"Revolting against austerity"

i8hibsh

Not sure if there has been a thread on this but has anyone seen the little campsite beside Espionage on the Cowgate?

Was a tad drunk on Sat night and told them that they were infact 'revolting' and an utter cringefest to society.  

"More libraries, less hotels"

An absolute eyesore for all those that contribute financially to this fine city.

• Replies 142

Not sure if there has been a thread on this but has anyone seen the little campsite beside Espionage on the Cowgate?

Was a tad drunk on Sat night and told them that they were infact 'revolting' and an utter cringefest to society.  

An absolute eyesore for all those that contribute financially to this fine city.

Hope you told them it was "fewer hotels".

Hope you told the it was "fewer hotels".

lol

I did make it clear that a) austerity is a bit of a myth and B) the best way to tackle it is to actually contribute financially and not sit on their no good work shy arses putting banners up.

I love how people see fit to demand what governments and councils do with taxpayers money when they contribute hee haw to the pot.

Hope you told them it was "fewer hotels".

A good reason for having more libraries then!

lol

I did make it clear that a) austerity is a bit of a myth and B) the best way to tackle it is to actually contribute financially and not sit on their no good work shy arses putting banners up.

I love how people see fit to demand what governments and councils do with taxpayers money when they contribute hee haw to the pot.

Do explain...

A good reason for having more libraries then!

Do explain...

If you pay tax then you can shout loudly about what you want done with public money.  If you do not contribute through choice then you have no right to do so.

Austerity is just a word to get socialists excited. This government is spending way beyond it's means every single day.  Public funding is cut of course but that is because demands are increasing.  It is like when people throw the term 'recession' out there - it is not really though is it? 

For about 30 years after the war there was a general 'we're all in this together' consensus. Even the Tories were paternalistic, one-nation. Then came Thatcher and it seemed to change to 'as long as three-quarters are doing ok [and they certainly are] they rest can be left behind'.

There are generations now of families who have never known work.

For about 30 years after the war there was a general 'we're all in this together' consensus. Even the Tories were paternalistic, one-nation. Then came Thatcher and it seemed to change to 'as long as three-quarters are doing ok [and they certainly are] they rest can be left behind'.

There are generations now of families who have never known work.

I think there is a bit of truth in that but I see it differently, summed up by these dossers on the Cowgate.  Some people are walking along the Cowgate going to bust their ass and contribute on a Monday morning and some people wish to sit on a public site at the Cowgate , contribute nothing and drink all day.

Ive worked all my life, with four kids, three of which are working, one at Uni.  One kid had to fight depression but thanks to his determination is working steadily.

I feel I've done my bit for society and I still work as a sports instructor and I'm not asking for any recognition.

I wish those scum would seek help or piss off over to Weeg.   If anyone wants to work, they can.

I am Katie Hopkins.

If you pay tax then you can shout loudly about what you want done with public money.  If you do not contribute through choice then you have no right to do so.

Austerity is just a word to get socialists excited. This government is spending way beyond it's means every single day.  Public funding is cut of course but that is because demands are increasing.  It is like when people throw the term 'recession' out there - it is not really though is it? 

So the only way you pay tax in this country is to work? Not heard of VAT or other duties no? Surely if they are sitting about drinking all day they are paying a fair chunk of their cash on vat and duties since duties on alcohol aint cheap.

So going by your logic, they are perfectly entitled to shout loudly about what public money is spent on, since they contribute.

Your argument is all over the place.

Are they drinking all day?

Arguably they are contributing by protesting.

So the only way you pay tax in this country is to work? Not heard of VAT or other duties no? Surely if they are sitting about drinking all day they are paying a fair chunk of their cash on vat and duties since duties on alcohol aint cheap.

So going by your logic, they are perfectly entitled to shout loudly about what public money is spent on, since they contribute.

Your argument is all over the place.

Tenuous at best.  Must try harder.

But they pay taxes. The crux of your argument is that they don't pay taxes. But they do. Nothing tenuous about it.

i8 having another mare.

I expect future responses to get progressively angrier, then even more absurd.

No it isn't.

Ok, I?ll say this plain and simply.  They do not earn money.  They do not work.  Whatever money they have in their sky rocket is very likely not theirs.  To suggest that by scrounging money and buying 10 Dorchester King Size and a bottle of White Lightning of scrounged money somehow makes them bona fide contributors to society is an absurdity.  What I?d expect from a communist though.

So, now you are calling them thieves? Common criminals. All because they protest?

One of my mates has a very well paid job, but goes to rallies and protests all the time. He was one of those up on Waterloo Place back in the day. Not full time, but weekends and nights.He was a regular face at Faslane too.

To my knowledge, he pays his taxes, isn't a criminal, and is a top guy. 

Smokes Marlboro though, not Dorchester.

To summarise, your sweeping generalisations are tiresome, ll-informed and boring.

How do you know they don't earn money, or have earned money and are now living off of it?

