Minimum unit pricing

lauriesrank

So with the unit pricing prob gonna end up at the house of lords, it'll be two years or so before we see this:

HOwever, if indeed it passes (which it will) does that mean we'll end up paying ?13 for a bottle of vodka and subsequently surely it should only be 50p a nip!!   PMsl, ?1.30 for a pint of guiness sounds ok to me :)

I know it's all minimum, just a bit of craic :)

• Replies 360

• Jambo-Jimbo

• Space Mackerel

• Rocco_Jambo

• deesidejambo

It'd be something like ?11.25 for a three litre bottle of Frosty Jack's tramp juice.  Imagine the seethe at that.

just checked and iceland online sell the 3l for ?3.50

So with the unit pricing prob gonna end up at the house of lords, it'll be two years or so before we see this:

HOwever, if indeed it passes (which it will) does that mean we'll end up paying ?13 for a bottle of vodka and subsequently surely it should only be 50p a nip!! PMsl, ?1.30 for a pint of guiness sounds ok to me :)

I know it's all minimum, just a bit of craic :)

Any half decent vodka is already about ?13 a bottle or else you buy poison like Glens.

No grants for me!!  But a litre of Smirnoff is ?15 the now :)

UK prices for alcohol are obscene. My mates visiting from Spain and I got him to bring me a bottle of Bombay sapphire. ?10 in Gibraltar. ?26 here I think.

Wife isn't long back from alicante, bottle of smirnoffs was about a fiver!

Brought back some Rum when I was over in September, was getting Santiago de Cuba for around ?13 whilst it costs around ?25+ in the UK.

Something they've never said (or I've never seen) is where does the extra money go? If a bottle of spirits that was ?12 goes up to ?15 who gets the ?3 - the manufacturer, the retailer or will it count as duty and go to the government? In which case it'll be Westminster, won't it?

The retailer 100%.

If anything pubs will use it as an excuse to raise prices. :lol:

I absolutely agree with this!

That they'll raise the price of course.

The reality is this policy will disadvantage the poor and advantage businesses large and small. And they say the Nats are not Tartan Tories.

Aye, breweries and booze companies are so eager to raise prices that they've fought this through every court in the land.

Edited by Cade

Aye, breweries and booze companies are so eager to raise prices that they've fought this through every court in the land.

Thin end of the wedge, innit? The SWA's been fighting it not because it'll cause many whiskies to go up in price, but because the industry's concerned about alcohol becoming the new cigarettes...

This will only make a difference to those who drink shite cheap brands. If you have a bit of class like me and drink at the superior end of the scale brand wise, your not going to see any difference.

actually you will notice a price increase as those brewers, distillers and winemakers will still want their product to be seen as a superior brand thus will increase the price to indicate this

Where is the cut off though? I enjoy a good bottle of wine but I also see no problem with a ?5 bottle to sit and drink at home watching telly.

The big supermarkets will lead the money grab and not let breweries and distlillers raise their prices on the back of the policy. You can be sure of that. Remember this will not apply throughout the UK and no doubt there will be bus trips across the border to stock up.

We be much better working together within the Union to increase liquor duty and spend the money on the NHS and other services to address alcohol abuse.

I said pubs would raise prices. Not breweries.

Every year pubs I've worked in raised their prices over and above the level of inflation. Price of beer goes up 2p, instead they add 5p to the price.

Most Pubs already sell alcohol way above the minimum unit price anyway. And I'm sure some will increase prices on the back of this.

Except you will - If the jakey stuff skyrockets in price then the "classier" brands will raise their prices too when they see their competitors charging more - especially if they see themselves as a step up in class - I know nothing about wine so maybe not the best example but I'm assuming some fancy wine maker isn't going to sell their bottle for a tenner if white lightning is going for ?15 or whatever

Where is the cut off though? I enjoy a good bottle of wine but I also see no problem with a ?5 bottle to sit and drink at home watching telly.

Been a while since I had a look at the proposals but the minimums proposed will do what they set out to do. You won't be able to buy premium cider for ?2.00 a litre, or 20 bottles of bud for a tenner, which is what they are really aiming this at. If you enjoy a bottle of wine at 12.5 degrees there will be little or no price hike required to keep the price legal. That doesn't mean some opportunists won't just hike the prices across the board obviously, but they won't have to do it in most cases, simply to comply.

• 1 year later...

50p a unit minimum.

That's £1 for a 2-unit pint of normal strength beer or £5 for a 10-unit bottle of wine.

The min price is aimed at jakeys and young kids who get trollied on cheap, nasty booze and cause trouble for the rest of us.

(the middle classes who actually represent the fastest growing demographic of alcohol misusers will be unaffected but hey ho)

12 minutes ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

Supreme Court backs the introduction of minimum alcohol pricing.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-41981909

I don't think it will effect me all that much as I don't drink cheap booze anyway, but I can see it being used by retailers to hike up prices nonetheless.

