Aberdeen's new stadium...

4 hours ago, IveSeenTheLight said:

You don’t have a bigger turnover though.

would need o check back for the Romanov years to be fair.

Last I checked our turnover is higher but your current wage bill is higher. Neither by huge margins, mind.

• Replies 2.7k

• IveSeenTheLight

• sadj

• Unknown user

8 hours ago, IveSeenTheLight said:

I just assume we make more money than Aberdeen most seasons due to our bigger crowds. No idea how turnovers compared in the mid 90s but I remember aberdeen spending loads of money for just the one league cup in return - a bit like the last few years.

9 hours ago, IveSeenTheLight said:

Weve always had a bigger t/o until the last 5/6 years.  Since then it's kewed by the fact that hearts outsourced retail and commercial income and costs and Aberdeen didn't.. It all been brought back in house now and t/o represents a better comparison.. The onlu difference last season was success on the pitch.. £1m extra for higher league placing, you got to 2 Cup finals we got papped out early, Europa league v no Europa league.. Also with the main stand our hospitality was shite. That's now rectified.. You've got smaller gates, and poorer facilities in a town with a far smaller demand.  The t/o advantage won't be lasting long.. Probabky still bigger this financial year as main stand hospitality not a factor really this season 

4 hours ago, Ugly American said:

Last I checked our turnover is higher but your current wage bill is higher. Neither by huge margins, mind.

Na.. As I say we've been a bit behind recently

2 hours ago, kingantti1874 said:

Na.. As I say we've been a bit behind recently

Tbf to Aberdeen they have had a turbulent history formed in 1978 disbanded in summer 1990 and didnt reform until 2014 so ISTL’s info will only be based on those years....

15 minutes ago, sadj said:

Tbf to Aberdeen they have had a turbulent history formed in 1978 disbanded in summer 1990 and didnt reform until 2014 so ISTL’s info will only be based on those years....

Hopefully they have to stay and rebuild on site. Then it I’ll be interesting seeing them struggle. This would be the best case scenario for the likes of us who need to catch up and overtake them.

Just now, 1971fozzy said:

Hopefully they have to stay and rebuild on site. Then it I’ll be interesting seeing them struggle. This would be the best case scenario for the likes of us who need to catch up and overtake them.

We’ll catch up n overtake them in not long anyway. They have stability to their advantage at the moment. Were fixing a mess and building a stand and infrastructure...

1 hour ago, 1971fozzy said:

I don't think Partick Thistle could handle it, statement overload

Not sure why the vast majority of sheep want to move out to this white elephant.   They should be asking why Milne hasn't touched the stadium in years, and be very very wary of moving away from the city to an out of town location.  Pittodrie can be redeveloped.

Got a bit through that and got bored. All the same points yet again. Tho like some did their homework and brought up St Js ground

29 minutes ago, Sir Gio said:

Cheers. Alternative sites mentioned as well.

Also grateful to catch up on key local news

https://www.eveningexpress.co.uk/fp/news/local/sheep-saved-from-slaughter-and-five-of-them-are-now-grass-cutters-at-north-east-sanctuary/

Guest Paul Allen
38 minutes ago, Sir Gio said:

Paul Clarkson, of PB Development Company, which runs bars and restaurants in the city added that Aberdeen risked becoming “a laughing stock” if the application is rejected.

:lol: How ironic.

6 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

Cheers. Alternative sites mentioned as well.

Also grateful to catch up on key local news

https://www.eveningexpress.co.uk/fp/news/local/sheep-saved-from-slaughter-and-five-of-them-are-now-grass-cutters-at-north-east-sanctuary/

Missed that gem. Gave up buying that paper years ago. Parochial doesn't begin to describe it. It's local paper of course but doesn't do anything for the city in a wider light. 

I guess it should be decided on planning law being fairly applied. The only economic benefits seem to be Aberdeens beyond the possibility for youth football 

1 minute ago, Australis...... said:

Oil finished, dandy dons now not a good option for journeyman players in a dying town. ☺

Past peak but not dying 

On 31/12/2017 at 22:48, Randy Marsh said:

Surely Aberdeen not being able to redevelop Pittodrie is a total myth?  Was there yesterday for the first time in 6 years and I noticed that there is loads of space behind all their decrepit stands.  I did notice that there are some new flats behind the away stand however.  I assume Milne made money from this?

Stuart Milne is starting to remind me of the pieman actually.   He is obviously treating the Aberdeen supporters like mugs.  He trying to engineer a move away from Pittodrie just so he can benefit financially.