Ok, I?ll say this plain and simply. They do not earn money. They do not work. Whatever money they have in their sky rocket is very likely not theirs. To suggest that by scrounging money and buying 10 Dorchester King Size and a bottle of White Lightning of scrounged money somehow makes them bona fide contributors to society is an absurdity. What I?d expect from a communist though.

For a start, you don't know if they earn money or have a job.

Secondly, maybe they did work in, say, the construction industry which was hit by austerity cuts causing them to either lose their job or work significantly less hours due to lost contracts.

Fact is, you have no idea. You're just chucking a wild, sweeping guess because some people inconvenienced you in the street.

i8 & deeside should set-up their own pressure-group for ill-informed, complacent, "condemn-more-and-understand-less", inactivists: "Revolting. For Austerity".

For the avoidance of doubt, I pass these dossers four times a day and have argued/talked with them ? they do not work.

Thanks

People who think buying a Double Decker and a pack of fags pays to build local libraries

So where does the tax go on any product bought then?

Does the Exchequer just say - woah, leave all that VAT stuff to one side, it's not proper tax, that'll do for the Xmas Party?

For the avoidance of doubt, I pass these dossers four times a day and have argued/talked with them ? they do not work.

Thanks

Sounds like they are working you though!

Thanks

Don't worry i8, no one here is in any doubt about you.

The Cowgate thing is protesting another cheap hotel being built in the historic city centre instead of the shared library and arts space which was also in the running for the same site.

Sounds like they are working you though!

Too bleedin right.  They oppose the building of a hotel that will create jobs and generate local (and national) revenue and want a library built that probably no-one will ever even enter. Seriously, do kids even use libraries now? The internet killed libraries about a decade and a half ago.  But we all know that is not the reason they are pitched up on the Cowgate being a public nuisance.  These type of people just need something to write on a bed sheet, whatever is topical at the time. A bit like the Green Brigade with  their ridiculous ramblings.

So very left wing.  Wanting a library that will not generate any money and be completely empty as opposed to a hotel that will do, well?the exact opposite.  These people are sub human filth (quite literally).  Yes they have a right to live as they choose but not at my expense (and all ours obviously) and not when they are being a public nuisance, which they undoubtedly are.

Another "Thinking on a empty head" thread from our resident genius!

Or people sticking up for them when they have not even seen the 'protest' site?

It says a lot when people sick up for the lazy.  These protestors want the world to know how strongly they feel about kids education and the local GP clinic on their (no doubt) social media pages but are not prepared to get off their no good lazy (no doubt) smelly arses and actually do anything to actually provide better education and health services. 

Taxes build schools ? not hashtags!

Head down to moredun library and tell me how much nobody ever sets foot it in it.

9/10 it will be hooching with kids after school. 

'BUT WHURS THE PROFITS????????' 

'AH WURK SO NAE ***** SHOULD GIT PUBLIC SERVICES FAE MA TAXES'

'EDINBURGH NEEDS HOTELS MAIR THAN PUBLIC SERVICES'

Head down to moredun library and tell me how much nobody ever sets foot it in it.

9/10 it will be hooching with kids after school. 

'BUT WHURS THE PROFITS????????' 

'AH WURK SO NAE ***** SHOULD GIT PUBLIC SERVICES FAE MA TAXES'

'EDINBURGH NEEDS HOTELS MAIR THAN PUBLIC SERVICES'

Serious question. Do you genuinely believe there is a desperate need for another library in Edinburgh?

Desperate? No.

Desperate need for another hotel in Edinburgh? 10000000% no.

When given the choice, between something that will only benefit tourists(with a small handful of locals getting a minimum wage job out of the deal) or something that will benefit locals.....easy choice.

Hopefully one day the tourist tax can finally be put in place and locals will see some extra benefits from the multitude of hotels.

Desperate? No.

When given the choice, between something that will only benefit tourists(with a small handful of locals getting a minimum wage job out of the deal) or something that will benefit locals.....easy choice.

Hopefully one day the tourist tax can finally be put in place and locals will see some extra benefits from the multitude of hotels.

Tourism and finance are what the Edinburgh economy relies on most.  The more tourists obviously means more money in our economy (Edinburgh). The demand for tourist accommodation far exceeds the demand for libraries like it or not.  A few years ago they built a huge state of the art library at Drumbrae and it is dead.  The one at Fountain park (Dalry) is dead. During the festival period in Edinburgh tourists are resorting to spend a night in people?s homes via that ghastly air b?n?b.  There is simply not enough rooms to meet demand. 15,000 Welsh come up every 2 years and struggle to find rooms.  The internet effectively killed the library as we know it.  The world is changing and the best thing to do is move with the times.  If some people had our way we would still be on our knees mining for coal and dying at 45.

Desperate? No.

Tourist tax? Think about all the Twix's they buy - they contribute!

p.s I know about this tax and I am just joking.

