Even More SNP Nonsense

Stuart Lyon

Another one for you, Foolio:

45]

p6IXIb_W_bigger.jpgalexmassie?@alexmassie

The key segment identified by @YouGov for @thetimes, however, is the 25% of 2015's SNP voters who would vote No in indyref2.

No voters voting for the Mighty SNP, says it all. The Blue/Red Tories can't be trusted. Trapper.

It St. Andy's day, pity you selt your Scots to the Brits.

Edited by aussieh

• Replies 11.7k

• Space Mackerel

• deesidejambo

• Pans Jambo

• JamboX2

Trapper John McIntyre

No voters voting for the Mighty SNP, says it all. The Blue/Red Tories can't be trusted. Trapper.

It St. Andy's day, pity you selt your Scots to the Brits.

#StAndrewsDay An incredible message in the sky for the SNP today.

CygWsrlWQAAsz0X.jpg
0 replies0 retweets0 likes

Retweet

More

That'll make all the difference.

Regardless it got a fair bit of airing on social media and on Scottish news so the bashers needed to bash and bash they did. As per their paymasters ordered.

Holyrood = Very bad

Westminster = A breath of fresh air and a beacon of light for the world to behold (& Scotland couldn't live without it so we should know our place).

That about it?

Trapper John McIntyre

interesting latest YouGov detail

CyhfGYUWIAIFEa0.jpg
1 reply0 retweets0 likes

Retweet

More

unluuuuuucky.

What are the alternatives?

The Tories? No thanks.

Labour? Really?

Lib Dems? See above.

Greens? Probably not.

Unfortunately it would seem that Scottish Politics is in the doldrums.

The next non-SNP FM is Ruth Davidson imo. Labour are years from government at Holyrood and Ruth is a popular figure. Yougov had her at +25 approval to Nicola's +11. Dugdale no where to be seen. Sadly that is where Labour are.

Equally, I don't think some soft-yes supporters are yet ready to leave the SNP as an option behind. But time there will tell.

All IMO obviously.

Space Mackerel

interesting latest YouGov detail

CyhfGYUWIAIFEa0.jpg

1 reply0 retweets0 likes

Retweet

More

unluuuuuucky.

I don't believe these figures in the slightest :)

Trapper John McIntyre

The next non-SNP FM is Ruth Davidson imo. Labour are years from government at Holyrood and Ruth is a popular figure. Yougov had her at +25 approval to Nicola's +11. Dugdale no where to be seen. Sadly that is where Labour are.

Equally, I don't think some soft-yes supporters are yet ready to leave the SNP as an option behind. But time there will tell.

All IMO obviously.

The question in regarding a threat to SNP current hegemony is not what Labour will do now or in time, but are there enough people in Scotland willing to do the previously unthinkable: Labour and possibly even Liberal supporters voting Tory for purely pragmatic reasons in order to remove the SNP.

It may not only be pragmatic, there maybe ideological reasons too. But it happens in England. The English electorate does not vote for love of any one party but for pragmatic reasons. That's why they appear to be able to swap voting for Labour and Tory regularly.

Times are changing and I think as long as Davidson leads the Tories in Scotland, there is a possibility that the Conservative vote up here will continue to climb.

That's not to say they'll achieve power in Holyrood or gain a large number of Westminster MP's, only that people who don't vote SNP have to go somewhere. At the moment they're not going to Labour.

I very much see a continuation of the Northern ireland effect in Scottish politics for the forseeable future.

Space Mackerel

What a surprise.

Released the info on St Andrews Day, we've seen this kind of nonsense before from the Bit Nat controlled media and organisations.

You must think we button up the back.

Trapper John McIntyre

Released the info on St Andrews Day, we've seen this kind of nonsense before from the Bit Nat controlled media and organisations.

You must think we button up the back.

Your buttons have dropped off, mate.

Bwhahahahaa. As much as this lot?

7613a402686ebf2ecd8afa932a702efc.jpg

Is that not just using an iconic Forth Bridge to let people see where it is? Edited by JamboX2

Space Mackerel

Is that not just using an iconic Forth Bridge to let people see where it is?

1. Wrong picture.

2. Scottish Government project. Nothing to do with the UK.

I don't believe these figures in the slightest :)

Long way to go for Nicola to get to her 60%.      But her wee jaunt to Dublin will help cheer up the Republicans in Bridgeton.

Psychedelicropcircle

Poor tripper he was having a wonderful St. Andrew's day until OPEC cut production boosting oil prices...aw well

Trapper John McIntyre

Poor tripper he was having a wonderful St. Andrew's day until OPEC cut production boosting oil prices...aw well

...just as the SNP closed their Listening Survey today. What rotten luck!

Still, even an imminent $113 a barrel wouldn't make much of  a difference with 5,000,000 glowing survey responses returned, all rosy, all positive, all in favour of Independence.