This sort of story just makes me so proud to be a jambo.  Our supporters did everything we could to remain at Tynecastle and managed to drive an absolute scumbag chairman out of our club.  While the dons fans just sit back and do nothing. :laugh: 

You went into administration and were relegated because you let Romanov do what he liked at Tynecastle. We'll take no lessons from you in sitting back and doing nothing.

1 minute ago, La_Leyenda said:

You went into administration and were relegated because you let Romanov do what he liked at Tynecastle. We'll take no lessons from you in sitting back and doing nothing.

The only reason we have one of, if not the best stadium in the country, is down to Romanov. Our incompetent owner at the time, Chris Robinson had all but sold Tynecastle to your ****ing ridiculous looking bellchief of an owner. If that had happened, we were done. Romanov stopped the sale and told Wiggy to away and fling sheep shit at himself. 

Your new stadium ain’t happening by the way. As much as it hurts, you are not building the bypass-Carbuncle Arena any time soon.

Hope you have an utterly shite rest of the season.

2 minutes ago, La_Leyenda said:

You really are a smarmy wankpiece aren't you , the Aberdeen support have clearly learnt nothing from our experience as you are sleepwalking into a stadium move that is being driven by money with little or no thought for the fans....hopefully it goes through and you fukkers die a slow lingering death

If it were up to me we'd be taking no more of your patronising erseholish postings, but then the mods on here.....

It’s not ****ing happening ffs. Can we stop this ridiculous pretence? Surely to god Lalalalanda and SeenPolicelightswhilstinasheep can just use Porn Hub instead of fantasising all over Kickback?

Edited by Ryder

17 minutes ago, La_Leyenda said:

You obviously missed the bit where we saved our club.

Are you suggesting we had a say in the running of the club under Romanov? We did what good fans do and backed the team on the park at all times, as to do otherwise, eg boycotts, would have meant Romanov pulling the plug, which he could do given he owned it lock stock and barrel (again, nothing fans could have done about). We, including Budge who is a fan, then plotted and rallied to put together a viable plan the first moment we could.

You're just annoyed because over a longer period you've probably spent more than Romanov did and for less return. And our team of teenagers scelped you a couple of times in our relegation season. And because for all McInnes's "success" you just have the one league cup to show for it.

Edited by socrates82

Sigh. Not this old chestnut again.

Are they still trying to claim this big white elephant planted out in a farmers field in Grampian is as good as us staying in Edinburgh at Tynecastle.

What a bunch of slavering melts.:laugh:

17 minutes ago, La_Leyenda said:

Mr Romanov saved us from going to Murrayfield, pumped in a lot of money and we won two cups. When his businesses went tits up, our debt level was the same as when he took over. If you give me that decade compared to selling Tynecastle and slowly turning into another Airdrie as would have happened, then you will see why Mr Romanov is held in great esteem by sensible Heart of Midlothian supporters.

On 12/01/2018 at 12:51, communist said:

Still yet to hear a good enough reason why they can't just redevelop the current stadium. Lots of space, I don't understand it. 

The away end (and the entire stand) at pittodrie is a joke, surely knocking that down and rebuilding would make more sense. 

You've got posters saying we'll never raise £50m to build the stadium and training ground at Kingsford, and then others asking why we don't redevelop Pittodrie and build a training ground elsewhere, which would likely mean we'd need to raise an extra £15-20m.

You can redevelop the stand over a few years stand by stand if needed, and build a training ground or share one like we do, for way, way, way less than 50m. I also don't understand why you need to redevelop Pittodrie at all. Is it "unfit for purpose". yeah, so was Tynecastle apparently. You can't even fill the current ground. Just tart it up a bit and spend another million on the next Paul Bernard.

Edited by socrates82

6 minutes ago, Ryder said:

It’s not ****ing happening ffs. Can we stop this ridiculous pretence? Surely to god Lalalalanda and SeenPolicelightswhilstinasheep can just use Porn Hub instead of fantasising all over Kickback?

???? jonnoesque 

21 minutes ago, La_Leyenda said:

When are going to face facts? This is a green belt land grab by Wiggy, he is using Aberdeen FC to break the belt.

1 minute ago, The Frenchman Returns said:

When are going to face facts? This is a green belt land grab by Wiggy, he is using Aberdeen FC to break the belt.

Yeah it's a property deal pure and simple. Nothing to do with football. It's so obvious.

2 minutes ago, Geoff Kilpatrick said:

Mr Romanov saved us from going to Murrayfield, pumped in a lot of money and we won two cups. When his businesses went tits up, our debt level was the same as when he took over. If you give me that decade compared to selling Tynecastle and slowly turning into another Airdrie as would have happened, then you will see why Mr Romanov is held in great esteem by sensible Heart of Midlothian supporters.

