Even More SNP Nonsense

Stuart Lyon

52 minutes ago, frankblack said:

The question is how much damage will fall on the SNP once the details come out.

Not much. It only plays on the mind of the ignorant and those that want it to harm them. I'm sure the SNP will still govern Scotland for a very long time. Politics is full of shenanigans, look at Johnson and his back catalogue and will be PM of this rancid UK government. 

Edited by Roxy Hearts

• Replies 11.7k

• Space Mackerel

• deesidejambo

• Pans Jambo

• JamboX2

Space Mackerel
56 minutes ago, Dannie Boy said:

Meanwhile! 

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/health/edinburghs-existing-sick-kids-hospital-needs-ps700000-significant-maintenance-1335026

The total maintenance bill is £1.45m but £709,000 of the work is classed as “significant”.

Specialist building needs money spent on it In shockeroony expose. 

I better get Miles involved, my fridge freezer packed in the other week and I had to buy a new yin. 😁😁😁

Space Mackerel
1 hour ago, Dannie Boy said:

Meanwhile! 

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/health/edinburghs-existing-sick-kids-hospital-needs-ps700000-significant-maintenance-1335026

The total maintenance bill is £1.45m but £709,000 of the work is classed as “significant”.

Get yersel over the border then, it’s a bed of lovely Tory run roses there?

38 minutes ago, Space Mackerel said:

Specialist building needs money spent on it In shockeroony expose. 

I better get Miles involved, my fridge freezer packed in the other week and I had to buy a new yin. 😁😁😁

£1.4m that should not be needing spent by the NHS on a building that was supposed to have been vacant for the next project to rip it out and refurbish it into flats. Add that on to the losses incurred by the current failure to open the new building on time. 

3 minutes ago, Dannie Boy said:

£1.4m that should not be needing spent by the NHS on a building that was supposed to have been vacant for the next project to rip it out and refurbish it into flats. Add that on to the losses incurred by the current failure to open the new building on time.

On a generic note (I hope you don't mind), it seems that almost all large construction projects these days end up being over-budget and delayed, sometimes considerably. Perhaps it's my age, but I'm starting to doubt the ability of folk to actually manage large projects nowadays.

Edited by redjambo

1 minute ago, redjambo said:

On a generic note (I hope you don't mind), it seems that almost all large construction projects these days end up being over-budget and delayed, sometimes considerably. Perhaps it's my age, but I'm starting to doubt the ability of folk to actually manage large projects nowadays.

I have said the same.  Penalty clauses are put into contracts for this reason.

2 minutes ago, redjambo said:

It makes you wonder what goes on.

Space Mackerel
8 minutes ago, Dannie Boy said:

Next you’ll be moaning there’s kids dying from poor ventilation and the money wasn’t spent by the Health board.

Maybe they could have found the extra munny if they gave the NHS all those Brexit 50 pence pieces? Lol. 

6 minutes ago, frankblack said:

Yup, but they don't seem to necessarily work. Perhaps penalty clauses are sometimes/often negotiated away or reduced if they threaten to be invoked? I personally have no idea. Aberdeen Art Gallery is another recent case in point regarding budgeting - it was 2 years late and £5 million over budget.

Edited by redjambo

Just now, Space Mackerel said:

Next you’ll be moaning there’s kids dying from poor ventilation and the money wasn’t spent by the Health board.

Maybe they could have found the extra munny if they gave the NHS all those Brexit 50 pence pieces? Lol. 

Money spent wisely would be nice. 
Anyway you’re  a troll and a bampot so I’ll leave you to harass some other poor poster with your inane nonsense. 

Space Mackerel
6 minutes ago, Dannie Boy said:

Money spent wisely would be nice. 
Anyway you’re  a troll and a bampot so I’ll leave you to harass some other poor poster with your inane nonsense. 

Wisely? We are talking about people’s lives here. 

The only troll on here is you, trolling yourself with idiotic comments.

47 minutes ago, Space Mackerel said:

Says someone who said I'd be a terrorist if Independence happened....

