Brexit Deal agreed ( updated )

jumpship

20 minutes ago, Governor Tarkin said:

I got the last dozen bags of postcrete in the Lothians a couple of weeks ago for a job I was doing, half the amount I needed, but that was it. Zip.

Had to scavenge half blown bags that mates had lying around.

I was hoping the price of timber would drop by the middle of next year, as my ex-council house attic needs a lot of structural upgrading for a conversion.

Suppliers are in the profit game, though, so you can understand them ripping the pish a bit, especially when demand is so high.

That has nothing to do with Brexit. The price of timber has gone up dramatically in the US was well. 

• Replies 25.9k

• ri Alban

• Cade

• Victorian

Just now, Seymour M Hersh said:

That has nothing to do with Brexit. The price of timber has gone up dramatically in the US was well. 

Aye @Lord BJ was saying it's a wider issue. Cannae mind on what thread. My point stands, though. Get the price doon!

2 minutes ago, Governor Tarkin said:

Aye @Lord BJ was saying it's a wider issue. Cannae mind on what thread. My point stands, though. Get the price doon!

Faster than a Moscow gas-cooker's knickers would be good. There are opportunities now for the brave. 

13 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

All of the above is obviously imo but I think if your hoping for tumbling prices, you’ll be disappointed,

Not tumbling, just settling down a bit.

Edited to say. **** you, LBJ. This is not the news I wanted.

Edited by Governor Tarkin

13 minutes ago, Governor Tarkin said:

Not tumbling, just settling down a bit.

Edited to say. **** you, LBJ. This is not the news I wanted.

I'd watch that patter, he'll send the boys round

38 minutes ago, Governor Tarkin said:

Everyone and everything was shut for 3 months. That's caused a huge delay and now they smell blood with the demand. People should remember this, but they don't. Shame. 

26 minutes ago, Smithee said:

I'd watch that patter, he'll send the boys round

Meh. The NHS is under enough pressure as it is.

Edited by Governor Tarkin

43 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

The price has dropped a bit lately, though I still think it’s a fundamentally strong market in the medium term at least, due to the pent up demand. Plus inflationary pressures are rife at the moment, I really expect them to start filtering through the first quarter of next year.

I think the strong demand for construction ‘commodities’ for the want of better words, will see prices to be high especially when more economies open up.

All of the above is obviously imo but I think if your hoping for tumbling prices, you’ll be disappointed,

Copper prices have sent cable through the roof. Steel prices are very high too so armoured cable is a double whammy.

Poured concrete is the new one though, firms are being given delivery times in the months. 

The commodity market increases are largely driven by China, as is the Global shipping crisis, not sure Brexit can be blamed for that. Plenty of other stuff to go for though!

DUP leader forced out after only 20 days.

Northern Ireland power sharing deal agreed by him this week looks likely to instantly fall apart.

Edited by Cade

58 minutes ago, Cade said:

DUP leader forced out after only 20 days.

Northern Ireland power sharing deal agreed by him this week looks likely to instantly fall apart.

800b526263e0bedd685df1802b4f44f709ec5c0e

Credit where credit's due.  There are few people on the planet who can speak as quickly as an Ulster woman on a mission.  Listen to this - 7 questions in 15 seconds. :laugh:

Aye but aye but aye but look at the rest of the world exports, they're on the up!

Sunny Brexit uplands, here we come!

7 hours ago, Cade said:

Aye but aye but aye but look at the rest of the world exports, they're on the up!

Sunny Brexit uplands, here we come!

You're obsessed, Cade. Fecking love it. :rofl:

WorldChampions1902

“Food Shortages Now Inevitable”……….. according to (non-political) food industry experts.

https://www.thegrocer.co.uk/supermarkets/food-shortages-now-inevitable-due-to-labour-crisis-industry-warns/657227.article

So it looks like food bills will be lower in the near future due to Brexit as was promised. Unfortunately, just not in way that was promised.

On 18/06/2021 at 02:29, Ulysses said:

Credit where credit's due.  There are few people on the planet who can speak as quickly as an Ulster woman on a mission.  Listen to this - 7 questions in 15 seconds. :laugh:

New First Minister soon.

Jeffrey Donaldson. 

