'Our' oil

i8hibsh

Completely wrong.

The Sheltand Isles became part of Scotland over 200 years before the Union.

Okie doke. I was wrong about that, silly old me. Maybe you could try answering the rest of the post now.

• Replies 218
If you got six numbers on the lottery would you not want it as it is a speculative amount?

Took you a while Togster

It's speculative as it is unclear whether it will be in demand for 5 years or 50 years

Prices fluctuate - it may be wothless soon enough

Speculative as we don't really know how things will go if (god forbid) we become independent)

Put you blue face paints down and smell the coffee bretheren

If you got six numbers on the lottery would you not want it as it is a speculative amount?

what would happen if a million people got 6 numbers at once?

Who agreed?

The people of Scotland didn't - Riots broke out all over the country.

It's true that Scotland was broke at the time. Nations are quite often broke. The UK is broke just now, ridiculously broke in fact. It doesn't mean that the people are.

The world economy is ****ed pal not just UK

Scotland's revenue is ?27 billion and it's public spending is ?40 billion. Not a bad dish out by the mighty Westminster oppressors eh!

hmfc_steve
Scotland's revenue is ?27 billion and it's public spending is ?40 billion. Not a bad dish out by the mighty Westminster oppressors eh!

The calculations for 2004-05 suggest that revenues for Scotland were ?36.4 billion (excluding North Sea revenues). This is equivalent to 8.1 per cent of total UK non-oil revenues, and is roughly equivalent to the Scottish GVA share in 2004.

http://www.scotland.gov.uk/Publications/2006/12/11084016/6

SOARING oil prices would give an independent Scotland a ?4.4 billion budget surplus, making it one of Europe's richest countries, according to a new study

http://business.timesonline.co.uk/tol/business/industry_sectors/natural_resources/article3954031.ece

This report shows that the government knew in the early 1970s just how bigScotland?s oil wealth could be. This went right to the top, right into the heart ofgovernment at the Cabinet Office, it is clear that Ministers have known since 1974 that Scotland would be better off Independent, our economy carrying ?a chronic surplus to a quite embarrassing degree?. This contrasts with the ?3 day week' of the 1970s and the industrial decimation of the 1980s. This paper was classified ?secret? and buried, but 30 years later it still illustrates how much Scotland would have prospered with independence and oil, and we still have time to salvage some of that wealth....

http://64.233.183.104/search?q=cache:CBzCi34PMrYJ:www.clydebanksnp.org/pdf/outline.pdf+scotlands+wealth,+revenue&hl=en&ct=clnk&cd=12&client=safari

The calculations for 2004-05 suggest that revenues for Scotland were ?36.4 billion (excluding North Sea revenues). This is equivalent to 8.1 per cent of total UK non-oil revenues, and is roughly equivalent to the Scottish GVA share in 2004.

http://www.scotland.gov.uk/Publications/2006/12/11084016/6

SOARING oil prices would give an independent Scotland a ?4.4 billion budget surplus, making it one of Europe's richest countries, according to a new study

http://business.timesonline.co.uk/tol/business/industry_sectors/natural_resources/article3954031.ece

This report shows that the government knew in the early 1970s just how bigScotland?s oil wealth could be. This went right to the top, right into the heart ofgovernment at the Cabinet Office, it is clear that Ministers have known since 1974 that Scotland would be better off Independent, our economy carrying ?a chronic surplus to a quite embarrassing degree?. This contrasts with the ?3 day week' of the 1970s and the industrial decimation of the 1980s. This paper was classified ?secret? and buried, but 30 years later it still illustrates how much Scotland would have prospered with independence and oil, and we still have time to salvage some of that wealth....

http://64.233.183.104/search?q=cache:CBzCi34PMrYJ:www.clydebanksnp.org/pdf/outline.pdf+scotlands+wealth,+revenue&hl=en&ct=clnk&cd=12&client=safari

Noone could argue how rich it would make Scotland at present. That is not my argument.

We as Scots are being very selective. We forget all we have had and currently get out of the Union and only mention "yeah but the oil blah blah"

The fact is that the Union has served us all (each and everyone of us and individual countries) extremely well in it's 300 + years. We have given and we have taken. We benefited 100% at the start and not so much at present. through the 300 + years it's had it's ups and downs, it's crisises and it's comforts.

The Welsh, N.Irish and English do not live in Ivory towers and we don't live in ghettos. Believe it or not we are all benefiting at an even keel.