Space Mackerel
1 hour ago, frankblack said:

Says someone who said I'd be a terrorist if Independence happened....

Dinnae get yer knickers in a twist about a wee joke. 

You never did answer what you would do though. 

21 hours ago, Space Mackerel said:

See when Indy does happen Frank, on a scale of 1 to 10, how seething will you be? 

Do you think you’ll become a terrorist? 😁😁😁

25 minutes ago, Space Mackerel said:

Dinnae get yer knickers in a twist about a wee joke. 

You never did answer what you would do though. 

I think you'll find that your definition of a wee joke is trolling to the mods.

2 hours ago, Space Mackerel said:

Oh look - a hypocrite too!

Space Mackerel
13 minutes ago, frankblack said:

I think you'll find that your definition of a wee joke is trolling to the mods.

Jack D mentioned to me you got him thread banned the other night. Now that’s trolling. Utterly pathetic patter. 

What a wee bairn. 😁😁😁

13 minutes ago, Space Mackerel said:

Jack D mentioned to me you got him thread banned the other night. Now that’s trolling. Utterly pathetic patter. 

What a wee bairn. 😁😁😁

That will be down to him then as I don't recall replying to him or reading a post of his. 👍

Someone got me thread banned from the GE thread when I reacted to an idiot throwing out personal abuse.

Edited by frankblack

3 hours ago, frankblack said:

Are you claiming there are penalty clauses on the Sick kids new build again?

44 minutes ago, coconut doug said:

Are you claiming there are penalty clauses on the Sick kids new build again?

Don't know.  But it would have been advisable to include them considering the payments due, don't you think?

10 minutes ago, frankblack said:

Don't know.  But it would have been advisable to include them considering the payments due, don't you think?

I can't see why, all work will have to be paid for and the contractor will have to be compensated for any extra work he does. Cost/time overruns are standard in this sort of thing and the money involved here (so far) is small in comparison to the cost of the building. How would you know who to penalise in any penalty clause dispute?

Space Mackerel

When this new hospital is finally built and up and running, and, previous to the Queensferry Crossing whims and gripes, I wonder what the Unionists will have a go at next?

Any ideas Frank? The A9 dualling possibly? 😁

4 minutes ago, Space Mackerel said:

When this new hospital is finally built and up and running, and, previous to the Queensferry Crossing whims and gripes, I wonder what the Unionists will have a go at next?

probably the Natz next **** up,wont need to wait long.

12 minutes ago, coconut doug said:

I can't see why, all work will have to be paid for and the contractor will have to be compensated for any extra work he does. Cost/time overruns are standard in this sort of thing and the money involved here (so far) is small in comparison to the cost of the building. How would you know who to penalise in any penalty clause dispute?

Depends on how the contact is tendered i.e. if one contractor takes on the job and subcontracts the jobs then they are liable for everything.

15 minutes ago, Space Mackerel said:

Is this you trolling again?  1/10 must try harder.

1 hour ago, frankblack said:

Depends on how the contact is tendered i.e. if one contractor takes on the job and subcontracts the jobs then they are liable for everything.

You can put virtually anything you like in the contract including penalty clauses. It's not going to solve the technical problems that are encountered as the job progresses or the deficiencies in the original specifications. Contractors are only going to increase their price for the job if they think penalties might apply and be more likely to cut corners if they are struggling for time. Disputes will become more protracted if there are time or any other penalties. The job is more likely to be held up and cost more again because of litigation. 

It is because of these considerations that the SG has taken the approach it has. 

41 minutes ago, coconut doug said:

You can put virtually anything you like in the contract including penalty clauses. It's not going to solve the technical problems that are encountered as the job progresses or the deficiencies in the original specifications. Contractors are only going to increase their price for the job if they think penalties might apply and be more likely to cut corners if they are struggling for time. Disputes will become more protracted if there are time or any other penalties. The job is more likely to be held up and cost more again because of litigation. 

It is because of these considerations that the SG has taken the approach it has. 

