• aussieh

• JamboX2

• TheMaganator

• Boris

Thunderstruck

Random question, do UK elections have international observers monitoring the whole electoral process, voting etc? Or, is this only in countries where there is concern about the fairness and transparency of the election?

Yes.

http://www.electoralcommission.org.uk/__data/assets/electoral_commission_pdf_file/0010/14014/Code-revised-2010-FINAL-as-laid-10-02-2010.pdf

Gorgiewave

So wrong. Did these people get into the gene pool when the Life Guard wasn't looking.

Durex will be sued.

Gorgiewave

I remember when they sponsored a team in F1 "The Small Family Car".

Hahaha.

The SNP have been given a ridiculously easy time by the UK media, their leader is allowed to interrupt questions and just answer with her prepared statements, regardless of whether her answer even relates to the question or not, no questions regarding failed policies, promises or pledges are permitted and accompanying Sturgeon at all times are her faithful band of cheerleaders who barrack all other party leaders and speakers.

No dissent is permitted in Nicola's hand picked bunch of MP wannabees, they don't have to understand what they are saying, just repeat it parrot fashion yet when they are questioned, the blank expressions that are displayed on their faces are a joy to be seen.

The SNP and that other separist party Sinn Fein have a lot more in common than they would care to admit. Both parties would do anything to break up the union and both parties despise the vast majority of citizens from Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

Idiot.  In fact dangerous bigoted idiot.  I noticed none of your 'comrades' in arms cared to contradict you on that nonsense.  Nuff said..

not even in the worst half dozen, and I am polar opposite party from him. Said it before, there are two clear 'worst posters' who cannot argue with facts but instead use laughing gifts, their own made up words and if that fails, the Red Tories and Thatchers deid response.

If they are an example of what Scotland has to offer in the future, then it is a bleak picture for our country.

That is the second time this week you have said that.

Lots of people have used the laughing smiley. No malice intended just another way of saying a person is talking rubbish.

Made up words and Red Tories is hardly abusive unless you are awfully easily offended.

I haven't noticed any reference to Thatcher being dead in a derogatory sense anywhere on this thread.

Their have been some strong opinions and lots of sarcasm from all sides of the debate.

I know that you are not able to name the people you are referring to but the least you could do is quote the posts concerned without the names.

Reading back on your posts it is obvious where your loyalties lie and you have not exactly been shy at forcing your opinions over with strong words yourself. If you cant take it dont give it.

Labour up two points in latest Scottish poll. Looks to be a tactical shift from Tories who are down one. SNP also down one.

Enough to save Murphy?

Anyone who believed the hysterical nonsense of the media two days ago when they suggested the SNP could take all 59 seats...needs to lie down in a darkened room. 

Murphy will survive..as will Alexander and around a dozen others.

Only real fall will be Curran.

SNP..41

Labour..15

Lib Dems...1

Tories..2.

Anyone who believed the hysterical nonsense of the media two days ago when they suggested the SNP could take all 59 seats...needs to lie down in a darkened room. 

SNP..41

Labour..15

Lib Dems...1

Tories..2.

Get yourself to the bookies mate if you really believe that.  You will fill your little red booties....I have already but regretting it now given the latest and last polls..but hey ho...  

It's already on.

Could be a long night.

:baby:

It's already on.

Could be a long night.

:baby:

Aye, but I'll be celebrating my loss with a big glass of Fizz :2thumbsup:

STV with a drastically reduced number of MP's overall. Far too many of them in the big cities, Birmingham & Glasgow as two major examples. Need a separate assembly for England as well, hopefully leading to a more federal system, but that will be difficult to achieve.

The Commons could used for the English Parliament, and convert the HOLs to a Senate.

If I can steal a wee sidism.

Hiya Scottish Labour, Hiya pal.

Murphy oot, Alexander oot, Curran oot,

Tick Tock to Cider Time.

jambo1185

I prefer my poetry to rhyme. Were you a member of the national collective aussieh? They could have used someone with your uniquely beautiful way with words.

Enjoy vote day everyone. Its going to be a cracker isnt it. Maybe by this time next week we will know who our pm is going to be.

In yonder hill there stood a dookit,

its no there noo cause somecant tookit,

but see slab theyre the reverse,

theyll no dae it, for the sweat on their erse.

Aussie has spoken.

Aw the best to everyone,

but nae luck.

Pans Jambo

O look, oil prices are rising.

Shhhh. It will spoil their "good job it was a no vote" pesh.

Hasselhoff

Agree with some of your post but I watched this the other night. It's fairly long at about 20 mins but he has an interesting theory on minimum wage and evidence of Seattle in particular raising it and seeing tremendous benefits. Worth a watch.....

Watched the video and the guy has some good points. If people have more money, they will spend more and businesses will do better. People choosing not to work because benefits pay better than a job should not be happening and that is what I expect the government to crack down on.

