Aberdeen's new stadium...

Maybe, but there are often fans I hear of not going to games because the weather is poor.

I've read a lot in here of Hearts fans not wanting to go to Pittodrie because of the stadium, view and exposure to the elements.

You can try and diss it as much as you want, but if it comes off, it will be a massive improvement for Aberdeen

I've not been disparaging about it, fellah. I hope it comes off as it'll be a substantially better arena to watch football than pittodrie.

• Replies 2.7k

• IveSeenTheLight

• sadj

• Unknown user

That term 'matchday experience' is the biggest load of corporate shite term going. I mean, who the feck goes to the fitba for an 'experience'? Along the lines of folk thinking it's trendy to refer to football clubs as 'projects' and 'models'.

Nonsense.

The Germans have it right with making the day more than just about the 90 minutes.

Nonsense.

The Germans have it right with making the day more than just about the 90 minutes.

What part of Germany can Aberdeen be found likes?

Maybe, but there are often fans I hear of not going to games because the weather is poor.

I've read a lot in here of Hearts fans not wanting to go to Pittodrie because of the stadium, view and exposure to the elements.

You can try and diss it as much as you want, but if it comes off, it will be a massive improvement for Aberdeen

I would say that bad weather would be likely to put a percentage of home support off travelling miles out of town myself.

I don't know, maybe it would be great for Aberdeen, but the only 2 professional UK clubs that have made moves of that distance in recent years have been Bolton and Coventry, and we all know how well they're doing..

Ignoring the fact I don't like out of town stadiums, I just can't see it - we're putting up a twelve million stand because of 8,000 fans putting in extra money every month while Aberdeen expect to build a 40 million development partially funded by a very optimistic 18 million for Pittodrie- where's the other 22 million pounds coming from?

IveSeenTheLight

I've not been disparaging about it, fellah. I hope it comes off as it'll be a substantially better arena to watch football than pittodrie.

So you would agree then that it would enhance your experience on matchdays then :confused:

I wouldn't say to anyone that going to aberdeen's new stadium was a 'better match day experience' than pittodrie. My mates would think I was a right pretentious tosser.

IveSeenTheLight

I would say that bad weather would be likely to put a percentage of home support off travelling miles out of town myself.

I don't know, maybe it would be great for Aberdeen, but the only 2 professional UK clubs that have made moves of that distance in recent years have been Bolton and Coventry, and we all know how well they're doing..

Ignoring the fact I don't like out of town stadiums, I just can't see it - we're putting up a twelve million stand because of 8,000 fans putting in extra money every month while Aberdeen expect to build a 40 million development partially funded by a very optimistic 18 million for Pittodrie- where's the other 22 million pounds coming from?

The club has looked at where the fans travel from and the majority are from the shire.

Arguably then it is easier to get to than Pittodrie.

There are a number of funding options going forward, to be honest, I'm still slightly concerned as to where it is coming from, but there is word that if all options come through then the funding will be covered.

The concern therefore if any of the options fall through, but then again, there could be options of shares, debentures or why not even an option like Hearts have.

IveSeenTheLight

I wouldn't say to anyone that going to aberdeen's new stadium was a 'better match day experience' than pittodrie. My mates would think I was a right pretentious tosser.

Not outwardly, but inside, deep down you will be thinking it ;)

The stadium will.

If you can get to it.

Will be a nightmare for travelling fans to reach unless they are driving. Im not quite sure how they are going to work this one out.

IveSeenTheLight

The stadium will.

If you can get to it.

Will be a nightmare for travelling fans to reach unless they are driving. Im not quite sure how they are going to work this one out.

There will be a number of options.

Getting to and from the ground will not be that bad.

I'm looking forward to it, far more than Pittodrie.

Club say only 55% of their season ticket holders live in the city itself.

Nearly 20% are in the west or north-west of the city, which is where the stadium will be.

I don't know, maybe it would be great for Aberdeen, but the only 2 professional UK clubs that have made moves of that distance in recent years have been Bolton and Coventry, and we all know how well they?