The Nat's like to brainwash the people into believing we are still living in mideival times ,where the English are pillaging from us and raping our wives, but that is just their romantic typical propoganda nonsense.

Fact is Salmond has a boyhood dream of painting his face blue, putting on a kilt and sending his fat ass out into battle against HIS enemies - the English.

His only concerns are getting the border, not filling the streets with police, getting extra beds in hospital or squeezing more low lives into prisons.

He is a one dimensional crusader with no substance.

We are not ruled by the English and have not been for hundreds of years. We have ALWAYS been fairly represented in Westminster and infact more than fairly represented in cabinet.

Just as we all argue, the 2 most important men in Britains politial existance (chanc of excheq and PM) are Scottish.

We are not slaves to them, we don't work for them, we work with them just like we did in the 2 'great' wars. Days have past since we 'fought against them and sent them homeward tae think again'

We bleed with them.

We are at the top table in the UN,EU and even have a say as part of the G8.

Not bad for a wee country.

Things are turbulent just now - no doubt, but it aint all rosey down in the land of the English rose

We are all in this together.

Defence wise we are extremely comfortable and pretty solid and we have allies and diplomatic relations with powers we could not even dream of on our own.

We are part - a big part, of a global superpower. We have respect all over the world.

some argue "yes but we are not an official country on the map"!!

Yes this is true but either is England,Wales and N.Ireland.

We are lucky enough to live in a peaceful, affluent, thriving, melting pot of a country. Life is sweet.

All the freedom nonsense shouted by our forefathers was extremely justified. We were infact prisoners in our own land. Well guys we are all very very free - some people too free I may add. Anyone who does not feel free has issues.

Yes, I have zero doubt we would prospour on our own, but why be a small fish in a big bowl eh! I don't know about you but I kinda like being the big fish.

We all sleep easy at night

Yes things are not great all the time,but ANYONE who feels the grass would be much much greener is dillusional.

IMO the only people who want independence are the people who have a 500 year chip on their shoulder.

I strongly agree with democracy so i hope we all do get a referendum. We are all entitled to our say. If worst case scenario(to me) we go independent i will trot along living my life and embrace it, but let's have our say now while it's fair not after the SNP brainwash people and lower the voting age so the young and impressionable can swallow his nonsense

Peace out

How come its the same people who tell others not to live in the past singing songs such as Hullo Hullo yet love to harp on about hating England for things that happened hundreds of years ago?

It's because they have incredibly selective memories. :sad:

Bang on.When it goes there way - they want to bail out

What gets me is our single most important ally whether as an independent nation or as part of the Union is England and all the Nats are doing is alienating us from them and they are quite righlty starting to seriously get ruffled by us. I wouldn't be surprised if they all hated us.

Here is something for the Nats - food for thought if you wish

The Scots hate the English far far more than they hate us

Trust me when it comes to sport etc I support any team that plays england at ANYTHING (except the Welsh and Irish) but i am proud to call the english my friend

ps SUSS I want your avator. It would take something to replace a gorgeous blonde but that my friend is that something special

Bang on.When it goes there way - they want to bail out

Bear in mind it's hard for them to stay in touch with us mere mortals when they're sitting on their moral high horse.

Drew Busby !

Very immature points. Your pathetic attempts at implied anti-English racism (with a dash of defence of sectarianism thrown in) don't wash mate. You'd like all that to to be the case, to suit your own agenda, I understand that.

Wheres "the hate" on this thread ?

Who on here has said they "hate" England ?

Wheres "the hate" in day to day life in Scotland ?

Show me "the hate".

Very immature points. Your pathetic attempts at implied anti-English racism (with a dash of defence of sectarianism thrown in) don't wash mate. You'd like all that to to be the case, to suit your own agenda, I understand that.

Wheres "the hate" on this thread ?

Who on here has said they "hate" England ?

Wheres "the hate" in day to day life in Scotland ?

Show me "the hate".

In fairness the slightest mention of anti-Celtic on this board and the JKB special constables get their tarred brush out and start thinking you are a BNP supporting Rangers fan

Think it has to be the same then with all the SNP brainwashing. I genuinely think there is an undertone of hatred toward the English in an SNP vote

that is just my opinion

It's not just yours.

The oil is not ours to claim. The respective oil fields are owned by the various oil companies. The UK Government issues licences and is able to raise revenue via tax and royalties because the fields are in UK waters.

The UK taxpayer made a significant investment in the North Sea, I doubt if an independent Scotland would be able to simply push a button and have the revenue come to Holyrood.

