Brexit Deal agreed ( updated )

jumpship

33 minutes ago, Smithee said:

There's still a certain connotation in the phrase pile on, I've noticed it used more and more recently 🤷‍♂️

It's getting a good workout lately.

Generally after someone who has been spouting shite and has been called out for spouting shite. 

• Replies 25.8k

• ri Alban

• Cade

• Victorian

1 hour ago, Smithee said:

There's still a certain connotation in the phrase pile on, I've noticed it used more and more recently 🤷‍♂️

29 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

It's getting a good workout lately.

Generally after someone who has been spouting shite and has been called out for spouting shite. 

So I presume it's banned if I want to be down with the woke kids? 🙂

11 minutes ago, Japan Jambo said:

So I presume it's banned if I want to be down with the woke kids? 🙂

I'm not particularly thin skinned and, as you've already seen, prone to making a tit of myself. 

If folks want to pile on then at least they're leaving some other poor sod alone. 

27 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

I'm not particularly thin skinned and, as you've already seen, prone to making a tit of myself. 

If folks want to pile on then at least they're leaving some other poor sod alone. 

You are generally on the same side of the fence as the pile on crew Thor so while you don’t really jump in I think you’re safe. 👍

3 hours ago, jack D and coke said:

Gaslighting you yoons they are 😜😂

2FFC1DE7-6AB2-4696-8D96-5CF36D4345B1.jpeg

There's a 10m foreign born population here per the office of national statistics so that graph is misleading. We are rammed full which is partly why our kids can't afford a property and most doctor's practices take no new registrations 

4 minutes ago, JackLadd said:

There's a 10m foreign born population here per the office of national statistics so that graph is misleading. We are rammed full which is partly why our kids can't afford a property and most doctor's practices take no new registrations 

Is there a problem with a UK national being foreign born?

1 minute ago, Japan Jambo said:

Is there a problem with a UK national being foreign born?

There is a problem with his graph misleading people. 

3 minutes ago, JackLadd said:

There is a problem with his graph misleading people. 

But it is a fact that Germany took far more refugees than anyone else in Europe, Merkel paid a political price for it and I know a number of Germans that are less than thrilled about it. Again, what has 10m foreign born Brits got to do with that?

You do realise that not all the 10million foreign-born residents in the UK are refugees, right?

They're your Doctor. They teach your kids and care for your elderly relatives. They farm your food. They serve in the armed forces.

They are productive members of UK society.

Our Glorious Prime Minister is himself foreign-born, being American by birth.

5.5million Brits live abroad.

30,000 asylum claims are made in the UK each year, and only about half of those claims are granted.

So we're only looking at around 15,000 refugee resettlements a year (government's own target is 20,000)

613,936 children were born in the UK in 2020.

Get some context ya bam.

The UK is only "rammed full" in the fevered imaginations of Daily Mail, Express and Sun readers.

Edited by Cade

40 minutes ago, Japan Jambo said:

But it is a fact that Germany took far more refugees than anyone else in Europe, Merkel paid a political price for it and I know a number of Germans that are less than thrilled about it. Again, what has 10m foreign born Brits got to do with that?

I'll take 'They're no brits likesy' for $800

1 hour ago, JackLadd said:

One of the most idiotic posts in the history of JKB. Wow and is that saying something!

1 hour ago, JackLadd said:

😂 foreign born folk aren’t to blame for millennials not being able to get on the property ladder. You’d be better directing your anger at; buy to let, boomers and consecutive gov's for not building more housing stock. 

As for the doctor registration thing. Just nonsense. It’s an ageing population and a chronically underfunded NHS.

Foreign born working age immigrants are a massive net positive to the UK economy as well as culturally. 

Bloody foreigners though eh. 

3 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

One of the most idiotic posts in the history of JKB. Wow and is that saying something!

