Favourite Beer

jimmyjambo

1 hour ago, Dawnrazor said:

Screenshot_20220629-195540_Chrome.jpg

Although I’m not into the citrus and hoppy ones that looks interesting.

• Replies 1.6k

• Jambo-Jimbo

• jimmyjambo

• Dawnrazor

• heartsfc_fan

Japan Jambo
On 03/05/2022 at 20:45, Jambo_jim2001 said:

Not exactly a man's beer,but loved this stuff with a Guinness 🥴

images (6).jpeg

Remember the brand but never tasted it - 2%, surprisingly ahead of it's time... 

Jambo-Jimbo

Managed to try quite a few new Spanish beers in Madrid the other week.  Apart from the normal draught lagers such as Mahou & Cruzcampo I also tried these 12 which were either bought at the hotel bar (2) or from local supermarkets (10).

image.jpeg.ac8ab62e43635a2c2a98648b119afc5c.jpeg

Most were bog standard lagers, but by far and away head & shoulders above everything was the La Sagra IPA which was utterly stunning, superb in fact, one of the best beers I've had in quite a while.  It's brewed in Toledo a town about an hour's drive south of Madrid.

As previously posted, I've been into this ale for many years, however over the past few months I'm finding the head disappears rapidly once poured, never had this problem before. Anyone else having the the same issue?

McEwan's Champion Beer 500ml | British Beer & Cider - Kellys Expat Shopping

Jambo-Jimbo
2 hours ago, jambos are go! said:

The recent hot weather has been relieved by the nectar that is a good pint of Tennents lager

Tennents Lager  :boak:imo.

6 hours ago, jambos are go! said:

The recent hot weather has been relieved by the nectar that is a good pint of Tennents lager

• 3 weeks later...
On 30/06/2022 at 13:48, jambos are go! said:

Oxymoron alert.

Jambo-Jimbo

I think this is a very nice lager, fairly new on the market, it's a collaboration between Molson Coors UK & La Sagra Brewery, Toledo, Spain.

image.thumb.jpeg.a620d923c4b88f610e0de6571a40211b.jpeg

Edited by Jambo-Jimbo

Jambo-Jimbo

Valeir Donker (6.5%) - Contreras Brewery, Gavere, Belgium

Quite nice dark ruby ale. 

Beers of Europe £2.59, 330ml Bottle.

image.jpeg.b9e78f5a53cd0127ae97fde45648ee41.jpeg

Jambo-Jimbo

Having a bottle of one of my absolute favourites.

Tynt Meadow (7.4%) - Mount St. Bernard Abbey, Charnwood Forest, Leicestershire

The UK's only Trappist Ale, an absolute wonderful beer, which rivals it's Belgian & Dutch counterparts.

£2.99 for a 330ml Bottle from Beers of Europe.

image.jpeg.8c725cc833f9cdf1a7834d4d8cace52d.jpeg

Edited by Jambo-Jimbo

Just now, Jambo-Jimbo said:

The UK's only Trappist Ale, an absolute wonderful beer, which rivals it's Belgium & Dutch counterparts.

That looks super. 

On 16/07/2022 at 10:43, Jambo-Jimbo said:

I think this is a very nice lager, fairly new on the market, it's a collaboration between Molson Coors UK & La Sagra Brewery, Toledo, Spain.

This gear has plenty of hype but it was bang average imo. 

Washing it down with a 7 yr old Havana Club.  :toasting:

Stop it.😔

Enjoy the rest of your evening. 

I'm more than looking forward now to my liquid lunch tomorrow. 

Jambo-Jimbo
33 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Enjoy the rest of your evening. 

I'm more than looking forward now to my liquid lunch tomorrow. 

And your lunch will taste all the better now. 👍

On 16/07/2022 at 11:43, Jambo-Jimbo said:

Trust me, at 4.6% ABV, it’s not worth the effort.

Jambo-Jimbo
9 hours ago, Morgan said:

Still way way better than the likes of Tennents or Carling or the Greek lager (Mamos) that I had yesterday, Madri would win every time with me.

11 hours ago, Irufushi said:

This gear has plenty of hype but it was bang average imo. 

It's a lager, they're all shite. The only ones that are a bit different are Tennents, Bud, Fosters, Miller etc. They're very shite.

12 hours ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

The UK's only Trappist Ale, an absolute wonderful beer, which rivals it's Belgian & Dutch counterparts.

Great beer

55 minutes ago, the general said:

Brewdogs hazy jane guava

I refuse to drink Brewdog. I don't like their beer much anyway.

But as a company they're a vile institution. 

12 hours ago, Morgan said:

It's also brewed under licence in the UK and, for that reason alone, can g.t.f. :icon14: There are plenty authentic Spanish beers that you can get - in bottles, cans, and on draught - in Britain, so there's no need to be buying stuff like this*.

(*Unless you enjoy it, of course! :thumbsup:)

6 minutes ago, Bauld said:

Yup. Most of their beers are either too hoppy or too strong, or both, for my tastes anyway. The only beer of theirs I've ever actually enjoyed was a German-style lager (I've no idea what they called it - something "quirky", no doubt) in their pub across from the Kelvingrove Museum in WeegieWorld.

They should've called themselves "Emperor's New Clothes Brewing Co.", rather then Brewdog.

Jambo-Jimbo
15 minutes ago, Bauld said:

I'm the same, I just don't like their beer all that much, I've had several and some were just ok, whilst some were rank rotten.