The oil is not ours to claim. The respective oil fields are owned by the various oil companies. The UK Government issues licences and is able to raise revenue via tax and royalties because the fields are in UK waters.

The UK taxpayer made a significant investment in the North Sea, I doubt if an independent Scotland would be able to simply push a button and have the revenue come to Holyrood.

Yes but if you paint your face blue, wear a kilt and shout freedom you will see that we own it all

Noone could argue how rich it would make Scotland at present. That is not my argument.

The fact is that the Union has served us all (each and everyone of us and individual countries) extremely well in it's 300 + years. We have given and we have taken. We benefited 100% at the start and not so much at present.

So you admit the Union is of little or no use to the people of Scotland at this moment in time?

Drew Busby !
In fairness the slightest mention of anti-Celtic on this board and the JKB special constables get their tarred brush out and start thinking you are a BNP supporting Rangers fan

Think it has to be the same then with all the SNP brainwashing. I genuinely think there is an undertone of hatred toward the English in an SNP vote

that is just my opinion

Just your opinion as you say. So no evidence of this "hatred" is required.

Interesting though how hullo-hullo and "anti-celtic" has reared its head in the last few posts. But of course these are the specialist subjects of several on this thread. Feck-all to do with the topic but no suprise they appeared during the course of it.

So you admit the Union is of little or no use to the people of Scotland at this moment in time?

"Not so much" means a little less than the 100% it originally was. But not "little or no".

You'll have to get Alex to give you some coaching on logical thought and debating skills before you take your longed for seat in the chamber. :rolleyes:

I certainly never said that. My point was my impressionable little friend is that in 300 years it is not going to be all rosey. We have taken we have given. In times of crisis right now it appears we are maybe putting in more than we maybe benefiting from (although our public spendind exceeds our revenue) but a partnership does not work like that.

Respect for a partnership does not mean you bail out when things suit you.

we dont owe England ,Wales and N.Ireland anything and they certianly dont owe us anything.

When the oil dries up or at least demand does for it - we will quick enough go cap in hand to the Union that i assure you

Just your opinion as you say. So no evidence of this "hatred" is required.

Interesting though how hullo-hullo and "anti-celtic" has reared its head in the last few posts. But of course these are the specialist subjects of several on this thread. Feck-all to do with the topic but no suprise they appeared during the course of it.

Yes but english hatred wasn't mentioned till you came along either ;)

"Not so much" means a little less than the 100% it originally was. But not "little or no".

You'll have to get Alex to give you some coaching on logical thought and debating skills before you take your longed for seat in the chamber. :rolleyes:

He certainly wouldnt get logical thought training from Salmond.

the only thing the chubby wee crusader could train people in is training his 'troops' into believing in an 8 oscar winning movie of 1995

We as Scots are being very selective. We forget all we have had and currently get out of the Union and only mention "yeah but the oil blah blah"

The fact is that the Union has served us all (each and everyone of us and individual countries) extremely well in it's 300 + years. We have given and we have taken. We benefited 100% at the start and not so much at present. through the 300 + years it's had it's ups and downs, it's crisises and it's comforts.

The Welsh, N.Irish and English do not live in Ivory towers and we don't live in ghettos. Believe it or not we are all benefiting at an even keel.

The Nat's like to brainwash the people into believing we are still living in mideival times ,where the English are pillaging from us and raping our wives, but that is just their romantic typical propoganda nonsense.

Utter nonsense. You can pedal the anti-English ****e as much as you want. Nobody believes it any more, considering 15% of our MSPs are English and hunners of are members.

Fact is Salmond has a boyhood dream of painting his face blue, putting on a kilt and sending his fat ass out into battle against HIS enemies - the English.

Ever seen a picture of Salmond in kilt?

Yawwwwn.

His only concerns are getting the border, not filling the streets with police, getting extra beds in hospital or squeezing more low lives into prisons.

Since when is having more hospital beds and taking criminals off the street bad?

Please explain what "getting the border" means.

Example?

We are not ruled by the English and have not been for hundreds of years. We have ALWAYS been fairly represented in Westminster and infact more than fairly represented in cabinet.

Nobody saying we're being under represented. We're saying that the Union is not a Union of equals.

Just as we all argue, the 2 most important men in Britains politial existance (chanc of excheq and PM) are Scottish.

So...

Doesn't mean they are standing up for Scotland?

We are not slaves to them, we don't work for them, we work with them just like we did in the 2 'great' wars. Days have past since we 'fought against them and sent them homeward tae think again'

We bleed with them.

That's just waffle.

