Game of Thrones Season 5

Steve_Jersey_HMFC

Just over 3 weeks away, premiers in US on 12.4.15, as well as several other countries but Sky Atlantic have decided the UK should be one of few jurisdictions not to simulcast it but show it 24 hours later :vrface: 

Anyway, should be a good season, Im especially looking forward to the Sandsnakes, Stannis and Melissandre at the Wall, and Tyrion/Varys adjusting

As ever, use spoiler tags where appropriate and label any book spoilers clearly too.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wViILXQfX7Y

Moist with anticipation. Starting to rewatch the last series over the next 2 weeks to prepare.

Pretty sure most of this season and further seasons are no longer going by the books as they caught up too fast. IGN did an interview with a few cast members a month or 2 ago about it.

https://youtu.be/HoBDArrXVxI

found it

The TV series is getting awfully close to where the books are now.

Wonder what they'll do when they get to the same point.

:4_1_111:

Can't wait. I was determined not to like GoT, I'm not usually one for fantasy toga porn but been hooked ever since I was made to sit through the first 5 episodes.

Re-watching the last few episodes from last season sounds a plan. 

Martin says the show runners are being even more brutal than him, and that they're going to kill off characters he lets live.

Which has me a little worried it's going to devolve into brutality porn. But I'll still be watching.

The last 2 books aren't going to come out in the space of the next 3 weeks, are they? :sob:

Ah well. Rewatching the show I find bits of it cringey and unwatchable, but when it's on I'm glued to the screen.

We'll be lucky if the last two books are out within 10 years.

The annoying thing is, the bugger won't even give a release date for the winds of winter.

Pretty sure Kevin Smith said on one of his podcasts that George had told him that it would land about Christmas 2016.

Guessing it'll be about 2022 before book 7 is out.

Who knows if George will last that long? He doesn't look the healthiest.

Steve_Jersey_HMFC

Pretty sure Kevin Smith said on one of his podcasts that George had told him that it would land about Christmas 2016.

Guessing it'll be about 2022 before book 7 is out.

Who knows if George will last that long? He doesn't look the healthiest.

I always laugh at the honest trailer for GoT "hopefully the author will finish the books before he eats himself to death"

The annoying thing is, the bugger won't even give a release date for the winds of winter.

Aye, what a dick.

TV show is drifting further and further away from the books as time goes On (which is good because the books are getting shite).

It'll be interesting to see what develops this season!

Steve_Jersey_HMFC

By 2016 apparently, he has just released another teaser chapter for Sansa

http://www.georgerrmartin.com/excerpt-from-the-winds-of-winter/

No obvious big spoilers in it but probably not worth looking at unless you've read as far as ADWD.

Fairly slow, typically boring Sansa chapter

Ryan Jarman

Read a while back that the Bran/Hodor storyline will be completely sidelined this season as pretty much caught up with the books. 

Valar Morghulis

Read a while back that the Bran/Hodor storyline will be completely sidelined this season as pretty much caught up with the books. 

That makes sense I suppose. They would have to leave them out next season if they wove them into this one, anyway.

Not sure why, but I'm not as pumped up for this season as the previous ones. Maybe need to have a reread/literary foreplay to get me in the mood. However, I am curious to see the direction they take Sansa's storyline. 

Valar Morghulis

No obvious big spoilers in it but probably not worth looking at unless you've read as far as ADWD.

Cheers for that! Has that been the latest one since the Arya chapter?

Valar Morghulis

If you didn't know Martin was a large man, you could bloody well guess it from the way he describes a feast! Had me near salivating.

Sixty-four dishes were served, in honor of the sixty-four competitors who had come so far to contest for silver wings before their lord. From the rivers and the lakes came pike and trout and salmon, from the seas crabs and cod and herring. Ducks there were, and capons, peacocks in their plumage and swans in almond milk. Suckling pigs were served up crackling with apples in their mouths, and three huge aurochs were roasted whole above firepits in the castle yard, since they were too big to get through the kitchen doors. Loaves of hot bread filled the trestle tables in Lord Nestor?s hall, and massive wheels of cheese were brought up from the vaults.  The butter was fresh-churned, and there were leeks and carrots, roasted onions, beets, turnips, parsnips.  And best of all, Lord Nestor?s cooks prepared a splendid subtlety, a lemon cake in the shape of the Giant?s Lance, twelve feet tall and adorned with an Eyrie made of sugar

Steve_Jersey_HMFC

Cheers for that! Has that been the latest one since the Arya chapter?

