Recommend a tv series

Quite enjoying 'hidden Assets' on iplayer, just a couple of episodes in.

Irish/Belgian cop thing, drugs and terrorism stuff

• Replies 8.8k

• JudyJudyJudy

• Tazio

• Carl Fredrickson

• Ray Gin

Been waiting a wee while for this but watched the first episode of series 4 of Ozark tonight, it's guid. 

7 episodes out now with the final 7 later this year.

27 minutes ago, Awbdy Oot said:

Been waiting a wee while for this but watched the first episode of series 4 of Ozark tonight, it's guid. 

First 3 seasons were immense.

Is it Netflix?

On 20/01/2022 at 07:51, JamesM48 said:

Finished re watching season 1 of  " The Sopranos" for the third time. Its still as fresh as when i first watched it. Really enjoying it again. My favourite line was in the last episode when Tony is in crisis and has to order various hits . He speaks to his wife and says  " its cunnilingus  and psychiatry that got us to this stage ".. :) Perfect , Was there ever a villain as shadey as Livia Soprano? Shes one cunning so and so.  

image-23-10-21-07-02-7.jpeg

Ive watched every episode of every season twice, and definitely looking to watching for. Third time at some point. The best series ever in my opinion. A holy grail of characters and performances. Just perfection

35 minutes ago, 1971fozzy said:

Ive watched every episode of every season twice, and definitely looking to watching for. Third time at some point. The best series ever in my opinion. A holy grail of characters and performances. Just perfection

It really is . Im on season 3 now. Savouring every episode. 

Spoiler

It was tragic that Nancy Marchand died. She played Livia.  David Chase was going to have Livia testify against Tony in court in a planned story line but it had to be shelved due to Nancy dying. It would really have decked Tony up even more with his mum doing that. Im just at episode 3 season 3 after Livias death. 

image-23-10-21-07-02-9.jpeg

HeartsandonlyHearts
On 21/01/2022 at 19:32, Awbdy Oot said:

The Mexican nephew is a dumb scary bar steward

Total switch your brain off but I’ve been watching the Magnum remakes on catch up on Sky. Enjoyable fluff.

And the recasting of Higgins is most agreeable. 

Ozark S4 has been superb. Blitzed the 7 available episodes.

(Especially great considering I thought it had been cancelled after s3. A welcome surprise.)

HeartsandonlyHearts
9 minutes ago, Ray Gin said:

(Especially great considering I thought it had been cancelled after s3. A welcome surprise.)

Just finished the 7 available as well. No complaints. Other than where is the other 7?

:waiting:

Great show.

22 minutes ago, Ray Gin said:

Me too, can't wait for the second half later this year now!

2 hours ago, Tazio said:

This week’s Book Of Boba Fett. 
Ooyah beauty. 

Hide contents

The Mandalorian. 

:scenes: How can Disney get their Star Wars TV stuff so right, and the films so totally wrong? :rofl:

On 25/01/2022 at 16:13, FFSJohn said:

Not sure if it's been mentioned however Irvin Welsh's 'Crime' is very good.

Sorry, but it is Welsh's usual pish. Fluked out with Trainspotting and since then he just churns out more repetitive shit.

come on guys, let us know where to find the show?

I battered through s4 of Ozark on Netflix, didn't disappoint.

Quite a few on Terrestrial to keep me occupied.

The Bay (ITV)

Trigger Point (ITV)

The Responder (BBC)

Detective McLean (ITV)

Only watching the Bay so far, it's a decent watch.

1 hour ago, Tommy Brown said:

come on guys, let us know where to find the show?

I battered through s4 of Ozark on Netflix, didn't disappoint.

Quite a few on Terrestrial to keep me occupied.

The Bay (ITV)

Trigger Point (ITV)

The Responder (BBC)

Detective McLean (ITV)

Only watching the Bay so far, it's a decent watch.

Ozark is a great show. Cant wait for the next episodes of S4 later this year. 

The Bay is ok, not a gripper but decent. I really enjoyed The Responder - Martin Freeman (sp?) plays his role really well. I am looking forward to Trigger Point - might start that tonight. 

I have watched so many things since lockdown that I am struggling for new shows but BBC & ITV players have some good crime/drama stuff. 

21 hours ago, tokyowalnut said:

The Responder on BBC has been brilliant. 

Currently watching episode 4. Once I got used to accents, it's been great to watch. The young woman who steals drugs and the dopey guy who is helping her are brilliant. The young lad looks like Bez from Happy Mondays but Bez is s genius compared to this lad.

Disser Pointon

Peacemaker. If you liked the new Suicide Squad you'll love this!! Purile but.......🤣🤣🤣🤣

Edited by Disser Pointon

1 hour ago, Tazio said:

Time for my regular moan on this and the film thread. 
Could people please include what platform they watched something on in their posts. 

Amazon's Reacher has all episodes available from this Friday. It looks like at least physique wise they have got it right compared to the nonsense of Tom cruise. The trailer looks good and as I said Alan Ritchson looks about right for the character.

Currently binge watching Dead To Me (on Netlix, Taz 😀 ).

Started watching it months ago and after 2 episodes , gave up (even though it has great reviews , won various awards) but decided to revisit it out of desperate boredom. . The subject matter on first glance isn't all that but it is damn good. Funny, sad, great plot, good script writing.