If you buy beer or lager in 12 packs then you'll almost certainly be affected. The idea that this will just affect high strength gut rot products aimed at alkies and kids only is just SNP PR.

Standard strength lagers like Tennants that are usually priced at around 8 pound in the supermarkets for a 12 crate will now be a minimum price of 10.80.

Even a 4 pack of premium craft lager like Innis and Gunn which can be bought for 4 cans for 4 quid will go up about 15%.

It's certainly going to hit the lower classes big time but as long as the supermarkets gets a big windfall out of it all is fine.

34 minutes ago, Cruyff Turn said:

I think it's a bit daft, Alki's are still going to drink whether they are paying 4 quid a bottle or a tenner. 

Where I'm at. You'll just get folk brewing up fruit wines in their baths etc instead. Doesn't really achieve much imo

34 minutes ago, Rocco_Jambo said:

If you buy beer or lager in 12 packs then you'll almost certainly be affected. The idea that this will just affect high strength gut rot products aimed at alkies and kids only is just SNP PR.

Standard strength lagers like Tennants that are usually priced at around 8 pound in the supermarkets for a 12 crate will now be a minimum price of 10.80.

Even a 4 pack of premium craft lager like Innis and Gunn which can be bought for 4 cans for 4 quid will go up about 15%.

It's certainly going to hit the lower classes big time but as long as the supermarkets gets a big windfall out of it all is fine.

Rarely ever buy multi pack supermarket stuff, as for Tennents Lager  :boak: 

30 minutes ago, Paolo said:

Order online. 

If they ‘deliver’ from just south of the border, all sorted. 

Yip, I usually buy mine from a company in Kings Lynn, they have recently just got over 150 new Belgian beers in stock, even for me that might take me a few months to work my way through them, yum yum.

Have to admit I'm a bit partial to a nice Abbey Beer.

1 minute ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

Rarely ever buy multi pack supermarket stuff, as for Tennents Lager  :boak: 

Yip, I usually buy mine from a company in Kings Lynn, they have recently just got over 150 new Belgian beers in stock, even for me that might take me a few months to work my way through them, yum yum.

Have to admit I'm a bit partial to a nice Abbey Beer.

How very debonair.

41 minutes ago, Cruyff Turn said:

I think it's a bit daft, Alki's are still going to drink whether they are paying 4 quid a bottle or a tenner. 

I agree, if folks are addicted to drink then they'll just do without something else so as they can afford their booze, exactly the same with any addiction whether it be drink, drugs or gambling, they will always find the money from somewhere to feed the habit.

3 minutes ago, Rocco_Jambo said:

How very debonair.

Not really, some people prefer fine wine or good Whisky and are willing to pay for it, I just like good beer.

Like putting a plaster over a knife wound. 

Won't solve the main problems that causes anti social behavior.

SNP aren't doing themselves any favours winning back the lost voters. 

On 23/10/2016 at 16:32, jambos are go! said:

The reality is this policy will disadvantage the poor and advantage businesses large and small. And they say the Nats are not Tartan Tories.

They're not remotely like Conservatives. Like most socialist parties they want to control and run every aspect of our lives because in their eyes we're too stupid to do it ourselves. You re correct with your first point though t will impact the poorer in society as the biggest rises will be in the cheaper alcohol they are more likely to drink. It will also not stop hardened drinkers and alcoholics drinking themselves to death. Once again the majority will suffer due to a minority.

Carlisle and Berwick are going to be popular places for day trips in the next year or two! 

Edited by Seymour M Hersh

32 minutes ago, Alan_R said:

Where I'm at. You'll just get folk brewing up fruit wines in their baths etc instead. Doesn't really achieve much imo

22 minutes ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

I agree, if folks are addicted to drink then they'll just do without something else so as they can afford their booze, exactly the same with any addiction whether it be drink, drugs or gambling, they will always find the money from somewhere to feed the habit.

Yep, they'll prioritize booze over food. Or just homebrew, or worse, start drinking anything with alcohol in it. If they've got kids and have an alcohol problem and can't truly afford it, it'll be kids who feel the effects.

Not really treating the problem imo. The SNPs intentions are maybe right, like it probably was with the Sectarian act and the named persons thing, but it's is legislation which is doomed to fail.

It may stop young people from developing a problem if it's not easily affordable but for those who are addicted, it's just going to become a dearer addiction.

You made a good point about gambling. Something people are addicted too and most of the time can't afford but still do it. 

And of course, if they can't get money, like any addicted person, there is a desperation there and the potential for crimes to be committed. 