Im not sure, I recall also a Reek chapter and an Arianne Martell chapter

Valar Morghulis

Im not sure, I recall also a Reek chapter and an Arianne Martell chapter

Ok, I've not missed any others then. Was there not a Stannis one too, or I'm thinking of one of the previous books?

I read the first three books in the series about 15-16 years ago ('A Game of Thrones', the first book in the 'A Song of Ice and Fire' series, came out in '96, I think).  It seems fairly clear to me that GRRM had a plan up to and around the Red Wedding.  Thereafter, the pace falls away and the narrative threads start to wander.  The last couple of books have been fairly turgid affairs, imo.   When GRRM started writing these books, he'd have had a fairly good idea about where he was going.  And then the TV series comes along and has been a huge success - arguably more successful than the books (though it's undoubtedly boosted his sales beyond recognition).  When GRRM writes now, what does he have in his mind?  Is it the characters as he originally visualised them, or is it the actors and actresses employed by HBO? 

Looking forward to Season 5.  It's great telly.  But I think I've just accepted that HBO will probably end up commissioning it's own version of how things turn out.  Might not be a bad thing.

Valar Morghulis

I read the first three books in the series about 15-16 years ago ('A Game of Thrones', the first book in the 'A Song of Ice and Fire' series, came out in '96, I think).  It seems fairly clear to me that GRRM had a plan up to and around the Red Wedding.  Thereafter, the pace falls away and the narrative threads start to wander.  The last couple of books have been fairly turgid affairs, imo.   When GRRM started writing these books, he'd have had a fairly good idea about where he was going.  And then the TV series comes along and has been a huge success - arguably more successful than the books (though it's undoubtedly boosted his sales beyond recognition).  When GRRM writes now, what does he have in his mind?  Is it the characters as he originally visualised them, or is it the actors and actresses employed by HBO? 

Looking forward to Season 5.  It's great telly.  But I think I've just accepted that HBO will probably end up commissioning it's own version of how things turn out.  Might not be a bad thing.

I think you're right. He's introduced so many POV characters that the overarching story is convoluted. I tend to consider myself a purist in terms of adapting books to screen, but there's no way the show could maintain it's momentum if it followed ASoIaF at this point. There's just too many stagnant subplots. 

In terms of his writing, he's definitely visualizing facets of the show (I think he mentioned Osha's character as one that altered his perspective.). He certainly has some characters he loves writing more than others (Arya, Tyrion, Jaime), and that might be a reason why his narrative wanders.

Saw that the 5 eps were available earlier, but have resisted as they weren't in HD....not normally bothered, but really want/need to see GoT in HD :lol:

You can get them in HD...I hear.

Valar Morghulis

Spoiled wee Cersei hearing her prophecy....I wonder if that scene will reappear and we'll hear the rest of it! Looking forward to seeing Arya next week in the House of Black and White.

North Berwick Jambo

Just watched the first four episodes online, impressive ;)

Stuart McNeill

Just watched the first four episodes online, impressive ;)

Only got another four weeks to wait for episode Five.

Can't wait for it though. Should be good.

Im I the only kent on the Planet that doesnt like this?

No dont be silly. There's a guy in Tunisia and a woman in New Zealand. So you're not alone.

There's at least two other losers out there. :2thumbsup:

No dont be silly. There's a guy in Tunisia and a woman in New Zealand. So you're not alone.

There's at least two other losers out there. :2thumbsup:

Brilliant, cheers.

Steve_Jersey_HMFC

Interesting the first ever flashback I think theyve done (and there is rich material from the past they could potentially do) is Cersei's prophecy which I suppose is very important for her character going forward, shame how it left out the part where she is told about her volanqar/little brother which informs her hatred all along with Tyrion.

The look she gave Maergery :lol:

I wonder if they should have used more flashbacks to compensate for the lack of POV in the shows

Hopefully Bravos and Dorne next week

Valar Morghulis

Interesting the first ever flashback I think theyve done (and there is rich material from the past they could potentially do) is Cersei's prophecy which I suppose is very important for her character going forward, shame how it left out the part where she is told about her volanqar/little brother which informs her hatred all along with Tyrion.

The look she gave Maergery :lol:

I wonder if they should have used more flashbacks to compensate for the lack of POV in the shows

Hopefully Bravos and Dorne next week

Fair point that. And we get to see ma hoose next week!

Great start to the series.

The quality has been consistent all the way thru and doesn't disappoint. Hope they can maintain this standard. Best thing on tv

Valar Morghulis

You get to see your front door.

But of a let down then.  :sad3: 

Edit: I'm trying to resist watching them online. Why, I don't know! So....tempted!

PM to watch episodes online please

a good link via pm, would be good - have VirginMedia and the sods don't do it