Solid 8/10 and getting better. 

On 30/01/2022 at 16:13, Disser Pointon said:

Peacemaker. If you liked the new Suicide Squad you'll love this!! Purile but.......🤣🤣🤣🤣

My new favourite show.

Love the comedy in it 🤣🤣🤣

Robert Patrick is brilliant in it

Disser Pointon
5 hours ago, Madjambo21 said:

My new favourite show.

Love the comedy in it 🤣🤣🤣

Robert Patrick is brilliant in it

The opening credits alone are hilarious! 🤣

Watched the teacher (4 parter) on ch5 . About a teachers alleged affair with a pupil. Absolute garbage following a decent 1st episode. Sheridan Smith stars and couldn’t save it. Plot holes doesn’t even begin to cover it. 

Edited by 1971fozzy

On 03/02/2022 at 17:42, Lord BJ said:

Just started watching snowflake, very good so far.

sounds interesting 😀

Reacher on Amazon.

Good story line, decent fight scenes.

Some of the dialogue is a bit....American if you now what I mean, but I haven't read the books so it may be accurate.

Some wooden acting in it but if you look past that, its not too bad.

EDIT: Also, there's that annoying thing they always do in American action movies. The hero is a trained ex-military specialist, 6' 5", 250Lbs machine!

He fights 6 guys at once and breaks them easily. Then in a separate scene, he fights one 5'10", 175lbs weed and the guy almost kills him. I don't get it.

Edited by Pans Jambo

12 minutes ago, Pans Jambo said:

Pam & Tommy on Disney+

T n' A all over the place :oohmatron:

you do realise that they are prosthetics so that lily james chest size matched pamela andersons

Just now, milky_26 said:

you do realise that they are prosthetics so that lily james chest size matched pamela andersons

Yeh but I'm a bloke mate. My eyes see what they see!

22 minutes ago, Pans Jambo said:

Reacher on Amazon.

Some of the dialogue is a bit....American if you now what I mean, but I haven't read the books so it may be accurate.

EDIT: Also, there's that annoying thing they always do in American action movies. The hero is a trained ex-military specialist, 6' 5", 250Lbs machine!

He fights 6 guys at once and breaks them easily. Then in a separate scene, he fights one 5'10", 175lbs weed and the guy almost kills him. I don't get it.

Well I’ve only watched 2 episodes but now I kind of know what’s going to happen at some point. Cheers. 

HeartsandonlyHearts
6 hours ago, Pans Jambo said:

Reacher on Amazon.

He did explain later why he struggled against that particular guy. If it’s the fight scene out back of the Blue Cat? 
Just watched it last night. 😂

2 hours ago, HeartsandonlyHearts said:

He did explain later why he struggled against that particular guy. If it’s the fight scene out back of the Blue Cat? 
Just watched it last night. 😂

Still. The hero always seems

to go through movies beating up or killing people without breaking a sweat. Then the final showdown he gets his ass kicked and left for dead…then jumps up or grabs the gun or whatever at the last minute and kills the “baddie”. Does my nut in!

EDIT: & whilst I am moaning…what about car chase scenes? The pick up truck/van/bus always seems to catch or keep up with the 6ltr Camero/Corvette or whatever! A pick up truck cant go that fast FFS!!!

Edited by Pans Jambo

On 05/02/2022 at 19:34, 1971fozzy said:

Watched the teacher (4 parter) on ch5 . About a teachers alleged affair with a pupil. Absolute garbage following a decent 1st episode. Sheridan Smith stars and couldn’t save it. Plot holes doesn’t even begin to cover it. 

It was a bit shit eh

" The Nilsen Files" on BBC2 and Iplayer

This really was outstanding. Its a 3 part documentary about Denis Nilsen but mostly focuses on his victims. The journalist presenting it is gay and wanted to know why no one really knows much about the victims . He looked back at archive footage and interviewed police and journalists involved in the case and was horrified ( but not surprised) at the level of ingrained homophobia about the case and the victims. Most of the victims were described as" rent boys" or " down and outs"  or  " tramps"  or other disparaging names.

There was no real evidence that some were rent boys either. But the media just labelled them as such. They were all young , vulnerable boy/men ( one victim was only 14 ) who try to seek their fortune in London or left a family live due to homophobia from their family.  The first identified victim really had no chance in life . He was fostered as child, was in borstal then was on the streets where he was unlucky enough to meet Nilsen. 

Kudos to the journalist who really brought some dignity and respect to the victims he was able to find out more about and he spoke to one of the potential victims family and this was very sensitively handled and moving. The guy was nearly killed by Nilsen but managed to escape but was never the same and died an alcoholic several years later. His family ( brother and sister) spoke affectionately  about him. 

10/10 from me. 

1 hour ago, Cade said:

Book of Boba Fett

:wow:

😁

Spoiler

Gutted they got rid of Cad Bane so soon after his live action debut though.

1 minute ago, neilnunb said:

😁

Hide contents

Gutted they got rid of Cad Bane so soon after his live action debut though.

Spoiler

Is he deid but?

1 minute ago, Cade said:

Reveal hidden contents

Is he deid but?

Spoiler

Haha well aye wouldn't be the first character they bring back...

Still annoyed they never brought my favourite, Bossk, in although guess they thought it'd be too obvious for this season.

• Kalamazoo Jambo changed the title to Recommend a tv series