Elvis interviewed (merged)

Never Let Them Forget

Sorry, "justifiable frustrations" is pish. He could have aired them (and did) without his antics that day which actually only served to antagonise supporters who treated him like a king for years.

Nothing in Pressley's managerial history suggests he can properly manage us. That aside, people are perfectly entitled to be pissed off at him.

Nailed it Winston!!!

• Replies 1.3k

Shows how much the club means to him then.

The cynic would say it shows how desperate he is for a job.

He has totally failed down South, he'd be lucky to get a job in the Conference these days.

Tynecastlesmychurch

Gutted that it looks like Sergio isn't getting a chance. Although I am coming around to the idea of Pressley as manager.

jamesfestoon

I'd take him. His appointment would split support initially but after a couple of good performances/results the negativity would wane.

I find it absolutely comical that some people on here use the term "this appointment will split the fans!"

Most appointments at most clubs "split the fans" There are a few candidates this time that I do not fancy

so if they are appointed, it will "split' me from the fans who want this appointment! I didn't want IC in the

first place, many did so It "split" me again. That's life!

If you don't want SP fine, but don't use "splitting the fans" or not "splitting the fans" as an argument

for giving someone the job. Whether it "splits" the fans is irrelevant!

We forgave Webster and Stevo.

Both came back and redeemed tbemselves.

Think Elvis could do the same.

Done nothing as a manager. Arrogant twat. Spoke about the failings of the Scottish game whilst ironically failing miserably himself, as a coach.

No thanks.

Just as a matter of interest, which realistic managerial appointments wouldn't 'split the fans'?

Only my opinion, but I think the club would get everyone behind them by going for the likes of Alan Archibald.

He's out the frame, which is a pity, as we're in dire need of someone like him at this time.

It was ill advised for sure. But the lengths some people have gone to be forever offended is tragic

All the "snakey" stuff is horrendous

He's a sensible enough - this is the cheap option candidate to benchmark the others against

He won't get it unless we can't afford the others IMO

kenneth Du beke

A Gary Locke standard CV and a snake too. I hope we string the judas a long and then tell him to do one.

weekend offender

lol sure

Elvis is a winner for his team and a good leader something we don't have at the club

LOL Aye thats why he's in a job now eh, showed his feelings for Hearts that day. Also his chat about Scottish football the guy's a wank

He did an excellent job at Falkirk, and I think there were mitigating circumstances at Coventry and Fleetwood.

I'd have no problem with his appointment.

He relegated them. How on earth can that be described as doing a good job?

He's a rodent with a terrible track record in management. I'm pissed off that he even got an interview with a CV like that. 

Given his unpopularity with a large section of our fans, he seems like exactly the sort of person Levein would enjoy appointing.

Most probably :)

I think this would be a poor and uninspiring choice.

To tackle the chest pumping elephant in the room first. I don't actually care that much about it. It certainly doesn't detract from the service he provided our club for many years. I also look at it in the context of the situation, his frustrations at Romanov etc. Would he have done that if when he came back Romanov was gone? I don't think so. That doesn't mean it was a smart thing to do. And it has ruined his reputation with a lot of fans. I wish he never done it but we've all been stupid while emotional.

But most of the that shouldn't play into the decision. I say most because the fact is right now, more than many other times, we need a uniting manager. The fans need to come back together as one after the Neilson split which I don't think has truly healed. Pressley won't do that.

Other reasons against are;

His managerial record to date is poor. Unlike Cathro which was a gamble, we would be getting knowing it had a record of not being good.

I get the impression he is quite egotistical and prone to a Cathro type rant. We need someone who is a clear communicator on a level the fans get. For example, Jon Daly since taking over has hit the spot with the fans perfectly. But that doesn't mean now is his time to manage us btw.

He has a reputation as a man who wouldn't take any nonsense. We do need that but I also get the impression (this is pure conjecture btw) that he might be the sort to rub up some players the wrong way and not just the lazy ones. I don't think he can admit or re-asess faults.

Pros;

Cheaper option.

I don't doubt he loves Hearts.

But those pros are also true for all of us on here and none of us should get the job.

All these folk saying he has a crap managerial record...Derek McInnes didn't have a great managerial record before going to Aberdeen. It hasn't done him any harm. Just sayin...

I'd have Elvis in a heartbeat. Certainly wouldn't stand for lack of effort etc from any player. Be a a good appointment IMO.

