• ri Alban

• Cade

• Victorian

2 hours ago, The Mighty Thor said:

🚨 | NEW: Boris Johnson is to announce the return of imperial weights and measures, making it legal for market stalls, shops and supermarkets to sell their goods using only Britain’s traditional weighing system post-Brexit

Via @thetimes

Who said there would be no Brexit benefits eh?

Mind you there will soon be **** all in the shops to measure in imperial but hey details shhmeeetails

I'll be honest, I wouldn't have a ****ing clue what they were talking about, the only imperial I know is foot and inches. 

🚨 | NEW: Boris Johnson is to announce the return of imperial weights and measures, making it legal for market stalls, shops and supermarkets to sell their goods using only Britain’s traditional weighing system post-Brexit

Via @thetimes

Who said there would be no Brexit benefits eh?

Mind you there will soon be **** all in the shops to measure in imperial but hey details shhmeeetails

I won't be touching those places with a 3 metre barge pole.

I'm not learning a more complicated system and I'm not supporting gammon traders.

The cost of implementing the imperial system will be colossal. It's all very well saying that we will now transfer to a different system but I doubt they have considered the recalibration of weighing instruments, the manufacture and calibration of new standards(weights, length and volume) which local authorities will have to bear(and the housing of these same articles) and the training of new Weights and Measures Inspectors who will ultimately have to advise and enforce the new regulations. Schools will have to re-educate kids in a system that was being withdrawn as far back as the mid-1800's in favour of the metric system. An utter waste of time and money. This makes me so angry as little englanders will lap it up

Just more pathetic culture wars and "back to the good old days" pish which will likely never be used by 95% of traders.

Headline grabbing gobshite aimed at the auld dears that read the Mail and Express.

WorldChampions1902

Yet another, “Look there’s a squirrel” tactic to divert attention away from this mendacious government and its world-leading levels of incompetence. Imperial measures won’t happen, for 101 very good reasons.

When I was at college in the late 60s we had to learn both imperial and metric and pass exams using both. There must now be an age group up to my age of 68 that never used or were tested on the imperial measurement system. Who is going to educate all these millions of people on how to work with it. 
It was fine back then when I learned both particularly the metric system which was easy as it was basically based on 10. To try now to revert back imperial is utter madness but then so was Brexit. We are of course run by mad lunatic MPs so it should not surprise us. 

What’s next?

Back to £s, shillings and pence?

The people “running” the UK have taken leave of their senses. Having already cost businesses through their handing of the exit from the EU, they are now compounding their stupidity with nonsensical changes that are not remotely necessary, costing those businesses even more. 

25 minutes ago, SectionDJambo said:

What’s next?

Back to £s, shillings and pence?

The people “running” the UK have taken leave of their senses. Having already cost businesses through their handing of the exit from the EU, they are now compounding their stupidity with nonsensical changes that are not remotely necessary, costing those businesses even more. 

Going back to old money would mean a Pound going from 100 pence to 240 pence.

More than doubling all of your money, instantly.

Economy saved.

Boris is a feckin genius.

15 hours ago, Boy Daniel said:

Who’s going to invent a calculator that can add up in imperial measurements. 

It’s actually quite simple. You simply convert it to metric, do your calculations and convert it back to imperial. Much more convenient than just using metric in the first place. :smug: 

2 hours ago, WorldChampions1902 said:

Yet another, “Look there’s a squirrel” tactic to divert attention away from this mendacious government and its world-leading levels of incompetence. Imperial measures won’t happen, for 101 very good reasons.

4814014643_b2e1da67c5.jpg

1 hour ago, Cade said:

Going back to old money would mean a Pound going from 100 pence to 240 pence.

More than doubling all of your money, instantly.

Economy saved.

Boris is a feckin genius.

So Scotland will be using a different currency, after all.

Cow with BSE dies in Somerset.

Another Brexit bonus. Thank god we're free of all those regulations.

Another total export ban will sort out all the chaos at the border.

