Edinburgh History

7 minutes ago, Dino Velvet said:

At the bottom of craighouse terrace. Next to the wee lane that takes you down to balcaress street. 

We actually lived in Balcarres Street when first married, and still can’t recall it!

• Replies 19k

• Maroon Sailor

• Radio Ga Ga

• luckyBatistuta

• ¼½¾

2 minutes ago, Morgan said:

We actually lived in Balcarres Street when first married, and still can’t recall it!

I can find nothing about it online. It did exist though. My parents still live on that street. 

2 hours ago, 3fingersreid said:

Certainly looks much better then than now to me 

Lunch time was a short trip over the road to the chippy , which would be to the immediate left of the photographer . 

There was also a takeaway shop along to the right , just past Thompson’s Sports , but for the life of me I can’t remember it’s name .

Marv’s cafe? 

1 hour ago, Morgan said:

Much appreciated.

I couldn’t find a damn thing either.

I may have found her for you.

Mrs Betty Millar, the Buckstane Fish-Wife (Photograph by Mr W R Smith)

Looking back he must have made a reasonable living; I've never thought about it until now, but the one omission from the three shopping precincts at Oxgangs Broadway; the Crescent; and Colinton Mains and indeed also the Store (St Cuthbert's Cooperative) at Oxgangs Road North was a fish shop. Indeed the only rival business, which in reality wasn't, because it was just too far away, was the Newhaven Fishwife, who sold her wares at the corner of Riselaw Crescent to her customers at Buckstone, Greenbank, Comiston, Morningside and the Braids.

DSC00554.JPG

40 minutes ago, southcap said:

DSC00554.JPG

Absolutely superb!!  That's her!!

Thanks very much.  :thumbsup:

1 hour ago, Hook said:

Marv’s cafe? 

Marv’s or Marvins wasn’t that more towards Tynecastle ? The one I’m thinking off was towards the old Roxy picture house direction , near Saiyeems take away 

12 minutes ago, 3fingersreid said:

Marv’s or Marvins wasn’t that more towards Tynecastle ? The one I’m thinking off was towards the old Roxy picture house direction , near Saiyeems take away 

Trying to see which direction you’re going in?? Ken what you taxi drivers are like? If it’s heading back to The Roxy, was it the takeaway opp St Nichs School which was the “Wee Shop”. Marvin’s was the only one I could think of being close to Thompson’s Sports.

1 hour ago, Hook said:

Trying to see which direction you’re going in?? Ken what you taxi drivers are like? If it’s heading back to The Roxy, was it the takeaway opp St Nichs School which was the “Wee Shop”. Marvin’s was the only one I could think of being close to Thompson’s Sports.

The one I’m thinking off was along from the wee shop , (remember Thompson’s used to be at Westfield before heading along towards Smithfield street ) It might be marvins but I was sure that was on the same side as white park in the middle of Gorgie rd

Could it have been Marvids ? 

Don’t confuse ALL cabbies with LuckyBatistuta ?????

26 minutes ago, 3fingersreid said:

The one I’m thinking off was along from the wee shop , (remember Thompson’s used to be at Westfield before heading along towards Smithfield street ) It might be marvins but I was sure that was on the same side as white park in the middle of Gorgie rd

Could it have been Marvids ? 

Don’t confuse ALL cabbies with LuckyBatistuta ?????

??I only remember Thompson’s being nearer Smithfield Street - that’s what was confusing me which isn’t hard. 

Tbf LuckyBatistuta has kept me right about some of my earlier dodgy placing shouts on this thread, just as you’ve done here about Marvids, not Marvins.

Still doesn’t get us any further on about the name of the shop 3fingersreid ?. Put it down to never having enough room for any more scran after filling our boots with the stock from C&J Gillies at Balgreen?

18 minutes ago, Hook said:

??I only remember Thompson’s being nearer Smithfield Street - that’s what was confusing me which isn’t hard. 

Tbf LuckyBatistuta has kept me right about some of my earlier dodgy placing shouts on this thread, just as you’ve done here about Marvids, not Marvins.

Still doesn’t get us any further on about the name of the shop 3fingersreid ?. Put it down to never having enough room for any more scran after filling our boots with the stock from C&J Gillies at Balgreen?

Gillies , now there’s a name from the past , George was never overly happy ??

16 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Empire Theatre 1954

406148340.jpg

4213202749.jpg

Edited by Joey J J Jr Shabadoo

On 25/03/2019 at 15:44, Dino Velvet said:

At the bottom of craighouse terrace. Next to the wee lane that takes you down to balcaress street. 

I remember it bud, played around there. My mates house was just along the street on that side (hibs ####:lol:) and another mate over the road in the flats.

On 25/03/2019 at 15:32, 3fingersreid said:

Oggy oggy oggy (sp) 

max boyce on Cambridge St

8 hours ago, Tazio said:

Cornwall Terrace. 

6 hours ago, 3fingersreid said:

You are 100% correct ??

:rofl::rofl::rofl:

On 25/03/2019 at 15:52, Morgan said:

Which number bud?

On 25/03/2019 at 16:43, southcap said:

DSC00554.JPG

Superb work :notworthy:

51 minutes ago, been here before said:

We back to the guessing game again then?

Murrayfield looking towards Haymarket

33_big.jpg.ba86c1f895dca933acfc672627c2afa5.jpg

Edited by Maroon Sailor

57 minutes ago, been here before said:

We back to the guessing game again then?

How about you telling / helping us / others where you think it might be instead of fecking whinging all the time.

Edited by Maroon Sailor

7 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

How about you telling / helping us / others where you think it might be instead of fecking whinging all the time.

What about just saying where the pictures are? Is it really that diffcult?

Theres another thread for guessing where places are. In the meantime point out where Im "whinging all the time" ye slavering dick

1 hour ago, Maroon Sailor said:

39669532660_a9c375b7a0_b.jpg

East Parkside

1 hour ago, Maroon Sailor said:

0_street_views_-_graham_street_1024.jpg

Graham Street

42 minutes ago, southcap said:

image.jpg

Oldest known photograph of people drinking/being drunk/hungover.

Edinburgh 1844.

Middle guy...Meatloaf?

8 minutes ago, been here before said:

Theres another thread for guessing where places are. In the meantime point out where Im "whinging all the time" ye slavering dick

:cornette_dog:

46 minutes ago, southcap said:

image.jpg

2 minutes ago, luckyBatistuta said:

Middle guy...Meatloaf?

:lol: not a bad call that.

I wondered who Meatloaf amd the boy on the right were phoning on their 19th century mobiles.

1 minute ago, been here before said:

I wondered who Meatloaf amd the boy on the right were phoning on their 19th century mobiles.

Have you any idea where the photograph was taken?

4 minutes ago, been here before said:

I think he’s turning to the boy behind to say, I widnae dae that!!!

20 minutes ago, been here before said:

Feck off - some are pretty obvious and others I don't know so puts me in the same position as you ya slavering dick

11 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Have you any idea where the photograph was taken?

Ye Olde Boozer.

12 minutes ago, luckyBatistuta said:

I think he’s turning to the boy behind to say, I widnae dae that!!!

For me, the Meatloaf bloke looks a bit like a fat(ter) John Leslie :lol: 

And, he would never utter the words 'I widnae dae that"!!