The UK has a seat at the top table. Give me one instance of a decision being made in to suit Scottish interests.

Go check out Norway, they're a "wee country". Best standard of living in the world.

Things are turbulent just now - no doubt, but it aint all rosey down in the land of the English rose

So we should have a one world government? That's what your logic says.

Defence wise we are extremely comfortable and pretty solid and we have allies and diplomatic relations with powers we could not even dream of on our own.

We also have enemies that we could not have on our own. We wouldn't need the defense the UK currently has own our own. We wouldn't need to waste billions on it.

We are part - a big part, of a global superpower. We have respect all over the world.

Respect? By who?

And it they should be sovereign nations also.

We are lucky enough to live in a peaceful, affluent, thriving, melting pot of a country. Life is sweet.

Tell that to the millions in poverty.

All the freedom nonsense shouted by our forefathers was extremely justified. We were infact prisoners in our own land. Well guys we are all very very free - some people too free I may add. Anyone who does not feel free has issues.

Yes, I have zero doubt we would prospour on our own, but why be a small fish in a big bowl eh! I don't know about you but I kinda like being the big fish.

We're not even a fish at the moment. We don't have any benefits of being "A big fish".

Again, ask the millions in poverty.

Yes things are not great all the time,but ANYONE who feels the grass would be much much greener is dillusional.

You've just said you "Have no doubts that Scotland would prosper on our own" and the union "gives us very little at the moment".

IMO the only people who want independence are the people who have a 500 year chip on their shoulder.

About?

I strongly agree with democracy so i hope we all do get a referendum. We are all entitled to our say. If worst case scenario(to me) we go independent i will trot along living my life and embrace it, but let's have our say now while it's fair not after the SNP brainwash people and lower the voting age so the young and impressionable can swallow his nonsense

You are for democracy...but don't want to give those who pay taxes the vote? Very democratic:confused:

Please give me one example of brainwashing used by the Scottish National Party.

Peace out

Christ, give Therapist the unionist baton. He's a bit of challenge debating against, the above is just ill-informed drivel.

hmfc_steve

We bleed with them.

Peace out

Unfounded statements which could just as easily be countered by :-

TEN GOOD REASONS WHY SCOTLAND DOES NOT NEED ENGLAND, THEY NEED US MORE!

Question 1:

Everyone tells us that Scotland is too poor to stand on its own feet and we will always require an English subsidy.

Fact Scotland has 8.6% of the UK population yet raises 10.41% of all UK tax revenues. (Source Treasury red Book 2002) Go figure it out for yourself. Exactly who is subsidising who?

Question 2.

Scotland could not survive without the Barnet formula handout from England.

The Barnett Formula is nothing more than a device which gives Scotland some of its own pocket money out of Scotland's pay packet which is taken by England. In 2002, Scotland contributed ?42.7Billions to the UK Exchequer and received ?18.1 Billions doled back in return via Barnet. It would be a much better idea to keep the ?42.7 Billions as an Independent Country.

Question 3.

North sea oil is running out fast and soon there will be nothing left......

According to Professor Alex Kemp, of Petroleum Economics at the University of Aberdeen. North Sea Oil and Gas production will still be present in 2050. There is as much known oil left yet to be extracted than has already been exploited

Question 4.

Britain is becoming a net importer of oil and natural gas.

False. Scotland is a net exporter of Oil and Gas. Fact: An independent Scotland with 17.5% of Europes Oil reserves will be a net exporter of oil and gas for at least 25 years more years. Properly invested the proceeds will make Scotland the second richest nation on earth for its size. There will be huge social and economic benefits for all Scotland's Citizens and public services.

Question 5.

Scotland is too poor and small to afford to defend itself.

Why not? Switzerland uses just 1% of its GDP to provide a modern efficient Army and Air force. Norway spends 1.9% and can defend itself adequately. The UK spends 2.32% of GDP on its armed forces (Including Trident) Scotland can afford 1.6% of its GDP and still have modern professional armed forces half the size of the present UK.

Question 6.

We have a huge balance of payments problem, Scotland cannot possibly hope to pay her way.

False. The UK as a whole has Balance of Payments deficit of ?44 Billions per annum. Scotland however actually contributes a Surplus of ?3.4 Billions in 2005.

Question 7.

Scotland could not compete against the mighty economic muscle of England.

Untrue. Denmark has an economic superpower to her south (Germany) and she does very well indeed. Switzerland is surrounded by three great economic superpowers, France, Italy, and Germany, yet she is the most prosperous nation in Europe. Singapore is a tiny island of 4 million people right next door to Indonesia with a population if 201 Millions yet is the powerhouse driving the SE Asian economy. Scotland has more than enough expertise to compete and prosper.

