Edinburgh History

On 25/11/2021 at 22:38, Maroon Sailor said:

20211125_223728.jpg.5ec7babca92bc786a7887b3f419b4e5d.jpg

Is that the oldest photo of Edinburgh you've found, MS ?    Its amazingly clear. Judging by the blurriness of the horse & carts, the exposure could only have been a few seconds.    St Johns church in all its glory - and the whole street seems to have more light than it does now, with no Caley Hotel there !!

Great find, sir. 👍

• Replies 18.8k

• Maroon Sailor

• Radio Ga Ga

• luckyBatistuta

• ¼½¾

7 minutes ago, Lone Striker said:

Is that the oldest photo of Edinburgh you've found, MS ?    Its amazingly clear. Judging by the blurriness of the horse & carts, the exposure could only have been a few seconds.    St Johns church in all its glory - and the whole street seems to have more light than it does now, with no Caley Hotel there !!

Great find, sir. 👍

It's the only picture I've seen from that part of the town without the Caley Hotel.

32 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

It's the only picture I've seen from that part of the town without the Caley Hotel.

This one of St Cuthbert's Church is reported to be from 1882, so also pre dates the Caley.  That Caley wasn't built until 1899-1903.

1205663390_LothianRoad1882.jpeg.65e06b8f2d2df5b815f665c0123c5754.jpeg

2 hours ago, Radio Ga Ga said:

Scottish Ladies Climbing Club, Salisbury Crags 1907

D798205A-7238-43C3-AF3C-056981C36819.jpeg

That looks similar to the auld women cleaning their windows when I was wee

5 hours ago, Radio Ga Ga said:

C1843

F3491D82-8F57-4A37-A93D-8CE845AC1FA7.jpeg

Is this the  mediaeval church that was knocked down to make way for the railway station ?

I read somewhere recently the plan was to kncok it down and rebuild it so the stone was "stored" on Calton Hill. But years later when they finally got round to it, most of the stone had been nicked. 

I don't know if this has been posted before but it's an engraving of King George IV's visit to Edinburgh in 1822, showing the crowds in Picardy Place

118570073_PicardyPlace1822.thumb.JPG.ad59ed8b466d77160cbd239a6c6f80db.JPG

Edited by Footballfirst

On 29/11/2021 at 20:54, NANOJAMBO said:

Is this the  mediaeval church that was knocked down to make way for the railway station ?

I read somewhere recently the plan was to kncok it down and rebuild it so the stone was "stored" on Calton Hill. But years later when they finally got round to it, most of the stone had been nicked. 

The remainder of the stone was used on the Trinity Church, you can walk through the tunnel to the car park for the Jury’s Inn from Jeffrey Street to see it, or down Chalmers Close from the Royal Mile.

026DD8A0-43EA-4C7B-A0EF-036D2B8B0799.jpeg

C4B09789-AD3D-41F6-843A-743BB9042754.jpeg

See if you walk out Jury's door and turn left, theres an entrance to a church about 30-40 metres along the road. As far as i can remember, its upstairs. I walked up one day years ago. Its massive inside. Quite impressive that its literally under North Bridge. Never would have known about it. Just saw the door and swaggered in. 

2 hours ago, Pap said:

See if you walk out Jury's door and turn left, theres an entrance to a church about 30-40 metres along the road. As far as i can remember, its upstairs. I walked up one day years ago. Its massive inside. Quite impressive that its literally under North Bridge. Never would have known about it. Just saw the door and swaggered in. 

I think you are talking about the Old Saint Paul’s Episcopal Church that sits on Jeffrey Street next to the bottom of the Hilton Edinburgh Carlton Hotel

F9236FA8-E728-4953-9BBA-8C01963B93E5.jpeg

6DF18240-0451-47B2-90EE-74F419F107D3.jpeg

107B087D-6223-45BD-9B04-5CBC0E136980.jpeg

131567ED-A8FC-44A4-89BE-989E6D12D440.jpeg

BD055F79-50F7-4EFD-B73A-7EEC289E9F16.jpeg

68DE6B53-35C5-4924-B4D3-8F5C47C8A845.jpeg

Edited by luckyBatistuta

4 minutes ago, luckyBatistuta said:

I think you are talking about the Old Saint Paul’s Episcopal Church that sits on Jeffrey Street next to the bottom of the Hilton Edinburgh Carlton Hotel

Aye. wow. Looks even better there

3 hours ago, luckyBatistuta said:

The remainder of the stone was used on the Trinity Church, you can walk through the tunnel to the car park for the Jury’s Inn from Jeffrey Street to see it, or down Chalmers Close from the Royal Mile.

