• JudyJudyJudy

• Tazio

• Carl Fredrickson

• Ray Gin

11 hours ago, Ron Burgundy said:

It's in the new release stuff, think it's something like The Real Pirates of the Caribbean.

The lost pirate kingdom 

10 hours ago, Ron Burgundy said:

Just checked, The Lost Pirate Kingdom.

I started it last night and by god some of it is awful. I think they went way over budget getting Derek Jacobi to do the voiceover and had no cash to get anyone else decent to act in it. I can forgive the dodgy CGI as that costs a fortune but the “dramatic recreations” and script are poor. 
I’ll watch it all though as I love pirate history stuff. 

On 17/03/2021 at 19:39, Tazio said:

I started it last night and by god some of it is awful. I think they went way over budget getting Derek Jacobi to do the voiceover and had no cash to get anyone else decent to act in it. I can forgive the dodgy CGI as that costs a fortune but the “dramatic recreations” and script are poor. 
I’ll watch it all though as I love pirate history stuff. 

Pirates were flamboyant and OTT, it was always going to be overly dramatic and fanciful. 

Also the head pirate geezer Hornblower or whatever he was called reminded me of Rik Mayell for some reason.

maroonblood
On 10/03/2021 at 17:09, RobboM said:

Seen it recommended on here and watched it.
First episode was terrific. After that though I liked it less and less to the point I hated it. I mean really ****ing hated it. There's no character development, no dialogue of note it is just plot twist after contrived plot twist after random new character throwing a spanner in the works, followed by someone showing miraculous insight, followed by a ridiculous coincidence followed by more bullshit plot twist. Thought Bryan Cranston was more Hal from Malcolm in the Middle than Walter White from Breaking Bad in it.
0/10 .... up to you though 😉

I would agree with this. Had high expectations and first couple of episodes were good but then the rest could have been covered in a couple of episodes rather than stretching it out over 8, this combined with the increasingly unlikely plot line was frustrating because it could have been so much better. Law and Order would have done it in an hour. 

7 hours ago, Ron Burgundy said:

Pirates were flamboyant and OTT, it was always going to be overly dramatic and fanciful. 

Also the head pirate geezer Hornblower or whatever he was called reminded me of Rik Mayell for some reason.

I think they’re missing a trick by not making it clear just how short this period in history was. Most of the pirates featured were only active for 2 or 3 years max. 

Edited by Tazio

I started on F1 Drive To Survive Season 3 tonight. It really isn’t doing anything to make me like Hamilton anymore. Great driver but a moaning spoilt child. 

Edited by Tazio

On 07/03/2021 at 13:01, Muppetboy said:

Watched gogglebox the other night and they were watching a programme called your honour which looks really decent. Anyone seen it yet?

Yes I’m on episode 3 and really enjoying it . 

On 07/03/2021 at 15:44, Carl Fredrickson said:

Dont blame me if you dont like it....:peepwall:

Tale it as what it is, entertainment and not trying to be factual. I thought Bryan Cranstons character was similar to the role in Breaking Bad.

Yes I think so too . He’s a great actor 

On 10/03/2021 at 21:53, Malinga the Swinga said:

Thought Your Honour was

excellent and Badlands is good as well. 

Look forward to Sunday and it's conclusion. 

On 10/03/2021 at 16:55, ri Alban said:

:yas:   Fecking love LoD. Cannae wait.

Spoiler

Yes looking forward to it too . Still can’t get over the writer killing off its best ever character Lindsey Denton . It was heartbreaking . She was a terrific Ballsy female character with flaws but very human . Terrific acting from Keeley Hawes 

On 17/03/2021 at 19:49, Muppetboy said:

Watched your honour and really enjoyed it. Yeah there’s plot holes galore but I still found it entertaining. 8/10

Yes I’m on episode 3. But all ready noted some plot holes . Like when Brian Cranston goes to the police station.with the son how did he know that the women cryings son was the person. His son ran over ??? Daft . It’s not a spoiler as it happens very soon into the series btw 

Unbelievable (Netflix)

An emotional story of a rape victim.

Very well done, don't want to say more and spoil. I found it a really good watch.

Long shot - Netflix 

40 minute documentary about a man accused of murder and his only alibi is he was at a dodgers game, but nobody witnessed him there.

A must see if you’re a fan of curb your enthusiasm. 

Also if you liked Gomorrah you will enjoy 4 Blocks which is currently on Prime (season 1 and 2 only - not 3 for some strange reason!)

That's another cracking series.

1 hour ago, AndyNic said:

Zero Zero Zero.

