The 2015 General Election Megathread

Rand Paul's Ray Bans

Who do people think should be the next leader of Scottish Labour? Assuming Murphy loses his seat - who do people think could turn around their fortunes up here?

Jobby Brown is well respected in many labour circles (as I understand it). Could he win back some of the soft/protest nats?

Who else is there? I like Dugdale but she isn't very inspiring. Marra comes across as decent but she isn't a big hitter.

Any Labour supporter in Scotland wanted Brown to step back up to the plate to the support the party through a rough time.

That time has passed. He's an invaluable asset and irregardless of Scotland's future in the UK or out I'm sure he will be a great asset for Scotland and Scottish Labour.

So who else?

Suppose there's Dugdale and Marra. I'm not sure on them yet being people with the ability to lead.

I'd consider an MP or two out of work - Douglas Alexander my preferred choice.

But if that's not to be Neil Findlay could prove himself. A lefty, a man with a great life story of nothing to something through state services (a Labour rags to Holyrood story), a man passionate about his job and Labours role and a man who'd make full use of the Trade Union link.

• Replies 14k

• aussieh

• JamboX2

• TheMaganator

• Boris

Don Draper

Just a wee update,got a wee call a few minutes ago from my good friend,bad news for us,we'll him in particular,he said the word on the streets is that SNP will end with either 43 or 44 seats.

Although it's well up on the 6 seats we have right now,I'm disappointed we ain't going to make the magic 50 but even so,it's not bad.

Anyone know the odds for the above amount?

44 seats is four times the SNP's record haul of MPs. I'd take that in a heartbeat.

jambo1185

Anything over 30 would be great in reality but viewed both by the media and the party members as a bad result. Sturgeon is trying to play down expectations just in case the polls are out, last thing she wants is people being disappointed if they dont take more than 50 seats.

Thought labours tv party political broadcast was very good and will appeal to labour voters

jambo1185

Also I think Nicola has handled the protester situation pretty well. Shame some of her backbenchers are a bit wild.

If her concerns about the quality of some SNP candidates are true, she might have an exhausting few years ahead trying to keep everyone in lone.

jambo1185

Thought labours tv party political broadcast was very good and will appeal to labour voters

Yes i agree. They've needed more of that but they might have finally twigged what they need to do for the Holyrood elections next year.

deesidejambo

Also I think Nicola has handled the protester situation pretty well. Shame some of her backbenchers are a bit wild.

If her concerns about the quality of some SNP candidates are true, she might have an exhausting few years ahead trying to keep everyone in lone.

Certainly that lady that thinks they have FFA and the Barnett Formula at the same time may need some assistance.

Glamorgan Jambo

Who the feck wants actual, real "socialism"? Capitalism has done more to overcome poverty than anything else. It should be controlled, that's all.

Kind of just a pesky fact to some....

How does he know that?  Is he clairvoyant?  In which case does he know who wins the Championship playoffs?

Possibly,.....in the same way as Ruth the Untruth got some backhand info pre September 18th,eh !!!

deesidejambo

Possibly,.....in the same way as Ruth the Untruth got some backhand info pre September 18th,eh !!!

She went to Buckhaven High in Methil.  What do you expect?

44 seats is four times the SNP's record haul of MPs. I'd take that in a heartbeat.

I will be happy with 45,he's on a downer though.....a 'Well fan too.:)

Psychedelicropcircle

Not at all. They are policies to be pursued at Westminster for the benefit of Scotland. And sets a course going into next year.

If their policies are implemented it offers more cash for the Holyrood Government who can then use that money to achieve an end to food banks.

Unless I heard it wrong I thought he says 5 mins after election.

That's the message that should've been getting blasted out day to day. Not two days before the end of the campaign!

Do SNP supporters believe that an absolute SNP representation at Westminster would be good for Scotland. Surely they understand that some balance is needed?

TheMaganator

Terrific stuff from the Old Clunking Fist there.

Terrible PM. Great Speaker.

Listened to it now. Really good from him.

That's the positive msg that should have been on the airwaves for months

Do SNP supporters believe that an absolute SNP representation at Westminster would be good for Scotland. Surely they understand that some balance is needed?

SNP or Labour makes no difference if its a TORY/LIB DEM coalitioin.

Which sadly is what I think will happen.

Its started seen on another site from snp fanatic " I see anything over 30 as a success"

by thursday it will be 25- 27.

freddiemac

Was just wondering if any of those lovely cuddly bairns we are are getting bombarded with (even although they are totally irrelevant to ge) get a wee hurl in the krankiecopter .

deesidejambo

Doesn't matter.  They want Independence, and the way to get Independence is for Westminster to fail.  And they will do what they can to make that happen, even if everyone has to suffer.

SNP or Labour makes no difference if its a TORY/LIB DEM coalitioin.

Which sadly is what I think will happen.

Not true. If scotland vote labour we will have a labour government

Was this argument used when Labour was hoovering up the vast majority of Scottish seats?

Or did we not require balance then?

deesidejambo

Not true. If scotland vote labour we will have a labour government

Not if the UKIP vote craters in England back to the Tories.

TheMaganator

The porkies are coming thick and fast now.

But but but I'm sure she's just getting herself mixed up. Nothing sinister here

103B01E1-2660-440B-8277-5F6537643804_zps

Gorgiewave

I would take Gordon Brown as First Minister next May. Totz.