TheMaganator

Good, non-lunatic opening sentance from the tragic Hibby

"The UK is now a pointless entity, existing solely to protect entrenched privilege and continue the transference of the country?s resources to a global elite. "

Pans Jambo

Good, non-lunatic opening sentance from the tragic Hibby

"The UK is now a pointless entity, existing solely to protect entrenched privilege and continue the transference of the country?s resources to a global elite. "

Aye the truth hurts.

Hasselhoff

"Neoliberalism, austerity, the preservation and protection of a secretive nonce ruling class, and the destruction of a Britain founded on the welfare state: it seems inherently sane to want independence from all of that. The real madness lies in tolerating this twisted nonsense, while assuming it?s going to fix itself."

Yet one of Scotland's biggest cities, Glasgow is torn by needless sectarian rivalry which the rest of Scotland would happily declare independence from. It is preserved through the generations with little done to stop it despite it being non-relevant in this day and age. The lack of old firm derbies in the last 3 years has made people forget just how vile The sectarian nonsense can be and I would rather this sectarian element remained a small proportion of the UK rather than a large proportion of an Indy Scotland.

SNP..41

Labour..15

Lib Dems...1

Tories..2.

lib dems 1

tories 1

snp 28

labour 29

Thunderstruck

O look, oil prices are rising.

"If your oil price forecast is right, wait a moment.? Geopolitical factors, like fluctuating Libyan oil production, mean that oil prices are not only volatile but uncertain, especially in the short-term. A one month move in prices tells us almost nothing about ?longer-term? prices, where longer-term is more than a quarter."

"The Great Oil Price Recovery of 2015", Forbes 6 May 15

The key word in there is "volatile". Would you be happy to base a large part of your economy and revenues on a volatile commodity?

I suppose we could always Frack our way out of the problem.

deesidejambo

SNP 25

Tories 2

LD 2

Labour the rest.

C'mon Annie Begg.

And on the poetry theme -

There was an old man called Eck

With acolytes lined at his beck.

Gordon was his seat

But hes went and got beat

By some Liberal woman

SNP 25

Tories 2

LD 2

Labour the rest.

C'mon Annie Begg.

And on the poetry theme -

There was an old man called Eck

With acolytes lined at his beck.

Gordon was his seat

But hes went and got beat

By some Liberal woman

Votes in from the British expat jury at my work (about 20 of us in our area)

Cameron: Arsehole

Miliband: Joke

No of expats voting: 0

No of expats glad to be in Oz: 100%

Postal vote cast last week. Last day of holiday in London today. Heading down to Westminster soon to see the media scramble. Should get back home just before the results come in.

michael_bolton

I work for the British Council abroad. Official Un-official Election results are in. 100% SNP from the Scottish vote - sample size: 8

The English voters actually came in at an exact 50/50. There are no Welsh/N.Irish people at work

Not sure how many are actually voting, although if you work for the British Council it's not hard. I still managed to make a mess of it...

Edited by michael_bolton

The SNP and that other separist party Sinn Fein have a lot more in common than they would care to admit. Both parties would do anything to break up the union and both parties despise the vast majority of citizens from Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

That is quite possibly the most inaccurate and nonsensical thing I think i've read on here, and there's been some utter shite over the years.

Watched the video and the guy has some good points. If people have more money, they will spend more and businesses will do better. People choosing not to work because benefits pay better than a job should not be happening and that is what I expect the government to crack down on.

As much as I'd like them to crack down on stuff like that I wonder how eager you'd be to work on low wages when you could earn more doing less or even for doing nothing? Hate the game not the player I say. We'd all cheat a little bit given half the chance it's human nature although it does need fixed I agree 100%. Look at the greedy politicians from every party filling their boots out the public purse for expenses left right and centre. Total hypocrites whilst claiming austerity is something your just going to have to accept. Sickening.

And instead of always victimising the poorer folk what about making inroads on things like corporate welfare?

http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2014/oct/06/benefits-corporate-welfare-research-public-money-businesses?CMP=share_btn_fb

Why not go after companies that pay zero tax instead of people with an extra bedroom in a council house?

Why is their now seemingly socialism for the banks and corporations with state bailouts and zero tax yet austerity and capitalism for the working man?

This guy thinks the SNP have it right. I'm not suggesting I'm an economist or agreeing btw but it's an alternative opinion to the constant austerity line that's gets trotted out. The debt line is trotted out so often it's almost made to sound like it's yours and mine, what the **** did we do like?[emoji1] The people who caused it are still handing themselves obscene bonuses it's crazy and their bed partners are telling you and me and our children have to pay the price?!!

http://everyinvestor.co.uk/2015/05/05/video-steve-keen-criticises-naive-austerity-politics/

Do you remember the Tories wanted a pasty tax on things like your steak bakes from greggs? Then made a big deal about going to the bingo and a penny off your pint? Away with the goalie and just shows they living in another universe to the average man.