Has their "downfall" been directly down to the stadium being "out of town", or other factors?

Bayern Munich and Juventus have out of town stadiums for comparison.

There will be a number of options.

Getting to and from the ground will not be that bad.

I'm looking forward to it, far more than Pittodrie.

The big thing that sticks out for me is home and away fans sharing public transport. Nine times out of ten it wont be a problem with most teams but we all know there are idiots in all supports.

Can you imagine a bunch of boozed up Sevco fans getting off the train and onto buses out the the ground. It would be carnage! 

The big thing that sticks out for me is home and away fans sharing public transport. Nine times out of ten it wont be a problem with most teams but we all know there are idiots in all supports.

Can you imagine a bunch of boozed up Sevco fans getting off the train and onto buses out the the ground. It would be carnage!

Unofficially (was mentioned at stadium consultations), plan is for Old Firm fans to get off train at Stonehaven and be bussed from there.

Even so, do Old Firm fans not get off at haymarket and walk the same way to Tynecastle as Hearts fans?

IveSeenTheLight

Can't see it being much differenct to now.

Most arrive on supporters buses and are escorted out of town.

It will be easier to get them away with the bypass in place.

For those going by train, I'm sure Police Scotland will manage then in their usual way

Nearly 20% are in the west or north-west of the city, which is where the stadium will be.

Has their "downfall" been directly down to the stadium being "out of town", or other factors?

It's funny I was just going to post similar about juve and Bayern as when I think of clubs to compare Aberdeen to, those are the ones that spring to mind.

Because all three have won the ECWC? ;)

Edited by La_Leyenda

Doesn't matter really if it's old Pittodrie or a new pen it'll still contain the most irritating shower of ***** in Scottish football

Well it'll be convenient for 20% then, but we'll see I guess. Juve have been in the same place for many years IIRC, I know Juventus stadium was built on the site of Stadio Delle Alpi, but Bayern is fair enough. For Coventry in particular, an ill advised out of town white elephant that they couldnt afford or fill played a major part in their downfall, to the extent that the stadium's now owned by Wasps rugby club

I don't think they ever owned the stadium though. They were only tenants, and then after a dispute over the rent moved temporarily to Northampton.

They've made blunder after blunder.

At no point has it been a case of fans not going simply because the stadium was out of town.

You could say building a new stadium has caused them problems, but you could also say the same about Hibs, who didn't move anywhere.

The club has looked at where the fans travel from and the majority are from the shire.

There are a number of funding options going forward, to be honest, I'm still slightly concerned as to where it is coming from, but there is word that if all options come through then the funding will be covered.

The concern therefore if any of the options fall through, but then again, there could be options of shares, debentures or why not even an option like Hearts have.

When is the name change to Aberdeenshire FC? Doesn't look walkable from the Lampie or Scotia so I'm out.  

None of Bayern, Juve or Coventry moved to a stadium outwith their city conurbation. The only team I can think of in Britain who have done it are Bolton. 

That worked out well. They have crowds like Aberdeen do the now.

Unofficially (was mentioned at stadium consultations), plan is for Old Firm fans to get off train at Stonehaven and be bussed from there.

Even so, do Old Firm fans not get off at haymarket and walk the same way to Tynecastle as Hearts fans?

Actually very few of the 1,400 travel by train. Most OF fans are bussed in via Roseburn/Russell Road.

Worcester City (where I grew up) have had to move to Bromsgrove because of stadium issues. That's as high profile as I can think of!

Aberdeen are the Worcester City of Scottish football.

What part of Germany can Aberdeen be found likes?

To be fair with the amount of mullets and double denim wearers kicking about, Aberdeen could well be a German town.

Actually very few of the 1,400 travel by train. Most OF fans are bussed in via Roseburn/Russell Road.

Unfortunately a lot of them probably just get a local bus. Edinburgh is riddled with the manky *****.

That worked out well. They have crowds like Aberdeen do the now.

Bolton have a train station right next to their ground as well. Something Aberdeen won't have. 

To be fair with the amount of mullets and double denim wearers kicking about, Aberdeen could well be a German town.