Is your issue with the office of national statistics, lack of affordable Edinburgh housing or availability of gp's? Couldn't quite tell from your wee outburst 

9 hours ago, The Mighty Thor said:

The walking Daily Mail/Daily Express/Britain First has spoken.

I read the Mail and the Guardian. I think they compete in bias and half truths. Pretty evenly. The Mail today led on a photo of the beach in Wimeraux a pleasant seaside resort on the coast road from Calais to Boulogne which I used to enjoy regularly. It is not a remote location. The Mail's photo shows ( allegedly)  a police vehicle stationed next to an inflated dinghy being loaded with refugees with a couple of men without life jackets directing the others to their places. Within hours of yesterday's tragedy the French police arrested four traffickers. A bit fishy isn't it? 

Edited by Francis Albert

2 minutes ago, The Fonz said:

😂 foreign born folk aren’t to blame for millennials not being able to get on the property ladder. You’d be better directing your anger at; buy to let, boomers and consecutive gov's for not building more housing stock. 

As for the doctor registration thing. Just nonsense. It’s an ageing population and a chronically underfunded NHS.

Foreign born working age immigrants are a massive net positive to the UK economy as well as culturally. 

Bloody foreigners though eh. 

I never said anything about bloody foreigners Mac. I said we have 10m foreign born in UK per official stats which unless you are a total moron puts pressure on housing and public services. 

2 minutes ago, JackLadd said:

Is your issue with the office of national statistics, lack of affordable Edinburgh housing or availability of gp's? Couldn't quite tell from your wee outburst 

None of the above. It was about you.

19 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

To be fair it's only his most idiotic post on this page. 

Just now, JackLadd said:

I never said anything about bloody foreigners Mac. I said we have 10m foreign born in UK per official stats which unless you are a total moron puts pressure on housing and public services. 

Unaffordable housing and pressure on public services are genuine problems, but putting the blame on immigrants is utterly idiotic. The thought process of a simpleton who probably needs to have a think about the kind of prejudices they hold. 

Of the 10m that you’re getting upset there will be a significant % that work in the NHS or fill other roles that are vital to the UK economy. The vast, vast majority will put in a lot more than they take out and we’d be a hell of a lot worse off without them. 

56 minutes ago, Cade said:

You do realise that not all the 10million foreign-born residents in the UK are refugees, right?

They're your Doctor. They teach your kids and care for your elderly relatives. They farm your food. They serve in the armed forces.

They are productive members of UK society.

Our Glorious Prime Minister is himself foreign-born, being American by birth.

5.5million Brits live abroad.

30,000 asylum claims are made in the UK each year, and only about half of those claims are granted.

So we're only looking at around 15,000 refugee resettlements a year (government's own target is 20,000)

613,936 children were born in the UK in 2020.

Get some context ya bam.

The UK is only "rammed full" in the fevered imaginations of Daily Mail, Express and Sun readers.

17 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

I read the Mail and the Guardian. I think they compete in bias and half truths. Pretty evenly. The Mail today led on a photo of the beach in Wimeraux a pleasant seaside resort on the coast road from Calais to Boulogne which I used to enjoy regularly. It is not a remote location. The Mail's photo shows ( allegedly)  a police vehicle stationed next to an inflated dinghy being loaded with refugees with a couple of men without life jackets directing the others to their places. Within hours of yesterday's tragedy the French police arrested four traffickers. A bit fishy isn't it? 

You aren't inferring they knew exactly who was behind it all along are you? 🤣 

28 minutes ago, JackLadd said:

So you don't dispute anything I said. Thanks caller. 

If you think that is what I meant you are even stupider than I thought. Except that can't be possible.

19 minutes ago, Japan Jambo said:

The Cote d'Opal  is short with few obvious points for launching a dinghy. Wimeraux is one of the more obvious. If the French wanted to stop people risking death at the hands of people traffickers they could have done so at a fraction of the cost they deploy whenever there is a regular break out of protest and rioting within France. Even in our visit to Bordeaux all those years ago there was an impressive display of riot police who no-one would risk getting the wrong side of.

