Showbox/Droidbox etc

Pans Jambo

• Replies 609

I was watching the football on Sportsmania last weekend. The quality was excellent but found that I was being kicked out of the game quite regularly - it kept taking me back to the menu screen and then I had to click to go back into the game.

Has anyone else had this problem?

Happens all the time mate. Sportsmania particularly bad though.

it's a pretty big flaw IMO. For all the posts I've read about folk saying how good it is, it is really annoying getting booted out several times everytime you want to watch a game.

Last week during the chelsea game was particularly bad although I thought it was maybe due to it being the first premiership game of the season on sky sport.

Saying that, when it is on, the quality is really good.

Just a little heads up about a Kodi addon called zeus

Fantastic.  Has pretty much all the main sports channels - Sky, BT etc....  most in either HD or very high quality streams.

Free too.

http://tutorial-iptv-xbmc.blogspot.co.uk/2015/06/zeus-video-addon-for-kodi-xbmczeus.html

Also has lots of TV and other streams.

This looks good - thanks

I seem to have a slight problem though... It runs fine on my tablet, but the sports channels don't work on the android box connected to my TV (although the movie channels do!) On the android box, after it says 'opening stream' i just Get a screen saying 'install Zeus. Go to http://Zeus.video'. Anyone had the same problem?

I'm maybe being a bit thick....

Just a little heads up about a Kodi addon called zeus

Fantastic.  Has pretty much all the main sports channels - Sky, BT etc....  most in either HD or very high quality streams.

Free too.

http://tutorial-iptv-xbmc.blogspot.co.uk/2015/06/zeus-video-addon-for-kodi-xbmczeus.html

Also has lots of TV and other streams.

Brilliant. I'm like a bairn in a sweetie shop

This looks good - thanks

I seem to have a slight problem though... It runs fine on my tablet, but the sports channels don't work on the android box connected to my TV (although the movie channels do!) On the android box, after it says 'opening stream' i just Get a screen saying 'install Zeus. Go to http://Zeus.video'. Anyone had the same problem?

I'm maybe being a bit thick....

Dunno what it is like on Android as I am running the PC version, but you usually have to restart Kodi after updating the Zeus add-on.

Maybe try restarting the android box a couple of times?

Dunno what it is like on Android as I am running the PC version, but you usually have to restart Kodi after updating the Zeus add-on.

Maybe try restarting the android box a couple of times?

Tried that but no luck. If I click on tux sport I'm now getting the message 'this host is not supported or resolver is broken::'

Don't suppose anyone knows what that means...

Mine is showing as version 1.0.5

I've got that version on tablet and android box. I seem to be able to watch the movies on the box, but can't stream live tv. Odd

it's a pretty big flaw IMO. For all the posts I've read about folk saying how good it is, it is really annoying getting booted out several times everytime you want to watch a game.

Last week during the chelsea game was particularly bad although I thought it was maybe due to it being the first premiership game of the season on sky sport.

Saying that, when it is on, the quality is really good.

I was having the same issue and found that I wasn't on the latest version. Grabbed the zip from their website and updated and it stopped occurring. Works perfectly now.

It's not as bad certainly with the new version. I watched the Golf and Man U game yesterday and was much better. Happened just the once.

It's not happened once to me since mate. It was terrible before and was doing it every 4-5 mins.

Aye before I updated it was every few mins right enough. A right pain in the hoop.

I was ready to give up on it tbh.

Do you have it on a droidbox or your laptop?

I reinstalled by droidbox the other night and lost the sports mania ap. There doesnt seem to be a new one available and it doesnt seem possible to download the new version as the "programme" tab isnt on the droidbox screen.

I was watching it though my laptop over the weekend and didnt get kicked out too many times. It was working really well with very little buffering too. Really happy with it.

Do you have it on a droidbox or your laptop?

I reinstalled by droidbox the other night and lost the sports mania ap. There doesnt seem to be a new one available and it doesnt seem possible to download the new version as the "programme" tab isnt on the droidbox screen.

I was watching it though my laptop over the weekend and didnt get kicked out too many times. It was working really well with very little buffering too. Really happy with it.

Both mate. Here is the latest file I'm using: https://www.dropbox.com/s/dcqdwa52k3wjcs6/repository.SportsMania-1.0.0.zip?dl=0

If you're unsure about how to get it into Kodi just shout.

In case you don't Vincent. Save the file somewhere you can access it on the box. I'm guessing you'll need to stick it onto a USB pen unless you've got a server. Whatever you do don't click into the zip otherwise you may have to grab it again from the link as it seems to mess it up. In Kodi go to system, settings addons and install from zip and click on the location you've put the zip. It should be a matter of just clicking to install and done bar the login details.

Does anyone here have the M8 box from Droidsticks?

I've got the Minix X8 box which works like a dream.

I got the M8 box for my dad as he did not need as beefy a box as me, but it has been nothing but trouble with reboots all the time.

Now droidsticks are playing hardball over a return/refund as passed 14 days.

So my question is, does anyone else have an M8 that works well? Just want to see if the box is generally rubbish, or if i have a dud box.

I got the M8 box for my dad as he did not need as beefy a box as me, but it has been nothing but trouble with reboots all the time.

So my question is, does anyone else have an M8 that works well? Just want to see if the box is generally rubbish, or if i have a dud box.

Don't think it's the best box tbf. I've got two, the T8 which I got from DS and an Amazon Fire TV box and the aftv is by far the better one. The T8 is better than the M8 but it's much slower than the AFTV.

The new wookie wizard seems to be much heavier on the processing power and these boxes suffer a bit but the AFTV handles it much better IMO.

