Old Edinburgh pubs

JWL

8 minutes ago, Tazio said:

I'm guessing the place above the three tuns may have had a bar/diner set up at some point. I seem to remember it being one of those crap pasta chains at one point, Bella Italia or something but not sure before that. 

It did indeed.

I think the Three Tuns was described as 'Wine vaults" too.

Edited by Morgan

• Replies 654

• Stuart Lyon

• The Real Maroonblood

• the general

Montgomery Brewster
23 hours ago, BarneyBattles said:

Was it the queen street oyster bar? I know the place you mean and used to go occasionally around ‘95 - 00. 

Yes that’s the fellie.

sadly not what Morgan is after though

Just now, Montgomery Brewster said:

Yes that’s the fellie.

sadly not what Morgan is after though

And, to complete the detective quartet, here's Montgomery!

Montgomery Brewster
6 minutes ago, Morgan said:

And, to complete the detective quartet, here's Montgomery!

Heheheheh 

13 minutes ago, Morgan said:

We are slowly starting to doubt ourselves now. Just a wee bit.  What was Garfunkels like inside?

All I can really remember is that you went through the door to the street and then through a sideways to the street door to get in. Lots of set up tables and booths. 

Oh, and I saw my first ever mobile phone in there, huge thing like a car battery with a handle. 

4 minutes ago, Tazio said:

All I can really remember is that you went through the door to the street and then through a sideways to the street door to get in. Lots of set up tables and booths. 

Oh, and I saw my first ever mobile phone in there, huge thing like a car battery with a handle. 

Actually sounds a bit familiar. Was Garfunkels around in '82, '83 '84 though, or was it a bit later? That seems to be the stumbling block at the moment

4 minutes ago, Tazio said:

FTFY

:lol: Aye, that's more like it!

50 minutes ago, Tazio said:

That's how I remember it, was long and narrow as well. 

OOERRR MISSUS.

3 hours ago, Morgan said:

Might, just might have been on the premises that is now called Miller and Carter.

Garfunkels was in the place that is now Miller and Carter.

Garfunkels was around at the time you are talking about.

Garfunkels was an American diner.

Garfunkels had an angled doorway.

IT WAS FECKIN GARFUNKELS!!!

Capture.JPG

Capture.JPG

unnamed.jpg

Not black and white but it was that long ago everything was in black and white.

Edited by graygo

1 hour ago, graygo said:

Garfunkels was in the place that is now Miller and Carter.

Garfunkels was around at the time you are talking about.

Garfunkels was an American diner.

Garfunkels had an angled doorway.

IT WAS FECKIN GARFUNKELS!!!

Capture.JPG

Capture.JPG

Jury is still out. We think Garfunkels was quite a bit later than the era we're talking about here. If you can prove to me, categorically ( :lol: ) , that Garfunkels was around between ‘81 say and ‘84 then I’ll drop this and let you get on with your life.

If you can’t however.... :mad:

1 hour ago, graygo said:

unnamed.jpg

Wife now saying the place had a single window. Of course, the shop frontage may have changed but, for the moment, she’s not having it.   :sadrobbo:

Still a good few proper boozers in the area. Regularly frequent the Southsider. There's a strong student connection and even tourist, but still a lot of working class drink in there.

The Abbey is good too especially when football's on. Never actually been to Neebors or Cask and B in West Preston Street.

Never been to the Grapes either. Don't think I'm missing much. Jeannie Swifts (sp) is another I've never been in but get the impression it's also a bit rough.

Anywhere else is either too pricey or carers for a more specialist audience.

9 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Jury is still out. We think Garfunkels was quite a bit later than the era we're talking about here. If you can prove to me, categorically ( :lol: ) , that Garfunkels was around between ‘81 say and ‘84 then I’ll drop this and let you get on with your life.

Wife now saying the place had a single window. Of course, the shop frontage may have changed but, for the moment, she’s not having it.   :sadrobbo:

Can't confirm the dates I'm afraid, I started working in Sime Malloch in Frederick Street in 1984 and was there for 2 years and it definitely opened within those 2 years

56 minutes ago, Morgan said:

She seems to remember an awful lot, just not the important part.

21 minutes ago, Tazio said:

Anyone else think Morgan is getting trolled to **** by his missus?

Definitely starting to seem that way

48 minutes ago, Tazio said:

Anyone else think Morgan is getting trolled to **** by his missus?

Me.

I do.

She’s at it. :sadrobbo:

26 minutes ago, luckyBatistuta said:

She seems to remember an awful lot, just not the important part.

Definitely starting to seem that way

Who the feck asked you?

:greggy:

1 minute ago, Morgan said:

:clyay:

Good lad Gabriel :thumbsup: 

I don’t have a scooby doo what the place was called :jj_facepalm:

6 minutes ago, luckyBatistuta said:

I don’t have a scooby doo what the place was called :jj_facepalm:

My wife is frustrated.

2 minutes ago, Morgan said:

My wife is frustrated.