16 hours ago, Ulysses said:

I've already explained my position on the Belarus/Russia weaponisation of migrants, while you don't really seem to have one.  The migrants are in Belarus.  Why isn't Lukashenko looking after them instead of beating them to the border?  The migrants were assisted to Belarus through Russian territory by Putin - in some cases hundreds if not thousands of kilometres through Russian territory.  Why didn't he take care of them?  Or, when he had the ideal opportunity, turn them back across the border to where they came from?  And why do you have to blame the EU for the treatment of displaced people by Belarus and Russia? 

If migrants are capsizing off the English coast, it is up to the British government to decide whether to let them in or let then drown - and be responsible for the consequences.  Likewise, it is a matter for Poland to decide whether to let the people at its border in or let them freeze - and be responsible for the consequences.  If it was the Irish coast and the Irish government, I wouldn't want migrants to be drowning, but I'm not a Polish or British voter.

Do you see the sentence highlighted in bold?  Here's your answer.  Yes, I can separate them.  It is you who can't separate them.  Why?  Because I'm taking into account how the EU's legal framework operates, and you aren't.  The EU has no control over Poland's immigration policies and laws.  None.  Despite the fantasies and made up horseshite of the Brexiteers, the UK's immigration rules were and are a matter for the UK, and Poland's immigration rules are a matter for Poland.

I am not being defensive of the EU's position on immigration.  I'm not attacking it either.  I'm just trying to tell you how things are.  It doesn't matter if I agree with how they are, or disagree with how they are - but they are how they are, and there is no point in pretending that they're not.

There are plenty of ways for the EU to shit on the floor.  But this is not one of them. 

I'll meet you one day and buy you a pint - but for **** sake can we talk about football or what's on telly?

I can talk some shite about football and tv too.

Be warned.

WorldChampions1902
2 hours ago, JackLadd said:

One of those immigrants is kindly helping U.K. residents buy their first flat. Maybe get your kids to give him a call?

https://www.thelondoneconomic.com/news/romanian-man-gives-brits-money-for-homes-302186/?utm_medium=social&utm_source=facebook&utm_campaign=ukineu&fbclid=IwAR1qZXUaGGKe_ReEYgqLRtwyWo9Qv1F6qxixvP-dIERWr5ajLZjdWVZZ-aM

4D59E040-19F4-4D1B-8847-7E5E5AF624E3.jpeg

1 hour ago, Japan Jambo said:

France is a much more authoritarian country than the UK. The idea of Muslims  being denied the right to wear the hajib is unthinkable in  the UK. The French approach to demonstrators is much more

" robust" than that of the UK". The UK embraces multi-culturism far more than  France. 

If I were a Muslim I know where I would prefer to live. But hope I was not so desperate to risk my and my childrens' life to do so.

My earlier not altogether serious suggestion that Euro fanatics should offer to swap with refugees and move to the EU did not meet with approval. So why don't we put refugees arriving in the UK onto boats to Ireland, France or other EU states. Safe seaworthy boats of course. I mean it would surely be unacceptable for them not to be given  entry and safely escorted to shore.

WorldChampions1902
1 minute ago, Francis Albert said:

My earlier not altogether serious suggestion that Euro fanatics should offer to swap with refugees and move to the EU did not meet with approval. So why don't we put refugees arriving in the UK onto boats to Ireland, France or other EU states. Safe seaworthy boats of course. I mean it would surely be unacceptable for them not to be given  entry and safely escorted to shore.

And the legalities of your proposal are what?  

"why dinnae wi send thum back likes"

That has been explained.

We left the Dublin Agreement which made that easy.

We have yet to replace the Dublin Agreement with anything.

So they're here.

Dublin only covered failed applications anyways, so that's 60% of 30,000 which is 18,000 people a year.

