More Tory lies

aussieh

18 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

Profit is not a issue, it’s sometimes what people do it with the problem.

I don't really disagree with that, but also add that how that profit is generated can sometimes be problematic too.

• Replies 26.8k

• The Mighty Thor

• Victorian

• JudyJudyJudy

• Cade

There is nothing wrong with profits, as long as they are they taxed correctly so the wheel keeps turning.

When money is taken out of the cycle and hidden offshore, that's when we get problems in society.

On 30/05/2019 at 13:33, Cade said:

There is nothing wrong with profits, as long as they are they taxed correctly so the wheel keeps turning.

When money is taken out of the cycle and hidden offshore, that's when we get problems in society.

Billions of money hidden away, the real  orchestrators  of Austerity.

Just follow the money trail.

They are still at it. Taking from those that really need it to fund debts.

So not taking a bit extra from those that can afford it, but damaging further those that can't! They are the party of  the self serving.

Mind you, another Tory serving right wing jurno is told to beat  it from the Royal College Of GPs.

Edited by maroonlegions

On 30/05/2019 at 10:41, Boris said:

I don't really disagree with that, but also add that how that profit is generated can sometimes be problematic too.

Obviously you will stand up for profit. I mean where will socialists like yourself get other peoples money to pay for all your flights of fancy? Of course the problem with socialism always arises when they inevitably run out of other peoples money to spend. 

55 minutes ago, Seymour M Hersh said:

Obviously you will stand up for profit. I mean where will socialists like yourself get other peoples money to pay for all your flights of fancy? Of course the problem with socialism always arises when they inevitably run out of other peoples money to spend. 

That almost read as if it was an original thought of yours. 

If if you accept that as a society we require certain things, an infrastructure if you like, to be able to function and to support innovation and entrepreneurial verve, then how else should it be funded?

The transport network to get people to and from work?

An educational system from primary to tertiary level that encourages and develops talent?

Housing for people to live comfortably and safely and affordably in?

A health service to tend and support if ill?

These are all things that I believe are better funded for collectively and are thr responsibility of the government.

For too long, short term economic gain for a few has been the focus, rather than developing the entire economy for everyone's sake and benefit.

Perhaps a rather utopian outlook, but given our divided and fractured polity at the moment, all working together to create, repair, modernise our society and economy couldn't be a bad thing.

2 hours ago, Seymour M Hersh said:

Aye, cause that's right as Boris points out, you have your own everything, no-one helped you, you even have your own police force to stop people like Boris from easily taking all your stuff. Now, that's what I call full circle.

That Rory Stewart bloke seems quite a cool and interesting character for a politician. Hope he gets the job.

37 minutes ago, pablo said:

That Rory Stewart bloke seems quite a cool and interesting character for a politician. Hope he gets the job.

Certainly the best of a bad bunch!  

A touch of the noblesse oblige about him though.

6 hours ago, Boris said:

Rather optimistic of you, Boris

4 hours ago, Cade said:

"other people's money" is what Capitalism is.

You take from other people and keep it for yourself.

Correct again. Willful tax evasion is robbery. 

What happened to that Tory promise of making us all a bit better off with their "trickle down economics.

Image may contain: 1 person, text that says "Nash @Nasharchy got banned from the library for moving all the books on trickle down economics to the mythology section 5/10/17, 5:45 PM"

Edited by maroonlegions

7 hours ago, pablo said:

Who, Rod ?

I wonder if Gove would like to repeat his wee stand up routine about the Scots.  Nothing worse, than people who target their own.  If MG was Jewish, he'd have be been a  guard at Auschwitz. That's the sort of person he is.

5 hours ago, ri Alban said:

I wonder if Gove would like to repeat his wee stand up routine about the Scots.  Nothing worse, than people who target their own.  If MG was Jewish, he'd have be been a  guard at Auschwitz. That's the sort of person he is.

There are a few on this forum who are self loathing Scots.

Pretty sad.

23 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

There are a few on this forum who are self loathing Scots.

