Still game returns tonight !

Better call Saul

1 hour ago, i8hibsh said:

I know this is a Still game thread but do we all agree that Mrs Browns Boys is the single biggest abomination in TV history?

No we don't. Admittedly they should have left it after the second series but I still enjoy it, as do most people I speak with.

• Replies 755

• peter_hmfc

• Maroon Sailor

• iantjambo

• AlimOzturk

2 hours ago, i8hibsh said:

I know this is a Still game thread but do we all agree that Mrs Browns Boys is the single biggest abomination in TV history?

You need to stop taking comedy so seriously. ?

5 hours ago, BM1874 said:

Most daft bit was when his wee pal “nae way man wolfs got a job”

And the wee guy replies

my legs are sore and I’m tired 

ok see ya 

just made no sense at all

I’m no Woody Allen but was that exchange not just the set up for him nicking Joe’s chair thereafter?

Not saying it was funny, just pointing out how it fitted into story.

1 minute ago, cocobeab said:

I’m no Woody Allen but was that exchange not just the set up for him nicking Joe’s chair thereafter?

Indeed, but it still sounded unnatural.

Might watch it this week, only because I've heard Amy MacDonald might be in it.

11 hours ago, cocobeab said:

In the grand scheme of things yes, suppose it did

it just seemed there was a line or 2 missing.

One of the better episodes of the new season. 

Plot spoiler below. 

Spoiler

Tam on a life insurance scam for winstons leg by the sounds of it. 

4 hours ago, gjcc said:

One of the better episodes of the new season. 

Plot spoiler below. 

Reveal hidden contents

Tam on a life insurance scam for winstons leg by the sounds of it. 

It's the best episode by a country mile. The other 2 were not up to much.

Your spoiler has been revealed in a trailer shown throughout the week before this episode was aired

Thought it was still dire tbh. Never laughed once and it seemed to just plod along without trying to be funny whilst focusing on the story only, strange for a comedy show.

Only watched it because I read Amy MacDonald would be in it.

7 hours ago, peter_hmfc said:

Thought it was still dire tbh. Never laughed once and it seemed to just plod along without trying to be funny whilst focusing on the story only, strange for a comedy show.

Not to worry, she’s in the next one. 

1 hour ago, gjcc said:

Source?

I think the main issue is that they can no longer get off doing half the stuff they did in the earlier series. I'm currently watching series two on Netflix and not in a million years could the BBC show half of it in this day and age (wrongly in my opinion). 

Doesn't excuse some of the poor characters but it goes some way to explain the drop in quality.

8 hours ago, AlimOzturk said:

Was brilliant Imo

I think he's done a House M.D. when Wilson was Ill.

40 minutes ago, Samuel Camazzola said:

Better than The Office? :runaway:

Miranda, James Corden, Mrs Browns Boys, Citizen Khan and anything with Elaine C. Smith in it are the collective nadir of comedy in this country.

But even they piss all over the Office and Ricky Gervais.

39 minutes ago, been here before said:

Miranda, James Corden, Mrs Browns Boys, Citizen Khan and anything with Elaine C. Smith in it are the collective nadir of comedy in this country.

:groundhog:

1 hour ago, Gashauskis9 said:

Bit better this week.  Clearly an insurance scam from Tam ?.

Yup - bit obvious. He'll give all the money to Winston so he can 'go to Switzerland and save his leg'. 

3 hours ago, Toggie88 said:

Yup - bit obvious. He'll give all the money to Winston so he can 'go to Switzerland and save his leg'. 

I wouldn't be surprised if he ends up at Dignitas by mistake.

5 hours ago, Lemongrab said:

I wouldn't be surprised if he ends up at Dignitas by mistake.

If that’s the credits scene it would be one hell of a way to go out. :rofl:

16 hours ago, been here before said:

Anything with the audience laugh to let you know when the gag has arrived.

Better than the office. Next you’ll be claiming Jacko wasn’t a beast.

