• Radio Ga Ga

• luckyBatistuta

• ¼½¾

Montgomery Brewster
51 minutes ago, Tazio said:

IMG_0043.JPG

Good pic. About the only time that part hasn’t been getting dug up !!!

greenside

Radio Ga Ga

One for Bob...

Edinburgh City Police annual inspection Forrest Road Drill Hall 1962

E7F56D53-1D4C-4587-A60E-B31CE3D71017.jpeg

I was there, and that is not me closest to the camera with the leash and a collar. The dog handler with the chin is Bert Shaw. One night at the Park Road entrance to the Park we called for a dog to help us trace a suspect. Bert arrived with his dog, Bert and the dog were both pretty new at the job, and the dog was hyper excited. John Castle walked past them and the dog sprung into action and bit John on the arse. I'm telling you we were almost rolling on the ground laughing, one suspect esc aped because of the dog who was there to catch him. I am giggling to myself now at the memory.

Radio Ga Ga
18 minutes ago, bobsharp said:

I was there, and that is not me closest to the camera with the leash and a collar. The dog handler with the chin is Bert Shaw. One night at the Park Road entrance to the Park we called for a dog to help us trace a suspect. Bert arrived with his dog, Bert and the dog were both pretty new at the job, and the dog was hyper excited. John Castle walked past them and the dog sprung into action and bit John on the arse. I'm telling you we were almost rolling on the ground laughing, one suspect esc aped because of the dog who was there to catch him. I am giggling to myself now at the memory.

Love reading your stories Bob, keep ‘em coming! ?

kawasakijambo
On 30/04/2019 at 18:16, luckyBatistuta said:

Not seen that angle before 

BOAB!!!

Yup, sure do 

It took over the whole block from west tollcross to fountainbridge 

It was called Reds, then Greys

My lawyers letter is in the post 

Minskys?

Edited by kawasakijambo

Stuart Lyon
23 hours ago, Stuart Lyon said:

The last name for the pub in EG Street was Rummers before that it was 

Minskys
Mikes Bar
Manhattan
Red's

Kawasakijambo FYI

6 hours ago, Stuart Lyon said:

Kawasakijambo FYI

Stuart?

See if you quoted folks posts?  They would find and read them a lot quicker. Sometimes I have found replies you have made to myself, days later.

5 minutes ago, Radio Ga Ga said:

The Kings 1914

4C021984-8B08-4914-995F-264DE3DC7C3F.jpeg

Can just see @bobsharp popping into a Bennets Bar for a swift one.

Stuart Lyon
8 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Stuart?

See if you quoted folks posts?  They would find and read them a lot quicker. Sometimes I have found replies you have made to myself, days later.

Ha Ha Morgan just realised I quoted my own post!

17 minutes ago, Radio Ga Ga said:

The Kings 1914

4C021984-8B08-4914-995F-264DE3DC7C3F.jpeg

A shop on the corner of the King's building?  I'd imagine there was one on the other corner. It's a mirror image, with the same window/door arrangement. 

@Stuart Lyon Do you have any previous name for Bennet's?   It's sign in the above photo says 'tavern'. I think.

Edit: Maybe it's something else though. :D

Edited by Lemongrab

1 hour ago, Lemongrab said:

@Stuart Lyon Do you have any previous name for Bennet's?   It's sign in the above photo says 'tavern'. I think.

From the website 

A drinking establishment of some description has stood here since 1839, however it has not always been Bennets Bar.

Bennet's was established as a pub by Marshall's Brewery in 1839 before the Bennet family took it on around 1910. The pub is home to the city's last original gantry featuring four spirit casks, and a series of mirrors with hand-painted tile surrounds. 

Even the bar counter at the back "green room" has a claim to fame - it was taken from Second World War gunship HMS Belfast. At the front, the tiny jug bar remains in use.

