Tottenham's new stadium

40 minutes ago, PTBCAL said:

Agree. Doesn’t even look remotely like a football stadium 

I disagree. One of the most stunning stadiums I've seen.

And no, not a Spurs fan.

• Replies 151

• benny

• Arthur Morgan

• EagleJambo

2 minutes ago, CJGJ said:

With all due repect to those complaining have you actually been to the old White Hart lane ?

It was well past its time and far too small for the demand for tickets in recent times

They have a brand spanking new home yards from their old so all can still attend their usual haunts pre and post match

The facilities would seem to be far better than the old ground and they have built it bearing in mind the type of events that will be needed to raise the funds required to operate it

They will suffer financially over the next 10 years or so and it will limit their transfer expenditure but in the long run it is a change they needed to make

“Suffer financially” they will that’s for sure but modern football especially EPL is a business it’s about money football comes second sadly. 

I think it looks amazing and will make the whole day out a better experience. Most of us got excited over our new stand (quite right in my opinion) and for Spurs fans it must be a very exciting time. I also assume it will be far better than having to travel to Wembley for games (I think the equivalent would be us playing home games at Dunfermline).

Looks brilliant. It's a bit like The Emirates in 2004 (was it) Spurs had outgrown White Hart Lane and it looks a plush and modern arena, things are looking very good for them

Lovely stadium. Though will be interesting to see how it pans out when Pochettino fecks off to Man U in the summer!

Wonder how much it is to do the tour or the skywalk? I was at a conference at the Wembley Hilton a few years ago - they had discounted tours available - only £70 

:berra:

I decided to go networking in the hotel bar instead :D

On 21/01/2017 at 10:07, Phil Dunphy said:

Yay, another soulless arena with no history or character.

Just what football needs.

What would make it more soulful? 

Just looking at the pictures, and it does look stunning, but why do they have the gaps in the stands? Remember being at the Emirates a few years back to watch Scotland (the Neymar game), and a lot of the atmosphere simply wafted away through these.

image.png.7afe08fd87bfc43a497fb8bd2b84ce3f.png

1 minute ago, Craig_ said:

Just looking at the pictures, and it does look stunning, but why do they have the gaps in the stands? Remember being at the Emirates a few years back to watch Scotland (the Neymar game), and a lot of the atmosphere simply wafted away through these.

Does seem according to this they’ve managed to design the acoustics well.

https://www.theguardian.com/football/2019/mar/24/tottenham-new-stadium-mauricio-pochettino

3 hours ago, Geoff the Mince said:

Ooh go away you old  bore ! 

Not as ****ing boring as so called Hearts supporters swooning over another clubs stadium.

Hearts are our club mate.  Tynecastle is our place of worship not WH Lane or Emirates or any of these big business financed conglomerates Stadiums.

They could build a 500k capacity stadium for all I care.

jamtartan74
14 minutes ago, luckydug said:

Not as ****ing boring as so called Hearts supporters swooning over another clubs stadium.

Hearts are our club mate.  Tynecastle is our place of worship not WH Lane or Emirates or any of these big business financed conglomerates Stadiums.

Are we not allowed to say another stadium looks nice now? 

3 minutes ago, jamtartan74 said:

Apparently not, weird thinking.

1 minute ago, jamtartan74 said:

Of course we are.

It's the deference to English football and the pretendy rivalries between 'Hearts fans '? for English clubs that irks me.

It's a nice Stadium right enough but the best I could say about it is 'futuristic '

The cash pouring into that League is obscene.?

SpruceBringsteen

Should be pretty wild when 60k tourists are getting their photos taken with opposition players and putting down their Nike Burgers™ to politely applaud when Spurs score.

5 minutes ago, luckydug said:

Sorry bad day ?

No worries, hope you have a better day.

Though I do agree that this has only been built due to the crazy money in the league which is obscene, Scottish football feels like it has to survive on the scraps from the over the top feast that is English Premier league football. On a side note, I heard a caller into the 5live phone in having a go at people criticising Man Utd v Barcelona tickets being over £100 saying if fans want big players at their club then they have to face huge ticket prices. Considering ticket revenue normally accounts for less than 10% of total revenue, it sums up how clubs treat fans despite the wealth which doesn't require huge prices. And some have just accepted it.

Edited by jamboinglasgow

Geoff the Mince
25 minutes ago, luckydug said:

I barely watch any of the over hyped English pish ,  I was having a wee laugh with another poster .

Your post was pathetic and there was no need for it .

jamtartan74
7 minutes ago, luckydug said:

Of course we are.

It's the deference to English football and the pretendy rivalries between 'Hearts fans '? for English clubs that irks me.

It's a nice Stadium right enough but the best I could say about it is 'futuristic '

The cash pouring into that League is obscene.?

No probs bud, I think it’s a cracking looking stadium, and yes the money down there is obscene ?

1 hour ago, luckydug said:

91A1BF95-E317-4038-A2D8-6A417FAA8FC6.jpeg

Giving the waiting list, why not make it bigger. 

