Wills/Lawyers/Solicitors

Alan_R

Ok my parents aren't getting any younger so they are getting to that age where they'd like things to be in place.

Crucially transferring ownership of their house (now) plus a few amendments to their will.

The company (that currently holds their Will) estimate it will cost around ?700.

Its not like they need to write a new will up, seems kind of steep? Or will most of that cost be legal fees in regards to the house?

Just wondered if others had done similar and what to expect cost wise?

Ball washing barstewards the lot of them.

(Sorry, I know that doesn't help but Lawyers, Vets, and Accountants just take the piss with their "fees").

I'm neither a lawyer, vet or accountant but I do wash my balls daily.

Ok my parents aren't getting any younger so they are getting to that age where they'd like things to be in place.

Crucially transferring ownership of their house (now) plus a few amendments to their will.

The company (that currently holds their Will) estimate it will cost around ?700.

Its not like they need to write a new will up, seems kind of steep? Or will most of that cost be legal fees in regards to the house?

I think like any other time you need a specialist service, such as plumbing etc, you should shop around for the best deal.

Doesn't mean to say it will be much cheaper but the company currently holding the will may not be very competitive. Might be worth checking if that bill includes the legal fees to do with the transfer of the house.

Most will set up a will free of charge for a donation to a charity, i think.

I presume the ?700 is for preparing and lodging the Disposition with The Registers of Scotland. (Registers of Scotland Fee's are ?30)

That's ?670 for drafting up the Disp (which is a standard template, they'll just insert the correct names addresses etc)

Don't pay ?700 is my adivce!

What are the benefits to transferring early? What happens tax wise with regards to transferring ownership the house?  Sorry, I realise that doesn't answer your question but as you'll see, I've no idea.

What are the benefits to transferring early? What happens tax wise with regards to transferring ownership the house? Sorry, I realise that doesn't answer your question but as you'll see, I've no idea.

I'd be interested to know the answer to some of these too!

The words of someone who will 'do it themselves' and then go crying in need of a lawyer when it goes belly up. 

Vets as well, had to see one on saturday in an emergency, was ?150 but then I knew that in advance, and they're working out of hours. If you worked out of hours, you'd expect double time, so why shouldn't they expect to be remunerated for it? 

You have to realise that in every transaction a lawyer does they have to factor in their office, rates, staffing and also the element of risk, as well as the nutter client who wastes their time phoning up every day asking about their case. Maybe you are that nutter and that's why your bills have been so high? 

I've asked a Solicitor what a realistic cost would be for this, i'll let you know.

If its circa ?700 then at least you'll know  :2thumbsup:

The words of someone who will 'do it themselves' and then go crying in need of a lawyer when it goes belly up. 

Vets as well, had to see one on saturday in an emergency, was ?150 but then I knew that in advance, and they're working out of hours. If you worked out of hours, you'd expect double time, so why shouldn't they expect to be remunerated for it? 

You have to realise that in every transaction a lawyer does they have to factor in their office, rates, staffing and also the element of risk, as well as the nutter client who wastes their time phoning up every day asking about their case. Maybe you are that nutter and that's why your bills have been so high? 

Sensitive wee soul eh?

If the dog gets ill I have a bag of lime and a shovel in the boot ready for a trip up the woods. ?700 for a will is daylight robbery. Not having your pish about office rates etc. Been divorced and bought and sold a few houses in my time and let me tell you...there are NO poor solicitors.

Sensitive wee soul eh?

If the dog gets ill I have a bag of lime and a shovel in the boot ready for a trip up the woods. ?700 for a will is daylight robbery. Not having your pish about office rates etc. Been divorced and bought and sold a few houses in my time and let me tell you...there are NO poor solicitors.

With that attitude towards animals, it's no surprise your wife patched you. 

To get a proper quote i would need to know the house value, complexity of will etc.

PM me if you want, or just shop around ( would)

"It's me or the dog!"

"Bye...c'mon Fido, we're leaving"

Gie yersel some peace man.

Transferring ownership of the house is not a straight forward business, especially if either needs to go into care in the future.

It's all very complex.

Most will set up a will free of charge for a donation to a charity, i think.

I presume the ?700 is for preparing and lodging the Disposition with The Registers of Scotland. (Registers of Scotland Fee's are ?30)

That's ?670 for drafting up the Disp (which is a standard template, they'll just insert the correct names addresses etc)

Don't pay ?700 is my adivce!

As far as I know, this only happens one month per year (October or November, maybe?), and only with solicitors who participate in the "Will-Aid" scheme. I had a basic will drawn-up a few years ago under this scheme, by Allan McDougall solicitors in Coates Crescent, which came to around ?90. The solicitor who made it up for me was very helpful and efficient. It sounds like the OP's parents' situation might be a bit more complex and so may cost a bit more, and they may not want to wait until towards the end of the year, but it'd be worth thinking about and investigating.

http://www.willaid.org.uk/will-makers/about

To get a proper quote i would need to know the house value, complexity of will etc.

PM me if you want, or just shop around ( would)

PM'd cheers

Worth a read of this.

http://www.saga.co.uk/magazine/money/personal-finance/giving/what-you-need-to-know-about-signing-property-over-to-your-children#

I considered it a few years ago as my mum was getting older but speaking to my solicitor and the likely hood she would need some form of care/sheltered housing in the very near future she felt it was best to avoid.

Really depends on what needs done. There's a new Succession (Scotland) Act which has done away with special destinations. The provision allowed for a automatic transfer of property between couples.

It's likely amendments will need to be made in relation to that. There's also the likelihood that the lawyer in question will want o assess the extent of the estate to amend the will accordingly for future IHT planning and estate management advice going forwarded if it's needed (use of trusts etc if necessary).

That may be were the ?700 is coming from.

My advice, always use a lawyer. NEVER on any account use the "diy wills" you can buy in a supermarket. A dogs dinner waiting to happen to help fix the problems they'll cause. Many of the kits are based on English law and don't take account of legal rights claims from family which can arise.

You wouldn't do your own plumbing or gas fitting. Don't do your own wills or conveyancing.

Worth a read of this.

http://www.saga.co.uk/magazine/money/personal-finance/giving/what-you-need-to-know-about-signing-property-over-to-your-children#

I considered it a few years ago as my mum was getting older but speaking to my solicitor and the likely hood she would need some form of care/sheltered housing in the very near future she felt it was best to avoid.

Cheers, had a feeling it wouldn't be straightforward but that just seems like it wouldn't be worth it.

Try Lindsay at www.gibsonkerr.co.uk

I know her through work and she's very helpful. Not sure what they'd charge for this but they have a fixed price will writing service.