This will be largely down to the risk profile and how much competition there is for the tender.

Public sector tenders are notorious for getting poor value for money for the tax payer and good money for the private firms.

Space Mackerel

Is this you trolling again?  1/10 must try harder.

Serious question. What’s the next Scottish Government thang that’s gonna grind your gears that doesn’t really affect you? 

31 minutes ago, Space Mackerel said:

Serious question. What’s the next Scottish Government thang that’s gonna grind your gears that doesn’t really affect you? 

I guess it will be something relatively minor once Independence is kicked into touch on Friday.

Space Mackerel
1 minute ago, frankblack said:

I guess it will be something relatively minor once Independence is kicked into touch on Friday.

The last snap GE in 2017 delivered 13 Tory MP’s, how come it wasn’t kicked into touch then? 

Did I miss something, or has your second Independence referendum been approved by Theresa May or Boris?

You'll be waiting another 5 years, possibly longer for another shot if you also lose the nationalist majority in Holyrood in a couple of years.

Space Mackerel
17 minutes ago, frankblack said:

Did I miss something, or has your second Independence referendum been approved by Theresa May or Boris?

You'll be waiting another 5 years, possibly longer for another shot if you also lose the nationalist majority in Holyrood in a couple of years.

So by your logic, anything less than 13 Tory MP’s is a bit of a set back to saving the Union?

Am I reading this right? 

So by your logic, anything less than 13 Tory MP’s is a bit of a set back to saving the Union?

Am I reading this right? 

Nope - you seem to be reading what you posted and repeating it.

I'll be happy when on Thursday night/Friday morning the PM tells Nicola to ram it.

Space Mackerel

I'll be happy when on Thursday night/Friday morning the PM tells Nicola to ram it.

What happens if it’s a hung Parliament and the biggest party can’t form a government though? 

The SNP will be the last party anyone goes to.

Space Mackerel

The SNP will be the last party anyone goes to.

I’m pretty sure you don’t know how the Mother of all Parliaments really works. 😁😁😁

I am pretty sure I do.  Its all about trade offs and the SNP demands will make them the least desireable partner.

Space Mackerel
11 minutes ago, frankblack said:

I am pretty sure I do.  Its all about trade offs and the SNP demands will make them the least desireable partner.

Here’s my prediction because I’m sick of reading your pish.

Torys get a very slight majority in Westminster, that’s good for Indy because “it gets Brexit Done” and Johnson is back in power. 

Labour in Scotland lose all their seats, bar 1 to the SNP, 6 I think from memory and get 50 plus. Torys lose 2 or 3 to us too. You have a wee greet and I take the pish out of you on here? 

Scotland goes Indy in the next 2 years like the bookies say. 

Hows that? 

Edited by Space Mackerel

32 minutes ago, Space Mackerel said:

Here’s my prediction because I’m sick of reading your pish.

Torys get a very slight majority in Westminster, that’s good for Indy because “it gets Brexit Done” and Johnson is back in power. 

Labour in Scotland lose all their seats, bar 1 to the SNP, 6 I think from memory and get 50 plus. Torys lose 2 or 3 to us too. You have a wee greet and I take the pish out of you on here? 

Scotland goes Indy in the next 2 years like the bookies say. 

Hows that? 

I think its time you went back to bed.

Space Mackerel
6 minutes ago, frankblack said:

I think its time you went back to bed.

6 minutes ago, Zlatanable said:

sbonkers

Absolutely BRICKING IT 😁🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

On 06/12/2019 at 19:34, Jamstomorrow said:

I reckon if Scotland becomes independent, you can say tata to the free prescriptions, bus travel for people over 60 etc.etc and can look forward to high tax raising measures.

Why do folk think high tax is a bad thing. It's normal in the best run countries on the planet. 

2 hours ago, Zlatanable said:

Occasionally, yes I am bricking it. 

Mostly though, I am not. 

Scottish Nationalism used to be the dwelling of mostly un-hinged people, taking things too far.

And it still is.