Edited by The Frenchman Returns

1 hour ago, Lemongrab said:

This map from 1851 seems to show a brewery on the site of the Kings

https://maps.nls.uk/view/74415500

What is now Tarvit Street seems to have been called Drumdryan Lane with a brewery of the same name where the Kings is. That's if I am reading the maps correctly. However Bennets corner seems empty in 1851

The other excellent, but not quite so famous, Bennets Bar.  ‘Wee Bennets’ in Morningside.

8FAEB744-F9AD-4B83-A882-CA69D3429421.jpeg

Jambo-Jimbo
On 30/04/2019 at 22:20, luckyBatistuta said:

I might be wrong, but I think Reds, Greys was that Mind and Body shop. If it wasn’t that, it was the Dental place next door.

C43E33EE-9B1B-47C1-BC61-84F6BCDCF9DC.jpeg

My youngest daughter worked in that dental practice for a couple of years from around about 2014 when it was called Genix Healthcare, she left due to the traveling through to Edinburgh everyday from the Borders.

On 30/04/2019 at 23:20, luckyBatistuta said:

I might be wrong, but I think Reds, Greys was that Mind and Body shop. If it wasn’t that, it was the Dental place next door.

C43E33EE-9B1B-47C1-BC61-84F6BCDCF9DC.jpeg

It was the wee shop you mention. ?

On 01/05/2019 at 00:13, Montgomery Brewster said:

It’s the dentist. Was also called minskys at one point before greys/reds

Sorry, don’t think you’re right. It was a much smaller place than the dentist.

Stuart Lyon
3 hours ago, Lemongrab said:

The only previous game I am aware of is Marshall's

Montgomery Brewster
1 hour ago, Morgan said:

When it was greys. It had a middle door and on either side of it large booths/horse shoe seats for a reasonable sized crowd. 

The wee place next door is to small. 

55 minutes ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

My youngest daughter worked in that dental practice for a couple of years from around about 2014 when it was called Genix Healthcare, she left due to the traveling through to Edinburgh everyday from the Borders.

Was she just filling in

46 minutes ago, Morgan said:

16 hours ago, kawasakijambo said:

Minskys?

I don’t remember Minsky’s. I also don’t remember if it’s the dental place or the other one and I used to go in regular ?

On Wednesday, May 01, 2019 at 12:03, bobsharp said:

Me tae, Bob and that's 57 years too late.

Stuart Lyon
14 hours ago, luckyBatistuta said:

Was she just filling in

I don’t remember Minsky’s. I also don’t remember if it’s the dental place or the other one and I used to go in regular ?

Earl Grey Dental practice is at 42 EG Street and that was the address of the pub!

2 hours ago, Stuart Lyon said:

Earl Grey Dental practice is at 42 EG Street and that was the address of the pub!

Well done Stuart, you’re the man for the old pubs.

3 hours ago, Stuart Lyon said:

I admit defeat!  Well done Stuart. ?

1 hour ago, luckyBatistuta said:

Well done Stuart, you’re the man for the old pubs.

He certainly is, helped me with loads of things.

24 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

DjA6OtgX4AE9M5I.jpg

The Viceroy Bar on Lothian Road.

N Lincs Jambo
2 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Edinburgh-Storage_hist2.jpg

Is that the Jenners Depository off Balgreen Road with the old Corstorphine branch line just below it?

10 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

bus391.jpg

Can you imagine trying to jump onto a bus now with a fag hinging oot yer mooth

17 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

DUNn_NKXcAAmJ7N.jpg

Idyllic neighbourhood on the edge of the countryside.Who wouldn't want to live here?

Moved to Muirhouse in the 60’s, that stretch of land between muirhouse parkway and the shore was my playground.

It really was special.   Still has not changed that much.

20 hours ago, N Lincs Jambo said:

Is that the Jenners Depository off Balgreen Road with the old Corstorphine branch line just below it?

It is

5 hours ago, Sirudi said:

Moved to Muirhouse in the 60’s, that stretch of land between muirhouse parkway and the shore was my playground.

It really was special.   Still has not changed that much.

It's a nice picture - I assume that's a wee playground with the white barrier around it