Question 8.

Scotland is too far away from the centre of Europe to prosper.

Iceland with a population of only 400,000, is situated far to the north by the arctic circle yet has the third highest standard of living in Europe.

Question 9.

The City of London is too powerful a financial centre for Scotland to compete against.

Scotland is the third largest of Europe?s top ten financial centres, supporting employment for in the region of 200,000 people. Financial Services accounts for 8% of Scotland?s GDP and generates more than ?20 billion annually for the economy. Scotland is reckoned to be the 12th leading global financial centre.

Question 10.

Scotland does not have the financial expertise to run its own affairs.

Who says so. Its strange that the late British Empire relied on a preponderence of Scots to run their affairs. Scots bankers, economists and Accountants (reckoned to be the best in their fields) are to be found at all levels of the UK Government. Therefore the expertise is there.

http://www.bebo.com/BlogView.jsp?MemberId=4588962453&BlogId=4977249901

Drew Busby !
Yes but english hatred wasn't mentioned till you came along either ;)

Eh ... that was by S.U.S.S ... one of your unionist cronies ... the one with the hitler moustache painted onto Salmond.

If you boys are the best advocates of the union on JKB then believe me , its totally and utterly fecked.

Christ, give Therapist the unionist baton. He's a bit of challenge debating against, the above is just ill-informed drivel.

You can't even read!!!

I said he spends his time pressing for a boarding instead of putting police on the streets etc !!!!

I see the old "when the oil dry's up" argument has raised it's illogical head yet again.

What people seem to be forgetting is that we are rich in not only in oil, but also renewable energy. This is not going to run out.

Scotland has the potential to become the energy power house of Europe. Some just want to hold us back.

Eh ... that was by S.U.S.S ... one of your unionist cronies ... the one with the hitler moustache painted onto Salmond.

If you boys are the best advocates of the union on JKB then believe me , its totally and utterly fecked.

I just am not blinkered and can see what the Union really does

You can't even read!!!

I said he spends his time pressing for a boarding instead of putting police on the streets etc !!!!

The above doesn't make sense.

This is what you said

His only concerns are getting the border, not filling the streets with police, getting extra beds in hospital or squeezing more low lives into prisons

You didn't say "he spends his time pressing for a boarding".

What are you own about btw?

I just am not blinkered and can see what the Union really does

Are you going to enlighten the rest of us or just continue to verbally drivel all over this thread?

I see the old "when the oil dry's up" argument has raised it's illogical head yet again.

What people seem to be forgetting is that we are rich in not only in oil, but also renewable energy. This is not going to run out.

Scotland has the potential to become the energy power house of Europe. Some just want to hold us back.

Toggie FFS dude!!!

I have never once said Scotland would become a third world country if we go it alone.

I know what we are and can imagine what we can do. It's a gamble that I am in no doubt we would pull off - at least in the interim.

My 9 million page thesis that you so delicately red penned with drivelous annotations clearly states how i feel

I am so sick of the insecure Nats using examples of countries who 'do it alone' in every sentence.

Tell me where are Norway on the political heavyweight scale? In a world where we are all under threat from terrorism, i like to have an alrm in my house, padlock and CCTV.

Norway live in a mansion but their doors are wide wide open with no security entrence.

Do you get me?

We are already part of the top 8 most powerful and richest countries in the world. We are part of a country and old empire that has given the world almost everything (slight exaggeration)

I know about the Scottish enlightenment- no doubt what we done but you can work, live,fight,develop and invent alone or you can bring in the help of a far bigger and superior body and make some formidable force

The above doesn't make sense.

This is what you said

You didn't say "he spends his time pressing for a boarding".

What are you own about btw?

He spends his time getting the border - translated just for you, his top priority is getting a border inbetween Scotland and England NOT NOT NOT getting extra beds in hospitals or more police on the streets etc etc

do you wish for me to put it in pretty little illustrations for you to understand better?

To the Nationalists - They want Scotland to be the batchelor and just go inbetween jobs to whatever pays the most at the time

I want Scotland to have a solid relationship, companionship and job security. afetr all isn't it better to grow old with someone than being alone?

Toggie FFS dude!!!

I have never once said Scotland would become a third world country if we go it alone.

I know what we are and can imagine what we can do. It's a gamble that I am in no doubt we would pull off - at least in the interim.

