Aberdeen's new stadium...

Ha Ha

I was there September 1979 to june 1980 so saw them a few times in their league winning year (Strachan, Weir and McMaster were outstanding).

It was absolutely bloody freezing in my student flat - we had a meter for the gas which we basically couldn't afford. We all wore our duvets indoors it was that bad. I just checked and on January 14th 1980 there it was -14C

It hit -7 in Westhill on Monday. Westhill is an odd place. Based in a valley, in summer it is usually warmer by a few degrees than the city, but tends to spark showers, no other part of the shire ever seem to see. In winter it gets colder - much - dropped by 5 from Kingswells for example only 2 miles East.

Don't worry, you weren't picked on in 79/80, those temperatures, though not common are not unusual either. -21 I seen in Inverurie 1994

• Replies 2.7k

• IveSeenTheLight

• sadj

• Unknown user

It's funny you guys are inferring it as a lego stadium before it's even built.

Did you realise Tynecastle has the nickname of the Pink Lego stadium.

Not a dig, just made me smirk that's all.

It only has the nickname Pink Lego Stadium in one persons head on planet earth - yours.

Think you will find your Lego stadium comrades in Leith actually call it the Pink Bus Shelter.  

Not a dig, just made me smirk that's all.

No need for special transport.

The X40 already runs every 20 minutes on a Saturday.

I'm sure once completed First bus would consider extending the route past the new stadium at peak times

Looking forward to 10 thousand Aberdeen jumping onto the one bus after doing their usual pre-match routine in the centre.

I'd rather have a season ticket at Easter Road than being crushed on a bus with a 100 other people, no doubt dying on a piss whilst stuck on Union Street for 40 minutes and missing the first half of the match.

****ing hilarious

Looking forward to 10 thousand Aberdeen jumping onto the one bus after doing their usual pre-match routine in the centre.

I'd rather have a season ticket at Easter Road than being crushed on a bus with a 100 other people, no doubt dying on a piss whilst stuck on Union Street for 40 minutes and missing the first half of the match.

******* hilarious

I know exactly what you mean but that is taking it a bit far. :2thumbsup:

Jambo, Goodbye

?40 million spent in a freezing cold part of the country. Could have least included a retractable roof!

Edited by Jambo, Goodbye

Well in perspective

Haymarket to Tynecastle - 1.2 miles

Aberdeen Train Station to Pittodrie - 1.5 miles

Aberdeen to Kingsford - 6.2 miles

So it's 4 times further than the current stadium, but only 20 mins on the bus.

Entirely possible to enjoy the town refreshments and then jump on the bus to the stadium.

I've seen times when there is a scramble to get on the train at Haymarket before its gets full after a game to the point that some walk to Waverley to get a better chance of securing a seat on the train.

Indeed it's not the first time I've had to stand the whole way on a train after a game at Tynecastle.

I'm sure the swathes of visiting fans will cope if they want to see the game live.

The scramble at Haymarket is obviously created by the 25k supporters you always bring through to the capital though.

At least with Tynecastle you're in the city, so if you have to wait on a train because it's packed, you can go out and explore, do stuff.

I wouldn't like to have to kill time in Kingsford because of transport issues.

It would really put me off going to Aberdeen if I then had another 20-25 minute bus journey on top of the train journey to go to the match. Hopefully they do something about this.

You wouldn't.

If you were driving (or supporters bus) then you would take the bypass to the stadium, which would shave 20-25 mins off your journey rather than add to it.

If going by train, apparently the plan is (more for Old Firm fans really so not sure about other supports) that they will get off at Stonehaven, do their pre-match drinking there, then shuttle buses will take you to the ground.

At least with Tynecastle you're in the city, so if you have to wait on a train because it's packed, you can go out and explore, do stuff.

I think the plan is to do the same as Bayern Munich in that respect.

The Allianz Arena is in the middle of no-where, and it takes three hours to empty the car park after a game, so they encourage fans to stay behind after and watch the post-match pressers on the TV screens, visit the club restaraunts and bars, club superstore, and there's a fan zone outside.