Who paid for this mass snooping exercise by the way? (and can they get their money back?)

Anybody think slab voters, voted no because they know they're not up to governing Scotland, when the SNP disband after Freedom.

Edited by aussieh

The question in regarding a threat to SNP current hegemony is not what Labour will do now or in time, but are there enough people in Scotland willing to do the previously unthinkable: Labour and possibly even Liberal supporters voting Tory for purely pragmatic reasons in order to remove the SNP.

It may not only be pragmatic, there maybe ideological reasons too. But it happens in England. The English electorate does not vote for love of any one party but for pragmatic reasons. That's why they appear to be able to swap voting for Labour and Tory regularly.

Times are changing and I think as long as Davidson leads the Tories in Scotland, there is a possibility that the Conservative vote up here will continue to climb.

That's not to say they'll achieve power in Holyrood or gain a large number of Westminster MP's, only that people who don't vote SNP have to go somewhere. At the moment they're not going to Labour.

I very much see a continuation of the Northern ireland effect in Scottish politics for the forseeable future.

So one dimensional politics? I'm a unionist so I'll vote Tory?

A poor justification imo.

Regardless of constitutional matters that is one party I would never vote for.

Trapper John McIntyre

So one dimensional politics? I'm a unionist so I'll vote Tory?

A poor justification imo.

Regardless of constitutional matters that is one party I would never vote for.

Boris, you're a Communist.

Things have moved on in Scotland.

Boris, you're a Communist.

Things have moved on in Scotland.

I'd say I was a socialist, but let's not split hairs.

Things have moved on? I'm not sure I understand. Do you mean that voting Tory is acceptable for life long Labour people, just because it is one in the eye to the SNP?

Talk about cutting your nose of to spite your face.

Anybody think slab voters, voted no because they know they're not up to governing Scotland, when the SNP disband after Freedom.

Freedom?  There's a modern slavery act now, so if people are holding you against your will, contact Police Scotland.

Still, even an imminent $113 a barrel wouldn't make much of  a difference with 5,000,000 glowing survey responses returned, all rosy, all positive, all in favour of Independence.

Who paid for this mass snooping exercise by the way? (and can they get their money back?)

Poor Thrapper. That's it, nothing more need be said.

1. Wrong picture.

2. Scottish Government project. Nothing to do with the UK.

1. Meh.

2. That cash came from the UK Treasury.

I'd say I was a socialist, but let's not split hairs.

Things have moved on? I'm not sure I understand. Do you mean that voting Tory is acceptable for life long Labour people, just because it is one in the eye to the SNP?

Talk about cutting your nose of to spite your face.

Think Trappers point is that there isnt the old monotony of the same people voting the same way. There's fluidity in the electorate on who they vote for.

People may not like the named person policy so vote Tory. Or back a ban on fracking so back Green rather than Labour or SNP.

If anything, all sides are guilty of binary or skewed vision politics. Pete Wishart is on Twitter saying people in Labour should back independence to save the party. Yougov the same day has said support for the Union is uo. That indy support is down (however it is within the margin of error), so can it be said indy is a key issue to get Labour back in the game? Or should they be more unionist? (Frankly they'd do well to stay devolutionist and argue for further power to Holyrood from Brexit and localising power in Scotland).

Added to that, the SNP regularly present a unified picture on everything. That yougov poll showed 13% of SNP Leave voters don't want a second indyref.

Scottish politics is very tribal and very binary at present. The indy v yoon chat is holding us back. However, with Ruth up at +25 in the ratings and an extra seat in poll support from Yougov, it suggests it is becoming more acceptable to vote Tory in Scotland.

Thunderstruck

Still, even an imminent $113 a barrel wouldn't make much of a difference with 5,000,000 glowing survey responses returned, all rosy, all positive, all in favour of Independence.

To quote an industry expert, speaking of the OPEC announcement, in the Herald this morning:

"...this in itself is unlikely to provide a solution to the underlying issues prompted by long term price volatility."

The key word there is "volatility".

To quote an industry expert, speaking of the OPEC announcement, in the Herald this morning:

"...this in itself is unlikely to provide a solution to the underlying issues prompted by long term price volatility."

The key word there is "volatility".

It doesn't matter much. Ecks predictions were based on $120 per barrel and his 24 billion of remaining reserves estimate is laughable. He fabricated the numbers.

Think Trappers point is that there isnt the old monotony of the same people voting the same way. There's fluidity in the electorate on who they vote for.

People may not like the named person policy so vote Tory. Or back a ban on fracking so back Green rather than Labour or SNP.

