The 2015 General Election Megathread

Rand Paul's Ray Bans

Champers? You Tory you. I told you about the silent Tories but I didn't know you were one of them.

Well, its what I call Cider and white wine.

• Replies 14k

• aussieh

• JamboX2

• TheMaganator

• Boris

deesidejambo

Well, its what I call Cider and white wine.

Thats more like it.  Accept my apologies for the slur.     C'mon Annie, get intae them.

I'm guessing I may be a candidate for your Ignore list. Free speech comes at a cost - that cost is you may not like what you hear. But that is no reason to take things to heart. Google Voltaire, at least I think it was him.

nope, don't agree with you some of the time, but you are entitled to your opinion(although mine is actually correct ).

If you have a view and can back it up with serious debate, bring it on. If your only answer is Thatchers deid (deliberate spelling error) or Red Tories deserve kickin (another one) then no debate is possible or indeed worthwhile.

Edited by Malinga the Swinga

Guest Trapper John

That doesn't matter.  What matters is I will be GIRFUYing aussie.  I've got the booze in, and the bloke I'm watching the count with announced yesterday he is off the booze for medical reasons, so I will have to drink it all myself.  A slab of Pironi, Gin is cooling in the fridge, and a bottle of Ardbeg to go down.   Party on.

A sin to misuse Ardbeg, Deeside. 

Sip it lovingly.

deesidejambo

Terrific stuff from the Old Clunking Fist there.

Terrible PM. Great Speaker.

It was similar to the indyref one.  I was nearly greetin.       Instead of stupid "Election Broadcasts" on TV, Labour should just get this on.  It lacks substance but just pulls straight on heartstrings.     My bet is you see Cameron and Milliband trying this as well on the eve.   They will be a hoot.

deesidejambo

A sin to misuse Ardbeg, Deeside. 

Sip it lovingly.

Oh it will be sipped alright.   No house should be without a bottle of Ardbeg.

Hasselhoff

It was similar to the indyref one. I was nearly greetin. Instead of stupid "Election Broadcasts" on TV, Labour should just get this on. It lacks substance but just pulls straight on heartstrings. My bet is you see Cameron and Milliband trying this as well on the eve. They will be a hoot.

Did he say it is a trap this time? I agreed with him at the referendum that no was the right answer but this time around he can get tae. Labour are hopeless at running the country.

Edited by Hasselhoff

deesidejambo

In fact I'm going to start tonite in the Juve game.  Its pissin rain up here and I'm in the mood for a warm-up sesh.    Pleas signore any posts I make after about 9:00 as they are probably rants about how Tony Blair caused all this.

deesidejambo

Did he say it is a trap this time? I agreed with him at the referendum that no was the right answer but this time round he can get tae. Labour are hopeless at running the country.

No it was pretty much focusessed on "social justice" and if you want justice, only Labour can deliver it. 

Spent many a time in Islay and have done all the distilleries, including the smaller independent ones, Ardbeg is okay but Laphroaig beats it for me and Kilchoman does the best lunches. Funnily enough, also played in the inter village football for Portnahaven a few times against Port Charlotte and that was always a keenly contested game, with the odd robust challenge. Last game of 11's I ever played resulted in penalties decider win over 2 legs. Happy days.

In fact I'm going to start tonite in the Juve game.  Its pissin rain up here and I'm in the mood for a warm-up sesh.    Pleas signore any posts I make after about 9:00 as they are probably rants about how Tony Blair caused all this.

I am no fan of Tony Blair but even I can't blame his for causing rain.

It is possible she simply didn't know, rather than lied.

Your party are hardly bastions of the truth. If so I'm sure we would already know where the ?12bn cuts to the welfare bill are coming from. Something that is more pertinent to this election that's whether or not somebody says some arsehole is in some party or another.

Don Draper

Who do people think should be the next leader of Scottish Labour? Assuming Murphy loses his seat - who do people think could turn around their fortunes up here?

Jobby Brown is well respected in many labour circles (as I understand it). Could he win back some of the soft/protest nats?

Who else is there? I like Dugdale but she isn't very inspiring. Marra comes across as decent but she isn't a big hitter. 

Brown does seem like the obvious choice. Doesn't seem to be interested, though.

Dugdale doesn't seem to be up to the job.

I think they do need a big hitter, like you say. If you look down through the list of their leaders since devolution, they've all been pretty dreadful, Dewar aside.

Does anyone have a summary of the rules on counting the postal votes?  Are they counted in advance?

MI5 count them first

Quite succinctly put.

The constant cry of 'get over it' re the referendum when in fact the SNP have got on with it and will deliver a pretty strong message of having got over it by returning what looks like being a large number of MP's on Thursday to the UK parliament.

The only people banging on about the referendum are the 3 main better together parties. Why? Because they thought that defeat in September 14 was the death of the SNP. How did that work out for you boys? :smugger:

It's working out fantastic thanks.