Aberdeen will have a fan zone and "red cafe" as part of the plans. Like I said in a previous post there is also restaurants and shops being built adjacent to the stadium site. There will be plenty to do before and after a game.

You wouldn't.

If you were driving (or supporters bus) then you would take the bypass to the stadium, which would shave 20-25 mins off your journey rather than add to it.

If going by train, apparently the plan is (more for Old Firm fans really so not sure about other supports) that they will get off at Stonehaven, do their pre-match drinking there, then shuttle buses will take you to the ground.

So "no you wouldn't" and then go on to explain that not only would I in fact actually still need to take a bus, but from a completely different town?! Not very sensible for Aberdeen as a city then.

IveSeenTheLight

They can run as many as they like, 2 buses for an Aberdonian is too much to cope with :)

Where does the X40 run to and from currently? My particular location, I would have to go 5 miles one way to come back 7 the other, I don't see that being doable for most people, they are going to have to get the parking right, and traffic control

It's an option.

I believe there are to be 1600 car park spaces, plus spaces for supporters buses and you can probably throw in the the parking options at Kingswells park and ride as well.

Indeed, it would not be too hard to park near lawsondale in Westhill with a short walk round to the ground.

I'm more confident of the transport opportunities at this new ground than Pittodrie and may indeed consider using the P&R facilities in Ellon to get to the new ground, but your correct, if it's not efficient, I'll revert to driving and parking locally.

IveSeenTheLight

The scramble at Haymarket is obviously created by the 25k supporters you always bring through to the capital though.

No, more to do with the transport services only putting on two carriages after a match. Ludicrous ;)

IveSeenTheLight

I don;t view Gorgie as a place where I go to explore or do stuff.

I tend to go straight to Stattfords, get a few pints in, socialise with fellow Dons and some Hearts fans, maybe see a pre-match game on the telly and then head straight to the ground.

I'm not interested in having a wander up Robbie Avenue or along Slateford. Not really anything to see or do there.

I might be partial of a stroll to Fountainbridge or occasionally the Roseburn.

Tynecastle is not really that central to enjoy the Grassmarket, Royal Mile, Holyrood or the Natural Museum. I wouldgo there specifically and certainly not on a matchday.

So essentially, I go to a pub.

If it is possible to open up some club linked hostillieries or restaurants then it's another revenue stream opportunity

I tend to go straight to Stattfords, get a few pints in, socialise with fellow Dons and some Hearts fans, maybe see a pre-match game on the telly and then head straight to the ground.

I'm not interested in having a wander up Robbie Avenue or along Slateford. Not really anything to see or do there.

Tynecastle is not really that central to enjoy the Grassmarket, Royal Mile, Holyrood or the Natural Museum. I wouldgo there specifically and certainly not on a matchday.

If it is possible to open up some club linked hostillieries or restaurants then it's another revenue stream opportunity

Out of interest, are there any figures out re season ticket holders, say ratio of those who live in Aberdeen : to those who live outside the city?

But Tynecastle is slap bang in the middle of plenty boozers, food places etc and not far from the city centre - walkable for many. In essence what you are being offered is for fans to spend their dosh in a boring retail park whilst waiting hours to get out the car park or trying to squeeze onto packed park & ride buses which, whenever demand is all at the same time from several thousand customers, never cope with the numbers. I know out-of-city stadia work abroad but then they generally have a far more favourable climate which makes a huge difference.

I hope you get the infrastructure right but equally I am mightly relieved Hearts are staying at Tynecastle.

No, more to do with the transport services only putting on two carriages after a match. Ludicrous ;)

To be fair it is ludicrous how often that happens. Trains get dangerously overloaded

IveSeenTheLight

Out of interest, are there any figures out re season ticket holders, say ratio of those who live in Aberdeen : to those who live outside the city?

Not that I'm aware of, but I'm sure the club would know.