This in droves sheepy!!! As Geoff says we would of been homeless and playing at Murrayfield if we were lucky. We had ups and downs and mad days and good days but rather that than the Clydebank and Airdrie scenarios that would of most likely followed had he not come in when he did. Pieman and Milne seem very similar from an outsider looking in on sheepyland

1 minute ago, socrates82 said:

Yeah it's a property deal pure and simple. Nothing to do with football. It's so obvious.

Both out in the green belt.. sets a precedent to develop more and sell himself sh*toddrie and continue to build flats down there extending Merkland Lane and his other developments. Id imagine the cost of it versus the money brought in with the flats will turn more than a tidy profit for him

8 minutes ago, Nelly Terraces said:

Sigh. Not this old chestnut again.

Are they still trying to claim this big white elephant planted out in a farmers field in Grampian is as good as us staying in Edinburgh at Tynecastle.

What a bunch of slavering melts.:laugh:

It’s getting a bit tragic now. It’s one thing wearing burlesque gear and dancing in front of your bedroom mirror for thrills... you really shouldn’t head off to another city and swagger about the local boozers like that though. 

46 minutes ago, La_Leyenda said:

Guffaw. You better start learning fast then chump as your fair weather support already seem to sitting back doing the square route of feck all every week! To whit;

Average attendances 2016/17:

AFC 12,640

HMFC: 16,325.

And that in a season you were 2nd & reached a cup final & we were tam kite. Seems you're sitting back & doing feck all every week son, so read it & weep. Facts are facts.

Seriously, can't believe you even typed that out without noting the farking great dollop of irony that went with it. Utterly tragic. I feel embarrassed for you.

Edited by Nelly Terraces

2 minutes ago, Nelly Terraces said:

Guffa:laugh:w. You better start learning fast then chump as you're fair weather support already seem to sitting back doing the square route of feck all every week! To whit;

AFC 12,640

And that in a season you were 2nd & reached a cup final & we were tam kite. Seems you're sitting back & doing feck all every week son, so read it & weep. Facts are facts.

Seriously, can't believe you even typed that out without noting the farking great dollop of irony that went with it. Utterly tragic. I feel embarrassed for you.

The AFC box is sitting open. Not long until they are back in it.

This ridiculous made up fantasy about their new stadium is a resonably amusing sideshow, but it’s not happening in the currently proposed format, and never was! :rofl:

25 minutes ago, socrates82 said:

22 minutes ago, sadj said:

Both out in the green belt.. sets a precedent to develop more and sell himself sh*toddrie and continue to build flats down there extending Merkland Lane and his other developments. Id imagine the cost of it versus the money brought in with the flats will turn more than a tidy profit for him

Except, Milne didn't actually bid for the land the last time it was up for sale (when the move to Loirston was on the cards). I'm no property expert, but you have to bid for the land to buy it and make a profit on it, am I right?

5 minutes ago, Nelly Terraces said:

Guffaw. You better start learning fast then chump as your fair weather support already seem to sitting back doing the square route of feck all every week! To whit;

AFC 12,640

Why post last season's crowds? Is it because if you posted this season's you'd see Aberdeen's average is currently over 16,000 and that would ruin your point?

8 minutes ago, Ryder said:

The AFC box is sitting open. Not long until they are back in it.

This ridiculous made up fantasy about their new stadium is a resonably amusing sideshow, but it’s not happening in the currently proposed format, and never was! :rofl:

I know mate, it's actually a wee bit sad for them really - either move to fantasy island in the farmers field or face stuck at crumbling shittodrie with a guy in charge stewing over the fact he would bulldoze the gaff in seconds if he had the chance as it's cost him a packet not to do so & move to the new place.

It's a right shame.:thumbsup:

Edited by Nelly Terraces

53 minutes ago, La_Leyenda said:

Well that’s just factually incorrect, never mind wholly disrespectful of the things we have achieved. Throw what you like at Romanov (we’ll argue that one with you for sure anyway) but we certainly can’t be accused of “doing nothing”.  If you take any lessons from our fans, it might be worth considering the things we learned from not taking a ‘not fit for purpose’ label on our stadium at face value.

12 minutes ago, La_Leyenda said:

Except, Milne didn't actually bid for the land the last time it was up for sale (when the move to Loirston was on the cards). I'm no property expert, but you have to bid for the land to buy it and make a profit on it, am I right?

Why post last season's crowds? Is it because if you posted this season's you'd see Aberdeen's average is currently over 16,000 and that would ruin your point?

