Mcewans Champion Ale 500Ml Bottle

Wreck the hoose juice that 

some of the hobgoblin beers are nice 

1 minute ago, Seaside jambo said:

Wreck the hoose juice that 

some of the hobgoblin beers are nice 

That's why I suggested just a 😁

4 hours ago, jambos are go! said:

Tennents Lager is not Scotland's best selling beer/ lager for no reason.

Trolling isn't allowed on the forum, mate. 

7 hours ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

Best pint of Peroni I've ever had was in a small bar (Bar Rossi) on the Via Cavour just up from the Colosseum in Rome.

It was scorching outside 36c and we were parched, we ordered Peroni's, utter sheer bliss, so much so we had another then we had some food and another Peroni to wash the food down.  Total heaven.

How could I compare ice cold Peroni with Tennents Lager :rofl:I couldn't, Tennents :rofl:fecking lager :rofl:piss water.

Jugs of peroni in campo di fiori. Can’t be beat 

Best thing is take 20 quid into a decent supermarket and buy a nice varied selection of IPA'S etc. Get some fruity stuff in cans, few dark beers and see what floats your boat.

Get a few William Bros and Harviestoun beers in there.

Or better yet get down to the Stewarts Brewery in Loanhead, do the tour then have a few tastes (not sure on how it is In CovidWorld mind).

I recently enjoyed a wee Schiehallion and a Disco Forklift Truck.

7 hours ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

It's absolute shite.

This in spades. Becks is worse mind you 

7 hours ago, Der Kaiser said:

Best thing is take 20 quid into a decent supermarket and buy a nice varied selection of IPA'S etc. Get some fruity stuff in cans, few dark beers and see what floats your boat.

Get a few William Bros and Harviestoun beers in there.

Or better yet get down to the Stewarts Brewery in Loanhead, do the tour then have a few tastes (not sure on how it is In CovidWorld mind).

I recently enjoyed a wee Schiehallion and a Disco Forklift Truck.

:greatpost:

crunchy frog

Seen the tv adverts for Camden Hell lager will attempt to source some in Gorgie today I think. Sainsbury is out however

33 minutes ago, crunchy frog said:

Seen the tv adverts for Camden Hell lager will attempt to source some in Gorgie today I think. Sainsbury is out however

Try Tesco.

crunchy frog
14 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Try Tesco.

No Tesco in Gorgie mate, I suppose there's that one at fountainbridge though. I figured scotmid or top cellar might have it. You tried it, is it alright?

5 minutes ago, crunchy frog said:

No Tesco in Gorgie mate, I suppose there's that one at fountainbridge though. I figured scotmid or top cellar might have it. You tried it, is it alright?

I should’ve tippled when you said Gorgie.

Belhaven best still my favourite.

Any suggestions on beers in  Wetherspoons to try.Ice cold preferably.

On Carlsberg when I go in there now.

I like it but would like something else to try in the beer and ale range.

Roxy Hearts

Just ordered 4 x 6 pack Pistonhead from Amazon. 3 flavours. Its £36.00 for case of 24 but £7.50 for 6 so saved £6.00!

17 hours ago, Joey J J Jr Shabadoo said:

Quite partial to a chilled red wine, too. But never the fizzy pish water.

Chilled sparkling Shiraz, now we're talking!

Jambo-Jimbo
13 hours ago, Hesh said:

Jugs of peroni in campo di fiori. Can’t be beat 

It was rocking there last night during the Italy game, I think some of the restaurants/bars had the TV's on, as per.

Piazza del Popolo had a big screen up, but it looked like there was hardly anybody there, Campo de' Fiori looked way busier.

No, I wasn't there 😞, I just tuned in on the webcams to see how busy Rome was.

2 hours ago, benny said:

Belhaven best still my favourite.

Any suggestions on beers in  Wetherspoons to try.Ice cold preferably.

On Carlsberg when I go in there now.

I like it but would like something else to try in the beer and ale range.

Not been in a 'spoons in years and don't intend to drink in one again (unless there's no alternative and I REALLY want a beer!  :thumbsup: ), but any Czech lager they've got would be worth a go. Similarly, any German beer other than Becks.

As for real ales, do what I do if there's a beer on anywhere that I'm not 100% sure about: ask for a taste.  :icon14:  If Belhaven Best is your bag, then you could try an English bitter, a Scottish 80%, or a Golden Ale for a lighter-coloured beer. Lots of nice beer out there and even 'spoons might not feck them up too much!  :mw_rolleyes:

Jambo-Jimbo
2 minutes ago, Auld Reekin' said:

Not been in a 'spoons in years and don't intend to drink in one again (unless there's no alternative and I REALLY want a beer!  :thumbsup: ), but any Czech lager they've got would be worth a go. Similarly, any German beer other than Becks.