Going by the traffic I see after the game, there is a fair number of "shire" supporters, which I guess may find it easier to get to and from the games.

I'm sure there are also a number of fans who live in the city as a fair number walk back into town after the game.

Are people really comparing being able to have the choice of drinking & enjoying yourself in the middle of a city where you can walk to a main train station to having to drink out a plastic beaker looking at some fields waiting hours on a bus in the middle of the countryside where it's normally either chuffing baltic, or pishing with rain?

Seriously - have a word! :lol:

So "no you wouldn't" and then go on to explain that not only would I in fact actually still need to take a bus, but from a completely different town?! Not very sensible for Aberdeen as a city then.

Well not really because no-one is forcing you to get a bus or get off the train at Stonehaven.

You can travel on to Aberdeen and make your way from there if you like. It's just another option.

It may take you longer to get there, but for the majority of Aberdeen fans their journey time will actually be cut.

Well not really because no-one is forcing you to get a bus or get off the train at Stonehaven.

You can travel on to Aberdeen and make your way from there if you like. It's just another option.

It may take you longer to get there, but for the majority of Aberdeen fans their journey time will actually be cut.

It seems like the Club could ask you to relocate to Orkney and you would be happy with that! I just feel as an away fan, I really don't fancy getting a train to either Aberdeen or Stonehaven and then get a bus to the game and stand about in a fan zone. The only plus might be that people consider staying over but that is an even bigger expense. 

Are people really comparing being able to have the choice of drinking & enjoying yourself in the middle of a city where you can walk to a main train station to having to drink out a plastic beaker looking at some fields waiting hours on a bus in the middle of the countryside where it's normally either chuffing baltic, or pishing with rain?

People on here are comparing Hearts staying to Aberdeen moving, like it is a like for like thing. It isn't.

Had Aberdeen thought ahead 25 years ago then staying would have been an option. For some reason they built the RDS then decided they wanted to move. They should have built two single tier stands behind the goals, bought the land behind the South stand and built that. Then we would be here discussing the exact same as Hearts - the building of a new main stand.

But times have moved on. Rebuilding Pittodrie is no longer possible and even if it was it would cost too much.

Yes, the club ****ed up 25 years ago. But at the moment moving is the best option.

Re-your last sentence. Pittodrie is right next to the North Sea. It doesn't get much colder than that!

You mean  Stratfords?

if so, good choice, just don't nick our seats at the back bar....

It seems like the Club could ask you to relocate to Orkney and you would be happy with that! I just feel as an away fan, I really don't fancy getting a train to either Aberdeen or Stonehaven and then get a bus to the game and stand about in a fan zone. The only plus might be that people consider staying over but that is an even bigger expense.

My first choices were either Dyce (near to train station) or where the new AECC is being built in Bucksburn (also a train station being built there). If they were to build a train station near the new stadium site that would be great (and not impossible - the Inverurie to Dyce line isn't that far away).

At the moment you get a train, I presume drink in city centre, then walk 15-20 mins to Pittodrie.

In future, you would either get a train to Stonehaven, have a drink, then get a 15 minute bus. Or, same as above, but instead of the walk from union street you get the bus to Kingsford.

I think people won't realise until it's actually built how little their pre-match ritual will actually change.

People on here are comparing Hearts staying to Aberdeen moving, like it is a like for like thing. It isn't.

Had Aberdeen thought ahead 25 years ago then staying would have been an option. For some reason they built the RDS then decided they wanted to move. They should have built two single tier stands behind the goals, bought the land behind the South stand and built that. Then we would be here discussing the exact same as Hearts - the building of a new main stand.

But times have moved on. Rebuilding Pittodrie is no longer possible and even if it was it would cost too much.

Yes, the club ****ed up 25 years ago. But at the moment moving is the best option.

Re-your last sentence. Pittodrie is right next to the North Sea. It doesn't get much colder than that!