There will never be an Independent Scotland.

I benefit from council tax freezes, free prescriptions and other things I can easily afford.

They will deliver a Conservative led coalition at Westminster.

Thanks for everything.

nope, don't agree with you some of the time, but you are entitled to your opinion(although mine is actually correct ).

If you have a view and can back it up with serious debate, bring it on. If your only answer is Thatchers deid (deliberate spelling error) or Red Tories deserve kickin (another one) then no debate is possible or indeed worthwhile.

Guest Trapper John

It's working out fantastic thanks.

There will never be an Independent Scotland.

I benefit from council tax freezes, free prescriptions and other things I can easily afford.

They will deliver a Conservative led coalition at Westminster.

The perfect response to the vote SNP and still get a Labour Government myth brigade.

Can you explain the arithmetic there please.

Surely, if it is a Tory minority then that means there could be a majority voting against.

If it is a Tory majority, then how Scotland votes is irrelevant as whether the seats go to the SNP or Labour, there would still be a Tory majority.

Depends on how the Liberal vote holds up and if the Unionist Alliance holds up to win more than 10 seats in Northern Ireland.

I don't think there'll be a Coalition this time. Britain's most pro Europe party cannot allow a referendum on nothing here via coalition. Wiser move would be supply and confidence and then blocking a vote.

If the Tories win 290 seats, the Liberals hold around 30 and the DUP 11/12 seats then game over for a Labour minority of around 260-70 seats.

The collapse of its vote in Scotland will be a huge block to a "progressive" government. The lost of 10-20 seats you could cope with. Not more than that.

Psychedelicropcircle

Terrific stuff from the Old Clunking Fist there.

Terrible PM. Great Speaker.

And a lying *******. Nowt in the manifesto about food bank money.

Gorgiewave

Who the feck wants actual, real "socialism"? Capitalism has done more to overcome poverty than anything else. It should be controlled, that's all.

Who's blaming them for paedophilia?

They done absolutely **** all about it so as not to upset their Muslim vote and keep themselves in council was my point.

You like to suggest the nats are a nasty lot and everybody who votes for them is some sort of nazi yet here we have evidence that labour have turned a blind eye for 16 years and hundreds and hundreds of child rapes all to protect their seats.

Your some cookie.

There's also the fact that in a seat with a substantial Muslim population that the local branch party was run by a lot of guys who had ties of some sort or another to those commiting the wrongdoing.

It was a cover up. I'd be surprised if anyone beyond those involved beyond the seat party knew much. Christ, the police knew hee-haw as well.

I respect your posts Jack D. But I don't think you can frame this on the national party or the current branch in Rotherham. Simon Danczyuk Labour MP and the current Labour incumbent in Rotherham have done a lot in bringing private membership legislation to fight such predatory behaviour and to protect children.

It's a very grey area, not a black and white one.

Rand Paul's Ray Bans

Surely we can all put our differences aside and, if the Conservatives do come out on top in whatever way, celebrate the inevitable meltdown of Owen Jones?

Excellent article. Hits the main points very well and describes the situation that the silent majority find themselves in. Hopefully we will, as people who don't take part in Internet polls or attend political meetings, have our say on Thursday.

...try the SCOTTISH Labour manifesto.

Yup, the branch has its own objectives to push for... As do the Welsh Branch.

Surely we can all put our differences aside and, if the Conservatives do come out on top in whatever way, celebrate the inevitable meltdown of Owen Jones?

Agreed, that would be something worth seeing, although I have no doubt he would twist things to suit his own strange viewpoint.

Rand Paul's Ray Bans

Capitalism has done more to overcome poverty than anything else.

iLS3xfW.jpg

Yes. That pretty much covers it.

A view only really held in the UK. Internationally respected and now a UN envoy for education.

Guest Trapper John

One of the biggest disappointments for me is Rory Stewart.

The way he spoke about all UK governments was so sound and sensible in regards to foreign entanglements. 

Then he becomes a Tory MP!

That'll be holyrood, offering things they cannot deliver.

Tony Blair is a UN envoy for middle Eastern peace.

You couldn't make it up.

Sorry, I thought it was Brown! Misread the thread!

Thunderstruck

Maybe some of the ?1bn (11% of budget) siphoned out of NHS and, instead, used for "Health/wellbeing, sport and equalties" (Audit Scotland report) might have been better spent on addressing that issue.

That'll be holyrood, offering things they cannot deliver.

Not at all. We have a Secretary of State for Scotland. Scotland's voice in Cabinet (unless there are multiple Scottish based MPs at the table).

They make their argument for policies to be implemented in certain ways. Additional spending on X, reorganising Y.

Scottish Labour could deliver on its manifesto for Scotland easily at Westminster.

