary took it over.

• Replies 19k

• Maroon Sailor

• Radio Ga Ga

• luckyBatistuta

• ¼½¾

On 17/01/2022 at 19:38, Maroon Sailor said:

Freer Street 1964

20220117_193810.jpg

I saw a similar photo showing Harold Wilson accompanied by local “cooncillors” who were showing him the run-down conditions in the old Jamaica Street (since demolished).

Where was Freer Street?

9 minutes ago, PortyBeach said:

I saw a similar photo showing Harold Wilson accompanied by local “cooncillors” who were showing him the run-down conditions in the old Jamaica Street (since demolished).

Where was Freer Street?

Fountainbridge

Freer.JPG.1b2889579cd808267fa51914ddf4f9ed.JPG

7 hours ago, PortyBeach said:

Where was Freer Street?

Sure it was round about where the Tartan Club was.

3 hours ago, Mister T said:

Screenshot_20220124_212910.jpg

I was 12 when that picture taken, seems like yesterday, wartime recovery in process, , trams. busy streets, Woolies on the upper corner in the picture, men with bunnets, and trilbys, and of course it looks like a wind blowing.  No Yanks to get gum and candy from, sweetie still rationed and not a British military uniform in sight. well mebbe one just at the taxi. Aye that was a view that changed through the years with myself as I and it got older.

14 minutes ago, Pap said:

I wonder if thats the 23 or 27 bus they are on. Looks like Hanover Street. Or Frederick Street.

I think you're right with Hanover Street. There's a church with a big steeple at the bottom of the hill down from Frederick Street, plus if you look at the building above the blond guy's heid there's one with arched windows like that on Hanover Street.

27 minutes ago, Pap said:

I wonder if thats the 23 or 27 bus they are on. Looks like Hanover Street. Or Frederick Street.

Probably the 27 as they are from Muirhouse

Montgomery Brewster
45 minutes ago, Pap said:

Hanover street. 
beau brumel sign to the right of the boys heeds, 

cracking boozer 

47 minutes ago, Montgomery Brewster said:

Hanover street. 
beau brumel sign to the right of the boys heeds, 

cracking boozer 

And for everyone who was young in the early seventies, the "SikTekFok" Chinese restaurant which was more or less next door to the Beau Brummel, and better known as the "siktaefuk" by my old workmates. Happy days.

2 hours ago, Pap said:

It reminds me of the Sik Tek Fok Chinese restaurant that was there abouts. 

24 minutes ago, jb102 said:

It reminds me of the Sik Tek Fok Chinese restaurant that was there abouts. 

Had a better look at the picture. That is it just above the guy with the fag. A fine establishment and the starting point for many a good night out.

49 minutes ago, Wonfiveone said:

Had a better look at the picture. That is it just above the guy with the fag. A fine establishment and the starting point for many a good night out.

I couldn’t get the picture into focus. 
I wonder what is there now. 

20 minutes ago, luckyBatistuta said:

Another for @Sharpie

Jimmy Catherwood and Inspector Hugh Ross, early 1950’s

38B487FC-591D-4A93-81A7-6994BB83B7BE.jpeg

Yes I remember them, but they wouldnae be bothered wi' a numbers still wet rookie.

5 minutes ago, Sharpie said:

Yes I remember them, but they wouldnae be bothered wi' a numbers still wet rookie.

A couple of them types were they 🤨☹️

1 hour ago, Boris said:

Is that a young Tom Baker top left?

Yep and Jim Dale two down from him

2 hours ago, Wonfiveone said:

And for everyone who was young in the early seventies, the "SikTekFok" Chinese restaurant which was more or less next door to the Beau Brummel, and better known as the "siktaefuk" by my old workmates. Happy days.

Below street level there was another boozer that I used to drink in in the 80s and when I came back home on a vist years later , I was sad to see it was renamed ( Charlie Chans ?) with bar staff  in tight fitting leather shorts and roller skates having a gay old time. 

Montgomery Brewster
2 hours ago, Wonfiveone said:

Indeed 😀

2 hours ago, Boris said:

Is that a young Tom Baker top left?

17 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Yep and Jim Dale two down from him

I wondered if that was maybe John Hurt in between threm but Im not convinced.

1 minute ago, been here before said:

I wondered if that was maybe John Hurt in between threm but Im not convinced.

It's Laurence Harvey but I've never heard of him

23 hours ago, JWL said:

Right to left. Gavin Hastings, Liz McColgan and Lachie Stewart?

Looks like Laura Muir behind the torch😀

7 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

It's Laurence Harvey but I've never heard of him

Very , very famous in his day. 

The ladies loved him but he didn't love the ladies.