Bunny Munro

Thought the episode was garbage, it was like they forgot to add the jokes. If this was season 2/3 I'd say an insurance scam was unlikely, because it seemed too obvious (the TV insurance scam mentioned at the start was a hell of a signpost). I'm sure that is what they'll go for now. Which is a shame. 

Edited by Bunny Munro

11 hours ago, Sexton Hardcastle said:

Him out of Brushstrokes?

7 hours ago, I P Knightley said:

Him out of Brushstrokes?

I used to have a bit of a thing for the bosses wife in Brush Strokes.

She was a bit of a MILF before a MILF was a thing.

14 minutes ago, been here before said:

Here comes Google images

edit: just looked. I'd advise you not to; it might ruin your teenage memories.

Edited by I P Knightley

3 minutes ago, I P Knightley said:

Here comes Google images

edit: just looked. I'd advise you not to; it might ruin your teenage memories.

Nah Carol Decker done that first.

18 hours ago, Sexton Hardcastle said:

The office is pish. Only simpletons laugh at that shite.

Much, much better tonight. Actually really enjoyed it for the first time in a while. 

3 minutes ago, Salad Fingers said:

Much, much better tonight. Actually really enjoyed it for the first time in a while. 

Agreed. A lot more of Jack and Victor's banter I think reminded me of the early episodes 

33 minutes ago, LeftBack said:

Agreed. A lot more of Jack and Victor's banter I think reminded me of the early episodes 

The Jack and Victor banter is what made the show what it is. The more of that, the better the episode. 

6 minutes ago, heartsfc_fan said:

Slightly better tonight.

Me too, only slightly better. Had a good few chuckles but wasn't pishing myself laughing like the early series. Mind you, it could just be me getting grumpier.

Thought it was terrible to be honest. The plotline of it being an insurance scam was figured out before last weeks episode had even ended. Wasn't particularly funny so it just seemed to plod along mindlessly.

On 11/03/2019 at 17:05, been here before said:

Now 76! Where does the time go?

- mostly wasted surfing the Internet for useless facts to be fair. 

Laughed at the bit where jack and Victor were gossiping at the bar, camera cut off to Winston then back to J & V and there is Isa in middle of them. 

Laughed when naveeds car got chores cause he seen tam. 

Substance is still there but it just seems past its time now.

Jack or Victor will need to die this series. Or both or both/one will go to live with their families abroad.

I like Winston, but there's be too much of the other cast for too many years now.

27 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

Jack or Victor will need to die this series. Or both or both/one will go to live with their families abroad.

I like Winston, but there's be too much of the other cast for too many years now.

In that scenario, I would imagine Victor dying and Jack moving to Canada.

29 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

Aii ah think Victor dies and jack goes to live with his daughter in Canada. 

1 minute ago, iantjambo said:

In that scenario, I would imagine Victor dying and Jack moving to Canada.

Victor will die the day before his family are due to visit him for the first time from Jo'burg (things are rocky over there).  Jack's daughter and son-in-law come over for the funeral and he leaves with them.

Cheque please! Glug-glug-glug.   

2 hours ago, Carl Fredrickson said:

I really enjoyed the latest episode. The best of the "new" batch. 

Agree - pretty good

Jack to Victor - You'll have to have a funeral otherwise naebdy will know you're deid

On 09/03/2019 at 09:53, gjcc said:

1 minute ago, gjcc said:

Enjoyed this weeks again. 

Folk will be looking forward to Amy Macdonald’s cameo next week I suppose. 

Next weeks cameo she was due to have yesterday?

4 minutes ago, peter_hmfc said:

Next weeks cameo she was due to have yesterday?

Got my weeks mixed up. Definitely next week. 

Edit: supposedly with Midge Ure also. And a “raft” of other celebrities according to the sun. 

Edited by gjcc

Just now, gjcc said:

Got my weeks mixed up. Definitely next week. 

Thanks, I'll set a recorder for the 28th then.

6 hours ago, peter_hmfc said:

Thanks, I'll set a recorder for the 28th then.

:D Yer some man, Pedro. Why do you put yersel thro such pain every week.