My 9 million page thesis that you so delicately red penned with drivelous annotations clearly states how i feel

I am so sick of the insecure Nats using examples of countries who 'do it alone' in every sentence.

Tell me where are Norway on the political heavyweight scale? In a world where we are all under threat from terrorism, i like to have an alrm in my house, padlock and CCTV.

Norway live in a mansion but their doors are wide wide open with no security entrence.

Do you get me?

We are already part of the top 8 most powerful and richest countries in the world. We are part of a country and old empire that has given the world almost everything (slight exaggeration)

I know about the Scottish enlightenment- no doubt what we done but you can work, live,fight,develop and invent alone or you can bring in the help of a far bigger and superior body and make some formidable force

I've already asked you this; How does the UK being a political heavyweight positively affect Scotland?

We were part of the Roman Empire (briefly), should we give all power to Rome? What is the benefit of being part of a former Empire?

You've already said that you "feel safe" and sleep easy at night. Now you're going on about the constant threat of terrorism. You can't have it both ways.

You they went on to make a claim that the people of Norway our living in mansions and have open doors...yet that would be terrible.

hmfc_steve
Toggie FFS dude!!!

Do you get me?

The point of just about any argument is to make reference to other examples.... so it seems quite fair to contrast not just Norway, but other equally sized nations to Scotland.

Where is the need for Scotland to be a 'heavyweight' ?

The Scottish Enlightenment is a perfect example of the quality that can be exported from our country..... jeez, James Clerk Maxwell, probably one of the most important scientists since Isaac Newton is practically unheard of... yet his work was the basis for just about all the technology we enjoy today.

Of course being independent sounds scary, but it is our right as a free and democratic nation to make that choice.... not when another nation decides for us

Drew Busby !
Toggie FFS dude!!!

Do you get me?

Norway. Hmmmmm excellent comparison country. Just a ferry ride away.

Norway did not engage in an illegal war.

Oslo airport was not attacked by fanatics.

There is no Norwegian "John Smeaton".

We Scots are a terrorist target because of our association with a power block that acted unillaterally in invading Iraq.

Yeah .. it REALLY SUCKS to be Norway !

"Norway still the world's best place to live"

http://www.aftenposten.no/english/local/article828724.ece

For the fourth year in a row, the United Nations has ranked Norway as having the highest standard of living in the world. Sweden, Australia and Canada are next in line, while the United States is further down the scale.

Norway, also known for its scenic beauty, is once again being hailed as the world's best country in which to live.

The annual ranking is based largely on average levels of education and income, combined with expected length of lifetime.

The report measured standards of living in 177 countries around the world. Other Nordic countries also ranked high, with Iceland in 7th place, Finland 13th and Denmark 17th.

Norway's gross national product per person amounted to USD 36,600, beaten only by Luxembourg. Its men and women are expected to live to an age of 78.9 years and Norway is one of 19 countries in the world with no measurable rates of illiteracy."

The point of just about any argument is to make reference to other examples.... so it seems quite fair to contrast not just Norway, but other equally sized nations to Scotland.

Where is the need for Scotland to be a 'heavyweight' ?

The Scottish Enlightenment is a perfect example of the quality that can be exported from our country..... jeez, James Clerk Maxwell, probably one of the most important scientists since Isaac Newton is practically unheard of... yet his work was the basis for just about all the technology we enjoy today.

Of course being independent sounds scary, but it is our right as a free and democratic nation to make that choice.... not when another nation decides for us

As I said I welcome the referrendum just like Westminster as I am part of a huge democratic country.

The enlightenment is something to be proud of but most countries could compile defence of their enlightenment to the world.

A lot of the things we 'brag' about are exaggerations like inventing the TV. We never invented it. We invented the fibre Optic Cable.

Alledgedly (and I can't emphasise this enough) Alexander Graham Bell stole the idea for the telephone when he was working in a paten shop although as a proud Scot myself I tend to go along with the idea that he invented it.

Seemingly we never even invented golf, the chinese dispute that this was created by them many many centuries prior to us doing it.

I am proud of our history however and love thinking about the unarguable fact that we have given the world a good little something

He spends his time getting the border - translated just for you, his top priority is getting a border inbetween Scotland and England NOT NOT NOT getting extra beds in hospitals or more police on the streets etc etc

do you wish for me to put it in pretty little illustrations for you to understand better?

"He spends his time getting the border" does not make sense. As a sentence, it is not understandable.

Now lets visit you bizarre claim.

