Trainspotting 2

Solid Snake

• Replies 345

Another thing I didn't get with the sequel is the fact that the police don't actively seek out Begbie. You'd think his bird and boy's house would be the first place they would check out? He seems to wander about freely even though he's escaped from Saughton, whilst in the original he wouldn't leave a bed sit in East London for fear of the Scottish police finding him!

I had a real problem with this, too.  Took me right out of the film.

I also had an issue with the high speed trains going past a pub allegedly in Leith.

Or one second begbie is chasing Renton down Cockburn street and the next he's bombing down Johnston terrace onto castle terrace. Wee things like that are always picky faults.

Not really a fault tbf. It's only people that know Edinburgh that would pick up on that.

I had a real problem with this, too. Took me right out of the film.

I also had an issue with the high speed trains going past a pub allegedly in Leith.

Yeah you'd think it would be on the news or something

Prince Buaben

Aye that annoyed me too. Starting at Cav ending up at King Stables Road via the royal mile etc.

Where actually was that?

Sorry, was referring to begbie escaping. Odd that a guy could escape from jail, presumably he assaulted the guy in hospital whose clothes he stole, and for there to be nothing on the news about a convicted dangerous criminal walking about

N Lincs Jambo

Just back from seeing this. Enjoyed it but watching in Englandshire, me and the mrs were the only ones laughing at the whole 1690 scam. Think the first one was better and had hoped the sequel would be closer to Porno but enjoyed it for what it was. Will probably go again in a couple of weeks

Sorry, was referring to begbie escaping. Odd that a guy could escape from jail, presumably he assaulted the guy in hospital whose clothes he stole, and for there to be nothing on the news about a convicted dangerous criminal walking about

And even more odd that the police didn't turn up at the door of his wife's house, where he managed to live undetected.

I really wanted to enjoy this. I loved both the books and the first film. The story in this was weak, the acting was terrible especially from McGregor and Millar, so wooden and far too posh for a couple of Leith junkies.

Far too much indulgent rubbish like the George Best bit

I liked it ok, probably because I'm from Edinburgh, but if you were to watch this just as a film with no prior knowledge of Trainspotting, it's pretty poor

Prince Buaben

And even more odd that the police didn't turn up at the door of his wife's house, where he managed to live undetected.

Only be a cameo for begbie.. Sneaks out of jail... 5 minutes later... picked back up. :ninja:

Watched it yesterday.

You know the first one, where they're talking about Connery and how he lost it? The academy award and how his Untouchables was alright but compared to his earlier stuff it was, really, just shite?

That's pretty much my opinion of this. It was alright, not a terrible film, but nothing compared to the original.

John Gentleman

Went to see it last night............it was OK. Not brilliant, just OK. Ewan McGregor really struggled to 'resurrect' a Scottish accent, far less an Edinburgh one. Robert Carlyle, as usual, the standout actor.

BTW, I had the whole cinema to myself ? I was literally the only person in there. Granted, it was the later showing (9.20pm), but still...

At least I know what it's like to sit in the Gorgie stand now.  ;)

Regal Kingston

I thought he may have headed to the West End after he got to Princes Street?

Getting chased from a psycho could make you mix up the route!

I thought it was great entertainment.

Robert Carlyle was exceptional as Begbie - be good to see him reprise the role if the The Blade Artist was made into a film.

Bremner was also brilliant and was the only one who looked like he might have taken heroin in the past.

The scene in the high rise with Carlyle and Bremner was superb.

Agree with a lot of the comments and criticisms posted before;

Bremner & Miller play it too posh for Leithers and looked too healthy.

Both Welshes performances were questionable...

It is overly nostalgic - really works with some scenes though.

Saw it on Friday night. Welsh looks even more of a deviant if that were possible. Begbie remains a phenomenal character but it was decent and no more. Not a patch on the original.