On 30/06/2022 at 13:07, Jambo-Jimbo said:

Managed to try quite a few new Spanish beers in Madrid the other week.  Apart from the normal draught lagers such as Mahou & Cruzcampo I also tried these 12 which were either bought at the hotel bar (2) or from local supermarkets (10).

image.jpeg.ac8ab62e43635a2c2a98648b119afc5c.jpeg

Most were bog standard lagers, but by far and away head & shoulders above everything was the La Sagra IPA which was utterly stunning, superb in fact, one of the best beers I've had in quite a while.  It's brewed in Toledo a town about an hour's drive south of Madrid.

Victoria and Cerveza Ambar, from the La Zaragozana brewery, are my two favourite "old-style" Spanish beers. I haven't tried many of their "artisan" / craft-beer offerings, but no doubt there are some decent ones amongst those too.

I like the retro image on the Victoria beers: a fat, baldy, guy mopping his brow and preparing to enjoy an ice-cold glass of beer. I've no idea why I should identify with that, but for some reason I do...  :whistling:

2 hours ago, Auld Reekin' said:

Yup. Most of their beers are either too hoppy or too strong, or both, for my tastes anyway. The only beer of theirs I've ever actually enjoyed was a German-style lager (I've no idea what they called it - something "quirky", no doubt) in their pub across from the Kelvingrove Museum in WeegieWorld.

They should've called themselves "Emperor's New Clothes Brewing Co.", rather then Brewdog.

I know the place. Take the boy to the museum quite often. 

It's like Mecca for Hipsters.

3 hours ago, Bauld said:

I've exactly the same view of them as you, if it's on the drinks menu of anywhere we go to I always make a complaint sbout them selling it.

5 hours ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

I'm the same, I just don't like their beer all that much, I've had several and some were just ok, whilst some were rank rotten.

I remember going into their pub in the Cowgate just after it opened out of curiosity and nearly hit the floor when I saw the prices, I just turned around and walked out. I would have hit the floor a second time if I did actually try some of the very high ABV beers on the board. 

1 hour ago, Riccarton3 said:

Happy Chappy - Cromarty Brewing Coy.

Citrus tones. 4.2ish. Just a lovely taste

Haven't tried that one but I have tried Rogue Wave and Whiteout on draft and enjoyed them both. They are unfiltered and cloudy which adds extra to the flavour. Rogue Wave is about 5.7% so not really a session beer but a couple of those are very nice indeed!

Jambo-Jimbo
7 minutes ago, All roads lead to Gorgie said:

Haven't tried that one but I have tried Rogue Wave and Whiteout on draft and enjoyed them both. They are unfiltered and cloudy which adds extra to the flavour. Rogue Wave is about 5.7% so not really a session beer but a couple of those are very nice indeed!

1 hour ago, Riccarton3 said:

Happy Chappy - Cromarty Brewing Coy.

Citrus tones. 4.2ish. Just a lovely taste

I've tried several from them, Arctic Swell, Brewed Awakening, Happy Chappy, Kowa Bunga, Lager, Red Rocker & Rouge Wave, all bottles.

Happy Chappy was the best, the rest were good as well, but Happy Chappy is the best I've tried from them.....so far.

Most were tried 2018-2019 so should still be on the go.

IIRC I got them from Aldi, when Aldi were doing their Scottish Beer Festivals.

4 hours ago, Bauld said:

I know the place. Take the boy to the museum quite often. 

It's like Mecca for Hipsters.

This probably belongs in another thread, but anyway...

Image preview

Jambo-Jimbo

It's been many years since I've had this style of beer, it will not be years until I have another.

Imperial Barley Wine (10%) - Ridgeway Brewing Co, Oxon, Oxfordshire

Once you get over the initial blast of alcohol, it's quite sweet with toffee & caramel flavours, I'm liking this beer a lot.

£3.49 per 330ml bottle from Beers of Europe.

image.thumb.jpeg.c11d88bb662653a70693268e2c171f17.jpeg

La Chouffe anyone? 8% and only 2 quid from Tesco.

Seem to have lost my ability to post pics, new laptop is my excuse.

10 hours ago, FinnBarr Saunders said:

La Chouffe anyone? 8% and only 2 quid from Tesco.

Seem to have lost my ability to post pics, new laptop is my excuse.

Will give it a try on my next visit to Tesco😃

La Chouffe Strong Blonde Golden Ale 330Ml

Jambo-Jimbo
7 minutes ago, Jambo314 said:

Will give it a try on my next visit to Tesco😃

La Chouffe Strong Blonde Golden Ale 330Ml

I've never tried that, thought I had but I've no record of it, I have had 3 other beers from this brewery, Chouffe Soleil, Houblon Chouffe & Mc Chouffe, but not their normal blonde.  I'll have to get a bottle of it.

• 4 weeks later...
Dick Dastardly

I tried the Guinness cold coffee brew last night. Very tasty. I tried to upload a picture but it wouldn't let me. 

In August, I have (mostly) been drinking these - bought straight from the brewery.  I'm not sure where else they're sold; only one outlet within an hour or two of me.  :biggrin: 

Beal-Ban.jpg

Beer-Blue-Rose.jpg

14 hours ago, Ulysses said:

In August, I have (mostly) been drinking these - bought straight from the brewery.  I'm not sure where else they're sold; only one outlet within an hour or two of me.  :biggrin: 

Beal-Ban.jpg

Beer-Blue-Rose.jpg

Never seen them before. 

That's the thing there are lots and lots of wee breweries dotted about, many of which are relatively unknown outside of their own local area.