Edited by Cruyff Turn

20 minutes ago, Seymour M Hersh said:

They're not remotely like Conservatives. Like most socialist parties they want to control and run every aspect of our lives because in their eyes we're too stupid to do it ourselves. You re correct with your first point though t will impact the poorer in society as the biggest rises will be in the cheaper alcohol they are more likely to drink. It will also not stop hardened drinkers and alcoholics drinking themselves to death. Once again the majority will suffer due to a minority.

Carlisle and Berwick are going to be popular places for day trips in the next year or two! 

Maybe not, unless they are going to use them as the new booze runs, like there used to be over to Calais, but even then what they would save would be used up by petrol etc.

As for everyone else, if you can afford to buy fine wine or good spirits then an extra pound or two isn't going to bother you much, you won't like it, but you'll still pay it.

1 hour ago, AlimOzturk said:

Like putting a plaster over a knife wound. 

Won't solve the main problems that causes anti social behavior.

SNP aren't doing themselves any favours winning back the lost voters. 

Agreed and wait till they put the taxes up,,  

Buckfast has 11.25 units per bottle.

At 50p a unit that's still only £5.63 a bottle. It retails for more than that already.

Wild fantasies about prohibition-era speakeasies, illegal cheap breweries in garden sheds and smuggling over the English border are hilarious over-reactions.

Those with alcohol addiction/problem drinkers will just move onto something else as per leagal highs a few years back. Will also no doubt see an increase in bootleg booze. 

Something does need to change in terms of the drinking culture in this country though.

All the medical experts support it, good enough for me. The biggest opponents are companies not wanting to lose profits.

Scotland has a shite relationship with alcohol.

19 minutes ago, Sexton Hardcastle said:

Those with alcohol addiction/problem drinkers will just move onto something else as per leagal highs a few years back. Will also no doubt see an increase in bootleg booze. 

Something does need to change in terms of the drinking culture in this country though.

Nail on head moment there.

Reminds me of a incident I witnessed in Rome when an old wifey was going ballistic at some young lads (English) who had had one too many beers and were being a bit boisterous, as they do, well she was left them in no doubts that public drunkenness was totally unacceptable in Italy, didn't matter that they didn't understand a word she said, they got the message loud and clear,  and in fairness to them they didn't give her any lip, I think they were just so shocked.

Until public drunkenness is socially unacceptable in the UK then nothing will change with the UK's drinking habit's, so yes I agree the whole culture needs to change.

Ah well, when the jaikies can't get their cheap booze we can all look forward to them turning  their attention to drugs and solvent abuse.

Getting at the root cause of the culture that has caused this would have been a better way to start 

8 minutes ago, AlphonseCapone said:

All the medical experts support it, good enough for me. The biggest opponents are companies not wanting to lose profits.

Scotland has a shite relationship with alcohol.

Well you ain't wrong there mate, with any of it.

Having growing up with an alcoholic mother, some of my earliest memories are to do with the consequences of alcohol.

Hell I wish my dad had had shares in Westclox or a Staffordshire pottery company, the amount of clocks and plates he had flung at him when my mum eventually came home from the pub was horrendous.

Whilst I enjoy a good drink, I'm just glad I don't take after my mother in  that aspect, hell I'm just a big pussy cat with a drink.

1 minute ago, Jambo-Jimbo said:

Well you ain't wrong there mate, with any of it.

Having growing up with an alcoholic mother, some of my earliest memories are to do with the consequences of alcohol.

Hell I wish my dad had had shares in Westclox or a Staffordshire pottery company, the amount of clocks and plates he had flung at him when my mum eventually came home from the pub was horrendous.

Whilst I enjoy a good drink, I'm just glad I don't take after my mother in  that aspect, hell I'm just a big pussy cat with a drink.

I completely understand where you are coming from man, my gran died from liver failure as a result of being an alcoholic.

1 minute ago, AlphonseCapone said:

I completely understand where you are coming from man, my gran died from liver failure as a result of being an alcoholic.

It seems you and me have a lot in common, from what we have discussed on various threads, but I think we both know that already.

Medical experts also experts in sociology, politics, history and the many other wider aspects which play a role in the alcohol problems in Scotland?

Think it was confirmed on tv tonight that under current plans a bottle of cheap cider (3L jungle juice) could go from say £2.50/£3 to £6/£7. Whilst thecheaper end of the Prosecco shelf wouldn't be hit at all - £8 a bottle would remain £8.

A reasonable jump. It'll hit cheap spirits and high alcohol content cheap wine (Glens and Lambrini?).

However beer won't be massively hit, Prosecco/champagne won't and higher quality spirits won't either.

In effect... does this not really just force a change in what you buy rather than the amount drank?

I'm skeptical on this. I think I'm right in saying the major public health concern on drinking is "middle class" binging at home. To me the solution seems simple: make social drinking in bars more affordable and force people out to drink rather than unsociable and uncontrollable drinking at home.