75k, 25% more income? 

2 hours ago, Craig_ said:

Fans paying a lot of money to get wet by the looks of the roof.

I've been driving past the new Brentford stadium over the past few weeks. Looks like a proper stadium, so it does. I'll definitely get down there when it's open. Will only go to WHL when some Spurs supporting mates buy me a ticket.

12 hours ago, lsimp77 said:

White hart lane was better. These new stadiums are shite. Give me tynecastle every day of the week over those bowls. 

Can we at least get some heaters. Fecking freezing.

I think it looks just OK...

The single tier stand I love. The other three stands are just typical fragmented sections separating the elite from the real fan.

Would look amazing single tier all round...

Woud rather dip my tongue in a stream of Tynecastle pish out the bogs han click on a video of that pish.

Are we supposed to be impressed? Wow, you get thrown blank cheques at you all day and have spent Asian money on a stand designed for football tourists.

Sooner that league implodes the better. **** em.

9 minutes ago, i8hibsh said:

Woud rather dip my tongue in a stream of Tynecastle pish out the bogs han click on a video of that pish.

Are we supposed to be impressed? Wow, you get thrown blank cheques at you all day and have spent Asian money on a stand designed for football tourists.

Sooner that league implodes the better. **** em.

Funny, i thought you would be all for it :lol:

It's very impressive but impressive in the same way that some Sultan's residence is impressive. You're like "wow", and then hope it falls down.

Shame Spurs play at it ?

In all seriousness if West Ham had built a new stadium near Upton Park the fans would have been a lot happier. I know a lot of punters who have refused to go to the OS

At what point does someone who supports a football team morph into someone who supports a football stadium?

Yes, OK, I'm a grumpy old man who can't stand baking, cookery, home improvement, new house abroad, or any of the property/food/aspiration  porn programmes that pollute our tv screens. This sounds like a new category: Stadium Porn has arrived!

Frankly Tottenham Hotspur, or West Ham, or Man.Utd, I couldn't give a monkey's how big your stadium is, how expensive your squad was, or how huge your collective willies are.

Home is where the HEARTS are.

Now away tae F**** and gie's peace.

Edited by upgotheheads

There are a lot of angry angry folk in here, get a life or your hole :lol:

It's an incredible looking stadium, something we could only ever dream of having.

Out of interest, what about it makes it not look remotely like a football stadium? It has seats and a football pitch. Is there a certain criteria?

And what about it makes it soulless? What does that even mean? Is it an exclusive term for all bowl shaped stadiums? Wonder if the updated Nou Camp will be soulless too?

Sorry for all the questions.

Famous 1874

Emirates is soulless, new Spurs one won’t be. Reasonably tight to the pitch, impressive single tier stand, not many tickets are being sold to non-season ticket holders so that will remove the tourist type fans that are all over the likes of Man Utd, Man City, Liverpool, Arsenal and Chelsea.

18 minutes ago, Famous 1874 said:

Emirates is soulless, new Spurs one won’t be. Reasonably tight to the pitch, impressive single tier stand, not many tickets are being sold to non-season ticket holders so that will remove the tourist type fans that are all over the likes of Man Utd, Man City, Liverpool, Arsenal and Chelsea.

Edit: delete !

Edited by Nookie Bear

Holyrood_Hearts
21 hours ago, benny said:

No idea if true or not but somebody told me they forgot to put in a decent space for taking cornerso in the design.

So now they are little space between the corner area and the new stands.

Yeah I read that somewhere as well.  The pitch slopes downwards so you can’t get a decent run-up 

32 minutes ago, Famous 1874 said:

What’s incorrect about anything I said there?

Nothing, i started to question it and then realised you had gone on to explain :thumb:

I suspect that, despite the efforts to sell tickets to the 'right' sort of fans, there will be a tourist element to the support from next season.

Funniest thing is that Levy paid himself a £20m+ bonus a year ago for delivering the project on time and to budget! Haha

1 hour ago, Spellczech said:

Funniest thing is that Levy paid himself a £20m+ bonus a year ago for delivering the project on time and to budget! Haha

Slush fund to keep Harry Kane. 

Stadium looks great, won’t help them keep their manager or players in the short term. Once it’s paid off they will still need someone to persuade Levy to spend money to conpete. Ironically the slagged Arsenal for all those years about the Emirates and have done the exact same thing. 

56 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

Stadium looks great, won’t help them keep their manager or players in the short term. Once it’s paid off they will still need someone to persuade Levy to spend money to conpete. Ironically the slagged Arsenal for all those years about the Emirates and have done the exact same thing. 

They are not really big spenders anyway.

I would think they will use most of the money they get from player sales to buy others.

1 hour ago, benny said:

They are not really big spenders anyway.

I would think they will use most of the money they get from player sales to buy others.

That’s why they never win anything in the CL and EPL as money counts the vast majority of the time.