Tourism and finance are what the Edinburgh economy relies on most.  The more tourists obviously means more money in our economy (Edinburgh). The demand for tourist accommodation far exceeds the demand for libraries like it or not.  A few years ago they built a huge state of the art library at Drumbrae and it is dead.  The one at Fountain park (Dalry) is dead. During the festival period in Edinburgh tourists are resorting to spend a night in people?s homes via that ghastly air b?n?b.  There is simply not enough rooms to meet demand. 15,000 Welsh come up every 2 years and struggle to find rooms.  The internet effectively killed the library as we know it.  The world is changing and the best thing to do is move with the times.  If some people had our way we would still be on our knees mining for coal and dying at 45.

If you ever went into Fountainbridge library - it's off Dundee Street not Dalry, by the way, just in case you're keen to seek it out -  you would know it wasn't "dead". In fact, it's well used and has a pretty good selection of books.

Just out of interest, when was the last time you were in an Edinburgh library?

If you ever went into Fountainbridge library - it's off Dundee Street not Dalry, by the way, just in case you're keen to seek it out -  you would know it wasn't "dead". In fact, it's well used and has a pretty good selection of books.

Indeed. Every time I'm in it, it's as busy as any other library. It's not a disco with books so it's not going to be full of punters from opening to closing. It wouldn't have had all that money done to tart up it's exterior either if it was sitting empty 90% of the time. It's a smashing building.

Except up the side where the jakebags hang around, although they all seem to have started to gravitate towards the phone box further along the road now.

If you ever went into Fountainbridge library - it's off Dundee Street not Dalry, by the way, just in case you're keen to seek it out - you would know it wasn't "dead". In fact, it's well used and has a pretty good selection of books.

For the avoidance of doubt I live beside it and walk past it daily. I said Dalry for the benefit of those less familiar with it than myself.

FFS, Austerity is a myth, only a right wing smug Tory would come out with such pesh.

Lets have some Austerity measures aimed at  those companies who have engaged in tax avoidance, nothing like using a  tax loop hole to pish all over the tax payer.

Was it not the Tories who consistently used this fecking phrase to justify  attacks on  the less well off? 

Go tell those in low paid work and who pay taxes that Austerity is a myth or those that have visited food banks will still in work or even  those with physical disabilities that have had various attacks on their benefits.  

This thread must have been started by that jolly good old chap Ian Duncan Smith, top bloke and had the caring and compassion of an ISIS fighter.

One thing  that is no myth and that is the billions of pounds lost through tax avoidance by multinationals and corporations like fecking Amazon.

Picking on the less well off  or those protesting on their behalf, (how little or small), taking the piss out of those less fortunate  ,mocking those in poverty who have been viciously effected  by the draconian measures  of this government.

Right manly attributes right enough.

My son will never be taught that this is acceptable or is in any way the actions of what we call a man.

Myth , aye the only myth here is the denial and smugness shown.

I'm finding this thread quite funny. Anyway I'm slightly confused. A few random questions.

Is this a protest against austerity or planning approvals?

Does the council have fund to built a new library?

Are people protesting about a fictional library v's a real life planning submission?

Is this land the council have sold?

Indeed. Every time I'm in it, it's as busy as any other library. It's not a disco with books so it's not going to be full of punters from opening to closing. It wouldn't have had all that money done to tart up it's exterior either if it was sitting empty 90% of the time. It's a smashing building.

Except up the side where the jakebags hang around, although they all seem to have started to gravitate towards the phone box further along the road now.

It also has kids clubs in it regularly which, I would imagine, are of a pretty big benefit to the local community.

I'm finding this thread quite funny. Anyway I'm slightly confused. A few random questions.

Are people protesting about a fictional library v's a real life planning submission?

I'd be surprised if even the 'protestors' could answer even one of your questions.

For the avoidance of doubt I live beside it and walk past it daily. I said Dalry for the benefit of those less familiar with it than myself.

I've no doubts about you at all i8. Have you ever been in it though? You've mentioned before you're a big lad, but you'd have to be around 8-10' tall and walking up or down Murdoch Terrace to actually see into it, so that leads me to believe you're just making-up  :o the bit about it being "dead"...    :rolleyes:  That can't be right, can it?    :(

I've no doubts about you at all i8. Have you ever been in it though? You've mentioned before you're a big lad, but you'd have to be around 8-10' tall and walking up or down Murdoch Terrace to actually see into it, so that leads me to believe you're just making-up :o the bit about it being "dead"... :rolleyes: That can't be right, can it? :(

Yup a good few times. Not in a while though. Also been in the CAB there.

I thought this 'protest' was about a preference for building a hotel over extending the main library on George IV Bridge coupled with the continual risk, that the World Heritage status of the Old Town will be removed?

As I understand it, it is the back of the central library that is the area being discussed. So the council own the land, and it's not about building a new library but protecting the existing one.

Although I could be wrong.

Edit: just read Chesters post so I may be off the mark.

As an aside, I used to work in central library, a terrific resource for the community and the country. It's a real shame how underfunded the library service is.

Odd thing to shout really "more libraries, less hotels" especially as library attendance is on the wane and hotel usage on the increase(therefore increasing the tourist spend in Edinburgh and tax generation for the exchequer).

Edit. Just read the stuff about the Central Library. Still perhaps they could have been specific and maybe even made their protest on George IV Bridge.