As for real ales, do what I do if there's a beer on anywhere that I'm not 100% sure about: ask for a taste.  :icon14:  If Belhaven Best is your bag, then you could try an English bitter, a Scottish 80%, or a Golden Ale for a lighter-coloured beer. Lots of nice beer out there and even 'spoons might not feck them up too much!  :mw_rolleyes:

Do that all the time, sometimes ask to try a couple of beers and settle on what I like the best.

Just now, Jambo-Jimbo said:

Do that all the time, sometimes ask to try a couple of beers and settle on what I like the best.

Yep - tend to do that too unless there's the really obvious choice of a beer that I love.

When I used to drink regularly in Thomson's in Morrison St., Lee (the manager) would often have poured a sample for me of any dark beer they had on that day before I'd even reached the bar*! Now that's what I call service.  :)

(*Partly because I was always bellyaching to him that all the beers they usually had on were light and hoppy...  :ermm: )

3 minutes ago, Auld Reekin' said:

Yep - tend to do that too unless there's the really obvious choice of a beer that I love.

When I used to drink regularly in Thomson's in Morrison St., Lee (the manager) would often have poured a sample for me of any dark beer they had on that day before I'd even reached the bar*! Now that's what I call service.  :)

(*Partly because I was always bellyaching to him that all the beers they usually had on were light and hoppy...  :ermm: )

Is Lee still there?

2 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Is Lee still there?

Couldn't tell you. Haven't been in for 2 or 3 years due to moving out to the Borders' boondocks and backwoods. Hope so though as he ran a great pub.  :icon14:

Edited by Auld Reekin'

Stuart Lyon
21 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Is Lee still there?

I can confirm he is still there! I was in last night and he was his usual mix of jovial and morose! I was invited to watch the recent cup final with him and his Hibby pal but declined thankfully.

Edited by Stuart Lyon

15 minutes ago, Stuart Lyon said:

I can confirm he is still there! I was in last night and he was his usual mix of jovial and morose! I was invited to watch the recent cup final with him and his Hibby pal but declined thankfully.

He’s been there for a few years now.

44 minutes ago, Stuart Lyon said:

:biggrin2:

3 minutes ago, Stuart Lyon said:

About 20 I think.

Crikey.

You won’t be far wrong.

He was there when Ian Whyte had it.

8 minutes ago, Stuart Lyon said:

Yes he's worked with Ian Whyte in a few of his pubs and has been at Thomson's since it opened.

Have you heard how Ian is doing?

Haven't seen him for years.

Rupert Pupkin

It’s right up there... And they tweaked the recipe and put it in 440 cans...

Gotta Love Williams Bros..

E054364A-690A-47C8-B3B7-38056F7C989B.png

Jambo-Jimbo
14 hours ago, Rupert Pupkin said:

It's also in bottles (330ml), and it's grand, better than the normal Joker IPA imo.

On 12/06/2021 at 18:28, Rupert Pupkin said:

Do enjoy some of the William bros beers.

The above,bird n bees,seven giraffes..caesar augustus are all fantastic beers.

Not so keen on there newer range of beers.

1 minute ago, Tott said:

Do enjoy some of the William bros beers.

The above,bird n bees,seven giraffes..caesar augustus are all fantastic beers.

Not so keen on there newer range of beers.

Seven Giraffes is my favourite in the William Brothers range.

2 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Seven Giraffes is my favourite in the William Brothers range.

Its a really nice pint.

Just think some of there new creations and others tbf,are just loaded with fruit flavourings .Heading down the alcopops route.

1 minute ago, Tott said:

Its a really nice pint.

Just think some of there new creations and others tbf,are just loaded with fruit flavourings .Heading down the alcopops route.

Jambo-Jimbo
13 hours ago, Tott said:

Its a really nice pint.

Absolutely, a lot of them don't even look like beer, but more like fizzy fruit juice.

Not for me I'm afraid.

• 3 weeks later...

Really enjoying the stuff from Vault City of late. If you don't like sour beer then it's probably not for you. 

You can get a mixed case direct from the brewery. They are also opening a Tap Room fairly soon. 

1 minute ago, Notts1874 said:

Really enjoying the stuff from Vault City of late. If you don't like sour beer then it's probably not for you. 

You can get a mixed case direct from the brewery. They are also opening a Tap Room fairly soon. 

i got a case from them a couple of weeks ago. i can have at most two as they are properly sour. very nice but cant have too many of them. i had the key lime pie one yesterday i would reccomend it

1 minute ago, milky_26 said:

i got a case from them a couple of weeks ago. i can have at most two as they are properly sour. very nice but cant have too many of them. i had the key lime pie one yesterday i would reccomend it

I've had the Key Lime pie on draught. Its amazing 🍻🍻🍻