That is quite possibly the most inaccurate and nonsensical thing I think i've read on here, and there's been some utter shite over the years.

Indeed. I've voted Nat in the past. I would never vote for terrorists or their apologists.

I'm half hoping the OP was pished when he wrote that shite because the alternative is a staggering lack of intellect. 

Vote cast at 7.15am.

Always feel proud that I've "done my bit"

Can't understand those that can't be arsed to use their vote.

Even today there are countries where people would literally die to have this privilege that we take for granted.

So whoever you vote for get out there and VOTE

As much as I'd like them to crack down on stuff like that I wonder how eager you'd be to work on low wages when you could earn more doing less or even for doing nothing? Hate the game not the player I say. We'd all cheat a little bit given half the chance it's human nature although it does need fixed I agree 100%. Look at the greedy politicians from every party filling their boots out the public purse for expenses left right and centre. Total hypocrites whilst claiming austerity is something your just going to have to accept. Sickening.

And instead of always victimising the poorer folk what about making inroads on things like corporate welfare?

http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2014/oct/06/benefits-corporate-welfare-research-public-money-businesses?CMP=share_btn_fb

Why not go after companies that pay zero tax instead of people with an extra bedroom in a council house?

Why is their now seemingly socialism for the banks and corporations with state bailouts and zero tax yet austerity and capitalism for the working man?

This guy thinks the SNP have it right. I'm not suggesting I'm an economist or agreeing btw but it's an alternative opinion to the constant austerity line that's gets trotted out. The debt line is trotted out so often it's almost made to sound like it's yours and mine, what the **** did we do like?[emoji1] The people who caused it are still handing themselves obscene bonuses it's crazy and their bed partners are telling you and me and our children have to pay the price?!!

http://everyinvestor.co.uk/2015/05/05/video-steve-keen-criticises-naive-austerity-politics/

Do you remember the Tories wanted a pasty tax on things like your steak bakes from greggs? Then made a big deal about going to the bingo and a penny off your pint? Away with the goalie and just shows they living in another universe to the average man.

Austerity is like a dream come true for the Tories. They are using this policy to " roll back the state" to its most minimal level of economic and social intervention. Simple as that. Its never been necessary. 

I'm still waiting for someone to explain to me how borrowing almost ?2bn a week is "austerity". It's a fecking myth!

freddiemac

I'm half hoping the OP was pished when he wrote that shite because the alternative is a staggering lack of intellect.

if you can look at the photos from tommy sheridan and friends anti-austerity day in george square last weekend you will be horrified and educated

To be fair, any event featuring shagger Sheridan is not likely to be a fertile breeding ground for MENSA.

Pans Jambo

Top Post.

The last part in particular resonates with me. a penny off a pint & they think it will bring back the thousands of pubs that have closed down the years and boost the brewing industry. 50P off a pint may have done that. Seriously, even if you drink 10 pints a night on a Fri/Sat, what would you do with the 20p you have saved???? Complete loonies!

Anyone noticed that the petrol/diesel price is creeping up again? nobody saying anything about it though.

jambo1185

To be fair, any event featuring shagger Sheridan is not likely to be a fertile breeding ground for MENSA.

Haha. I'm sure I read somewhere that well in advance of the referendum it was made clear to Sheridan by Salmond and a few others that he would not be playing any role in the official campaign, presumably because he's an utter welt.

Firstly, the SNP is not affiliated to a terrorist organisation has never, And has never taken part in a terrorist campaign designed to kill and maim civilians and members of the armed forces, and that was not the comparison I was looking at.

Questioning my intellect is allowed although I do believe I am relatively well educated, reasonably intelligent, read a broad spectrum of news, both online and paper media. I just see similarities between these parties. Both are in negotiation in background to support Labour coalition, both want to remove their country from the UK (against the wishes of the majority of its people), both have a broadly left wing socialist agenda, both are pro European and both are anti nuclear. Both also operate a strict no dissent policy amongst its politicians.

The SNP's ex leader, Mr Salmond was a member of the infamous 79 group who advocated civil disobedience, worker militancy, and an overthrow and removal of the monarchy. He was expelled from SNP for this, but allowed to rejoin almost immediately as were the other members. This is something Salmond hates to be reminded about. Read about this group, it's aims and who its friends were and the links.

As the poster said above about the Sheridan gathering, whilst you may like to believe that this is not the case, not everyone in Scotland perhaps shares your viewpoint and these people are quite open about their support for Irish and Scottish nationalism. A lot of rank and file supporters of the SNP do have a jaundiced view of the English, openly dislike them and sneer whenever they comment.

Edited by Malinga the Swinga