The 2015 General Election Megathread

Rand Paul's Ray Bans

Will be reminiscent of Hibs fans after 5-1. The diehard Unionists will be shaking with rage.

More likely rage from the nationalists when they don't win as many seats as expected and are frozen out.

• Replies 14k

• aussieh

• JamboX2

• TheMaganator

• Boris

I agree that there are nutters afoot from all parties but it's not some of the mad conspiracy stuff that I'm on about it's the reporting of it,as I was alluding to further up the thread.

It's a murky business.

As Alex Thomson said, it's not been a particularly busy bank holiday if this is the biggest story going. But he did point out that the issue is these guys have claimed to be SNP members and were waving SNP banners, so the question is asked as a result.

Delighted about more people being interested and engaged in politics. But this stuff makes me despair.

Rand Paul's Ray Bans

That bastion of the Tory right-wing press, The Independent, has backed another Con-LibDem coalition.

:wow:

How long before a Miliband vendetta against Evgeny Lebedev? 

More likely rage from the nationalists when they don't win as many seats as expected and are frozen out.

The SNP will do well there is no point in denying that.

The only question is the extent. As an SNP voter anything over 20 seats will do me.

I want the Tories out. Scotland can not afford another five years of their cuts. 

Again as an SNP supporter I suppose a Tory win would hasten a referendum but the price of another five years of the Tories would be too much imo.

Rand Paul's Ray Bans

That bastion of the Tory right-wing press, The Independent, has backed another Con-LibDem coalition.

And there we have it - Labour types mewling that the Indy isn't supporting Labour because Lebedev is a non-dom etc etc. :lol:

The irony of labour types complaining about getting some heckling is frankly a joke. They started the Tory baiting and demonising and now they're getting some of their own medicine personally I find it pretty satisfying. I just wish somebody had stoated an egg right off Murphy and his mates coupons I would've pished myself laughing.

Look back at their shameful hounding of John Major in 92 and tell me this is anything like comparable. It's not but they can't try make enough stories about their countrymen all turning nazi they are beneath contempt but still they don't get it.

Labour are a disgrace with joke figures in charge and their cummupence can't come soon enough.

Eddie ****ing Izzard :rofl:

All these photo opportunities in the referendum with their fellow unionists in the Tory and Lib Dems are coming back to haunt Scottish Labour big time.

Folk were pissed off with their new labour policies and hardly any difference between Tory and Labour and their performance in the referendum just capped it all.

Do the arithmetic 40% of Labour voters supported a YES vote couple that with the existing SNP membership and there is your surge in SNP support.

Robbie Neilson

Mind when politics used to be about debating issues and policies. Now its some bam shouted suhin in a street and he supports X aw but but but what about the bam in the street with the sign that said whatever and he supports Y

Murphy would do well to try and take the SNP on on politics. Not some idiot member of the public. I could go out tomorrow with a Labour/Consevative/SNP/Greens rosette on and cause an equally big stir

Get back to debating the issues, politician to politician, forget the idiots. Im not going to vote for Labour cause an SNP suppoter pushed Jim Murphy

Edited by Robbie Neilson

The new editor there is also a bit of a Tory.

Papers chop and change every so often. Nothing to loose sleep over move along in my opinion. But I'm not shocked the Independent has made this choice - they supported the more centre right, Clegg LibDems at the last election and haven't been too critical of the coalition.

Mind when politics used to be about debating issues and policies. Now its some bam shouted suhin in a street and he supports X aw but but but what about the bam in the street with the sign that said whatever and he supports Y

Murphy would do well to try and take the SNP on on politics. Not some idiot member of the public. I could go out tomorrow with a Labour/Consevative/SNP/Greens rosette on and cause an equally big stir

Get back to debating the issues, politician to politician, forget the idiots. Im not going to vote for Labour cause an SNP suppoter pushed Jim Murphy

Issue is Jim Murphy had the chance to do just that a month or two ago. He was talking about policies and principles around Christmas and the new year, but since the actual campaign began he's resorted to the vote Labour or get the Tories (and with the way polls are looking we will get a Cameron minority). I think had Labour focused on policy they'd have done better by now than they are.

Edited by JamboX2

The only question is the extent. As an SNP voter anything over 20 seats will do me.

I want the Tories out. Scotland can not afford another five years of their cuts.

Again as an SNP supporter I suppose a Tory win would hasten a referendum but the price of another five years of the Tories would be too much imo.

I agree we can't afford another Tory Labour government. But I reckon we'll get one.

The British people seem only capable of seeing that the party with most seats is the winner. Not alliances of third, second and fourth place together. This was also the case in 2007. Salmond declared the SNP winners with the moral authority to govern on a 1 seat difference. McConnell in yesterday's Scotland on Sunday pointed at his decision not to agree a coalition with the Liberals to form a government then when offered because of it. Adding he withdrew official Labour protests to the Cunninghame North result where there were more spoilt ballots than the majority due to an accidental ruining of ballots on a ferry from ballot station to counting office, due to fears it would not be well received by the public.

If the Tories form a minority government, fail to pass anything then I reckon we may well face a Labour minority which won't last long as the backlash won't be pretty from many corners. And it will be hard to govern effectively when your legitimacy to be there is repeatedly questioned.