It's not much of a light bulb moment because it's already been part of the thinking of people for some time.  To return or divert,  safely,  all migrants to France or some other place for asylum claim processing.  This eventually makes the UK bound channel crossing obsolete.  People realise they can't enter the UK (unless undetected and not making an asylum claim upon entry),  thus removing the demand from the business models of the criminal gangs.

6 minutes ago, WorldChampions1902 said:

And the legalities of your proposal are what?  

OK we would let people smugglers do it and ignore the traffic. But of course my point is we wouldn't.

WorldChampions1902
3 minutes ago, Francis Albert said:

OK we would let people smugglers do it and ignore the traffic. But of course my point is we wouldn't.

Why not answer my question? 

9 minutes ago, Cade said:

That has been explained.

So they're here.

Dublin only covered failed applications anyways, so that's 60% of 30,000 which is 18,000 people a year.

The Dublin Agreement made it easy. How many were returned while we  were party to the Dublin Agreement? How many have to date been successfully been returned to their point of entry to the EU under the Dublin Agreement?

4 hours ago, JackLadd said:

:wow:

:awful:

55 minutes ago, Victorian said:

It's not much of a light bulb moment because it's already been part of the thinking of people for some time.  To return or divert,  safely,  all migrants to France or some other place for asylum claim processing.  This eventually makes the UK bound channel crossing obsolete.  People realise they can't enter the UK (unless undetected and not making an asylum claim upon entry),  thus removing the demand from the business models of the criminal gangs.

So, make legal claims easier.

The UK has been hell-bent on making legal avenues of asylum more difficult, which has resulted in people putting their lives at risk in inflatable boats across the channel.

This is what has led to the crisis. A failure of the UK government to allow safe, legal avenues of asylum.

The graphs I posted earlier showed that asylum has been far higher in previous years, but that was done safely. They'd come by plane or ferry or eurotunnel then stay here until their claim was processed then the 60% of unsuccessful applicants were handed back elsewhere, also safely under the terms of the Dublin Agreement.

3 minutes ago, Cade said:

The UK has been hell-bent on making legal avenues of asylum more difficult, which has resulted in people putting their lives at risk in inflatable boats across the channel.

This is what has led to the crisis. A failure of the UK government to allow safe, legal avenues of asylum.

The graphs I posted earlier showed that asylum has been far higher in previous years, but that was done safely. They'd come by plane or ferry or eurotunnel then stay here until their claim was processed then the 60% of unsuccessful applicants were handed back elsewhere, also safely under the terms of the Dublin Agreement.

France and others will quite righly negotiate to convince the UK to take a fair share of the total number of migrants into Europe / EU.  The UK gvt will steadfastly refuse.  All those ideological promises sometimes come back to bite you on the arse.

13 hours ago, Victorian said:

The UK.  By sea on death trap boats.  The thing we've been talking about.  

I'm aware what we've been talking about; it's the terminology around "in transit" that threw me off.  I don't know if you've ever worked in public service provision, drafting regulations, or law enforcement (I've worked in all of those).  If you have, you'll be aware that agencies tend to frame their operations around the "official status" of people who come within their remit.  As far as France is concerned, the official status of refugees, or asylum seekers, is that they are on French soil with no entitlement to be there but with an entitlement to apply to stay.  Therefore, they can't be seen - not officially anyway - by the French authorities as being "in transit" or "awaiting passage" anywhere.  What this means is that if the French are mistreating people, they aren't mistreating people who are "awaiting passage". 

Also, if those people are "in transit", that somewhat contradicts this point of yours:

21 hours ago, Victorian said:

If that's how France treats desperate and vulnerable people then no wonder they want out.

After all, if they're already "in transit" and "awaiting passage", then they want out regardless of how the French are treating them, and indeed before they even get to find out how they will be treated.