Pretty sad.

Sad isn't the word I'd use.

On ‎01‎/‎06‎/‎2019 at 07:25, Boris said:

If if you accept that as a society we require certain things, an infrastructure if you like, to be able to function and to support innovation and entrepreneurial verve, then how else should it be funded?

The transport network to get people to and from work?

An educational system from primary to tertiary level that encourages and develops talent?

Housing for people to live comfortably and safely and affordably in?

A health service to tend and support if ill?

These are all things that I believe are better funded for collectively and are thr responsibility of the government.

For too long, short term economic gain for a few has been the focus, rather than developing the entire economy for everyone's sake and benefit.

Perhaps a rather utopian outlook, but given our divided and fractured polity at the moment, all working together to create, repair, modernise our society and economy couldn't be a bad thing.

There will always be that issue Boris.

My taxes are too high for me to pay for everything my family needs- healthcare, education and so on and so forth from what I am left with.

I don't deem ANY business that does not pay living wage due to profitability as actually profitable.

I have MASSIVE issues with companies not paying proper levels of tax- as in essence they are abrogating their responsibility to the country- as it falls to morons like me to pay for healthcare etc for THEIR employees.

The problem in future is that as more sell moves online then "sales" and thus "tax" revenue will fall as it can be moved about.

For any business I would favour hiking VAT, and reducing profit taxes.

If you tax profits that can easily be avoided, and prices reduced to wipe out "bricks and mortar" businesses- and lower prices mean lower profits.

I would also ban governments contracts for any business not showing a profit.

11 minutes ago, doctor jambo said:

There will always be that issue Boris.

My taxes are too high for me to pay for everything my family needs- healthcare, education and so on and so forth from what I am left with.

But you've already paid for education and healthcare... 

I don't deem ANY business that does not pay living wage due to profitability as actually profitable.

Agree

I have MASSIVE issues with companies not paying proper levels of tax- as in essence they are abrogating their responsibility to the country- as it falls to morons like me to pay for healthcare etc for THEIR employees.

Agree

The problem in future is that as more sell moves online then "sales" and thus "tax" revenue will fall as it can be moved about.

Then clamp down on it.  Pretty sure there are countries that tax their citizens regardless of where they have earned that income, same for the companies.

For any business I would favour hiking VAT, and reducing profit taxes.

Would that not nake goods/services more expensive and thus purchased less, therefore less profits?

If you tax profits that can easily be avoided, and prices reduced to wipe out "bricks and mortar" businesses- and lower prices mean lower profits.

Tax collection needs tightened up, I think we agree there.  A lower profit is still a profit, isn't it?

I would also ban governments contracts for any business not showing a profit.

Possibly.

15 minutes ago, Boris said:

But you've already paid for education and healthcare... 

I do believe in choice though Boris.

Whilst healthcare is still good ( no matter what people say)

I also believe that I should be able to make choices with regards to education- which school, school ethos, school location,

If you can choose Uni/ college of choice- then why not schools?

At present its either your local comp- or £13-14 k per annum per child to go private.

If "I" am paying for something- even via taxation, surely I should have a choice of what suits my children- academic/sporty/vocational and so on.

Or even go "the local school is utterly crap, I'm not sending my children there" and take them somewhere else?

2 minutes ago, doctor jambo said:

I do believe in choice though Boris.

Whilst healthcare is still good ( no matter what people say)

I also believe that I should be able to make choices with regards to education- which school, school ethos, school location,

If you can choose Uni/ college of choice- then why not schools?

At present its either your local comp- or £13-14 k per annum per child to go private.

If "I" am paying for something- even via taxation, surely I should have a choice of what suits my children- academic/sporty/vocational and so on.

Or even go "the local school is utterly crap, I'm not sending my children there" and take them somewhere else?

Arguably, if the government took in what it was due in tax, and then spent properly in education, then the need for private education wouldn't really arise.

But is it perpetuated in the UK because that's where our "betters" went?  Not saying that's why all kids are sent to private schools, but if you look at those that govern us, the amount of private school/Oxbridge alumni is staggering.  Why would they wish to change a system that has obviously benefited them?

I'm not having a go at you btw, I get that folks send their kids to fee paying schools because the local alternatives aren't as "good".  That's not really about tax, rather a failure on behalf of (all) governments.

12 minutes ago, Boris said:

I'm not having a go at you btw, I get that folks send their kids to fee paying schools because the local alternatives aren't as "good".  That's not really about tax, rather a failure on behalf of (all) governments.

It's partly about tax, though.

The standard of education in state schools is falling due to schools being forced to make cuts as a result of continuing falls in funding. Decent teachers are leaving to join the private sector - the only way they can increase their prospects. Extra-curricular activites (sport and music) are dropping off like flies. If the government took more tax, it could afford to look after education better. Likewise, though, if they changed their priorities for spending, they could do something about the declining standards.

But, as you also said, their policies aren't having any impact on Eton/Harrow or Oxbridge, so where's the problem for them? Terribly blinkered and short-sighted.

10 minutes ago, I P Knightley said:

The standard of education in state schools is falling due to schools being forced to make cuts as a result of continuing falls in funding. Decent teachers are leaving to join the private sector - the only way they can increase their prospects. Extra-curricular activites (sport and music) are dropping off like flies. If the government took more tax, it could afford to look after education better. Likewise, though, if they changed their priorities for spending, they could do something about the declining standards.

But, as you also said, their policies aren't having any impact on Eton/Harrow or Oxbridge, so where's the problem for them? Terribly blinkered and short-sighted.

I suppose it is, I was meaning more the right to choose.  But as you point out, the relationship between the two is there.

26 minutes ago, I P Knightley said:

but........

many of the charitable benefits have been removed from private schools so feels have risen.

Teachers wages have risen in line with state sector so fees have risen.

Teachers NI has been raised so feels have risen

Since 2008 school fees have risen a whopping 56 %, - most into govt coffers.

So there IS an impact on the private sector as those of us who earn good - but not astounding money are increasingly struggling

2 hours ago, doctor jambo said:

but........

many of the charitable benefits have been removed from private schools so feels have risen.

Teachers wages have risen in line with state sector so fees have risen.

Teachers NI has been raised so feels have risen

Since 2008 school fees have risen a whopping 56 %, - most into govt coffers.

So there IS an impact on the private sector as those of us who earn good - but not astounding money are increasingly struggling

You're not quite in their demographic, are you? :D

That 56% works out at 4.5% a year with teachers' remuneration accounting for 2-3% of that (we've got a nice 7.2% whack in the pipeline for pensions as well.). Had they diverted the surplus into state education, I'd be content but they're not. The maximum funding they give per pupil per annum is about £6k, less for sixth form, while my local fee paying school (which doesn't do particularly well in the league tables compared to the better run state schools) comes in at £18k. Somewhere, there's a middle ground where quality of education and annual cost must meet and it's much nearer the £6k than the £18k.

I don't know what any of that proves - just good to have a rant.

Tory basturts!

Pans Jambo

This is one of my favourite threads as its about bashing the folk I detest the most. Stop spoiling it with sensible debate on taxation etc. 

back to the business in hand please!

Brutal, totally fecking sick. 

Tories claiming that their draconian, victorian like welfare  benefit changes  help people.

They really are living up to their image of the nasty party.

Edited by maroonlegions

1 hour ago, Notts1874 said:

Boris will be in the Sunday Times next saying he used to mainline smack....

C__Data_Users_DefApps_AppData_INTERNETEXPLORER_Temp_Saved Images_D8fLMU8XkAAI84g.jpg

The thought of Gove, chinged oot his nut...terrifying!

3 minutes ago, A Boy Named Crow said:

The thought of Gove, chinged oot his nut...terrifying!

Imagine being at that party???

21 minutes ago, Notts1874 said:

Imagine being at that party???

Doesn’t bear thinking about 

One wonders if Gove has volunteered this info or the Mail has been tipped off and then confronted him.

Or , by getting it out there he's putting the ball in Boris's court??

41 minutes ago, Boris said:

One wonders if Gove has volunteered this info or the Mail has been tipped off and then confronted him.

A devious politician.

Never.

40 minutes ago, Boris said:

Ah the classic "I've done wrong, we all have" man of the people schtick.

I can imagine Gove on coke being an even more odious *****. 

Jambo-Jimbo
1 hour ago, Boris said:

Saying on the news this morning that Gove & (his team?) had went through all possible questions he could have been asked the last time he stood for leader back in 2016, and the question of him ever taken drugs was asked and he said that he had used cocaine when he was a journalist, long before he had entered politics, but as it turned out with him stabbing Johnson in the back the question never arose, well maybe not publicly.

So it would appear that within political and maybe media circles it was known about but as is often the case nobody ran the story until it would get maximum exposure, as it would right now.

The news were also saying that that Rory Stewart has admitted smoking cannabis when he was 19 or so.

2 hours ago, Lord BJ said:

Whilst most of us couldn’t give a **** what drug people took 20 year ago or something. The Tory membership may be a slightly different demographic and I suspect a large amount of them still be very anti drugs. 

They will be the people decide the next leadership and PM 

Perhaps gives him the opportunity to ask Boris in the hustings?

Bojo denies it , cue dirt being dished?

11 hours ago, Boris said:

Perhaps gives him the opportunity to ask Boris in the hustings?

Bojo denies it , cue dirt being dished?

In the Grauniad today, Boris was offered a white powder at uni, but none went up his nose because he sneezed. He has no idea whether or not it was cocaine.

Aye, that’ll be shining, Boris. They really think we’re all just idiots, don’t they?

* It confuses things that you are also Boris, in no way am I insinuating  that you, the JKB Boris has either done drugs or tried to hoodwink the public about it. Just to be clear.

Edited by A Boy Named Crow

Michael gove's wife always wanted to run the country. Bet he ends up divorced. 

Putin, Trump and the rest must be shiting themselves at the prospect of any of these weirdos being PM. :rofl:

Boris and Gove are just another nail in the UK's coffin. It's furnace dodged, long enough.

On 08/06/2019 at 08:59, Lord BJ said:

Whilst most of us couldn’t give a **** what drug people took 20 year ago or something. The Tory membership may be a slightly different demographic and I suspect a large amount of them still be very anti drugs. 

They will be the people decide the next leadership and PM 

Most of us you say, bold statement that.

Grove was 30 and a jurno, he by buying coke contributed to the drug criminals who  make money  that goes into other criminal activities.

Look at  the Marrs  interview  on the BBC  when he tore  Grove apart on his drug past. He was asked if he lied about his drug taking on  a certain question on the form you have to fill out to get into the US, he sidestepped that question, he did lie on that question form. This is a man who wants to be the next fecking PM.

He was also education secretary  and Marrs pulled him up on that. Marrs asked him if he deserved a prison sentence, as there are many people who have done the same as him who have gone to jail, again but he again slavered  on about regretting taking coke.

He is a coward and a hypocrite like Boris.  They are not joe bloggs on the street in the boozer taking about their drug experiences they had 20 years ago ,they are men who had , and still do hold very responsible jobs, we the mugs, sorry the  public deserve that they be held accountable.

How it should be.

safe_image.php?d=AQC8fwBSujMrAVC8&w=476&

Edited by maroonlegions

52 minutes ago, maroonlegions said:

Grove was 30 and a jurno, he by buying coke contributed to the drug criminals who  make money  that goes into other criminal activities.

Look at  the Marrs  interview  on the BBC  when he tore  Grove apart on his drug past. He was asked if he lied about his drug taking on  a certain question on the form you have to fill out to get into the US, he sidestepped that question, he did lie on that question form. This is a man who wants to be the next fecking PM.