If anything, all sides are guilty of binary or skewed vision politics. Pete Wishart is on Twitter saying people in Labour should back independence to save the party. Yougov the same day has said support for the Union is uo. That indy support is down (however it is within the margin of error), so can it be said indy is a key issue to get Labour back in the game? Or should they be more unionist? (Frankly they'd do well to stay devolutionist and argue for further power to Holyrood from Brexit and localising power in Scotland).

Added to that, the SNP regularly present a unified picture on everything. That yougov poll showed 13% of SNP Leave voters don't want a second indyref.

Scottish politics is very tribal and very binary at present. The indy v yoon chat is holding us back. However, with Ruth up at +25 in the ratings and an extra seat in poll support from Yougov, it suggests it is becoming more acceptable to vote Tory in Scotland.

Labour is doomed. Davidson represents a more acceptable face of Toryism and as more voters want Nippys scallies to be held to account the Torres will pick up more middle ground voters.

But that is why the Tories are doing relatively well.  To those that value the Union above all else, they are voting Tory.  I suspect that this is as good as it may get for them.  The SNP vote is remaining firm at c.50% and you must obviously have no voters voting SNP as they are seen as a better option than, let's face it, the Tories.

It's interesting to hear the constant grumbles about another referendum and speratism, yet it is this rhetoric that is perpetuating this binary approach.  The Tories are the guilty party here, they are the ones that seem obssessed.

The poll also showed the SNP gaining a seat, but the Greens appear to be the real winners, which would have Holyrood under a massive pro-independence majority.  So it would suggest that the Scottish electorate are comfortable in electing parties that resonate with their politics, yet safe in the knowledge that come a referendum on independence they can vote as they please.  Whereas the Tories rely on that single issue for support.

In other words, voting SNP or Green is not necessarily an acceptance of independence.

Labour, unfortunately, is completely adrift.  Which is a shame.  If they were to suddenly support independence, I think that would be seen as opportunism, however I also think that they must have that conversation and come up with some reasonable position on the union.  But, and to be fair to Dugdale, she did try to focus on other issues at the last election, rather than simply yes/no.

Labour is doomed. Davidson represents a more acceptable face of Toryism and as more voters want Nippys scallies to be held to account the Torres will pick up more middle ground voters.

A contradiction in terms, surely? :wink:

Given that Scottish tap water is superb I can't understand why anyone would buy bottled water up here.

That is a good point.

Another point is just how much nonsense people will post about the SNP. **** me.

Thunderstruck

It doesn't matter much. Ecks predictions were based on $120 per barrel and his 24 billion of remaining reserves estimate is laughable. He fabricated the numbers.

He also quoted the reserves x spot price as "revenue". That is quite different from tax revenue and royalties.

A contradiction in terms, surely? :wink:

No. you hate Tories that is clear. Davidson to me comes over as Centrist almost Liberal. To say you will never ever vote for a party seems more tribal than open-minded.

I disagree.

Oh, there are plenty of parties that I wouldn't vote for, NF, BNP, UKIP for example.  And I do that out of principle, or some may call it ideology.

I have, in my time, vote Lib Dem, Labour, Green, SNP, SSP, Independent Socialist, so I don't see myself as bound to any one particular party and hardly tribal.  When deciding on where to put my X I weigh up what i feel most comfortable voting for, as do a lot of people I imagine.

I disagree.

Oh, there are plenty of parties that I wouldn't vote for, NF, BNP, UKIP for example. And I do that out of principle, or some may call it ideology.

I have, in my time, vote Lib Dem, Labour, Green, SNP, SSP, Independent Socialist, so I don't see myself as bound to any one particular party and hardly tribal. When deciding on where to put my X I weigh up what i feel most comfortable voting for, as do a lot of people I imagine.

Same for me. I also have voted for whatever party is best for the issues at the time. But to say that you will never vote for any party regardless of that seems contradictory.

I think there are what you could call "red lines" that woulld mean I wouldn't vote for particular parties.  In the case of the NF and the BNP I think they go without saying.

UKIP and their approach to free market economics is another for me, and this is also where I find the Tory party.  Their very ethos, to me, will not produce the type of society I would want to see built, nurtured, evolve etc

The Tory party would have to have such a volte face in its policies for me to even be faintly interested, that it just isn't going to happen.  The other aspect is that Ruth Davidson can say what she wants so you may see a "kinder" conservatism at Holyrood, yet at Westminster she will still ask we vote for the full fat May version.  That's contradictory to me.

What's your reason for not believing them?

I would guess probably the timing. Released on St.Andrews day funnily enough!

Truly bizarre that these charlatans have hoodwinked so many of the Scottish electorate into voting for them. Everything they touch turns to utter shite.

Aye,let's all vote Tory ya walloper,Independence will be ours sooner rather than later,I say we send idiots like you down south,build a wall 100 feet high and make sure you're never seen nor heard of again.BAMPOT!!!