Loving it.

Yeah it was great Dipped a bit towards the end but then picked up the last couple episodes. 

2 hours ago, ri Alban said:

Line of duty was pish. Kelly Mcdonald is a fecking awful actress. 

:( I was looking forward to this.

32 minutes ago, Ray Gin said:

:( I was looking forward to this.

it wasn’t pish. Just a slow burner. Enough intrigue to keep you watching. 

2 hours ago, Furious Styles said:

it wasn’t pish. Just a slow burner. Enough intrigue to keep you watching. 

Agreed.  I thought it was ok, though not as complex (at least at this stage) as previous openers have been.

Kelly McDonald can be a bit annoying.  She's one of those Scottish actors who speaks like she's reading.  It just sounds so unnatural.

1 minute ago, ri Alban said:

It was pish. 

Was far too slow. If I hadn’t enjoyed some of the other series so much I wouldn’t be watching the next episode. The boy who plays Kelly McDonald’s boss is as wooden an actor as I’ve ever seen. 

1 minute ago, GinRummy said:

Was far too slow. If I hadn’t enjoyed some of the other series so much I wouldn’t be watching the next episode. The boy who plays Kelly McDonald’s boss is as wooden an actor as I’ve ever seen. 

I was a bit confused with Kate for a wee while. Then KM with her robot dialogue while questioning the wee fella almost made me switch over. 

I'm a big fan of LoD, so I'll keep watching. 

On 21/03/2021 at 15:56, AndyNic said:

Also if you liked Gomorrah you will enjoy 4 Blocks which is currently on Prime (season 1 and 2 only - not 3 for some strange reason!)

That's another cracking series.

Ill check that out.

11 hours ago, ri Alban said:

LOL...shes a very good actress. she has  won a few acting awards and been nominated  for a few others.  You need to give the show time as its a slow burner as it always is.  

27 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Ill check that out.

LOL...shes a very good actress. she has  won a few acting awards and been nominated  for a few others.  You need to give the show time as its a slow burner as it always is.  

She ruins everything. I had to stop Boardwalk empire anaw. 

On 10/03/2021 at 16:55, ri Alban said:

:yas:   Fecking love LoD. Cannae wait.

12 hours ago, ri Alban said:

1 hour ago, ri Alban said:

It was pish. 

I fell asleep, will have start again.😭9

Good to see Kelly Mcdonald, loved her in Boardwalk Empire :whistling:

58 minutes ago, Tommy Brown said:

I fell asleep, will have start again.😭9

Good to see Kelly Mcdonald, loved her in Boardwalk Empire :whistling:

Something very hot about her in that series. 

1 hour ago, ri Alban said:

She ruins everything. I had to stop Boardwalk empire anaw. 

No way !

Just watched it. It isn’t that Kelly McDonald isn’t a good actor but she just doesn’t convince me so far as someone who as a woman that has had the drive and personality to reach DCI in a specialist police unit. Especially when she’s alongside Vicky McClure. Who incidentally managed to get her usual Nottingham Forest reference in. 

Edited by Tazio

On 20/03/2021 at 12:20, JamesM48 said:

Yes I’m on episode 3 and really enjoying it . 

Yes I think so too . He’s a great actor 

Reveal hidden contents

Yes looking forward to it too . Still can’t get over the writer killing off its best ever character Lindsey Denton . It was heartbreaking . She was a terrific Ballsy female character with flaws but very human . Terrific acting from Keeley Hawes 

Yes I’m on episode 3. But all ready noted some plot holes . Like when Brian Cranston goes to the police station.with the son how did he know that the women cryings son was the person. His son ran over ??? Daft . It’s not a spoiler as it happens very soon into the series btw 

probably because she was with her husband who is a crime kingpin and being a judge knew who they were. Then put 2+2 together.

the whole series is full of plot holes , just need to overlook them all and enjoy.

a bit like 24 etc, never realistic but enjoyable 

2 minutes ago, 1971fozzy said:

probably because she was with her husband who is a crime kingpin and being a judge knew who they were. Then put 2+2 together.

the whole series is full of plot holes , just need to overlook them all and enjoy.

On episode 7 now and I must say very disappointed In it . Like other said full of ludicrous plot holes and co incidences and character changes etc . But not that bad enough to not see how it all ends 

10 hours ago, Tazio said:

Just watched it. It isn’t that Kelly McDonald isn’t a good actor but she just doesn’t convince me so far as someone who as a woman that has had the drive and personality to reach DCI in a specialist police unit. Especially when she’s alongside Vicky McClure. Who incidentally managed to get her usual Nottingham Forest reference in. 