This woman was interviewed on BBC about business issues & escalating costs. When she mentioned "brexit" they edited out her comment.

Here's her reality in the UK today.

5 hours ago, Auldbenches said:

Is there anyone on here who was pro Brexit and still thinks it's worth it? 

They could've left without the problems, but they tried to be Big Bosses with the EU and now they've fecked it up for the young team. It should've been different and it can, but not with these Bullies at the helm.

New Foreign Secretary has vowed that this Autumn Global Britain (Great nation) will 'plant it's flag on the world stage'

Aye nae bother love. 

1 hour ago, ri Alban said:

They could've left without the problems, but they tried to be Big Bosses with the EU and now they've fecked it up for the young team. It should've been different and it can, but not with these Bullies at the helm.

I'm not sure it could have been any different. To leave the EU in any real sense had to mean leaving the Single Market. If we remained in the Single Market it would have meant abiding by EU decisions rules and jurisdiciton without any say in the making or enforcing of those rules. When Farage and the ERG kept deriding negotiations as not really being "Brexit" this is what they meant. It was always going to end with a version close to the current shit show. "Brexit means Brexit" did mean something in the end and this mess is it.

2 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

New Foreign Secretary has vowed that this Autumn Global Britain (Great nation) will 'plant it's flag on the world stage'

Aye nae bother love. 

They really are obsessed with this Global Britain stuff. Just playing to the worst of the Rule Britannia mob and deflecting from the Brexit fallout. Every idea they come up with is "world leading" or "groundbreaking".

The French aren't as annoyed at Johnson as they are at Biden and Morrison, over the nuclear submarines, because they know that the UK was just doing as the US told them to do, again. Johnson trying to say it shows our influence in world affairs. 

1 hour ago, SectionDJambo said:

They really are obsessed with this Global Britain stuff. Just playing to the worst of the Rule Britannia mob and deflecting from the Brexit fallout. Every idea they come up with is "world leading" or "groundbreaking".

It works though.

It plays to the core audience and they lap it up and believe that Britain is a major player.

Truss is all over the papers today with shite like 'freedoms need to be defended' whilst the reality of Global Britain (Great Nation) is that the supermarket shelves are empty, inflation is on the verge of exploding as utility prices are rocketing (because the Tories took us out the EU internal energy market, which regulates prices amongst members and guess what we're paying the highest in Europe now) and we're worried about puffing our chest out with the Billy Big Baws routine and weighing stuff in pounds and ounces.

The UK is on the bones of its arse economically, politically and morally.

Edited by The Mighty Thor

Sunlit uplands.

It'll need to be sunlit as no-one will be able to afford to put the lights on.

Below shows the difference in electricity prices per MW/h between those in the club and the go it alone island superpower. 

20210919_100905.jpg

1 hour ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Aye nae bother love. 

32 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Sunlit uplands.

Below shows the difference in electricity prices per MW/h between those in the club and the go it alone island superpower. 

20210919_100905.jpg

Is it not a bit simplistic to blame brexit.

The UK has more dependency on renewables and far less coal usage.

Wind generated power downturn  along with gas price rises has contributed to recent rises is how I understood the current situation.

Is there something I've missed that would point the blame at brexit?

7 minutes ago, Ked said:

Wind generated power downturn  along with gas price rises has contributed to recent rises is how I understood the current situation.

Yes. Our dependency on imported gas and electricity as we don't have the generation capacity or gas storage facility capacity in the UK, regardless of how windy it is. 

This isn't a new thing, the lack of infrastructure investment has been obvious for years, so to voluntarily remove yourself from an internal market which regulates pricing between members when you're reliant on imports is stupidity.

To do it for no other reason than political dogma is lunacy. 

32 minutes ago, Ked said:

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/brexit-gas-supplies-crisis-mps-warn-a7362286.html

From 2016. 

Project fear apparently 🤔

1 hour ago, Ked said:

Was reading up on this on twitter last night. Post brexit, UK is no longer part of EU broad scheme for energy purchasing. This leads to issues in the way the UK buys it's energy on the markets, making it very vulerable. 

