The Beast from the East

Swanny17

• Replies 1k

There is a real chance of -8 and below for Monday onwards. This is looking more certain with each forecast model that comes out every 6 hours.

With that, also a real chance of the type of really heavy snow we seen a few years back. This won't be known for sure until nearer the type, but all the ingredients certainly look to be there. 

1 minute ago, Rab87 said:

There is a real chance of -8 and below for Monday onwards. This is looking more certain with each forecast model that comes out every 6 hours.

With that, also a real chance of the type of really heavy snow we seen a few years back. This won't be known for sure until nearer the type, but all the ingredients certainly look to be there. 

I haven't seen any forecasts that suggest-8. 

I thought that weather systems didn't really exist these days until we gave them an official name like Henry or Jemima.

8 minutes ago, Barack said:

B448EAD7-879C-4F5D-BC54-BACEF1350F0D.jpeg

Stone Island's A/W range?  

These models are still a few days out, so nothing is certain for the moment. Hence why your main weather news outlets are playing it down at the moment.

However, if these models hold true, we seem to be in for a cold one. 

It will be cold, just not sure how cold yet.

This sort of thing fills me with apprehension now I've turned 50.

49 minutes ago, Barack said:

Timing my migration back to Scotland well this year.

Dad’s 70th on March 3rd, so that’s his present sorted. 

Look after your elders, people. Stay warm.

B448EAD7-879C-4F5D-BC54-BACEF1350F0D.jpeg

Mental, I'm moving back on the 28th, stepdads 71st is on the 4th

Going by BBC’s weather it’s saying sunny during the day and -3 at night...no big deal and sunny days are good 

I’m currently in the world’s second coldest capital- Astana. Locals tell me it’s warmer today than it has been recently - currrently minus 11 (“feels like” minus 20), according to my phone. Not that bad, actually. It’s quite a dry cold, if that makes sense.

They also told me it hit minus 45 a few weeks back (with “feels like” under minus 50). 

This is showing no signs of letting up. in fact, it seems to be getting worse.

I expect a good foot of snow across much of the UK by the end of next week.

The below is just for Tuesday. 

2.png.4e6bff01ebbf39e8a887a65abb3b946c.png

31 minutes ago, Barack said:

I welcome the apocalypse.

Hearts game will be off mind. But sledging is far more enjoyable.

Never mind that, think of all the slide tackles and hot chocolate! 

:rudiyas:

1 hour ago, Rab87 said:

This is showing no signs of letting up. in fact, it seems to be getting worse.

I expect a good foot of snow across much of the UK by the end of next week.

The below is just for Tuesday. 

2.png.4e6bff01ebbf39e8a887a65abb3b946c.png

This week has been nice weather wise, cold but nice during the day 

I’d be shocked if there was a foot of snow in Edinburgh next week 

Edinburgh may not be as badly affected as other places, due to its proximity to the sea. However, it will be bitterly cold throughout the whole country.

As Barack said, game may be off Tuesday.

49 minutes ago, Barack said:

Was actually meaning Sunday, with the SC at Motherwell.

But, let’s see if this materialises first. 

Never thought about Sunday, but aye, suppose. We should not see the worst come in until Monday night though.

I've been keeping an eye on this with a few meteorologists in twitter and a forum. They seem sure as hell towards the extreme temperature dip. Snow will come also, just not 100% sure as to where yet, as that is harder to predict so far out.

7 minutes ago, Barack said:

Well, looking fairly grim on the auld fitba’ front now. Tuesday looking like snow day in Edinburgh. And Scotland to get it totally on Wednesday.

:getout:

People south of Birmingham, could be lost forever seemingly as well. Contact your loved ones. Check their wills are up to date. And you’re included.

:leveinproblem:

giphy.gif

2 minutes ago, Barack said:

Hey, man. I don’t, like, make the weather, y’know.

Wrap up warm.

:greggy:

Freezing my bawsaff tiling roofs this week it is. 

6 minutes ago, Barack said:

Layers. And work faster. 

You’ll be in the warm then, having your frost bitten fingers snipped off, by a wonderful medical professional before you know it.

Frozen sweat, such fun.

1 hour ago, ri Alban said:

Freezing my bawsaff tiling roofs this week it is. 

A simple question, no rancor just curiousity, what motivates you to go on an icy roof, freezing cold, I would assume an element of danger because of the location and the conditions you will be working in wrapped up against the cold, less mobility from that but you are still going to be out there doing it,  my simple question is why.

39 minutes ago, bobsharp said:

A simple question, no rancor just curiousity, what motivates you to go on an icy roof, freezing cold, I would assume an element of danger because of the location and the conditions you will be working in wrapped up against the cold, less mobility from that but you are still going to be out there doing it,  my simple question is why.

Wages?

38 minutes ago, Highways and Byways said:

Wages?

I would say a strong motivating factor.  Money for doing the job you signed up for.

Just caught a signal to post as I'm 300 feet down in anticipation of forthcoming ice age. Just met Doug McLure still paggering dinosaurs. 

Read a post online saying the weather model is virtually identical to the one from January 63.. And some of the values have only been recorded 3 times in history 

15 minutes ago, Barack said:

Thursday’s looking tasty.

:clyay:

The forecast for Tuesday, Wednesday & Thursday is not looking that good for here in the Borders.

Wife is working all this week, and if the weather is as bad as is being predicted, then I'd not be surprised if she has to sleep at the Hospital overnight, being unable to make it back home, which has happened before, either that and if it's bad enough Tweed Valley Mountain Rescue Team is drafted in to transport them into work.

12 minutes ago, Pennywise said:

Working in West Linton next week. Always freezing, should be fun! 

Oh the joys of Country roads in winter.

Stay safe.

10 hours ago, bobsharp said:

Self employment sharpy, needs must. And see below.

Money!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

8 hours ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

Oh the joys of Country roads in winter.

Stay safe.

Absolute joy to drive that this morning.

I've had colder pints.

Not this morning, of course.

Guess who's on an overnight ferry from Holland to South Shields on Wednesday night before driving up Thursday morning - it's all in the timing!

14 minutes ago, Barack said:

Just the one pint then, maybe...

giphy.gif

We've got a complimentary bar :(