Not as frustrated as I am

12F27333-99CD-4BDF-A69A-2FE513F35E51.gif

Just now, luckyBatistuta said:

Not as frustrated as I am

12F27333-99CD-4BDF-A69A-2FE513F35E51.gif

Tremendous picture of her.

She was soooo proud of that perm in the Frederick Street diner...

39 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Tremendous picture of her.

She was soooo proud of that perm in the Garfunkels...

FTFY Now move on ffs.  ;) 

On ‎11‎/‎06‎/‎2018 at 23:09, ginga said:

On Frederick Street what is now Tresspass outdoor shop was Blacks used to be The Aperatif and also Merrymans Cellar

Nobody has commented on the option that I mentioned which is next door but one to the old Garfunkel's, Interestingly Miller & Carter are 2 shop units but Garfunkel's is only one, as was Chiquito's which was in the unit before Miller & Carter, they incorporated the Diamond Gallery next door.

Edited by ginga
text corresction

3 hours ago, Locky said:

Still a good few proper boozers in the area. Regularly frequent the Southsider. There's a strong student connection and even tourist, but still a lot of working class drink in there.

The Abbey is good too especially when football's on. Never actually been to Neebors or Cask and B in West Preston Street.

Never been to the Grapes either. Don't think I'm missing much. Jeannie Swifts (sp) is another I've never been in but get the impression it's also a bit rough.

Do you mean Jeannie Deans rather than swifts? In st Leonard's? Been a couple of times both during the day mind you and a couple of years ago thought it was ok then.

6 minutes ago, ginga said:

Nobody has commented on the option that I mentioned which is next door but one to the old Garfunkel's, Interestingly Miller & Carter are 2 shop units but Garfunkel's is only one, as was Chiquito's which was in the unit before Miller & Carter, they incorporated the Diamond Gallery next door.

I thought Chiquitos was downstairs. 

No Chiquito's was street level. Not to be confused with El Barrio on about the same position on Hanover Street.

Edited by ginga
correction of text

Montgomery Brewster
10 hours ago, Locky said:

The junction is the best without doubt. (You will know as the cask)

7 hours ago, EIEIO said:

Do you mean Jeannie Deans rather than swifts? In st Leonard's? Been a couple of times both during the day mind you and a couple of years ago thought it was ok then.

You're right! Haven't been as said though. My dad's stayed in Southside for 21 years and we never knew it was even there until about 10 years ago.

Help please!

The names of two pubs that were in William Street in the 80’s?

One was a wee place on a corner of a cobbled lane and the other was sort of opposite it, up two or three steps, and quite a big place.

Ta.

Meant to add @Stuart Lyon

Edited by Morgan

On 12/06/2018 at 20:37, graygo said:

unnamed.jpg

BT openreach is January 2006 at the earliest 

On 13/06/2018 at 06:53, Montgomery Brewster said:

The junction is the best without doubt. (You will know as the cask)

The maltings used to be good.... however not sure it's still open.

Did anyone frequent henry j beans?  Cocktails and a grand and a half behind the bar one night.... still didn't pull :(

the general
8 minutes ago, cannonfoda said:

Did anyone frequent henry j beans?  Cocktails and a grand and a half behind the bar one night.... still didn't pull :(

Aye there and the Boston Bean 

5 minutes ago, the general said:

The BBC, used to frequent there back in the day.  :thumbsup: 

6 minutes ago, the general said:

Just now, graygo said:

The BBC, used to frequent there back in the day.  :thumbsup: 

Was that at the side of the St James Centre?  If so, I think you could enter it from inside the mall as well?

On 24/06/2018 at 20:19, Stuart Lyon said:

Green Tree

Melville Lounge

both on north side of William St

The Bistro opposite Green Tree (Bert’s Bar)

Cheers Stuart.

It’s the Bistro and the Melville Lounge I was after.

By the way, the diner search?   I was speaking to a girl that says she worked in the place and she claims it was called New York New York, which a few folk had suggested to me on here. We almost went for it but when we asked her about the decor, her description didn't match what we remember :sad: 

10 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Was that at the side of the St James Centre?  If so, I think you could enter it from inside the mall as well?

Correct on both counts, inside the mall was through the Thistle Hotel I think.

7 minutes ago, graygo said:

Correct on both counts, inside the mall was through the Thistle Hotel I think.

That’s it!  Long passageway from the centre into the pub.  It was indeed the Thistle Hotel.

the general
20 minutes ago, Stuart Lyon said:

Morgan it wasn't the Greeen Tree as I originally posted - it was the Auld Hoose as I stated in a later post.

Had a tree in the pub!!

On 6/26/2018 at 14:05, Morgan said:

Cheers Stuart.

It’s the Bistro and the Melville Lounge I was after.

By the way, the diner search?   I was speaking to a girl that says she worked in the place and she claims it was called New York New York, which a few folk had suggested to me on here. We almost went for it but when we asked her about the decor, her description didn't match what we remember :sad: 

I've just seen her answer to you and to be fair she was pretty descriptive about the place and seeing as she worked there it sounds like maybe your memory about how it looked might have faded a bit, you cannae even mind what it's called ffs.  :rofl: