• The Mighty Thor

• Victorian

• JudyJudyJudy

• Cade

1 hour ago, Japan Jambo said:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-58890485

First thoughts were I wouldn't give him the controls to the telly, fair play though the role is unpaid.

"It comes four months after Mr Hancock resigned from his cabinet post for breaking social distancing guidelines by kissing a colleague." 

He was having an affair and everyone in the Tory party  knew about it. 

5 hours ago, WorldChampions1902 said:

This is just the START of tax rises for us workers. More will follow and soon. Bookmark it!

In fact, such is the perversity of Brexit, don’t be surprised to see VAT creep up soon, whilst the government announces that free of Brussels, we can now vary the rate of VAT. Much applause.

The Tories have consistently raised VAT from 8% to the current rate of 20%.

But they're the party of low taxation. 

10 hours ago, Victorian said:

Few would want to turn the clock back to the type of nationalisation of the past but this would be a different,  time limited and strategic and targeted version.  The Tories themselves are engaged in turning the clock back to an age when their free market economy functioned.  It no longer does because the fabric of the economy and the conditions of the past no longer exist.  It's a busted ideology.  There's a very wide range of sectors and industries that are critical to the inextricable ties of the economy.  We should preserve the fabric of the economy to stabilise and recover.

This is the debate I had with the missus today. Thatcher  closed down steel, shipbuilding, coal mining  and watched as car prodution disappeared. - and that was just in Scotland 

But now those money losing, ineffecient industries are gone there is nothing left to cut. What  we're seeing post brexit is lean , agile businesses going to the wall. The current Tories,  "***k business Tories" simply don't care.  It doesn't affect them (did it ever). They have no vision, it's simply about preserving the status quo , being in power and being part of the brexit cult. This current lot are the worst of the worst. 

1 hour ago, manaliveits105 said:

Ports almost back to running normally 

Tories have saved Christmas :smiliz19:

aye running normally 👍

17 hours ago, Japan Jambo said:

To be fair the credit card is pretty stacked with debt from the pandemic, how would you set about dealing with it if you can't cut costs and increase revenue?

They could always just kick the can down the road and let future generations pay for it I suppose, that would that be ok, wouldn't it.

Of course not, somebody has to start to pay for furlough and all the other scheme's that helped people during the lockdowns, which also kept businesses afloat so as people had jobs to go back to, surely nobody was naive enough to think it was all for free and wasn't going have to be paid back at some point, there was always likely to have to be tax rises and or service/benefit cuts, to help pay for it all.

2 hours ago, manaliveits105 said:

Ports almost back to running normally 

Tories have saved Christmas :smiliz19:

1 hour ago, The Mighty Thor said:

aye running normally 👍

*sound of lid going back on box*

3 hours ago, The Mighty Thor said:

aye running normally 👍

The hold up at ports is not just a UK problem, or even Europe. It's World wide

Planning to give Border Force officials immunity from prosecution if they push back a dingy full of people that then go on to drown.

A flagrant breach of international law and an attempt to make murder legal.

2 hours ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Bloody worldwide toooooaarries !!

2 hours ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Just a matter of a couple of weeks ago there was over 70 container ships moored of the coast of California, because America's busiest container port, Los Angeles couldn't cope with them all, even other ports couldn't help as they were also rammed full with container ships.

https://news.sky.com/story/california-more-than-70-cargo-ships-queue-outside-los-angeles-and-long-beach-ports-amid-surge-in-us-imports-12414284

The reason was basically a lack of workers at the ports, also a lack of trucks to transport the goods, but even if there were enough trucks there wasn't enough drivers to drive the trucks.   Sounds familiar.

3 hours ago, Nucky Thompson said:

So ports are not back to normal and the Tories have not saved Christmas?

3 hours ago, Nucky Thompson said:

You actually believe that pish. 

19 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

So ports are not back to normal and the Tories have not saved Christmas?

Beginning to improve according to ITV news.

I'm not so sure Christmas was doomed anyway.

I couldn't get a PS5 for love nor money last year and I'm sure there will be things this year that are rarer than hen's teeth

3 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

You actually believe that pish. 

I take it you don't watch or read the news :lol:

52 minutes ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

https://news.sky.com/story/california-more-than-70-cargo-ships-queue-outside-los-angeles-and-long-beach-ports-amid-surge-in-us-imports-12414284

The reason was basically a lack of workers at the ports, also a lack of trucks to transport the goods, but even if there were enough trucks there wasn't enough drivers to drive the trucks.   Sounds familiar.

Those damn Tories :vangry:

1 minute ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

It's all true on the news.

Is it all lies then? Or only the bits you want to be

Just now, Nucky Thompson said:

Is it all lies then? Or only the bits you want to be

Same for you.

Do you also buy into this save Xmas shite?