And of course, there may be more truth in that than meets the eye.  During the 2015 migration crisis, one of the key objectives of many Syrian migrants, especially the more educated ones, was to as much as possible avoid any encounter with the immigration authorities in any country they passed through until they got to their intended destination, which was frequently either Germany or Sweden - and then present themselves to police and immigration as soon as they reached their planned destination.  Likewise, current migrants and asylum seekers - and traffickers - know that the UK is now cut off from the pan-European mutual programme, and that therefore it is harder for them to be sent out of the UK than from any EU member state.

3 hours ago, Ked said:

I can talk some shite about football and tv too.

Be warned.

Ah yeah, but talking shite about football and TV (especially football) is half the fun. :toasting:

5 minutes ago, Ulysses said:

I'm aware what we've been talking about; it's the terminology around "in transit" that threw me off.  I don't know if you've ever worked in public service provision, drafting regulations, or law enforcement (I've worked in all of those).  If you have, you'll be aware that agencies tend to frame their operations around the "official status" of people who come within their remit.  As far as France is concerned, the official status of refugees, or asylum seekers, is that they are on French soil with no entitlement to be there but with an entitlement to apply to stay.  Therefore, they can't be seen - not officially anyway - by the French authorities as being "in transit" or "awaiting passage" anywhere.  What this means is that if the French are mistreating people, they aren't mistreating people who are "awaiting passage". 

Also, if those people are "in transit", that somewhat contradicts this point of yours:

After all, if they're already "in transit" and "awaiting passage", then they want out regardless of how the French are treating them, and indeed before they even get to find out how they will be treated.

And of course, there may be more truth in that than meets the eye.  During the 2015 migration crisis, one of the key objectives of many Syrian migrants, especially the more educated ones, was to as much as possible avoid any encounter with the immigration authorities in any country they passed through until they got to their intended destination, which was frequently either Germany or Sweden - and then present themselves to police and immigration as soon as they reached their planned destination.  Likewise, current migrants and asylum seekers - and traffickers - know that the UK is now cut off from the pan-European mutual programme, and that therefore it is harder for them to be sent out of the UK than from any EU member state.

Great stuff.  So harrassing them and taking away their food,  water,  bedding and shelter can be ignored because of some bullshit technicality that they can't officially be seen. 

What a load of inhumane nonsense.

1 hour ago, Cade said:

That has been explained.

So they're here.

I could only find statistics for one year for Dublin applications (admittedly I didn't search too hard).  In 2018, the UK got about 1,900 requests to take people back as their first place of landing, and made about 5,500 requests of other countries.  However, I don't know what percentage of those requests were successful, and I don't have numbers for other years.  It does suggest a couple of things:

* The Dublin system possibly was of a net benefit to the UK

* But in the overall immigration context it didn't make a huge difference

* Relatively speaking, the UK was a small player in the asylum business compared to France and Germany

All in all, at the time the Brexit deal was being done there wasn't a compelling case for the UK government sticking with the Dublin Regulation.  There probably wasn't a massive case for getting rid of it either, but it's no surprise that it wasn't a priority either for the British or the EU.  Things may have changed now, but at the time the decision was a logical one.

https://commonslibrary.parliament.uk/what-is-the-dublin-iii-regulation-will-it-be-affected-by-brexit/

8 minutes ago, Victorian said:

Great stuff.  So harrassing them and taking away their food,  water,  bedding and shelter can be ignored because of some bullshit technicality that they can't officially be seen. 

What a load of inhumane nonsense.

Why are you so shouty?  You just make crap up and go out of your way to get offended by it, and then moan when other people won't clap you on the back for it.

I didn't say anything you've said in your post above.  I'm telling you how the system looks to the people operating it, and why your fantasies don't make sense.  You said the French were doing that to people who are in transit.  I'm telling you that they're doing it - but that those people are not in transit and not supposed to be in transit.

Christ, you really can tell which people on here spend too much time on Facebook.  Less emotional outbursts, more thinking, thanks.

Just now, Ulysses said:

Why are you so shouty?  You just make crap up and go out of your way to get offended by it, and then moan when other people won't clap you on the back for it.