It won't last the series, with Oddball quotes. What would make you write that, in this day and age. 

10 hours ago, 1971fozzy said:

Oh yes never thought about that silly me 😂 but plenty other ludicrous loop holes 

10 hours ago, 1971fozzy said:

Oh yes never thought about that silly me 😂 but plenty other ludicrous loop holes 

4 hours ago, ri Alban said:

tenor.gif.c649330d407462a41ed482d3de66b8ed.gif

Yes way she beat some fine actresses to this win 

Watched 3 seasons of Top Boy. First two seasons were from 2011 and most recent from 2019. About drug gangs in London. Really enjoyed them. Shows just how ruthless and greedy these people are.

The Detectives: Fighting Organised Crime

Documentary series based in Manchester. First episode on iPlayer (BBC 2 section). A group of men kidnap drug dealers in Manchester and demand money. Torture them, including blow torching their ears and taking a hammer to their feet. Excellent first episode. Best thing on tv in ages. 

2 hours ago, GinRummy said:

Documentary series based in Manchester. First episode on iPlayer (BBC 2 section). A group of men kidnap drug dealers in Manchester and demand money. Torture them, including blow torching their ears and taking a hammer to their feet. Excellent first episode. Best thing on tv in ages. 

That was good, really good. How much did you just want a couple of burly big coppers to smash that Paris when he was threatening the cops? I thought that in itself was a crime but they were shit scared of him. Spoiler below on the outcome if anyone is wanting to watch.

Spoiler

Also annoying that the longest sentence went to the wee guy who was probably their minion and the two ringleaders got sentences of 9 and 12 years whilst he got 19.

Edited by Ron Burgundy

Just now, Ron Burgundy said:

That was good, really good. How much did you just want a couple of burly big coppers to smash that Paris when he was threatening the cops? I thought that in itself was a crime but they were shit scared of him.

Reveal hidden contents

Also annoying that the longest sentence went to the wee guy who was probably their minion and the two ringleaders got sentences of 9 and 12 years whilst he got 19.

Yeah, You’ve got to imagine of it wasn’t on film he’d have been tasered and battered. Nasty big bully. 

Re your spoiler, said the same to my mate when we were talking about it today. Patsy. 

Just now, GinRummy said:

Yeah, You’ve got to imagine of it wasn’t on film he’d have been tasered and battered. Nasty big bully. 

Re your spoiler, said the same to my mate when we were talking about it today. Patsy. 

These guys had a list of convictions as long as your arm. They should never have been free to walk the streets. A three strikes and you're  in for life would be best for these sort of guys.

4 minutes ago, Ron Burgundy said:

These guys had a list of convictions as long as your arm. They should never have been free to walk the streets. A three strikes and you're  in for life would be best for these sort of guys.

Not keen on the way the three strikes thing has worked for some in America but for these types of criminals 9 and 12 year sentences aren’t enough. Hard to see them ever changing and,  as was touched on in last nights show, you’re into three generations of gang related criminals in some families. 

26 minutes ago, GinRummy said:

Not keen on the way the three strikes thing has worked for some in America but for these types of criminals 9 and 12 year sentences aren’t enough. Hard to see them ever changing and,  as was touched on in last nights show, you’re into three generations of gang related criminals in some families. 

You should watch Top Boy, it's basically a drama of what we just watched but set in London. Horrible greedy people with absolutely no morals.

2 minutes ago, Ron Burgundy said:

You should watch Top Boy, it's basically a drama of what we just watched but set in London. Horrible greedy people with absolutely no morals.

Seen it. Watched the originals years ago and wasn’t expecting it to come back after channel 4 dropped it. Loved the new series. There’s another series being made and should have been out by now but Covid delayed it so looking like next year. Great series. 

2 hours ago, GinRummy said:

1140772564_MV5BOTNiYTBmNDMtODYyNi00ZjgyLWE1YzYtODIyMGNiMWNjMjVmXkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyMjExMjk0ODk@._V1_UY1200_CR10706301200_AL_.thumb.jpg.727ef810dc62c09096a349f6cc496252.jpg

On 22/03/2021 at 19:26, GinRummy said:

New series of 24 Hours in Police Custody on 4 at 9. Without a doubt my favourite show on the telly. 

Didn’t know this so cheers as like you it my favourite thing on tv 

Do you know how many episodes are in this series as sometimes they only do a couple 

• Kalamazoo Jambo changed the title to Recommend a tv series