Old Edinburgh pubs

JWL

3 hours ago, stuart500 said:

I remember people who went for "breakfast" in the Penny Black before coming to work.

Not me I hasten to add!

I once went for ‘breakfast’ there to watch a Scotland game versus New Zealand (I think) in a WC qualifier. It was a strange thing drinking in the morning before going to work, not really a nice experience.

Edited by Morgan

• Replies 654

• Stuart Lyon

• The Real Maroonblood

• the general

24 minutes ago, Morgan said:

No 3f, sorry.

Was it beside the beau Brummell or more to the Princes st side of Hanover st?

2 minutes ago, 3fingersreid said:

Was it beside the beau Brummell or more to the Princes st side of Hanover st?

We thought it was more like the top of Hanover Street just before George Street but, going by todays chat with Montgomery, it’s looking more and more like it was on Frederick Street.

Sometimes this feels like a dream!  Were we actually ever there? :lol:

BC0E6671-3E0B-4231-8D14-5B54B08F26EF.gif

On Frederick Street what is now Tresspass outdoor shop was Blacks used to be The Aperatif and also Merrymans Cellar

1 hour ago, Morgan said:

It was a strange thing drinking in the morning before going to work, not really a nice experience.

Whit, ya cannae beat it   :mmtaxi:

Heart of Darkness

What was the name of the pub diagonally across Morrison st from Diane's Pool Hall?  It had a narrow wee staircase up to a wee balcony where you could look down on the drinkers below. The bogs were downstairs by the front door. 

It'sbeen doing my nut in for years trying to remember!!

21 minutes ago, Heart of Darkness said:

What was the name of the pub diagonally across Morrison st from Diane's Pool Hall?  It had a narrow wee staircase up to a wee balcony where you could look down on the drinkers below. The bogs were downstairs by the front door. 

Carters.

22 minutes ago, Heart of Darkness said:

Could it be the pub now called Montys not sure if it was the pub known as Carters back a few years ago 

Radio Ga Ga
7 hours ago, Heart of Darkness said:

The Jolly Beggars??

3 hours ago, Stuart Lyon said:

Monty's (current name) has been Carter's (twice), Ossian's Bar, and Spanner's Lounge Bar

OK pub but they  don't like football club colours. We went there once this season prematch as it's handy for Haymarket station.

maroondevo52

Used to drink in the Ladyfield next door to The Barley Bree in Morrision Street, along with a good few Jambo's.

Edited by maroondevo52

12 hours ago, luckyBatistuta said:

Whit, ya cannae beat it   :mmtaxi:

Drumming up business type post imo :wink: 

13 hours ago, 3fingersreid said:

Dream or nightmare ?

Neither :lol: actually.

It was a great place.

I think.

Radio Ga Ga
7 minutes ago, Morgan said:

That’s the name I recall.

It was definitely called that when it first opened in the mid 80’s, used to work just around the corner and spent many a night in there after work

Heart of Darkness
4 minutes ago, Heart of Darkness said:

Carter's....that sort of rings a bell, was still in my teens when I drank there.

Thanks lads.

Thinking back though - The Jolly Beggars sounds more familiar for the late 80's.

Heart of Darkness
2 minutes ago, Radio Ga Ga said:

It was definitely called that when it first opened in the mid 80’s, used to work just around the corner and spent many a night in there after work

Do you remember STALLIONS? (.)(.)

16 minutes ago, Radio Ga Ga said:

Yep, mid eighties is spot on.

14 hours ago, Morgan said:

We thought it was more like the top of Hanover Street just before George Street but, going by todays chat with Montgomery, it’s looking more and more like it was on Frederick Street.

Sometimes this feels like a dream!  Were we actually ever there? :lol:

BC0E6671-3E0B-4231-8D14-5B54B08F26EF.gif

Could it have been Refreshers or The Three Tuns?

1 minute ago, JWL said:

Could it have been Refreshers or The Three Tuns?

Nope, sorry.

Neither of them.

It was an American style diner (ribs, chicken wings that sort of thing).

Thanks though.

24 minutes ago, Stuart Lyon said:

Opened by boy from Drylaw's family who used his Thalidomide compensation to do so.

What was Stuart?

28 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Nope, sorry.

Neither of them.

Thanks though.

Still trying to find out the name of this pub then?

Frederick St ( Princes st side at George st) and American style food ?

Just now, 3fingersreid said:

Still trying to find out the name of this pub then?

Frederick St ( Princes st side at George st) and American style food ?