A second election seems likely in either outcome. No one wants it. The markets, the EU, the SNP, Tories, Labour etc no one wants it. But I can't see it not happening within a year unless a Lab-Lib or Tory-Lib deal can hold a majority.

In short, in Scotland and across the UK the public seem to view it as the party with most seats should have dibs on governing. 1974, 2007 and even as far back as the 1920s show second parties in power backed by a third are weak and fall quickly.

freddiemac
considering Murphy was originally heckled in Buchanan st before getting into a car down to st Enoch square,where the picture is clearly taken from. You and your cohort cade could do worse than check out a few simple facts before posting myths.

freddiemac

A few points about today's "SNP thug ambush"

1) It was 5 people.

2) They were disability rights campaigners, not SNP.

3) One of them is Sean Clerkin, a serial heckler who has also in the past heckled Sturgeon. He identifies his politics as "international socialist". He notifies the Police of rallies he intends to heckle. The Police knew in advance that he was attending.

4) Labour officials told Sean that Jim Murphy would be there. The whole thing was orchestrated by Labour.

So to recap: It wasn't SNP, it wasn't an ambush, it was 5 people tipped off by Labour themselves, hoping for a repeat of the egg incident.

try a wee Google sean clerkin alex salmond photo? You might be able to educate yourself better about whose company he likes to be in.SEAN CLERKIN ex snp candidate Edited by freddiemac

http://www.electoralcalculus.co.uk/cgi-bin/seatdetails.pl?seat=Gordon

If Salmond has 58% of the vote. The others can tactical vote as much as they like it wont make a blind bit of difference.

You have wasted your money and the Aberdeen constituency is just as bleak for you.

Sorry if I have missed something but what date was that poll taken. Cant see it anywhere.

TheMaganator

^ that Ferrier is the one that's looking forward to full fiscal responsibility as well as keeping the Barnett formula.

And we'll be sending her to Westminster :rofl:

I could post the well published picture of former labour MP Ann Begg sharing a laugh with NF Scotland activist Dave McDonald during the referendum campaign .

Extremists like McDonald like the guy who hounds Murphy latch onto people , political parties and sometimes football clubs .

The SNP are not any more responsible for him than Ann is a friend of the NF .

Sorry if I have missed something but what date was that poll taken. Cant see it anywhere.

Its on the home page. 24/04/2015 - 03/05/2015

Don Draper

You never had a photo taken with an undesirable character that you later regretted, Mags? Happens to the best of us.

0909048a-3569-48a5-994d-c724bd97829f-620

I personally want another 5 years of the Consevatives. We can't afford 5 years of Labour wrecking the recovery we have and then leaving another note when the Conservatives get back in again to pick up the Labour mess. Also don't want independence but happy enough with devolution.

Don Draper

To take this on another course do people really believe an end to austerity is the way forward? That we Spend our way out of trouble? We already spend money we do not have and people want to spend even more than we already have..

It's stupidity on quite a staggering scale.. Neither wonder bright house and the like do so well..

Austerity's been an unmitigated disaster.

freddiemac

Aye - nothing to do with the SNP likesy2FC4D92C-049F-4CA9-8A51-6663A81A03C0_zps

well mags who do I believe you or sturgeon who proclaimed today that the hecklers were nothing to do with snp . She didn't know sean clerkin was once a snp candidate ? With your impeccable track record mags ,I,m going with you. Maybe the krankiecopter was affecting her .

I could post the well published picture of former labour MP Ann Begg sharing a laugh with NF Scotland activist Dave McDonald during the referendum campaign .

Extremists like McDonald like the guy who hounds Murphy latch onto people , political parties and sometimes football clubs .

The SNP are not any more responsible for him than Ann is a friend of the NF .

If they are members of the SNP, and as channel 4 news stated they said they were, then it's more so that the SNP have a responsibility here as to the conduct of its members when out campaigning.

Ann Begg, who is still running so let's see how she does, and her photo were equally poor. However, that guy wasn't in Labour as so it wasn't their duty.

A lot of ifs and buts here, and what I've said is based on the C4 news report of this today at 7 where they were quoted as being SNP members. But if that's the case then the level of responsibility for the SNP to distance themselves from stuff like that is greater.

I agree though that movements and collections of people attract bad elements. But when they reveal themselves respectable organisations should boot them out.

well mags who do I believe you or sturgeon who proclaimed today that the hecklers were nothing to do with snp . She didn't know sean clerkin was once a snp candidate ? With your impeccable track record mags ,I,m going with you. Maybe the krankiecopter was affecting her .

I watched this incident on the news and unless the BBC have doctored the film it seems a bit of a skirmish nothing more.

considering Murphy was originally heckled in Buchanan st before getting into a car down to st Enoch square,where the picture is clearly taken from. You and your cohort cade could do worse than check out a few simple facts before posting myths.

Yeah the picture is a myth

Its on the home page. 24/04/2015 - 03/05/2015

These are statistical projections based on an analysis of national polls for the period and no evidence on how and when the predictions for individual constituencies where made. Or the methodology used. In no way is it based on a poll of voters in each contituency or any variation in voting intentions anywhere.