My mates had the M8 for about a month and says it brilliant. Watched a movie a couple of nights ago at his and it streamed perfect.

How long ago did you buy it? Can't remember exactly how long but despite going over the 14 days I'm sure companies selling items over the net are bound by 30 days across the board. Even if you've gone beyond that I think they may still be bound to fix it within a certain timeframe.

It's just a lot of these companies won't tell you unless you quote the trading standards or whatever it is.

As for the boxes. I went overboard in reading up about them when I purchased mine. If you look on the Kodi forums you'll see a lot of issues with the Mini and the M8's which is why I stayed clear of them.

My mates had the M8 for about a month and says it brilliant. Watched a movie a couple of nights ago at his and it streamed perfect.

I have the m8 having previously used a jailbroken Apple TV. M8 is way better IMO. Has the very odd sticky patch when you first boot it but it sorts itself after a few minutes. I think it's just updating itself.

I have the air mouse and it has a few niggles. Just now its like a button is stuck and it is constantly sending a signal which moves my volume up and down, also found out you need to lay it down keyboard up or the batteries drain as the mouse pointer is on apparently.

I use the wireless keyboard, which is decent

Is anyone else having problems with the calendar or 'upcoming matches' on sportsmania? Mines not working .It's a right pain searching through all the channels to find what's on!

mrmarkus1981

I've found sportsmania to be quite sh!?$ over the last week or so. Streams very glitchy (laptop, pi and FireStick)

Sportsmania and Donkey have been a total pain in the star lately. Even when they work the stream seems to be a bit jerky as well. For the bigger English games Vdubt25 and Phoenix have had outstanding HD streams. Much better tbh...

Just got my Kodi installed onto the firestick. Using vDubt25 for sports and Genesis for all other tv programmes on demand. Still using freeview for BBC, ITV etc.

I agree with this. For about a week and a half its been pretty poor on everything I have kodi on. I'm running2.3.9. Is that the latest?

Watching Sky Sports News on Vdubt25 and it's buffering constantly and jumping all over the place.

Anybody got any fixes?

Watching Sky Sports News on Vdubt25 and it's buffering constantly and jumping all over the place.

Anybody got any fixes?

You installed UKTurk?

I agree with this. For about a week and a half its been pretty poor on everything I have kodi on. I'm running2.3.9. Is that the latest?

2.3.9 is the latest but mania has been rubbish lately. If your looking for the better streams go into the upcoming matches option and you can choose the stream yourself for the games. Always seems to be the BT ones that are especially pish.

Vdubt and Phoenix/staell2014 have the best streams for the big English games I find just now.

Had loads of issues with SportsMania last weekend, kept kicking me out of channels. But after resetting router, clearing cache, getting rid of addons I don't need, its worked superb since Monday night. Watched a game every day and no issues.

Yeah you should clear cache and purge packages at least once a week to help kodi run smoothly

Purge packages????

From the main menu go to programs, program addons and there should be a maintenance tool option. Depending on your setup it might be Xunity Maintenance or just say Maintenance Tool. Select and somewhere within it you'll find general maintenance (it'll depend on your setup). Select delete cache and purge packages. I do this every 3 or so days as it can play havoc with your addons.

This is the problem with having builds with tons of addons and essentially why I started doing my own with only a couple of addons that I used regularly.

Regular John

I think like most, my Sportsmania was terrible last Sunday, but been very reliable since.

Do any of you actually use one of the other providers/channels as your primary choice over sportsmania, because I've found alternatives like UKturk/Zeus to be quite poor quality.

Maybe I've tried them on bad days?

Im thinking about getting sky sports back,i have all the addons, great quality streams as in picture but its the constant buffering every 2mins, makes most of the games unwatchable, the last 4-5 games ive tried to watch ive ended up switching kodi off,and pulling a random link off twitter and its been perfect

Do The Dance

Can I do all this on my android mobile phone or an iPad?

What do I need to download if I can?

I have no idea about droidboxes etc but i think i want to get involved.

What would people suggest i start up with? Also i want to know whether you can watch all the kids channels you would usually get on sky etc.

And is it really worth it? Loads of people seem to use this thread for complaining :lol:

Quick question - Someone mention above that you "Purge Packages" at least once a week. I have found the maintenance tools and it says 57 packages will be deleted. Can anyone explain what this actually means, what happens when you purge packages.

What would people suggest i start up with? Also i want to know whether you can watch all the kids channels you would usually get on sky etc.

And is it really worth it? Loads of people seem to use this thread for complaining :lol:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00SVEVOLQ?keywords=android%20box&qid=1441024583&ref_=sr_ph&sr=1

Not a huge gamble at ?32

Go for it.

Can I do all this on my android mobile phone or an iPad?

What do I need to download if I can?

search for mobdro apk install this on your mobile, tv channels, sport, films

streaming live tv channels is dependent on the amount of traffic I find, if its heavy the buffering can be bad. the static packages on servers like movies/box series/cartoons etc are  very reliable with the tv boxes and theres almost nowt that has been recorded unavailable.

lots of kids progs/cartoon/films recorded,available to watch. you'll find that streaming channels will buffer when your internet company strangles the bandwidth during peak times which causes the tv channels to stop/stutter/freeze which usually means you have to reload the channel or choose a different feed.

with kids using it, I would keep a hold of the remote because as with the rest of the internet, theres lotsa porn everywhere as well.

a lot of the repos and such mentioned on this thread are good for the static packages but for streaming the fitba I still find mobdro apk the best and having the least buffering. you can install this apk on a tv box as well as phone.

how to's are well covered on youtube and easy enough to follow as well.