I got a letter today saying my proxy has been appointed.

deesidejambo

Its simple.    SNP say they will do whats best for Scotland in Westminster.  And if they achieve that there would be less appetite for Independence as Westminster is satisfying Scottish needs.  Ergo why would the SNP want to achieve that?    They don't.  They must show Westminster is failing, so they will do what they can to ruin national policies.

One of the recent Yougov polls did case studies into voter's opinions on 2nd place Labour forming a coalition with A N other. The responses were hilarious. Apparently it would be "cheating".

Albert Tatlock

Whatever the outcome on Thursday/Friday, ..The Times, they are A Changing. It can only be seen as a good thing.

Will defo going to come on here when polling closes. It is going to be carnage.

Don Draper

The porkies are coming thick and fast now.

But but but I'm sure she's just getting herself mixed up. Nothing sinister here

103B01E1-2660-440B-8277-5F6537643804_zps

That's from the Jeremy Vine interview this morning. No porkies. What she said was pretty clear.

Don Draper

Was this argument used when Labour was hoovering up the vast majority of Scottish seats?

I suspect you'll be waiting a while before you get an answer to such an inconvenient question.

Was never a total Labour vote though. 41 was the most recent high water mark. 18 MPs, a significant minority, weren't and offered balance of political view point.

If we had PR we'd hear that mixed voice better. 420,000 Tory voters in 2010, roughly would've provided 8-10 seats in Scotland. Not a majority but more than 1.

Countries and communities are better represented when more than one voice is heard. PR is what's needed in UK elections, and I'd go as far to say that a more proportional system of PR is needed at Holyrood as well.

UKIP suspend a candidate for threatening to shoot his Tory opponent! :arry:

Don Draper

UKIP suspend a candidate for threatening to shoot his Tory opponent! :arry:

They're the gift that keeps on giving.

Listened to it now. Really good from him.

That's the positive msg that should have been on the airwaves for months

Yup. It's why Jim has to go after this. He was more visible. But he still had little in the way of a message.

Brown steps up and makes a barnstorming speech in one night and adds impetus to the campaign.

I would take Gordon Brown as First Minister next May. Totz.

I got a letter today saying my proxy has been appointed.

You do know that dinosaurs are extinct surely.

Nick Clegg still seems to think that the Lib Dems will hold their existing seats and win more, major lolz.

Does anyone know where the convoy of cars bedecked in Natsy paraphernalia were going to on Saturday?

Maybe they were on their way to meet the KrankieCopter when it arrived at Turnhouse?

Was never a total Labour vote though. 41 was the most recent high water mark. 18 MPs, a significant minority, weren't and offered balance of political view point.

If we had PR we'd hear that mixed voice better. 420,000 Tory voters in 2010, roughly would've provided 8-10 seats in Scotland. Not a majority but more than 1.

Countries and communities are better represented when more than one voice is heard. PR is what's needed in UK elections, and I'd go as far to say that a more proportional system of PR is needed at Holyrood as well.

Don't think the outcome will be much different this time in terms of balance. My feeling is that if you offered the SNP 41 seats right now they'd take it.

Agree absolutely with your points and I know you've been making them for a long time. FPTP is a terrible system. It's just that I've never before heard such bumping of gums about the current system and the outcome it may produce this time from so many supporters of parties which have habitually profited from it.

Pans Jambo

Its started seen on another site from snp fanatic " I see anything over 30 as a success"

by thursday it will be 25- 27.

Just seen on ITN evening news 3 minutes ago. Seems the most recent polls are saying 55 seats for the SNP.

BOOOO....I want 5-1 seats!

deesidejambo

I can see it now on Friday........

Nicola:  Brilliant!  40 seats!  Now get down to Westminster and do whats best for Scotland.

The 40:  But haud on. If we do that successfully then won't that make people less keen on Independence?

Nicola: Aw bugger.  Well OK, pretend you're doing whats best, but in reality try to make the whole thing a mess.

The 40: But won't that make people suffer even more?

Nicola: Never mind that.

The 40: Well Nicola, at least we can't say we are ruled by Tory Toffs anymore.  But oh shite, wasn't that a by-line for the Indepencence campaign to pick up votes?  Now thats gone as well.

Nicola: Aw bollocks.  Anyway lets continue to push for FFA.

The 40: No probs, but the oil price has gone belly-up, so can we keep the Barnett formula as well?

Nicola:    Aw shite.

Does anyone know where the convoy of cars bedecked in Natsy paraphernalia were going to on Saturday?

Maybe they were on their way to meet the KrankieCopter when it arrived at Turnhouse?

What's with the 'krankie' chat? Supposed to be funny?

I can see it now on Friday........

Nicola:  Brilliant!  40 seats!  Now get down to Westminster and do whats best for Scotland.

The 40:  But haud on. If we do that successfully then won't that make people less keen on Independence?

Nicola: Aw bugger.  Well OK, pretend you're doing whats best, but in reality try to make the whole thing a mess.

The 40: But won't that make people suffer even more?

Nicola: Never mind that.

The 40: Well Nicola, at least we can't say we are ruled by Tory Toffs anymore.  But oh shite, wasn't that a by-line for the Indepencence campaign to pick up votes?  Now thats gone as well.

Nicola: Aw bollocks.  Anyway lets continue to push for FFA.

The 40: No probs, but the oil price has gone belly-up, so can we keep the Barnett formula as well?

Nicola:    Aw shite.

Cutting edge stuff. I believe Fringe venues are still available.