3 hours ago, WorldChampions1902 said:

“Food Shortages Now Inevitable”……….. according to (non-political) food industry experts.

https://www.thegrocer.co.uk/supermarkets/food-shortages-now-inevitable-due-to-labour-crisis-industry-warns/657227.article

So it looks like food bills will be lower in the near future due to Brexit as was promised. Unfortunately, just not in way that was promised.

Fairly grim reading

WorldChampions1902
So far, the consequences of Brexit (and COVID) have seen the following pronouncements:

Construction Industry Sector - “We don’t have enough construction workers”
Road Haulage Association - “We don’t have enough lorry drivers”.
Dim Martin (Wetherspoons CEO) - “ We don’t have enough bar staff”.
Hotel and Hospitality Sectors - “We don’t have enough staff”.
Farming Sector - “We don’t have enough crop pickers”.
Food Processing/Manufacturers - “We don’t have enough factory workers”
Private Care Sector - “We don’t have enough carers”
NHS - “We don’t have enough nurses, Doctors, Specialists, Health Care Assistants, etc….etc”.

In full knowledge (and wilful ignorance) of the above, Dido Harding this weekend has stated, “No more foreigners working in the NHS”.

The lunatics truly have taken over the asylum.

“Sunny Uplands” and all that.

They'll just make "volunteering" at those jobs a condition of receiving benefits.

Who needs to pay a wage when you can get free staff from the government?

*well they would try this but for that supreme court case where a lassie beat the government on slavery law

29 minutes ago, HartleyLegend3 said:

Have we had the American deal yet? 

The one at the end who'd vote the same again because things might be shit but they'll probably get better again

:wtf:

2 hours ago, Smithee said:

The one at the end who'd vote the same again because things might be shit but they'll probably get better again

:wtf:

It's called self justification.  To do otherwise would mean he had to admit to being a complete moron...

8 hours ago, A Boy Named Crow said:

It's called self justification.  To do otherwise would mean he had to admit to being a complete moron...

I saw this in iNews yesterday. There has been very little movement amongst Remain/Leave opinion accoriding to this poll.

I would have expected more change even just in terms of the demographics. There would be millions more younger voters, proportionally more likely to vote Remain, with the older generation dying off in millions too. That wouldn't matter much if the views just matched up to the new age range but ift feels more unlikely for people to swing from Remain to Leave given the evidence in front of us.

https://inews.co.uk/news/brexit/brexit-britain-divided-eu-referendum-five-years-public-split-1062481

8 minutes ago, RobboM said:

I saw this in iNews yesterday. There has been very little movement amongst Remain/Leave opinion accoriding to this poll.

I would have expected more change even just in terms of the demographics. There would be millions more younger voters, proportionally more likely to vote Remain, with the older generation dying off in millions too. That wouldn't matter much if the views just matched up to the new age range but ift feels more unlikely for people to swing from Remain to Leave given the evidence in front of us.

https://inews.co.uk/news/brexit/brexit-britain-divided-eu-referendum-five-years-public-split-1062481

It's probably best we put this democracy lark to bed now. Folk are just mental, there's very little sense to what they do. 

1 hour ago, RobboM said:

It's probably more to do with the fact that the majority of the people have no idea how Brexit has gone so far. The Tory party spin machine is running a sublime disinformation programme, just constantly dripping utter dug shite stories about big bad Europe (like today's TV quota non-story) or how Britain has won the vaccine battle against the Germans, not the virus, the Germans!

The MSM just pump it out unfettered with people like Kuenssberg enabled by the equivalent of TASS filling the tea time screens with what are a constant stream of lies. 

The biggest let down for me is Westminster. Lindsay Hoyle lets shagger stand up and bare faced lie week in week out and never calls him out on them. Starmer? what a waste of a chair. Despite the open goals he faces week in week out he's not landed a single blow on Johnson to the point where he's making Blackford sound coherent. 

They'll get in again next time too, virtually unopposed with Labour in the state it is in.  

1 hour ago, The Mighty Thor said:

It's probably more to do with the fact that the majority of the people have no idea how Brexit has gone so far. The Tory party spin machine is running a sublime disinformation programme, just constantly dripping utter dug shite stories about big bad Europe (like today's TV quota non-story) or how Britain has won the vaccine battle against the Germans, not the virus, the Germans!

The MSM just pump it out unfettered with people like Kuenssberg enabled by the equivalent of TASS filling the tea time screens with what are a constant stream of lies. 