We'll be agreeing next at this rate.

The Riverside is a bit outside Middlesbrough if memory serves me right !

Aye, and their crowds are utter guff if they're not in the PL

Good luck and I hope it turns into reality. You should just ignore the patronising comments on here. As long as its not the 2 bigot brothers from Glasgow I'm happy.

Aye, and their crowds are utter guff if they're not in the PL

They were even guff in the top league before relegation. They look a bit better on TV this time around though !

It appers that way because it is on the river in an industrial area but it is actually only a 15 minute walk to Middlesbrough city centre. 

Middlesbrough has a city centre. Now there's a surprise :2thumbsup: 

Only 55% of fans.. that's your largest porpotion then

I don't think they ever owned the stadium though. They were only tenants, and then after a dispute over the rent moved temporarily to Northampton.

They've made blunder after blunder.

At no point has it been a case of fans not going simply because the stadium was out of town.

You could say building a new stadium has caused them problems, but you could also say the same about Hibs, who didn't move anywhere.

You're right, they never owned it. They overvalued their old ground, couldn't raise enough money, overstretched and the project had to be bailed out by a combination of the city council and the Higgs Trust charity, set up by one of their former directors.

I guess poor strategic decisions in general are the real problem with clubs, but I don't see enough benefit compared to cost for this to be considered a good strategic move

Only 55% of fans.. that's your largest porpotion then

The point made was fans won't travel to Kingsford. Well, 45% of season ticket holders already travel from outwith the city to get to games, while travelling from the city to Kingsford will be relatively straight forward, especially since the bypass will be built by then.

The rather extensive transport strategy in the application sets out there will be 17 public buses per hour running from Westhill to Aberdeen after games, plus 20 (of which 10 will return to make another journey) to the Kingswells park and ride, 7 (4 returning) to Dyce park and ride, plus more shuttle buses (no number specified) to "other city centre locations". In additional the bridge of don park and ride is due to be extended and there is a new one being built in the South of the city.

These numbers are for non-old Firm games, and will increase for these games.

Add to that the 1,600 parking spaces at ground, 600 on an off site car park that the club have secured, and parking in Westhill, there shouldn't be much trouble getting to and from a game.

Well, as long as you have 'word' the multi-million shortfall is being covered then that's alright.

The point made was fans won't travel to Kingsford. Well, 45% of season ticket holders already travel from outwith the city to get to games, while travelling from the city to Kingsford will be relatively straight forward, especially since the bypass will be built by then.

The rather extensive transport strategy in the application sets out there will be 17 public buses per hour running from Westhill to Aberdeen after games, plus 20 (of which 10 will return to make another journey) to the Kingswells park and ride, 7 (4 returning) to Dyce park and ride, plus more shuttle buses (no number specified) to "other city centre locations". In additional the bridge of don park and ride is due to be extended and there is a new one being built in the South of the city.

Add to that the 1,600 parking spaces at ground, 600 on an off site car park that the club have secured, and parking in Westhill, there shouldn't be much trouble getting to and from a game.

Actually no, the other dandy said bad weather would affect attendance less because away fans wouldn't be so put off - I pointed out that bad weather might be likely to affect the home support more.

I do hope you build it though, it's in our best interests for you to be paying off a multi million mortgage rather than investing in the team

Cannot wait to see 15'000 fans trying to get one of around 100 buses in the hour after a game. Have fun standing in the Aberdeen weather for half an hour waiting for a rammed bus to take you to a park and ride.

Would be ****ing livid if Hearts done that to me

So Aberdeen are wanting to move from an area where 55% of their season ticket holders are ie within the city boundary, to an area where around 20% come from  :scholar: ..........

Our Aberdeen posters use Bayern Munich moving as an example of how it works......if you take Marienplatz as the main Munich train station and Union St as Aberdeen's, the Allianz is closer to the city centre, served by it's own rail station and next to a autobahn, given that the peripheral route currently under construction will be near to the new ground but it won't exactly be in easy walking distance from the city centre with no rail link and difficult to get to without vehicular transport.