Thanks to the SNP A&E in Ayr and Monkland have been kept open! WE have kept health care local! whereas the unionists want to take it away from those in the most remote areas of the country and centralise it!

We have put 1000 extra police officers on the street! Compare that to the Lib/Lab unionist coalition who took police off the street!

We are putting Scotland first. We are giving the people of Scotland want they want. Contrary to unionist belief, the people of Scotland are not stupid. They can see that the Government is standing up for them. Giving them, what they want and making Scotland a healthier, greener, smarter, safer place to live and work!

Norway. Hmmmmm excellent comparison country. Just a ferry ride away.

Norway did not engage in an illegal war.

Oslo airport was not attacked by fanatics.

We Scots are a terrorist target because of our association with a power block that acted unillaterally in invading Iraq.

Yeah .. it REALLY SUCKS to be Norway !

"Norway still the world's best place to live"

http://www.aftenposten.no/english/local/article828724.ece

For the fourth year in a row, the United Nations has ranked Norway as having the highest standard of living in the world. Sweden, Australia and Canada are next in line, while the United States is further down the scale.

Norway, also known for its scenic beauty, is once again being hailed as the world's best country in which to live.

The annual ranking is based largely on average levels of education and income, combined with expected length of lifetime.

The report measured standards of living in 177 countries around the world. Other Nordic countries also ranked high, with Iceland in 7th place, Finland 13th and Denmark 17th.

Norway's gross national product per person amounted to USD 36,600, beaten only by Luxembourg. Its men and women are expected to live to an age of 78.9 years and Norway is one of 19 countries in the world with no measurable rates of illiteracy."

FACT we are not Norway and will never be a Norway. We have strong Norwegian influence in our country but that is it

and

I can assure you this is probably something they are most proud of

As I said I welcome the referrendum just like Westminster as I am part of a huge democratic country.

The enlightenment is something to be proud of but most countries could compile defence of their enlightenment to the world.

A lot of the things we 'brag' about are exaggerations like inventing the TV. We never invented it. We invented the fibre Optic Cable.

Alledgedly (and I can't emphasise this enough) Alexander Graham Bell stole the idea for the telephone when he was working in a paten shop although as a proud Scot myself I tend to go along with the idea that he invented it.

Seemingly we never even invented golf, the chinese dispute that this was created by them many many centuries prior to us doing it.

I am proud of our history however and love thinking about the unarguable fact that we have given the world a good little something

Ohh no!

We never invented the Golf?! or the Telephone?!

Screw Independence!:wacko:

The Comedian
FACT we are not Norway and will never be a Norway. We have strong Norwegian influence in our country but that is it

and

Surely we could learn from them though? Until our standard of living is as good as their's I think we can. I'd like Scotland to have the chance and I don't think we as a country can be all that we can be while In the union. IMO of course.

and

Yeah we're not Norway, it doesn't mean that we can't recreate some of factors that have contributed towards Norwary (a very similar country to Scotland) becoming one of the most prosperous nations on earth.

Drew Busby !

and

Your lack of vision is depressing.

You're right though, we'll NEVER be a Norway ... or anything like it ... as long as there are people like you in Scotland.

"He spends his time getting the border" does not make sense. As a sentence, it is not understandable.

Now lets visit you bizarre claim.

Thanks to the SNP A&E in Ayr and Monkland have been kept open! WE have kept health care local! whereas the unionists what to take it away from those in the most remote areas of the country and centralise it!

We have put 1000 extra police officers on the street! Compare that to the Lib/Lab unionist coalition who took police of the street!

We are putting Scotland first. We are giving the people of Scotland want they want. Contrary to unionist belief, the people of Scotland are not stupid. They can see that the Government is standing up for them. Giving them, what they want and making Scotland a healthier, greener, smarter, safer place to live and work!

The Scottish Embarrasment Party have 100% not put 1000 new police on the streets.Sheer rubbish.

They have not even honoured their manifesto promise of 500.

Here is what they have done

Scrapped tolls on the Forth Road Bridge. What a joke!!! this created much needed revenue by charging commuters who opt out of living in Edinburgh for the cheaper housing outside a little something to come in

Given free education to ALL(and I do mean ALL). If someone wants to go and study flower arranging at a polytechnic let them bleedin pay for it. i agree with free education for 'resepctable' courses.Scotland is not a charity - let non Scots pay for their education.

Cut the prescription charges with no discrimination!!!

I'm sorry but if someone wants 5 jags as they are going on holiday to thailand then that is great but save the free prescriptions etc for the elderly.

