Still game returns tonight !

Better call Saul

3 hours ago, Samuel Camazzola said:

:thumbs_up: Very true. The Office Christmas Specials produced some of the best TV ever. 

When he gave her the colouring book gift and she returned and snogged him - I remember celebrating like a Hearts goal!! The music also made that moment

• Replies 755

• peter_hmfc

• Maroon Sailor

• iantjambo

• AlimOzturk

1 minute ago, Armageddon said:

When he gave her the colouring book gift and she returned and snogged him - I remember celebrating like a Hearts goal!! The music also made that moment

Back For Good and Only You. Worked perfectly! 

Better call Saul
2 hours ago, Gashauskis9 said:

****ing brutal.  Light years away from its prime (series 3-5), shouldn’t have pushed it this far.

I fell asleep after 10 mins then tried to catch up on iPlayer and fell asleep again.

On a different note, Burnistoun was really good last night.  Definitely working better with well thought out one-offs rather than another series.

Where did you watch this ? (Burnistoun)

Edited by Ferris Bueller

Better call Saul
50 minutes ago, Armageddon said:

The banter between Gareth and Tim was funny as 

It us getting a bit jaded but still has its moments. Right that it is the last season. A friends son was in at as the hot dog guy so thst made it more interesting for me. 

1 hour ago, davemclaren said:

It us getting a bit jaded but still has its moments. Right that it is the last season. A friends son was in at as the hot dog guy so thst made it more interesting for me. 

Thought he handled the roll well.

3 hours ago, Ron Burgundy said:

Thought he handled the roll well.

I watched it on ketchup but it didn't cut the mustard

Shite. Played Football Manager while watching it and got more engrossed in my pre-season than that. 

Methadone Mick is painfully unfunny, using Gangnam Style for banter is about 7 years out of date and they regurgitate half the jokes.

No idea why I stick with it tbh. I guess nostalgia. Intrigued more than anything to see how they wrap it up but I sort of wish they just left it at Series 6.

On 24/02/2019 at 22:28, peter_hmfc said:

Shite tonight.

Only watched it because I read Amy MacDonald would be in it.

Who even watches this stuff?

Was she on it? Shows how much attention I paid.

1 minute ago, Locky said:

Was she on it? Shows how much attention I paid.

Not that episode but I've read she is to be in it at some point in the series.

Not sure what to think because I fear she'd make an utterly cringeworthy actress.

Just now, peter_hmfc said:

Not sure what to think because I fear she'd make an utterly cringeworthy actress.

It'll be an utterly pointless cameo like Martin Compston last night. There's probably going to be an abundance of Scottish celebrities featuring this series as it's their last chance.

Her acting can't be any more cringeworthy than some of the shite they put in it these days anyway.

1 minute ago, peter_hmfc said:

I think they've tried to cram in cameo appearances from as many celebs as possible - probably to divert attention from the script.

They had him off of Line of Duty and another guy in Episode 1 - and that bloke off the radio. They've got Midge Ure lined up on another episode and Amy Mac (who'd chosen Still Game as her specialist subject on celebrity Mastermind) and somebody else who's name I don't remember.

To be honest, I don't think they worry too much about acting ability on that show!

Just now, I P Knightley said:

Oh - and him off of Taggart as well. He's the one I was thinking of.

erm mark mcmamus has been dead a while

8 hours ago, milky_26 said:

The other one. The not dead one. You'll know him when you see him. 

10 hours ago, milky_26 said:

He was on Burnistoun. I think the censorship brigade were on holiday when Burnistoun was aired. Hopefully stay on holiday.

SG was ok, but come on, what do people expect. Even the great Only fools had bad episodes and writing

11 hours ago, Locky said:

Shite. Played Football Manager while watching it and got more engrossed in my pre-season than that. 

Methadone Mick is painfully unfunny, using Gangnam Style for banter is about 7 years out of date and they regurgitate half the jokes.

No idea why I stick with it tbh. I guess nostalgia. Intrigued more than anything to see how they wrap it up but I sort of wish they just left it at Series 6.

Over the age of 16? Still playing computer games? Your Mrs must real happy, if you had one.

6 hours ago, ri Alban said:

Over the age of 16? Still playing computer games? Your Mrs must real happy, if you had one.

What a strange thing to get personally wound up about. 

Yes, I'm 25, yes, I play computer games, a lot of people my age and older do, and yes I have a long term partner. 

Hope you're okay.

On 27/02/2019 at 03:25, ri Alban said:

I’m 42 and love playing computer games. Great way to relax.

Oh, and I have a wife who doesn’t have any problem with my hobby.

My partner plays more computer games than I do. 

On topic, this episode was better than last season, but still poor. I'll watch it to see how it ends. 

7 minutes ago, Dino Velvet said:

A much better effort tonight. I actually laughed. 

Thought it was worse than last week and it was absolutely atrocious on Sunday.

The "Lone Wolf" parts were cringeworthy at best, whilst the cat scenes were just dull (the cat was cute as **** though).

They really should just show the last episode now and put it out of its misery.

6 minutes ago, peter_hmfc said:

Thought it was worse than last week and it was absolutely atrocious on Sunday.