The biggest let down for me is Westminster. Lindsay Hoyle lets shagger stand up and bare faced lie week in week out and never calls him out on them. Starmer? what a waste of a chair. Despite the open goals he faces week in week out he's not landed a single blow on Johnson to the point where he's making Blackford sound coherent. 

They'll get in again next time too, virtually unopposed with Labour in the state it is in.  

If all you watch is Sky and all you read is the Express you're going to think he's doing a bang up job, and unfortunately both have a large amount of customers

1 hour ago, Cade said:

As a wise man once said "the public want what the public get"

But I want nothing this society’s got 

Liz Truss:

"The Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans-Pacific Partnership is a glittering post-Brexit prize that I want us to seize."

The government's own figures show that this glittering post-Brexit prize would increase GDP by 0.08% (£1.8billion) over 15 years.

WorldChampions1902
5 hours ago, RobboM said:

The article explains that this latest poll only canvassed opinions of those that were old enough to vote in the Ref 5 years ago. So our demographics today aren’t (rightly) relevant.

What it reaffirms is that there is little movement in views from voters of 5 years ago, which I find astonishing given the evidence of industrial-scale lies and Project Fear clearly proving to be Project Reality.

Downright depressing nonetheless.

15 minutes ago, WorldChampions1902 said:

The article explains that this latest poll only canvassed opinions of those that were old enough to vote in the Ref 5 years ago. So our demographics today aren’t (rightly) relevant.

What it reaffirms is that there is little movement in views from voters of 5 years ago, which I find astonishing given the evidence of industrial-scale lies and Project Fear clearly proving to be Project Reality.

Downright depressing nonetheless.

It's a nationalistic death cult.

They'd rather see the UK break up and Little England be reduced to a destitute Mad Max style post apocalyptic wasteland rather than admit they were wrong.

So they're just doubling down. Culture wars in full swing. Flag shagging on the national curriculum.

1 hour ago, Toxteth O'Grady said:

But I want nothing this society’s got 

Braying sheep. 

18 hours ago, pablo said:

http://twitter.com/unherd/status/1406295756978462722?s=19

@A Boy Named Crow

@RobboM

Have a read of that article if you get a few minutes. It's quite an interesting take, relevant to your recent posts.

Thansk Pablo
What a grim read but there's some truth in it. Having been on the wrong side of most elections for the past decade, stunned by the unrelenting nastiness of BTL articles, I know I am out of touch or at least not in tune with the mood music down South in particular.The wanton self destructivness of it all is just ****ing desperate and mind boggling

Happy 5th anniversary fellow Remainers/Brexiteers

To celebrate.......listening to LBC and they're discussing (and have just played) a song that the Department of Education want all 'British' school children to sing on something called 'Freedom Day'

There's genuinely not enough of these to go round 

I'm choking to fire in a Godwin's Law/Hitler youth analogy here.

Most respondents in France, Germany, Italy and Spain have a message for the UK: We want EU back, we want EU back for good.

Five years after Britain voted to leave the European Union, most Europeans say they would welcome them back.

But a poll by Euronews by Redfield & Wilton Strategies also found that many Europeans are keenly watching how Britain fares outside the bloc - and would be willing to consider their own nation's exit if it works well for the UK.

Wednesday marks five years since Britain held a referendum on its membership of the EU, in which 51.9% voted to leave.

The vote shook British and European politics to its core and was followed by years of gruelling negotiations between Brussels and London.

Then, on December 24, 2020, at the eleventh hour, a deal was reached that prevented the UK from crashing out of the bloc.

But Brexit is far from over.

Scotland, where the vast majority of people voted to stay in the EU, the referendum has renewed calls for independence, which most Europeans also support, according to the Euronews/Redfield & Wilton poll.

Majorities in Spain, Germany and Italy also said they would support an independent Scotland's bid to join the EU.

Scotland's pro-independence camp lost the 2014 referendum by a margin of 10 percentage points and recent polling suggest they would once again be defeated with 53% of Scots polled by YouGov in May rejected independence.”

https://apple.news/AH_40k4soTxioxPtTjk198g

Edited by Boy Daniel

1 minute ago, Cade said:

5 years in and the UK is £800million a week worse off.

:fonzie:

We've the bairns singing a North Korean type song though "One Britain, One Nation"

You can't put a price on that!