If someone can afford to pay let them pay

Have SNP ever evne heard of means tested btw?

All I see is them making all these cuts on day to day things to win favour (whilst secretly mouthing off at Westminster for not giving us enough dosh)

They seem to think money grows on trees.

Paying teachers and nurses more in scotland as a fingers up to England. They will then have to give all emergenct services more money (which they do deserve) but economics simply can't justify it.

McKaskill the 'justice' minister is a joke. We have less people going to jail - granted!! this is because most criminals are getting away Scot free.

I want my hard earned money to go toward supporting the elderly and needy, making our streets safe and putting paedos etc in jail where they belong

I don't want my money to go toward changing the stationary of the Scottish Executive, putting *****s into polytechnics who will spend 3 years peeing my money agianst a wall and cheuafering the completely irrelevant MSPS about town in taxis!

Yeah we're not Norway, it doesn't mean that we can't recreate some of factors that have contributed towards Norwary (a very similar country to Scotland) becoming one of the most prosperous nations on earth.

We are an extremely old country why are you so set on us wearing a bib and sleeping in a cot again!!!!

I don't want to wear stabalisers again than you very much as let's be honest we are cycling well enough right now

hmfc_steve

I notice the 2 'inventions' you choose to highlight are indeed shrouded in a puff of mist, but an element of first does indeed still apply to both of them..... I think you are doing Scotland's service to the world an injustice, as by scrolling though the list highlighted here http://www.magicdragon.com/Wallace/thingscot.html#Te shows Scotland's real position in the world, in all sphere's of life. I doubt any other comparable sized nation could compete with our contribution.

Your lack of vision is depressing.

You're right though, we'll NEVER be a Norway ... or anything like it ... as long as there are people like you in Scotland.

Nationalism is a horrible horrible thing

Here is an umbrella................

BNP

SNP

NAZI Party

All snug and dry underneath it

I notice the 2 'inventions' you choose to highlight are indeed shrouded in a puff of mist, but an element of first does indeed still apply to both of them..... I think you are doing Scotland's service to the world an injustice, as by scrolling though the list highlighted here http://www.magicdragon.com/Wallace/thingscot.html#Te shows Scotland's real position in the world, in all sphere's of life. I doubt any other comparable sized nation could compete with our contribution.

Before even clicking on it I see the words dragon and Wallace on it and I am fearing the worst - straight of the chubby wee crusaders propoganda machine

The Scottish Embarrasment Party have 100% not put 1000 new police on the streets.Sheer rubbish.

They have not even honoured their manifesto promise of 500.

Here is what they have done

Scrapped tolls on the Forth Road Bridge. What a joke!!! this created much needed revenue by charging commuters who opt out of living in Edinburgh for the cheaper housing outside a little something to come in

Given free education to ALL(and I do mean ALL). If someone wants to go and study flower arranging at a polytechnic let them bleedin pay for it. i agree with free education for 'resepctable' courses.Scotland is not a charity - let non Scots pay for their education.

Cut the prescription charges with no discrimination!!!

I'm sorry but if someone wants 5 jags as they are going on holiday to thailand then that is great but save the free prescriptions etc for the elderly.

If someone can afford to pay let them pay

Have SNP ever evne heard of means tested btw?

All I see is them making all these cuts on day to day things to win favour (whilst secretly mouthing off at Westminster for not giving us enough dosh)

They seem to think money grows on trees.

Paying teachers and nurses more in scotland as a fingers up to England. They will then have to give all emergenct services more money (which they do deserve) but economics simply can't justify it.

McKaskill the 'justice' minister is a joke. We have less people going to jail - granted!! this is because most criminals are getting away Scot free.

I want my hard earned money to go toward supporting the elderly and needy, making our streets safe and putting paedos etc in jail where they belong

I don't want my money to go toward changing the stationary of the Scottish Executive, putting *****s into polytechnics who will spend 3 years peeing my money agianst a wall and cheuafering the completely irrelevant MSPS about town in taxis!

Your lack of political knowledge is outstanding. Your means testing comment highlights this.

You would fit right in to the Labour Party with the flip flopping you have done on this thread.

Nationalism is a horrible horrible thing

Here is an umbrella................

BNP

SNP

NAZI Party

All snug and dry underneath it

Ahahahahahahaha

and any credibility you had goes out the window.

So the SNP are too left wing, yet they are the same as the BNP and NSDAP - that makes sense.

I suggest you stop highlighting your lack of political knowledge, you embarrassing yourself. Therapist must be squirm at this thread.