Nah, c'mon mate let's face it, the only reason this is being built is so that Stewart Milne geezer can knock down the current gaff, build loads of properties on it & trouser the proceeds. Nice earner for him.

They could easily spend a few bob on doing up Pittordrie & have a decent stadium, but there's no cash to be made that way of course. Surprised the AFC support are backing this move, sound a bunch of mugs to me.

Edited by Nelly Terraces

Nah, c'mon mate let's face it, the only reason this is being built is so that Stewart Milne geezer can knock down the current gaff, build loads of properties on it & trouser the proceeds. Nice earner for him.

They could easily spend a few bob on doing up Pittordrie & have a decent stadium, but there's no cash to be made that way of course. Surprised the AFC support & backing this move, sound a bunch of mugs to me.

Not posted on the thread so far. I think it looks utter shite.

If Hearts were ever going to make a move like that it'd have to be an exceptional stadium to even begin to win me over.

That looks hideously boring and generic. You can add as many 'red cafes :rofl: ' as you like.

It's shit.

Edited by Craigieboy

Are people really comparing being able to have the choice of drinking & enjoying yourself in the middle of a (BEAUTIFUL CAPITAL) city where you can walk to a main train station to having to drink out a plastic beaker looking at some fields waiting hours on a bus in the middle of the countryside where it's normally either chuffing baltic, or pishing with rain?

Apparently so :biggrin:

It couldn't be a more different match day experience. Standing waiting outside a stadium at the arse end of nowhere and being entirely reliant on some random shuttle bus to get me back to civilisation isn't my idea of a fun time.

In a city you have the choice. You take a bus, you jump in a cab, but most of the time you don't even need to do that... you just wander 2 mins along the road to the next pub or to one of the many places you can find food, or to the station itself or whatever. Options.

The more I think about this, the more I'm over the moon we're staying right where we are.

Not posted on the thread so far. I think it looks utter shite.

If Hearts were ever going to make a move like that it'd have to be an exceptional stadium to even begin to win me over.

That looks hideously boring and generic. You can add as many 'red cafes :rofl: ' as you like.

It's shit.

Absolutely mate. Genuinely think this looks utter Tom Kite. Can imagine what 'The Red Cafe'(!) will be like, 'That'll be ?4.50 for a pint of Carling Sir, sorry, we can only serve it in plastic beakers', if you don't like it then please go elsewhere, theres some good pubs in town - 6 (SIX) miles away'. Guess the away fans will have it good though - having a peeve in Stonehaven! :lol:

Not that I'm aware of, but I'm sure the club would know.

Going by the traffic I see after the game, there is a fair number of "shire" supporters, which I guess may find it easier to get to and from the games.

I'm sure there are also a number of fans who live in the city as a fair number walk back into town after the game.

It's the city-centre pub go-ers that will need won over. Your 'shire' fans/families/car drivers will probably love the new set-up.

I left Edinburgh six years ago and now train it in for the home games and pre/post match drinks. I need the pub part to make it worthwhile for me, partly because I like beer and partly because it is often the highlight of the day. It makes it more of a day.

The difference is that for me, the stadium and the pub is still in the same place. It was me who moved. It will be much harder for city-based Dons fans to connect with the new stadium, the new 'fan zone', and the new travel time.

It's all very well someone saying "we'll build you this" or "we'll lay on that", but will they really get it right?

Of course, it doesn't matter what I think. But if I was an Aberdeen fan, that would be my main concern.

Absolutely mate. Genuinely think this looks utter Tom Kite. Can imagine what 'The Red Cafe'(!) will be like, 'That'll be ?4.50 for a pint of Carling Sir, sorry, we can only serve it in plastic beakers', if you don't like it then please go elsewhere, theres some good pubs in town - 6 (SIX) miles away'. Guess the away fans will have it good though - having a peeve in Stonehaven! :lol:

But you can drink your ?4.50 pint surrounded by giant canvasses of Willie Miller and other such 'icons' from an age when Aberdeen were actually relevant.

Small time.