Now I take polls seriously and think the SNP should do very well but this analysis is not one I would trust. Based on their figures its a total non contest all over Scotland .

Thunderstruck

By how much has the total UK public expenditure declined since 2010?

The Unionists are getting desperate no matter what they try the tide against them is relentless. Roll on Friday.

Gorgiewave

The Unionists are getting desperate no matter what they try the tide against them is relentless. Roll on Friday.

SNP + Sinn Fein + SDLP + Plaid Cymru will be about 65-70.

580-585 Unionist.

Gorgiewave

Effortless sanctimony means being angry at rising debt, angry at reduced spending and freezing council tax for all.

http://www.scotsman.com/news/john-curtice-still-hope-for-labour-in-scotland-1-3761699

I'll take a football team of MPs for now. Plus perhaps 2 Liberals and a Tory means around 45 SNP MPs.

Have a feeling on the day that may be less than 45 MPs but if it is then so be it. But we could then face a Tory government, minority or not.

580-585 Unionist.

Labour will do a deal as usual with the SDLP even though their main aim is to breal up the union.

Strange

Gorgiewave

Labour will do a deal as usual with the SDLP even though their main aim is to breal up the union.

Strange

They have no chance of that, though.

You and your party DO NOT speak for Scotland. Do you not understand that concept?

Lmao @ that reply,come Friday we will be the masters,your mob can get back to what they do best,thuggery.

Thunderstruck

It is indeed. Note the increased NHS spend year on year and reconcile that with what Scotland spent on NHS (despite Barnett Consequentials). It does make the "NHYES" car stickers more than a little ironic.

The big, unanswered question is where did that money go?

Lmao @ that reply,come Friday we will be the masters,your mob can get back to what they do best,thuggery.

God, you really are deluded!

Gorgiewave

Masters of what? You'll have a maximum of 9% of the seats. Labour, Lib Dems and Conservative will have 85%+.

A referendum if Westminster agrees.

This was just an angry protest not chaos

http://standingstonesblog.blogspot.co.uk/2015/05/david-cameron-met-by-angry-protesters.html?m=1

Murphys advisor John Mcternan just happened to be advising in Australia when this underneath happened I believe it was just a coincidence . Lots of interesting opinions stuff on the job he did in Oz on the Internet .

http://m.adelaidenow.com.au/news/gillard-and-abbott-run-protest-gauntlet/story-e6frea6u-1226254435221

Edited by ToadKiller Dog

Gorgiewave

Here's the proportion of Scotland's GDP spent by the state (year, pop. in millions, % of GDP spent by state)

2006   5.151 41.91 2007   5.169 43.95 2008   5.187 46.43 2009   5.204 48.55 2010   5.222 51.49 2011   5.233 51.93 2012   5.251 52.69 2013   5.268 53.94

http://www.ukpublicspending.co.uk/spending_chart_1994_2013SCp_14c1li011tcn_F0t

2006 MW gdp 60.843 39.40 2007 MW gdp 61.194 39.08 2008 MW gdp 61.548 40.61 2009 MW gdp 61.904 45.47 2010 1500.3 62.262 44.86 2011 1576.5 62.649 44.03 2012 1626.2 63.067 42.70 2013 1663.1 63.488 40.52

http://www.ukpublicspending.co.uk/spending_chart_1994_2013UKp_14c1li011tcn_F0t

Now, forgive my dynamite logic, but having public spending much higher than UK's and rising every year since 2006 despite a recession and UK GDP rising every year despite a recession gives the impression that: (a) Scotland might need more money per head but it certainly spends a lot more; (B) public spending has not suffered much due to the recession.

Remember, if you want taxes on the City of London and bankers' bonuses to be spend in and on Scotland, Scotland must be in the Union.

Leipzig 51

General elections are so stage managed an sterile nowadays. 

Its got to the stage when a megaphone or an egg are seen as violent weapons.

It used to be that eggs flour and punches were thrown on a regular basis and everyone thought is was normal.

This must be the tamest election ever.

Is it not time for a Kickback poll now anyway?

Don Draper

Effortless sanctimony means being angry at rising debt, angry at reduced spending and freezing council tax for all.

emperors_new_clothes.jpg

freddiemac

Yeah the picture is a myth

Nobody said the the picture is a myth ,just the wrong place at the wrong time .take it you agree with eddie reader ,that Murphy was just looking for trouble by campaigning in "yes city"

I didnae no the Speakers seat is never contested.

You learn something new everyday.

I'm still unsure of how I'm going to end up voting. The one thing I'm certain about is that I  really want a Scotland where me or my children are able to voice their opinion without fear of intimidation so for that reason I won't be voting SNP.  

Psychedelicropcircle

580-585 Unionist.

But but but, they're on opposite sides right?

chuck berrys hairline

Is it two votes this time? Local and national.

Also have they done away with the preference pish ie 1,2,3 felt weird last time trying to find a number 2 worthy of being second choice!

dobmisterdobster

A female SNP canvasser in Paisley was hospitalised, needing stitches after she was punched and kicked by a gang of thugs.