He was also education secretary  and Marrs pulled him up on that. Marrs asked him if he deserved a prison sentence, as there are many people who have done the same as him who have gone to jail, again but he again slavered  on about regretting taking coke.

He is a coward and a hypocrite like Boris.  They are not joe bloggs on the street in the boozer taking about their drug experiences they had 20 years ago ,they are men who had , and still do hold very responsible jobs, we the mugs, sorry the  public deserve that they be held accountable.

How it should be.

What a lot of shite and I'd say that no matter who it was confessing to having used drugs recreationally in the past. 

55 minutes ago, maroonlegions said:

How it should be.

Smoke coming out of their arses would be more appropriate.

So this is were the Tory con men and women are getting their savings from in order to finance tax breaks for the wealthy. Welfare and public service spending slashed at a all time high. Feck all to do with their Austerity con.  The nasty party who dont give a feck about anyone.

Disabled mum says DWP took adapted car away after 'hand tickling' assessment.

A mother with multiple sclerosis (MS) says her specially adapted car was taken away from her for nearly a year by a benefits assessor after nothing more than ‘tickling her hand with a feather’.

Image may contain: 1 person, smiling, child and outdoor

Read more at: 
http://bit.ly/2WmPnsq

17 minutes ago, pablo said:

What a lot of shite and I'd say that no matter who it was confessing to having used drugs recreationally in the past. 

Yes Grove  is full of shite and i would say that to anyone who was a lying about their drug past  and  who were in positions of power like him.

He  aint no joe bloggs by the way, this is a man who wants to be PM ffs.

Imagine the right wing seethe if this was Corbyn .

No matter the spin on this from the right wing press and those  Tories on here playing this down  this creepy snake man should be nowhere near a position of government never mind running for PM. If people are happy that a man like him should be trusted in such a position of power then UK politics  is upside fecking down.

He broke the law ffs, recreational or not, sorry your honor, it was recreational use, sorry about FUNDING drug barons linked with other criminal activities.

There are kids on the street dying of drug use, people getting stab and sometimes killed in drug wars and this odious man   FUNDED it through using coke.  People must realise that by buying coke from anyone it comes from organized criminals not from Tinker Bell selling pixie dust.

You either  take a zero tolerance on anyone buying  "class A "  drugs for any purpose or you participate in or give the green light to the funding of criminal gangs .  

Edited by maroonlegions

7 minutes ago, maroonlegions said:

Yes Grove  is full of shite and i would say that to anyone who was a lying about their drug past  and  who were in positions of power like him.

He  aint no joe bloggs by the way, this is a man who wants to be PM ffs.

Imagine the right wing seethe if this was Corbyn .

No matter the spin on this from the right wing press and those  Tories on here playing this down  this creepy snake man should be nowhere near a position of government never mind running for PM. If people are happy that a man like him should be trusted in such a position of power then UK politics  is upside fecking down.

He broke the law ffs, recreational or not, sorry your honor, it was recreational use, sorry about FUNDING drug barons linked with other criminal activities.

There are kids on the street dying of drug use, people getting stab and sometimes killed in drug wars and this odious man   FUNDED it through using coke.  People must realise that by buying coke from anyone it comes from organized criminals not from Tinker Bell selling pixie dust.

You either  take a zero tolerance on anyone buying  "class A "  drugs for any purpose or you participate in or give the green light to the funding of criminal gangs .  

Grove once uttered this.

"Teachers who use drugs should be BANNED from teaching the rest of their professional CAREERS" . 

:levein_interesting:

Pity he did not apply that to himself , the self righteous, squeaky clean , holier than now spin on him is cringeworthy   from the right wingers.

1 hour ago, maroonlegions said:

Grove once uttered this.

"Teachers who use drugs should be BANNED from teaching the rest of their professional CAREERS" . 

:levein_interesting:

Pity he did not apply that to himself , the self righteous, squeaky clean , holier than now spin on him is cringeworthy   from the right wingers.

Is there a reason I've missed, why you're calling Gove, Grove?