Old Edinburgh pubs

JWL

From pub convo tonight, looking for the name of 2 pubs

1st was something like a persons name in the grassmarket but not Milligan’s or Maggie Dicksons

2nd was along seafield near the corner of seafield place?

• Replies 654

• Stuart Lyon

• The Real Maroonblood

• the general

21 minutes ago, Ribble said:

1st was something like a persons name in the grassmarket but not Milligan’s or Maggie Dicksons

Mother Aitkens for the 2nd one?

Better known as Ma Aiitkens

Edited by graygo

23 minutes ago, luckyBatistuta said:

Take it that is the German one?

Aye but feck knows why I put it on this thread.  :facepalm: 

4 minutes ago, graygo said:

Aye but feck knows why I put it on this thread.  :facepalm: 

its on the right thread imo, not that that counts for anything  :laugh:

24 minutes ago, Stuart Lyon said:

The only pub I can find that had a person's name was Waterman's which became Maggie Dickson's

13 hours ago, graygo said:

Mother Aitkens for the 2nd one?

Better known as Ma Aiitkens

Cheers both

Stuart Lyon

Hi Ginga - some guy on here is looking for a pic of the Bellhaven Inn now the waiting room - can you help please?

11 minutes ago, Stuart Lyon said:

Hi Ginga - some guy on here is looking for a pic of the Bellhaven Inn now the waiting room - can you help please?

So frustrating this.

The ‘Belly’ was our local for many years and I can’t find a damn picture either :sad: 

Stuart?  I think it’s Belhaven btw.

8 minutes ago, ginga said:

1087belhbelh1989.jpg

1120graswate1989a.jpg

Don't say I'm not good to you now and again....

The Bel feckin haven!!

Very well done ginga :clap: 

@Stuart Lyon Stuart? Now that the Belhaven pic has been found, what was on that corner of Belhaven Terrace and Morningside Road before roughly 1980?

3 hours ago, ginga said:

1087belhbelh1989.jpg

1120graswate1989a.jpg

Don't say I'm not good to you now and again....

You are an absolute star ginga, it’s been doing my head in. Tried everything I could think to get the Belhaven and nothing. How did you find it?

Stuart Lyon

Morgan from the look of this OS map it was Morningside Station that occupied this site It closed in 1962 so don't know if there was some other use made of the site before the bank and the pub were built..

Bellhaven_Terrace.png

3 hours ago, Stuart Lyon said:

Morgan from the look of this OS map it was Morningside Station that occupied this site It closed in 1962 so don't know if there was some other use made of the site before the bank and the pub were built..

Bellhaven_Terrace.png

Thanks Stuart.

So, between 1962 and roughly 1980/81 (when we think the Belhaven opened) we don’t know what was on that corner. Probably a bank we reckon?

Edited by Morgan

10 hours ago, luckyBatistuta said:

You are an absolute star ginga, it’s been doing my head in. Tried everything I could think to get the Belhaven and nothing. How did you find it?

That you in the seat by the window wearing your ‘blood doesn’t show’ t-shirt? :whistling: 

On 05/07/2018 at 01:23, luckyBatistuta said:

I run the Edinburgh Pub History Facebook page and have over 16,000 pictures of Edinburgh pubs.

42 minutes ago, ginga said:

I run the Edinburgh Pub History Facebook page and have over 16,000 pictures of Edinburgh pubs.

:notworthy:

Keep up the good work :thumb:

crunchy frog
On 03/07/2018 at 18:28, Ribble said:

1. Braidwoods?

Montgomery Brewster
12 hours ago, ginga said:

There exists another picture of the Belhaven that I have seen recently . Can’t remember where I saw it or find it.

This is when it had big white lettering above attached to the brickwork. 

Do do you have this pic of the Belhaven ?

On ‎07‎/‎07‎/‎2018 at 09:42, Montgomery Brewster said:

There exists another picture of the Belhaven that I have seen recently . Can’t remember where I saw it or find it.