I went to see it today and agree.  Thought it started off really well but the middle part of the film wasn't great.  I enjoyed it but I think there was potential for it the be far better.

I thought he may have headed to the West End after he got to Princes Street?

Getting chased from a psycho could make you mix up the route!

I thought it was great entertainment.

Robert Carlyle was exceptional as Begbie - be good to see him reprise the role if the The Blade Artist was made into a film.

Bremner was also brilliant and was the only one who looked like he might have taken heroin in the past.

The scene in the high rise with Carlyle and Bremner was superb.

Agree with a lot of the comments and criticisms posted before;

Bremner & Miller play it too posh for Leithers and looked too healthy.

Both Welshes performances were questionable...

It is overly nostalgic - really works with some scenes though.

To be fair that was true of Bremner and Miller in the original.

Only Ewan Bremner got the accent right.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Goldstone Wonder

To be fair that was true of Bremner and Miller in the original.

Only Ewan Bremner got the accent right.

Think you mean McGregor and Miller but I agree. They were always too posh and Carlyle is a weegie struggling to do a Leith accent. Bremner was always the guy with the most authentic accent. I only found out the other day when he was being interviewed that Johnny Lee Miller was in fact English. Moreover, a pal told me that his Grandad was none other then Bernard Lee who was the original M in the Bond movies.

You're right I do.

The funny thing is Robert Carlyle was in a TV series 'Looking after Jojo", which also had Kevin McKidd in it.

His Edinburgh accent was far better than it was in Trainspotting.

The funny thing is Robert Carlyle was in a TV series 'Looking after Jojo", which also had Kevin McKidd in it.

I presume you're joking? His accent in looking after Jo Jo was hysterical.

Decent enough series though, great soundtrack, watched it again a few weeks ago coincidentally.

As for Trainspotting 2, saw it today and enjoyed it. Couple of funny bits though thought Bremners acting was brutal.

John Gentleman

He was interviewed on ABC Radio National not so long ago. He was absolutely brutal and made me cringe. Every sentence (and I mean every) finished with "ye' know".

I expect that from Yogi Hughes, not from a 'prominent Scottish writer'.

John Gentleman

You're right I do.

Mind watching that here in Oz. It was subtitled in English!   :)

Spent the last hour reading through this thread which I've avoided for the last month as it only just cam out in Australia this week. Went to see it today having avoided any spoilers and I thought it was pretty good. It never managed to quite hit the highs of the original but it did do a great job of showing a realistic idea of where the the characters would probably be 20 years later.

Was I the only one who never even recognised that it was Renton on the treadmill at the start until he fell over by the way? The close up looked nothing like him.

Great soundtrack however I would have definitely appreciated a proper Born Slippy section rather than the slow versions. 

The ending was pretty dull as well after a good build up. Too many loose ends on the whole really.

No fall out from Veronica doing a runner, no conclusion to Renton knobbing his 'best mates' missus behind his back, and no real idea where the characters go from here on out. Rentons back in his old bedroom.

The scene of the police car driving through Longstone also never made it in from the trailer. 

Really enjoyable though. Will probably try and see it again soon.

I did however find a fair bit of the dialogue hard to understand myself, so without subtitles I don't know how much the Australian audience got! The first scene with Begbie and his lawyer in jail was nearly incomprehensible. 

Saw it last night on the Odeon at Wester Hailes. It was mobbed. What most posters on here are missing is that in the 90's the original was a low budget move based LOOSELY on a cult book from a provincial author (I have a first edition which I bought based on the Rebel Inc review). Danny Boyle is now an Oscar winning director, Irvine Welsh has been lauded as writing the most influential Scottish book of the 20th century, most of the cast are Holywood "A" listers and the original is widely recognised as THE cult movie of the 90's. The sequel is not aimed at those of us who bought the book before the movie, or those of us who live in Edinburgh. Most people who live in North Berwick couldn't tell a Leith accent from a Livingston accent, never mind an international audience. Remember the original had to be dubbed for the US audience! I thought is was nostalgic, funny, sad but most of all brilliant.