Perversely the North Sea keeps Aberdeen warmer than inland during winter opposite in summer.

Westhill is whooring cold

Perversely the North Sea keeps Aberdeen warmer than inland during winter opposite in summer.

Westhill is whooring cold

Like I say, I grew up in Westhill, and I found it no colder than the Glasgow I now live in.

Maybe you're just soft

Like I say, I grew up in Westhill, and I found it no colder than the Glasgow I now live in.

Maybe you're just soft

Nah I just know the difference between temperatures

The comparison was with having to wait at Haymarket though.

That's quite central with a number of amenities around.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk

IveSeenTheLight

and stand about in a fan zone. 

Actually saw the plans tonight and there is a pub to be built into the ground, so could be ideal for a pre-game refreshment or two.

Plus side will be the extra revenue generated on match day.

Actually saw the plans tonight and there is a pub to be built into the ground, so could be ideal for a pre-game refreshment or two.

How big will it be? 

IveSeenTheLight

The comparison was with having to wait at Haymarket though.

That's quite central with a number of amenities around.

No the comparison was at the grounds with people citing there will be nothing at the new stadium, when the truth is there will be and potential to expand further.

Maybe you're just soft

Aberdeen fan who lives in the central belt.

There's a chuffing shocker. :lol:

IveSeenTheLight

How big will it be? 

Not sure to be honest, but it seemed to take up a whole corner on the ground floor (there is to be 3 levels) on the North East Corner, with the fans zone outside.

Not everyone drinks at games and potential to cater for an equivalent of four or five local pubs worth I've tried round Gorgie.

Slightly off topic...This new stadium. Our new one on the way. Parkhead Ibrox easter road etc. Yet the retards in charge of our game cant market it beyond a few scraps from BT and Sky. These idiots need removed asap. There's a product in Scottish football that with some bright minds and experience could actually be something that those beyond these shores might want to watch.

It's time Doncaster et al pissed off for the sake of the game!

IveSeenTheLight

Aberdeen fan who lives in the central belt.

There's a chuffing shocker. :lol:

People move, like Sir Gio moved to the North East.

nothing really shocking about it.

I'm still in the NE and actually moved further north from where I was brought up

IveSeenTheLight

Slightly off topic...This new stadium. Our new one on the way. Parkhead Ibrox easter road etc. Yet the retards in charge of our game cant market it beyond a few scraps from BT and Sky. These idiots need removed asap. There's a product in Scottish football that with some bright minds and experience could actually be something that those beyond these shores might want to watch.

4 years too late, but as they say, better late than never

No the comparison was at the grounds with people citing there will be nothing at the new stadium, when the truth is there will be and potential to expand further.

No it wasn't. Someone, not sure if it was you or not, cited a massive queue at Haymarket station as being equivalent to being stuck at your new stadium.

Fair point.

IveSeenTheLight

No it wasn't. Someone, not sure if it was you or not, cited a massive queue at Haymarket station as being equivalent to being stuck at your new stadium.

I did make a quip about there being a scramble to get on the train after a game with regards to logistics.

There was however more discussion on amenities around the ground.

It looks pish. Only the sort of weirdo codheads who lurk about on a Hearts fans' website would think otherwise.

Aberdeen are having a nice wee spell, having taken advantage of the absence of Hearts and Rangers, but have achieved a paltry diddy cup for their efforts. FFS even Hibs have achieved more than them in the last 20 years.

I think Aberdeen will struggle over the next few years and moving to a souped-up rural version of McDiarmid Park should hopefully hasten their decline.

Horrible club.

4 years too late, but as they say, better late than never

Was it not Aberdeen who voted with Celtic  to block the change to the 11-1 voting system on major issues?   Thus depriving Scottish Football of any radical change whilst a Rangers team were out of the top league.  Now that a Rangers team is back in the top league, Celtic and them can veto any major changes.  Maybe something to think about in your new shiny half full stadium in years to come.

Be open an hour before kick off and at half time if Englandshire is any indicator