2 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Same for you.

Do you also buy into this save Xmas shite?

Definitely not.

Anyway, I couldn't give a hoot if there was a shortage of Turkeys and I would be delighted if there was no Brussels sprouts 

3 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Definitely not.

Anyway, I couldn't give a hoot if there was a shortage of Turkeys and I would be delighted if there was no Brussels sprouts 

Uber hard-line Brexiteer here!

5 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Definitely not.

Turkeys are shite.

Prefer Capon.

Brussel sprouts not too bad.

Just have a look at the details of the corrupt and negligent relationship between this government,  the major home builders,  lobbied for deregulation,  watered down standards,  party donations,  big profit margins,  sub-standard home builds.

My word.  These people are vandals and parasites.

11 hours ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Definitely not.

caramelise them with some onions, butter and sugar - very acceptable though the doctor may not agree.

2 hours ago, The Mighty Thor said:

So about this Tories have saved Christmas thing,?

Just something small will do thanks 

don’t go overboard 

The problems the Yanks are having is that people coming off Furlough seem to have no interest in going back to their shite jobs with pish pay and awful conditions.

This is also the case in Europe and in the UK.

But the USA and Europe have far larger populations and will be able to replace the lost workers far more easily than isolated Little Britain.

We've seen this already, with the UK government opening visas in a desperate attempt to pull in more labour but hardly any overseas workers taking up the offer, instead preferring to find work where they are.

It's debatable whether or not the supply chain crisis in the UK would still have happened purely due to Brexit, or whether Brexit has simply amplified the Covid effect, but the Operation Yellowhammer paper did warn of supply chain problems, and mostly everything else that was in that paper has come true, so take from that what you will.

16 minutes ago, Cade said:

Matt Hancock has his job offer at the UN revoked.

They must have realised he's a useless fud.

Nice one. 

Raab threatens to make new laws to "correct" legal outcomes on human rights judgements if the government doesn't like them.

So, the government is actually planning to overturn the rule of law when it loses a case.

Wow.

27 minutes ago, Cade said:

Raab threatens to make new laws to "correct" legal outcomes on human rights judgements if the government doesn't like them.

So, the government is actually planning to overturn the rule of law when it loses a case.

Wow.

Let's not forget the "ad hoc" process he's allegedly proposing. And there was me thinking we had parliamentary bills, HoL, HoC for that kind of stuff. Probably just have an opinion poll in Daily "ememies of the peole" Mail , much more convenient. 

1 hour ago, Cade said:

Wow.

The tragic events in Leigh in sea will present a great opportunity for Patel and Raab to ram through New bills and laws on the back of 'national security'

Any kind of scrutiny will be met with howls about Friday's tragic events. 

Polexit soon hopefully 
Bloody Polish Tories !!!!

Come on in the waters fine guys 

Their relationship was plunged into crisis earlier this month when a Polish court ruled some of Poland's laws had primacy of EU ones.

"We cannot and we will not allow our common values to be put at risk," said Ursula von der Leyen, president of the European Commission.

But Polish Prime Minister Mateusz Morawiecki, also present at the plenary session in Strasbourg, hit back.

"Poland will not be intimated," said Morawiecki, vowing to defend his country's sovereign independence against the "creeping expansion" of EU institutions.

mon the Poles !

Tories lying to Scotland again…

Uncle tams like sir Ian wood toiling to defend them with these carbon capture sites. 
It’s all good imo. The bag of chips has fallen off our shoulders it’s needs a big scoop to top us up and fuel the grievance😀

On 17/10/2021 at 18:26, The Mighty Thor said:

The tragic events in Leigh in sea will present a great opportunity for Patel and Raab to ram through New bills and laws on the back of 'national security'

Any kind of scrutiny will be met with howls about Friday's tragic events. 

Yep . Rushed laws after a serious event are never wise really . They tend to be underpinned by emotion

and revenge then rational, level headed thought out thinking 

46 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Yep . Rushed laws after a serious event are never wise really . They tend to be underpinned by emotion

and revenge then rational, level headed thought out thinking 

They're all jumping in with 'David's Law', even guys like Mark Francois, who enjoyed an extended break from parliament and the public eye earlier this year and in totally unrelated events, around the same time an MP in his 50's was suspended from parliament whilst sexual assault claims were 'investigated' by the speaker of the house and the leader of the house. The victim is still appealing to the CPS as to why the case was not pursued.

So yes I can understand why certain people, particularly those with things they'd rather keep quiet, would want social media voices shut down.

It wasn't social media accounts calling out the lies and shenanigans of those in power that killed Davis Ames, it appears it may well have been home bred Islamic fundamentalism. 

Any government should be open to transparency and held to account. This particularly nefarious mob will be moving heaven and earth to prevent that from happening.