026DD8A0-43EA-4C7B-A0EF-036D2B8B0799.jpeg

C4B09789-AD3D-41F6-843A-743BB9042754.jpeg

Cheers for this.

Will take a look next time I'm "home". 

The east elevation of the rebuilt Trinity College Kirk in the top picture. Carved stones from the original church can be seen embedded above the windows. The collegiate chapel contained the most famous Scottish tryptich to have partially survived the iconoclasm of the Reformation.

The second picture is taken from the car park at the back of the Jury’s Inn.

BA2D9AC6-59CA-4DC0-BD8E-A22462B4E06C.jpeg

52C96F83-6103-46CB-99B4-3FB6B0CE7032.jpeg

3 minutes ago, NANOJAMBO said:

Cheers for this.

Will take a look next time I'm "home". 

No problem Nano, never been in it myself, keep meaning to have a look. I have had a good look at the outside though. Amazing to stand beside it and think just how old some of it actually is.

On 22/11/2021 at 14:48, Radio Ga Ga said:

BB71402D-C826-4148-9B37-8A0BB599C855.jpeg

I remember my dad taking me & my brother to see Snow White there in the early 60s. He fecked off to the Raeburn Bar,  got pished and came back to collect us. 

5 minutes ago, luckyBatistuta said:

No problem Nano, never been in it myself, keep meaning to have a look. I have had a good look at the outside though. Amazing to stand beside it and think just how old some of it actually is.

Good programme on the Yesterday channel about North Bridge.

They had to rebuild the old stone bridge in 1897 with the Victorian steel replacement to take in to account Waverley Station which was to become the 2nd busiest station in the whole UK.

The narrow arches of the old stone Bridge limited the number of lines in to the station.

20211201_100614.jpg.9e2d06f17e989cc600963e5827e7f63a.jpg

Edited by Maroon Sailor

5 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Good programme on the Yesterday channel about North Bridge.

They had to rebuild the old stone bridge in 1897 with the Victorian steel replacement to take in to account Waverley Station which was to become the 2nd busiest station in the whole UK.

The narrow arches of the old stone Bridge limited the number of lines in to the station.

20211201_100614.jpg.9e2d06f17e989cc600963e5827e7f63a.jpg

What was the programme called?

Will try and get it on catch up.

52 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

What was the programme called?

Will try and get it on catch up.

Great British Landmark Fixers

S1 Ep2

It's about the current restoration work which also goes in to the bridge's history 

51 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

S1 Ep2

It's about the current restoration work which also goes in to the bridge's history 

2 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

S1 Ep2

The current restoration work so far, has taken twice as long as the original building of the current North Bridge.

Working in Waverley Station I have had many a close up of the work, or on many an occasion the non work being carried out.

On 01/12/2021 at 10:07, Maroon Sailor said:

20211201_095845.jpg

What a beautiful city. A lot - too much - has been destroyed without any attempt at rehabilitation unfortunately.

It’s still a wonderful place, though I feel it needs to serve the interests of its “natives” more than it does at present.

On 01/12/2021 at 01:56, luckyBatistuta said:

That looks like a tryptich in Old St Paul’s - a nod to its medieval predecessor?

20 minutes ago, felix said:

Look how good the roads & footpaths were, in the above two pics  :rolleyes:

After years of neglect they are brutal.

2 hours ago, felix said:

Look how good the roads & footpaths were, in the above two pics  :rolleyes:

It may have been because people like the beat policeman were duty bound to report any kind of damage or subsidence that could cause a trip or other reason for a user to fall and be injured.

33 minutes ago, Sharpie said:

It may have been because people like the beat policeman were duty bound to report any kind of damage or subsidence that could cause a trip or other reason for a user to fall and be injured.

Always good to hear a sensible, traditional view Bob.

Today's equivalent, might require a risk assessment & method statement, before undertaking a full 3-d & thermal analysis of the hazard , followed by an environmental impact assessment with site impact analysis and archaelogical report .

Only then, could the  shoogly  paving flags, be re-aligned.

😔