You are not getting this new stadium

Your manager ain’t sticking around without the stadium and the training ground

You will need to spend your own money on a stadium soon

Your crowds are atrocious for being the second best team in the country for the biggest part of a decade

Nobody genuinely gives a **** about Aberdeen

You have an accent that most producers wouldn’t even consider for a cartoon character

In short, you are a joke. :)

Edited by Ryder

6 minutes ago, redm said:

Well that’s just factually incorrect, never mind wholly disrespectful of the things we have achieved. Throw what you like at Romanov (we’ll argue that one with you for sure anyway) but we certainly can’t be accused of “doing nothing”.  If you take any lessons from our fans, it might be worth considering the things we learned from not taking a ‘not fit for purpose’ label on our stadium at face value.

What she said... ^^^^^

8 minutes ago, redm said:

^^^^^ this this and more this

15 minutes ago, La_Leyenda said:

Ok so who was bidding on Pittodrie when it was up for sale before? Milne has managed to acquire an awful lot of land around Pittodrie for someone who isnt interested in bidding on it and im sure your other sheepy pal told us that Milne was going to give you a good price for the place. 

Edited by sadj

5 minutes ago, La_Leyenda said:

No you silly boy, because that counts as the last FULL piece of quantitative evidence to base your slavering 'sitting back doing nothing' comment upon.

The sort of evidendcial statistical analysis you should try using instead of your, ahem' scientific 'ah asked ma pals Dougal, Lachlan & Rory doon the boozer if they want to move to a new ground* in a field outside a village 10 miles fae Aberdeen & they said aw says aye so it must be a braw idea!' approach.

*Not that it's happening anyway.:laugh:

You are not getting this new stadium

So you keep saying. I'm not sure of your track record for getting predictions right though.

Your manager ain’t sticking around without the stadium and the training ground

He probably won't stick around even if we do get them. I'm cool with that. He's not the only manager out there.

Your crowds are atrocious for being the second best team in the country for the biggest part of a decade

They're currently over 16,000. I think that's pretty good. What did Hearts get as an average when you were second best?

Nobody genuinely gives a **** about Aberdeen

This thread is in to its 21st page. How many pages does the Dundee stadium thread have?

You have an accent that most producers wouldn’t even consider for a cartoon character

Oh right.

I don't have much of an Aberdeen accent having lived in Glasgow for 12 years but still...

10 minutes ago, sadj said:

Ok so who was bidding on Pittodrie when it was up for sale before?

There were several bids, none from Milne or the Stewart Milne group.

Milne has managed to acquire an awful lot of land around Pittodrie for someone who isnt interested in bidding on it

You mean the flats? They aren't owned by Stewart Milne.

and im sure your other sheepy pal told us that Milne was going to give you a good price for the place. 

You do realise the reason he spends so much time on Kickback is because he's been laughed off all the Aberdeen forums?

So you keep saying. I'm not sure of your track record for getting predictions right though.

He probably won't stick around even if we do get them. I'm cool with that. He's not the only manager out there.

They're currently over 16,000. I think that's pretty good. What did Hearts get as an average when you were second best?

This thread is in to its 21st page. How many pages does the Dundee stadium thread have?

Oh right.

I don't have much of an Aberdeen accent having lived in Glasgow for 12 years but still...

My track record is exemplary

He is the only decent manager you have had in twent years

We hit and eclipsed 16k when we were relegated

This thread ran alongside our own stadium redevelopment, that gave it some relevance and added to its post count on here. That and the fact we have three oddball sheep rustling deviants actively posting on our forum...

The weenie accent is even worse than the flossy one

19 minutes ago, La_Leyenda said:

You do realise the reason he spends so much time on Kickback is because he's been laughed off all the Aberdeen forums?

What's your excuse?

2 hours ago, Ryder said:

My track record is exemplary

He is the only decent manager you have had in twent years

We hit and eclipsed 16k when we were relegated

This thread ran alongside our own stadium redevelopment, that gave it some relevance and added to its post count on here. That and the fact we have three oddball sheep rustling deviants actively posting on our forum...

The weenie accent is even worse than the flossy one

Great reply.

Personally, I don't mind if other teams fans join in. It's chit chat, it's a public forum after all..however, if they act like dicks they get treated like dicks ?

3 hours ago, La_Leyenda said:

You can only compare whole seasons. We got 16,700 or so (full capacity basically) when we last finished 2nd. You got 12,600 or so last season when you finished 2nd.

Your crowds are abysmal given your advantages - one club city in a rich region - especially given

your recent “success”.