UK power stations have been burning huge amounts of expensive gas over the last few weeks to cover for the lack of wind power (see above) and this cost has to be passed onto the consumer.  

Chuck in the issue of huge imports of elec from France/EU now compromised because we're down to one "cable" (one is currently out of commission/under maintenance).

UK energy prices are currently about treble the cost in EU countries, IIRC,  but the govt doesn't seem bothered about it. UK can't produce nuclear power because it doesn't have the expertise (hence China & France being involved , also Japan refused to get involved ) and that is a historical issue made worse by brexit & the obsession with immigration. 

So, it's not all about brexit, but not being part of the EU broad scheme(s) as in the past, has had a considerable impact on the massive hike in energy prices. 

Sunlit uplands.

20210919_100905.jpg

Best check your source for this, seems to be Fake News when I went looking. Seems that there is a disparity but not on this scale 👍

15 minutes ago, RobboM said:

Best check your source for this, seems to be Fake News when I went looking. Seems that there is a disparity but not on this scale 👍

I've had a look and can see the European levels as per below which at 140 per MWh looks broadly in line with that graphic. 

Can't seem to see the UK split out

20210919_123622.jpg

periodictabledancer
3 hours ago, RobboM said:

Saw this last night. Quite a few Brits in NL and other countries saying how much cheaper their utility bills are compared to UK. considerably so. 

5 hours ago, The Mighty Thor said:

I've had a look and can see the European levels as per below which at 140 per MWh looks broadly in line with that graphic. 

Can't seem to see the UK split out

20210919_123622.jpg

Found information from S&P that the UK day ahead price is GBP335. 

Not the GBP401 as per the graphic utter still almost 3 times the rate the boys still in the club are paying.

James Cleverly, possibly the most ironically named politician in world history, on Sky news just now.

Highlights:

Global gas shortage 

Global HGV driver shortage 

He goes on to say that the government will make sure people have food on their tables.

The governments energy price cap may go up (not a cap then)

People will get fuel support (despite them taking away the £20 UC)

Welcome to the world's 5th largest economy in 2021

12 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

James Cleverly, possibly the most ironically named politician in world history, on Sky news just now.

Highlights:

Global gas shortage 

Global HGV driver shortage 

He goes on to say that the government will make sure people have food on their tables.

The governments energy price cap may go up (not a cap then)

People will get fuel support (despite them taking away the £20 UC)

Welcome to the world's 5th largest economy in 2021

In fairness back in the Global financial crisis they didn't blame Labour for UK difficulties 😂

35 minutes ago, Des Lynam said:

Not trying to be over dramatic but this could end the Conservatives for decades. 

Maybe, but I fear that, like the Trumpets in America, the arseholes of the UK will just keep doubling down and doubling down, blaming the EU, Sturgeon, socialism and Corbyn

42 minutes ago, Des Lynam said:

Not trying to be over dramatic but this could end the Conservatives for decades. 

They are only implementing what the British public voted for.

I think it would have been an impossible task for whoever was in government

24 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Thats being a bit disingenuous Nucky. The Brexit vote was brought about because Cameron and co feared rising Euroscepticism in the Tory party and losing votes to UKIP. Then it grew arms and legs of its own. I’m not having a go because I didn’t vote. I couldn’t make up my mind. It became overly nationalistic. 

48 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

No they aren't :lol:

There was no majority voting in favour of this hardest of Brexits,  none. Nobody voted for this shit show,  nobody.

If anyone on here says that they did they are lying, trolling or **** stupid.

47 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

No they are not. 

They're implementing the English Nationalist political dogma that they hid from the people that voted for Brexit behind nonsense like £350m a week more for the NHS (last estimate was Brexit costing the UK £800m per week) and Turkey joining the EU therefore flooding England with them immigrants. 

It was only ever about turning the UK into a living 1950s theme park of British Greatness.

It's a shitshow solely of Conservative and Unionist party making.