Spot on 3f.

This is proving very difficult. Thanks for any help you can offer.

Briefly: Angled entrance, black and white decor, black and white tiled flooring, early 80’s, free meal vouchers handed out in the street.

On 6/11/2018 at 12:47, Morgan said:

Not at all Stuart, we loved the Guildford too and even used the Penny Black of a lunchtime (or tea-break!) :lol: 

Cafe Royal bistro bar upstairs was pretty good too.

I had my engagement party upstairs in the Cafe Royal in 1987, great night.

Alas the marriage not so.

Just now, graygo said:

I had my engagement party upstairs in the Cafe Royal in 1987, great night.

Alas the marriage not so.

Och well, one out of two ain’t bad.

Seriously, sorry to hear that.

2 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Och well, one out of two ain’t bad.

Seriously, sorry to hear that.

Wasn't a total disaster, got a son who is now my best mate, and it was good for about 14 years before the 1 shit year.

Living the dream now with number 2. :thumbsup: 

1 minute ago, graygo said:

Wasn't a total disaster, got a son who is now my best mate, and it was good for about 14 years before the 1 shit year.

Living the dream now with number 2. :thumbsup: 

Good to hear graygo :thumb: 

Enjoy life, it’s just too short not to.

53 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Spot on 3f.

This is proving very difficult. Thanks for any help you can offer.

Briefly: Angled entrance, black and white decor, black and white tiled flooring, early 80’s, free meal vouchers handed out in the street.

Penguin cafe has been suggested already ?

20 minutes ago, 3fingersreid said:

Penguin cafe has been suggested already ?

Yeah, ‘fraid so :sad: 

Edited by Morgan

7 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Might, just might have been on the premises that is now called Miller and Carter.

Well despite your protestations that would make it Garfunkels. 

2 hours ago, Morgan said:

Nope, sorry.

Neither of them.

Thanks though.

Wasn't the Three Tuns turned into an American  diner ? 

15 minutes ago, Tazio said:

Well despite your protestations that would make it Garfunkels. 

Well I’m wrong with Miller and Carter then! 

It definitely wasn't Garfunkels!

14 minutes ago, NANOJAMBO said:

Wasn't the Three Tuns turned into an American  diner ? 

Was the Three Tuns the downstairs bar beside the bus stop on Hanover Street beside RS McColls?

If so, the place I’m looking for was way before that. Early to mid 80’s we reckon.

1 minute ago, Morgan said:

Well I’m wrong with Miller and Carter then! 

It definitely wasn't Garfunkels!

Right, it's been so long since you started this quest for your imaginary pub that I can't remember the full search parameters. What year are we talking?

2 minutes ago, Tazio said:

Right, it's been so long since you started this quest for your imaginary pub that I can't remember the full search parameters. What year are we talking?

I would say anywhere between ‘82 and ‘85.

1 hour ago, Morgan said:

I would say anywhere between ‘82 and ‘85.

Three Tuns would have been there at that time.

Edit: Having thought about that I can only say for certain that it was there around 1987.

Edited by graygo

3 minutes ago, graygo said:

Edit: Having thought about that I can only say for certain that it was there around 1987.

It was there before that as a mate of mine was going out with one of the barmaids and we used to go there around 85/86.

8 minutes ago, graygo said:

Definitely wasn't the Three Tuns. The place in question was on pavement level and I'm sure the Three Tuns was downstairs next door to RS McColls and Miss Selfridge?

Wrong location too. This is a nightmare!

I do however think the Three Tuns was there before '87 as I used to go there and Milnes after work around '85.

9 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Definitely wasn't the Three Tuns. The place in question was on pavement level and I'm sure the Three Tuns was downstairs next door to RS McColls and Miss Selfridge?

Wrong location too. This is a nightmare!

I do however think the Three Tuns was there before '87 as I used to go there and Milnes after work around '85.

The place you are talking about does sound like Garfunkels, I remember it opening and they had lots of flyers and offers to get folk in.

I know you are convinced it's not that though,

I'm guessing the place above the three tuns may have had a bar/diner set up at some point. I seem to remember it being one of those crap pasta chains at one point, Bella Italia or something but not sure before that. 

10 minutes ago, graygo said:

The place you are talking about does sound like Garfunkels, I remember it opening and they had lots of flyers and offers to get folk in.

I know you are convinced it's not that though,

We are slowly starting to doubt ourselves now. Just a wee bit.  What was Garfunkels like inside?