Hard to disagree with any of that

Sergio won't even get an interview.

I would be appalled if that was the case.

I'm not saying he should be first choice but to not even offer an interview would be totally disrespectful.

Considering there is no clear cut candidate he has as much chance as anyone.

I'd be happy if it turned out to be McLaren or Freedman but these guys may be out of our price range. I would think Pressley would divide the support probably the same people who hate CL. He would have no margin for error from those people at all. That's not to say that he is not a good candidate though. The problem is with the fans not Pressley.

Was at Easter Road when he slammed home a 91st min pen.

Loved SP as a player.

He's a pish manager and a tosser of a human being tho.

Comedy Gold for having an opinion :lol:

I was in the main stand. Had to be escorted out by security after celebrating.

Get it up ya Lochend cockends!

I don't get all the hatred for Elvis he is a cup winning legend .I was mad when he thumped his chest

when he played against us but I forgave him worse things happen in life.i think it's time to forgive and forget .

I don't get all the hatred for Elvis he is a cup winning legend .I was mad when he thumped his chest

when he played against us but I forgave him worse things happen in life.i think it's time to forgive and forget .

Your confusing his abilities as a player with his track record as a manager.

I'd be astonished, saddened and concerned if he got the job, given the quality of the cv's that are lying on the desk.

Shite manager and shite man. Would rather give the job to Allan Johnston if we are going down the ex player route.

kenneth Du beke

What has he done in management?

He's shite.

Grassed up the Scotland players for going for a beer.

glastonbury jambo

Former Tynecastle skipper Steven Pressley has had talks with director of football Craig Levein and owner Ann Budge as Hearts step up their search for Ian Cathro's successor. (Daily Record)

Parking the fact he would probably polarise the fans it's difficult to assess whether Pressley is a reasonable manager. He's made the decision to take jobs at crisis clubs and predictably failed which only suggests he has a pretty inflated opinion of his abilities. He did a reasonable job at Falkirk but on balance don't think that's enough to be appointed our manager. On the cold managerial evidence alone a pass for me.

So Make Some Noise..

I really dislike him for how he behaved when he visited tynie in a celtic strip, much like Gordon now however my reasoning for not wanting him as manager is nothing to do with that, it's the fact he's an arogant swine of a man who has no right to belittle the scottish game given how poorly he's done as a manager to date. Nothing of his manager career suggests he'd  be the right man for the job.

Parking the fact he would probably polarise the fans it's difficult to assess whether Pressley is a reasonable manager. He's made the decision to take jobs at crisis clubs and predictably failed which suggests to me he has a pretty inflated opinion of himself. He did a reasonable job at Falkirk but on balance don't think that's enough to be appointed our manager. On the cold managerial evidence alone a pass for me.

Simply because no decent Club was interested in giving him a job!

All football fans without exception are fickle, if he got the gig, we would back him, and forgive him, but he would have a lot of bridge mending to do?

If he got us winning again, we would return him to legend status once again, hover having said that we can do better so for that reason I am out!!!

No thanks

Pressley? No thanks.

Edit: I recall I felt more favourable towards him a week or two ago. I guess competition from more proven and successful candidates (nameley Steve McClaren) make the case for Pressley less convincing.

Would rather give the gig to Daly to be honest - can't imagine Pressley will have any contacts or tactical insights that we don't already have.  Uninspiring or managerial record is pretty terrible to be honest

The board are clearly trolling the **** out of us.

There's no way that judas rhat will be getting anywhere near the job.

No way should Elvis get the job over the likes of Freedman and Coyle. A Hearts legend but definately should not be our top pick from the people interested!

I don't think Elvis would be a bad appointment, just not one to take us forward. If we're happy finishing 4th most years go for it.

But there 4/5 rumoured I'd want more.

Exactly what we don't need right now.

Division. Would have to be mental to want him

Caspian Primrose

HE'LL WIN HINGS COZ HE'LL BOOT SUM BAWZ AW ABOOT THA PLACE!

He should never be allowed near the place.

All these folk saying he has a crap managerial record...Derek McInnes didn't have a great managerial record before going to Aberdeen. It hasn't done him any harm. Just sayin...

I'd have Elvis in a heartbeat. Certainly wouldn't stand for lack of effort etc from any player. Be a a good appointment IMO.

McInnes done great at St Johnstone then failed at England at a higher level than Pressley.