Once you minus the many millions from the Weirs, minus the yes/no question, minus the element of surprise, and do you know what you have? 

Less than 50%.

So you make your hay while the sun shines.  

In your opinion.

Oh and the only unhinged nationalists were on show in George Square, post Indyref result. I like it to Hearts supporters celebrating Hearts getting beat. Weirdos!

Listen Frank, I'm not having a go this time. I get you don't like the SNP, but why would that stop a Yes voter continuing to want independence? But not just that jump to total unionism and Brexiteering. Doesn't make sense. Even if you voted against the SNP, I don't buy, they would NOT! vote for independence, given the chance. Especially after what's happened and happening since. No, doesn't add up. Sorry!

3 hours ago, ri Alban said:

Why do folk think high tax is a bad thing. It's normal in the best run countries on the planet. 

Too much money ?

Vote snp and let them take it off your hands 

7 hours ago, ri Alban said:

Listen Frank, I'm not having a go this time. I get you don't like the SNP, but why would that stop a Yes voter continuing to want independence? But not just that jump to total unionism and Brexiteering. Doesn't make sense. Even if you voted against the SNP, I don't buy, they would NOT! vote for independence, given the chance. Especially after what's happened and happening since. No, doesn't add up. Sorry!

I have said repeatedly that I have always been a floating voter with no allegiance to any party.

My gripe with the Nationalists is that after 2014 it was shown their white paper was nonsense and they have had 5 years to convince us they have learned their lesson.  However in that time we have got no concrete plans to scrutinise and they seem to want to keep quiet and slip Independence in while the Westminster parties fight it out over Brexit.

Maybe you are happy for a potentially catastrophic Independence to go through unscrutinised from a party that had no plan before but that really concerns me.

A possible way I see it going should SNP get a majority of MP’s in Scotland...

Nicola requests article 30. Boris refuses. Court action ensues. Hinges on nations right to choose under UN charter. Courts debate on wether Scotland is still a country when in the union. If not neither is England. English won’t like that. Referendum allowed. 

23 minutes ago, frankblack said:

I have said repeatedly that I have always been a floating voter with no allegiance to any party.

My gripe with the Nationalists is that after 2014 it was shown their white paper was nonsense and they have had 5 years to convince us they have learned their lesson.  However in that time we have got no concrete plans to scrutinise and they seem to want to keep quiet and slip Independence in while the Westminster parties fight it out over Brexit.

Maybe you are happy for a potentially catastrophic Independence to go through unscrutinised from a party that had no plan before but that really concerns me.

That is nonsense. When we have the referendum, the government will outline their plans for after independence. Nobody is trying to slip independence in, just fighting for the right for Scotland to decide 

44 minutes ago, XB52 said:

That is nonsense. When we have the referendum, the government will outline their plans for after independence. Nobody is trying to slip independence in, just fighting for the right for Scotland to decide 

They were supposed to have had a plan in 2014 which turned out to be complete bollocks so we have the right to know whether there is any merit having another referendum if there isn't a viable plan in place.

4 hours ago, manaliveits105 said:

Too much money ?

Vote snp and let them take it off your hands 

Don't think that at all, but I'd pay what it takes to eradicate poverty from Scotland. 

They were supposed to have had a plan in 2014 which turned out to be complete bollocks so we have the right to know whether there is any merit having another referendum if there isn't a viable plan in place.

Bollocks, why was it bollocks? Oh the oil price world wide crashed. Scotland has a helluva lot more than oil and Norway seem ok to me.

1 hour ago, gjcc said:

A possible way I see it going should SNP get a majority of MP’s in Scotland...

Nicola requests article 30. Boris refuses. Court action ensues. Hinges on nations right to choose under UN charter. Courts debate on wether Scotland is still a country when in the union. If not neither is England. English won’t like that. Referendum allowed. 

How did that work out in Spain?

If the SNP go to court, the court will simply follow the constitution, which states article 30 has to be approved  by Westminster.  Case closed as the supreme court would refer changes to the constitution back to Westminster.