If we are talking about parties who may well struggle to implement anything, lets look at the SNP... But ah yes, they're offering Labours tax and spend plans and the same promises on national utilities. So success can be claimed off the back of another...

Sorry, I thought it was Brown! Misread the thread!

No I buggered up the quote.

Being an envoy for the UN means nowt as far as I'm concerned. Brown rode the UK into the mire first as Chancellor then as PM. That shouldn't be forgotten.

Maybe some of the ?1bn (11% of budget) siphoned out of NHS and, instead, used for "Health/wellbeing, sport and equalties" (Audit Scotland report) might have been better spent on addressing that issue.

Indeed. Just remember how slow it took Salmond to actually address the bedroom tax with the power at his disposal.

Psychedelicropcircle

Then surely that would mean even more pish as they aren't in power in Scotland. Exposed as liebour again!

Rand Paul's Ray Bans

One of the biggest disappointments for me is Rory Stewart.

The way he spoke about all UK governments was so sound and sensible in regards to foreign entanglements. 

Then he becomes a Tory MP!

Rory Stewart is sound. His cairn thing around the referendum was a bit cringey though. 

Still got his book about his trek across Afghanistan on my bookshelf to read. 

No I buggered up the quote.

Being an envoy for the UN means nowt as far as I'm concerned. Brown rode the UK into the mire first as Chancellor then as PM. That shouldn't be forgotten.

Yet coordinated the European and international response. The UK economy was in growth when he left office. His time as Chancellor saw a massive reduction in child poverty, pensioner poverty, renovated thousands of council homes which were substandard, expanded welfare provision and brought in the minimum wage.

No one foresaw what came. It happened and he done better than most to actually affect change.

Think he shot himself in the foot on not going for that election.

Don Draper

Why,are you saying The Rangers are not a new club.

No, it was a point about terrible grammar that seemed funny at the time, but probably wasn't.

There's also the fact that in a seat with a substantial Muslim population that the local branch party was run by a lot of guys who had ties of some sort or another to those commiting the wrongdoing.

It was a cover up. I'd be surprised if anyone beyond those involved beyond the seat party knew much. Christ, the police knew hee-haw as well.

I respect your posts Jack D. But I don't think you can frame this on the national party or the current branch in Rotherham. Simon Danczyuk Labour MP and the current Labour incumbent in Rotherham have done a lot in bringing private membership legislation to fight such predatory behaviour and to protect children.

It's a very grey area, not a black and white one.

Mate my posts were certainly not aimed at you. Your one of the most, if not, THE most politically minded and balanced poster that I see on this forum without a doubt. I guess my point was aimed at the more hysterical posters who pounce on every single thing that happens, that they deem to be sure signs that the SNP or any of their voters are nasty types and are taking us all to 1930's Germany.

Trapper asked why I don't nail my colours to any mast and my answer is they are all pretty much the same give or take one or two policies and I move to suit what I believe at the time. My beliefs have changed since I was younger and they could possibly change again in the future.

I've toyed with an SNP vote on this occasion after voting Tory at the last one and a couple for Tony Blair before that but like I say I'm not 100% behind the SNP this time for a couple of reasons. I might abstain...

Edited by jack D and coke

Then surely that would mean even more pish as they aren't in power in Scotland. Exposed as liebour again!

Not at all. They are policies to be pursued at Westminster for the benefit of Scotland. And sets a course going into next year.

If their policies are implemented it offers more cash for the Holyrood Government who can then use that money to achieve an end to food banks.

No chance,one thing that's been very noticeable on JKB is the sheer desperation from the Unionists,it's reeking out big time,yet we SNP voters are cool calm and collected,it really is a sight to behold.

Like I said previously on here,I'll be very happy if we get 45 seats,my old buddy who's fairy high ranking in the SNP said it will be either 49/50 seats at the final count,who am I to argue with him.

Just a wee update,got a wee call a few minutes ago from my good friend,bad news for us,we'll him in particular,he said the word on the streets is that SNP will end with either 43 or 44 seats.

Although it's well up on the 6 seats we have right now,I'm disappointed we ain't going to make the magic 50 but even so,it's not bad.

Anyone know the odds for the above amount?

Indeed, I would be expecting someone to fall on her sword.

Fall on her sword for only having a net gain of 24 seats ? :rofl:  :rofl:  :rofl:

I'm predicting SNP total =42 seats.

No, it was a point about terrible grammar that seemed funny at the time, but probably wasn't.

:) Sorry bud,I was just about to eat you.

deesidejambo

Just a wee update,got a wee call a few minutes ago from my good friend,bad news for us,we'll him in particular,he said the word on the streets is that SNP will end with either 43 or 44 seats.

Although it's well up on the 6 seats we have right now,I'm disappointed we ain't going to make the magic 50 but even so,it's not bad.

Anyone know the odds for the above amount?

How does he know that?  Is he clairvoyant?  In which case does he know who wins the Championship playoffs?