Very much this.  The scene in Harvey Nics when she askes what Choose Life means and the scene with Born Slippy slowly playing in the background - both actually made the hairs on the back of my neck stand up.  The scene on the toilet when they both realise who's on the other side, absolute class!  Edinburgh looked absolutely stunning.  Hate how Begbie treats Spud like shite, the boy doesn't have a bad bone.  Begbie on the other hand is class - loved the bit when they spoke about the glassing, lip syncing with the original version.  In the end Renton ends up in the room where it all began, room still the same as his parents know their boy will always need the protection of their wee boys bedroom.

Tune - Only God Knows by Young Fathers, listened to it all day today.

Very much this. The scene in Harvey Nics when she askes what Choose Life means and the scene with Born Slippy slowly playing in the background - both actually made the hairs on the back of my neck stand up. The scene on the toilet when they both realise who's on the other side, absolute class! Edinburgh looked absolutely stunning. Hate how Begbie treats Spud like shite, the boy doesn't have a bad bone. Begbie on the other hand is class - loved the bit when they spoke about the glassing, lip syncing with the original version. In the end Renton ends up in the room where it all began, room still the same as his parents know their boy will always need the protection of their wee boys bedroom.

Great summary. I also think the pub scene is proof Danny Boyle is the best around, he can turn IMO a poorly thought out scene into something memorable and brilliant

deesidejambo

Very much this. The scene in Harvey Nics when she askes what Choose Life means and the scene with Born Slippy slowly playing in the background - both actually made the hairs on the back of my neck stand up. The scene on the toilet when they both realise who's on the other side, absolute class! Edinburgh looked absolutely stunning. Hate how Begbie treats Spud like shite, the boy doesn't have a bad bone. Begbie on the other hand is class - loved the bit when they spoke about the glassing, lip syncing with the original version. In the end Renton ends up in the room where it all began, room still the same as his parents know their boy will always need the protection of their wee boys bedroom.

The bit where Spuds wife reads his memoirs and says she has a title for it nearly got me greetin,

And the random flashbacks to them as innocent wee kids sitting together was also great.

deesidejambo

I haven't seen it yet, but I watched the "no more Catholics" scene. :rofl:

For once we agree. That will go down as one of the greatest ever Scottish comedy moments.

Pity the English don't understand it.

• 5 months later...

Is this based on the book "Porno"?

If it is, I'm looking forward to see the bit where the hoor shags a collie dug at a farm at Penicuik!!!!!

That was Filth! Hector the farmer is a mason friend of Bruce Robertson.

I thought it was a load of shite to be honest. I get the fact that Welsh is a big Hibs fan but did they really have to have a Hibs scarf, flag, reference in every scene?

Not a patch on the original.

I thought it was a load of shite to be honest. I get the fact that Welsh is a big Hibs fan but did they really have to have a Hibs scarf, flag, reference in every scene?

Not a patch on the original.

Pretty much agree. It was watchable, but no better than Police Academy 2.

Glue would make a tremendous movie.

Sent from my VFD 600 using Tapatalk

I think if you tried to cram it all into one film you would lose a lot but it would make a great tv series

Pretty much agree. It was watchable, but no better than Police Academy 2.

Police A 1 was utter shite  never seen the rest of them

Trainspotting 2 was no bad  it was never gonny touch the original but for me was fine

I think if you tried to cram it all into one film you would lose a lot but it would make a great tv series

Glue would make a tremendous movie.

Sent from my VFD 600 using Tapatalk

Great shout. 

Glue is one of the few book I cried at the end of.    It was a fantastic trip through time that I totally related to, especially the death of a pal and the fact that at the end of it all, they had ties that somehow bound them.

Dont think it would make a good film though - maybe the bidet sequence would get a laugh though.