This is when it had big white lettering above attached to the brickwork. 

Do do you have this pic of the Belhaven ?

The picture of the Belhaven that I posted was from 1989 - I have another from 1983 similar paint, but only have The Waiting Room on the brick/tile work.

1087belhbelh1983.jpg

5 minutes ago, ginga said:

The picture of the Belhaven that I posted was from 1989 - I have another from 1983 similar paint, but only have The Waiting Room on the brick/tile work.

1087belhbelh1983.jpg

Please post the 1983 one would you?

This is the 1983 picture with gold trim to the panels the 1989 picture above has black trim to the panels. Very similar paint jobs.

Competition time.... what is the name of this pub from 1985 (I have blanked out the name) very topical in more ways than one....

20052005.jpg

2 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Definitely Leith, at the foot of the Walk.

It's definitely Marinello's but I'm not sure if that is the name in the timescale the poster means. It has had a few names over the years. Owned by Peter Marinello after he stopped his playing career. 

1 minute ago, Tazio said:

It's definitely Marinello's but I'm not sure if that is the name in the timescale the poster means. It has had a few names over the years. Owned by Peter Marinello after he stopped his playing career. 

I think you’re right Taz.

We were in there one New Years Day when the derby at Fester got called off at the last minute due to snow. We had been at a Hearts party in a flat just off Lorne Street so it wasn’t far to walk! 

4 hours ago, Tazio said:

Correct location just not the name I am looking for.

7 minutes ago, ginga said:

Correct location just not the name I am looking for.

I think you're photo is too early for it being called Meridian, possibly not long long before it changed it's name. Main claim to fame being the bar on Lothian region that had more complaints to the police than any other. If I was in that pat of Leith I normally went into Peter Simon's over the road. 

Bay City, EH - Six, P.J. Lyals, Auld Brig, Copperfields, Marinelo's, the Meridian and The Bridge Bar 

So I will go for Bay City

Thanks to someones Facebook page

Edited by The Frenchman Returns

On 3/7/2018 at 18:28, Ribble said:

Bannermans?

Used to be a strange wee boozer in Blackhall. Just around from that tyre exhaust place. Might have been called the Blackhall bar but not sure.

Also further down the road there was that big boozer near the crossing.

Can't remember it's name but I was an apprentice when it got changed to office space. So that's over 30 years ago:huh2:

36 minutes ago, robbo1874 said:

Used to be a strange wee boozer in Blackhall. Just around from that tyre exhaust place. Might have been called the Blackhall bar but not sure.

Also further down the road there was that big boozer near the crossing.

Can't remember it's name but I was an apprentice when it got changed to office space. So that's over 30 years ago:huh2:

Blackhall Lounge.   The one down the road name's will come to me.  

40 minutes ago, joondalupjambo said:

Blackhall Lounge.   The one down the road name's will come to me.  

Could the other one have been something to do with Well? 

The pub down the road at Blackhall was the House O' Hill Roadhouse, also called the Bolt Hole and Henry's.

9 hours ago, ginga said:

The pub down the road at Blackhall was the House O' Hill Roadhouse, also called the Bolt Hole and Henry's.

Woke up in the middle of last night and remembered that name!!  Well done.  Was it those two names after or before the House O'hill?   I am thinking afterwards?

4 minutes ago, Stuart Lyon said:

Afterwards - my dad used to drink in the HoH before the Doo'cot opened.

God I feel old, I drank in the HoH now and again back circa 1975 I think when I was a nipper.

9 hours ago, ginga said:

Well done ?

Add Spiers Bar to the list. Apparently taken over by Montpelier lot, whoever they are.

Wasn't one I went in no big deal to me but was one of the few "boozers" left in that area.

Mind that's me judging it by clientele rather than actually using the place

IMG_8808.jpg

Have we really reached page 7 and no mention of The Rainbow?

First pint was in the Cottar’s Howff on Rose Street.  It was near the back of Jenner’s if memory serves.