The "Lone Wolf" parts were cringeworthy at best, whilst the cat scenes were just dull (the cat was cute as **** though).

They really should just show the last episode now and put it out of its misery.

No danger it was worse than last week. Last week I actually decided to talk to my girlfriend instead of watching it, and that never happens. 

Never. 

I get the Mr Twilight bit with Victor but he just looked and moved like Greg Hemphill

They might be able to take years off someone's face but they are still going to walk and move around like a doddery old fecker Victor is supposed to be

Edited by Maroon Sailor

It been going downhill for a good few series now and jts been a long while since it was last really funny.

Methadone Mick is the most annoying character in any programme. He seriously does my tits in and its difficult now to get away with the same humour it was possible to write 15 years ago.

With this in mind obviously it would be easier just not to watch it but regardless Ive recorded it and look forward to watching it, thinking its shite and then coming on here to whinge my bollocks about it how its not as funny as it used to be, you cant do the same type of jokes anymore, how they should have canned it 5 series ago and that Methadone Mick is shite.

Eddie The Eagle

Caught up with this last night 

Not sure what MM role is these days 

Think its coming to an end at the right time

gashauskis9

****ing brutal again.  I don’t know why I force myself to watch it.  Heading the same way as Only An Excuse with the tired, dated patter/ideas.

Part of being a great comedy writer is knowing when to stop and move in to something fresh.  Monty Python, Peter Kay and Ricky Gervais come to mind.  Kill it when it’s at its peak because it won’t get better.

1 hour ago, Gashauskis9 said:

****ing brutal again.  I don’t know why I force myself to watch it.  Heading the same way as Only An Excuse with the tired, dated patter/ideas.

Part of being a great comedy writer is knowing when to stop and move in to something fresh.  Monty Python, Peter Kay and Ricky Gervais come to mind.  Kill it when it’s at its peak because it won’t get better.

Dont know if its just me but Victor looks about 10 years younger , even with that beard, 

24 minutes ago, Harry Potter said:

Dont know if its just me but Victor looks about 10 years younger , even with that beard, 

Think that was the idea - they just made him look like Greg Hemphill though and he then forgot he was still supposed to be playing an old character.

59 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

I hope the last words uttered in this last series are That's Plenty

ha ha.

tokyowalnut
11 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Think that was the idea - they just made him look like Greg Hemphill though and he then forgot he was still supposed to be playing an old character.

Isa looked about 10 years younger as well. Thought it was better this week, probably bias because I like cats!

Slightly better but not that great.

I'll watch it to the end but it's a pity how downhill it's gone.

Watched series 1 and 2 recently. Hilarious and completely different.

12 hours ago, tokyowalnut said:

Isa looked about 10 years younger as well. Thought it was better this week, probably bias because I like cats!

It's weird.

As the actors have got older, the characters have got younger !

the problem for me is the fallout between ford kiernan greg hemphill. it stopped them doing more series when it was at a high standard. Then brining it back a few years ago times have moved on, if they had not fell out they could have done another couple of series then ended it without losing the quality.

the lastest episode was better than the first (not hard - they could have ended the first episode better if they did the jack and victor crying more sympathetically) but was still poor. I am going to watch it to the end just to see how they end it.

Bunny Munro

As others have said, episode 2 was better than episode 1. I actually thought it was one of the event since the revival.

The line wolf scenes were garbage, and the cat story wasnt funny and went nowhere (I think it was just to get Joe a few scenes) but the main thread was decent with some good sight gags and and some decent lines.

Just watched it. Thought it crap and didn't laugh once. Three storyline just thrown together. Lone wolf was nonsense 

Are some of the actors related to each other? It's the only reason I can think of for some of the characters; like how Mrs Brown's Boys is just a big money spinner for the O'Carroll family.

3 hours ago, I P Knightley said:

Are some of the actors related to each other? It's the only reason I can think of for some of the characters; like how Mrs Brown's Boys is just a big money spinner for the O'Carroll family.

That show is utter shit and beyond cringeworthy. How anyone can find it even remotely funny is beyond me.

12 hours ago, peter_hmfc said:

That show is utter shit and beyond cringeworthy. How anyone can find it even remotely funny is beyond me.

I'm not saying it's any good but it's certainly not helped by being the O'Carroll family & in-laws, regardless of acting and comic ability. 

I was just wondering whether Methadone Mick got his role through similar family or friends connections.

Lone wolf was disappointing to be honest.

as was suggested previously, sounds way too posh and well spoken to be a modern Ned. 

Most daft bit was when his wee pal “nae way man wolfs got a job”

And the wee guy replies

my legs are sore and I’m tired 

ok see ya 

just made no sense at all

On 25/02/2019 at 16:53, Samuel Camazzola said:

:thumbs_up: Very true. The Office Christmas Specials produced some of the best TV ever. 

On the subject of excellent albeit cringey comedies, I have to say I think the new series of Alan Partridge is brilliant and as good as he's been for a while. 

I know this is a Still game thread but do we all agree that Mrs Browns Boys is the single biggest abomination in TV history?