I didn't say anything you've said in your post above.  I'm telling you how the system looks to the people operating it, and why your fantasies don't make sense.  You said the French were doing that to people who are in transit.  I'm telling you that they're doing it - but that those people are not in transit and not supposed to be in transit.

Christ, you really can tell which people on here spend too much time on Facebook.  Less emotional outbursts, more thinking, thanks.

Your rant is a tad more hysterical than my brief "shout".

My point was about the mistreatment.  There's no need to dance on the head of a pin for a fortnight if you recognise that.  We all know your extensive knowledge about law and treaties.  

A good salesman stops pitching when the sale is made.  ;)

2 hours ago, Victorian said:

Your rant is a tad more hysterical than my brief "shout".

My point was about the mistreatment.  There's no need to dance on the head of a pin for a fortnight if you recognise that.  We all know your extensive knowledge about law and treaties.  

A good salesman stops pitching when the sale is made.  ;)

I just find immaturity and silliness a bit....

...immature and silly, I s'pose.

Sorry about that.  ;)

2 hours ago, Cade said:

Victorian isn't proposing any solutions to the crisis.  He's proposing a solution to keep the problem away from the UK.  In this respect he's on exactly the same page as the British Prime Minister.

Leaving aside the rights and wrongs of Western governments' behaviour - and this really belongs in a thread about the migration issue - the following are all realities of the situation.

* Macron is not going to allow himself to be seen as "soft on immigration" in an election year - and as an election tactic it will be helpful

* Given the appalling measures in the Nationality and Borders Bill, the UK has no claim to a higher moral ground than anyone else - quite the opposite

* So it makes political sense for the French and British governments to swipe at each other rather than tackling the issue - for the time being at least

On the upside, massive bonanza for the HR lawyer legal aid gravy train. 37k asylum cases last year, how that number are processed within the current system of endless appeals and challenges is surely an impossibility with even more coming for 2021, so they will stay in the bed and board hotels from now till never all on the Brit tax payer. I actually think this issue could create a surge of populism. Former home secretary David Blunkett is predicting Farage will be PM, I would go further than that; this situation unchecked could also take down the monarchy and house of lords along with the whole obsolete legal apparatus that feeds off the asylum industry. President Nige a comin. 

Edited by JackLadd

7 hours ago, Ulysses said:

I just find immaturity and silliness a bit....

...immature and silly, I s'pose.

Sorry about that.  ;)

Immaturity,  aye?  I refer you to your own rant then.  

I find transparent hubris a bit... 

6 hours ago, Ulysses said:

Victorian isn't proposing any solutions to the crisis.  He's proposing a solution to keep the problem away from the UK.  In this respect he's on exactly the same page as the British Prime Minister.

Leaving aside the rights and wrongs of Western governments' behaviour - and this really belongs in a thread about the migration issue - the following are all realities of the situation.

* Macron is not going to allow himself to be seen as "soft on immigration" in an election year - and as an election tactic it will be helpful

* Given the appalling measures in the Nationality and Borders Bill, the UK has no claim to a higher moral ground than anyone else - quite the opposite

* So it makes political sense for the French and British governments to swipe at each other rather than tackling the issue - for the time being at least

Vicrorian IS proposing a solution actually.  The first part would be to close down and make the channel crossings redundant.  All from a viewpoint of removing the dangerous crossings from the equation in order to preserve life as the principle aim.  But secondary to that,  there would need to be negotiations and agreements for the UK to accept a fair share of the migrants.  

Shouldn't the discussion on illegal immigrants have it's own thread?

I could see this ending the career of Patel and maybe even Johnson if they're not seen to be getting on top of this soon. 

The solution and maybe even a discussion on a solution is going to be  pretty unpalatable for many.  It's going to have to include a plan for reducing the pull factor for illegals risking life to reach Britain. That's going to mean looking at the asylum process and closing down black markets.