The poker thread...

The Merse

:hobofish:

I played on sunday nite. the old key 10er rebuy. Was fecking awful. Won 3 hands of 40 quid. Got nothing all nite. Made a mvoe which woody talked his way into playing and won Q9 over AJ. If it had been the other way around he'd of lost the plot.

• Replies 2.6k

• The Merse

• Era Macaroons

• Bigsmak

• Statto

I thought you played very well when I was at the table with you. Good size bets and weren't scared off by the regulars.

PS - That hand I won against you when I raised your bet on the river and you folded. I'd hit trips on the flop! ;)

Pleasure to meet you Phil, cheers for keeping me in check. Good to have a friendly face on the table, was really enjoying myself until about half 12. My worst enemy is sheer boredom.

What games do you boys normally play in? Looking at the schedule earlier, thinkin about playing the Wed game, but what does 'deep stack rebuy' mean? Don't think I'll bother with the ?5 re-buy games, had enough of them before, was pretty much a lottery.

:hobofish:

I played on sunday nite. the old key 10er rebuy. Was fecking awful. Won 3 hands of 40 quid. Got nothing all nite. Made a mvoe which woody talked his way into playing and won Q9 over AJ. If it had been the other way around he'd of lost the plot.

:blah: :blah: :blah: :blah: :boak:

PADDYHMFC ill give u lessons if u want.

Pleasure to meet you Phil, cheers for keeping me in check. Good to have a friendly face on the table, was really enjoying myself until about half 12. My worst enemy is sheer boredom.

What games do you boys normally play in? Looking at the schedule earlier, thinkin about playing the Wed game, but what does 'deep stack rebuy' mean? Don't think I'll bother with the ?5 re-buy games, had enough of them before, was pretty much a lottery.

It's a ?20 re-buy on Wed.

You get 2000 chips so there is actually some play involved instead of just all-ins and trying to get lucky. You get 4000 chips as an add-on for ?20 also.

It's not a bad game, I've only been to it once and there was just under 30 players but the pot got fairly big.

The only games worth playing at all are the Friday ?10 rebuy, the Sat & Mon 30 quid freezeouts and the 20 quid re-buy on the wed.

Favourite game is the Saturday one, it's the only game I used to play, think I'm going to try and get back to just the one night a week.

OK here is the full Edinburgh Poker schedule as of yesterday.

All the Circus re-buy games offer a double points add on system. i.e if its a ?5 re-buy for 500 chips.. You get 1000 chips for a ?5 top up at the end of the re-buy period.

Circus - Games start at 9pm. Last registration at 8.30 (sometimes stretched to 8.45) On Monday and Sat freezeouts you can sign in until 10.20 and join the game late. You will get a 4000 chip starting stack if you join after 9. If you join before 9 you get 5500 chips.

Maybury - Games start at 8pm Register before 7.45. Except Friday - 9pm start and 8.45 final registration (get there early on friday as it is full by 8.35 usually.

MONDAYS

Circus © - ?30 + ?3 NL Freezout -

Maybury (M) - ?25 + ?2 NL - 1 re-buy / Top up

TUESDAYS

C - ?5 + 50p NL Rebuy (120 mins)

M - ?20 + ?2 NL Rebuy (105 mins) - Double Add on.

WEDNESDAYS

C - ?20+ ?2 NL Rebuy (120 mins)

M - ?10 + ?1 NL Deepstack Rebuy (1500 chips) (105 mins)

THURSDAY

C - ?5 + 50p NL Rebuy (120 mins)

M - ?30 + ?3 NL Rebuy (105 mins) - Double Add on.

FRIDAY

C - ?10 + ?1 NL Rebuy (120 mins)

M - ?10 + ?1 NL Rebuy (1000 chips) (105 mins)

SATURDAY

Circus © - ?30 + ?3 NL Freezout

M - Nothing

SUNDAY

C - ?25 + ?2 NL - 1 re-buy / Top up

M - ?10 + ?1 NL Deepstack Rebuy (1500 chips) (105 mins)

Hope this helps.

Circus Phone - 0131 228 4446

Maybury Phone - 0131 338 4444

:blah: :blah: :blah: :blah: :boak:

PADDYHMFC ill give u lessons if u want.

I take it thsoe on hibs.net dont know a cultured game of poker.

Dont know big guy, I do know playing against u is a license to print money tho............ EASY EASY EASY

Went to the casino ****ed as a fart last night and played a cash game.

Pocket Kings got bust twice.

Pffft! Somehow came home about 100 quid up, was playing ultra aggressive, all-in poker.

Walter Payton

Playing in a tourney on Pokerstars last night and was absolutely flying- it was still the first level, and thanks to me having the nuts twice while two players seemed to want to give me all their chips (both with bluffs that I'd have called with fourth pair they were that unbelievable) I was about 3 times the number of chips everybody else had.

New player comes to the table and sits 2 to my right- has a bigger stack than me.

Still 1st level, blinds 10.20 and I've got K,10 on the big blind and it comes round to me unraised with 4 players, including big stack on the button. Flop comes 9,J,Q rainbow. I bet about 100 (pretty much pot size) and players in between myself and the button fold.

Button Raises 300 more.

I raise 1000 more.

Button min raises me another 1000, so I move all in (he has about 200 chips left afterwards) he calls- pots now about 12500 chips- He turns over 9,9 for bottom set.

Turn comes a 2- good card for me

River comes a 2- sends me home after he fills up his trip 9s... Not anywhere near as bad a play from him as some of the others on this thread, but I'd like to think I could have got away from bottom set with so many raises on the flop. Obviously he's laughing because he sucked out, but do people think the hands played themself, or do you think you could have got away (in his shoes).

do you think you could have got away (in his shoes).

Was it a tourney? A cheap one? how much did you have invested?

To be honest in a ?5 tourney I will throw all in with bottom set as its so cheap to play. Even late on in the tourney. If it was a ?200 entry.. I'd think twice about it.. I'd call you down and probably raise given the opportunity. Maybe not re-raise.

I don't think there was any chance you were both not going all in in and you got unlucky. That's all.

According to The Poker Calculator;

You are a 65% Fav after the flop.

And a 77.3% after forth street.

So I guess its just one of those games

Unless it was for huge money I don't think many players are getting away from a set to be honest. Even if he thought you were ahead he had the board pairing for outs.

Came 4th in the Casino game last night, pretty gutted to be honest. 6 players left. 200,000 chips in play. I had 100,000 of them. Came down to 4, down to about 80,000 chips and limped in on the button with AJ as no one was even bothering to call any raise from me. Flop 5 J 5, turn A, I bet a smallish amount, small blind re-raises, I re-raise all-in and he shows a 5.

Turned into the chip monkey but managed to get back level with the chip leader after another 10 hands. All 4 of us are pretty much evens by this point and it's half 5 in the morning now. Two of us are up for work at 8 so we offer a deal, ?350 each, other boy is happy to split but the other clown refuses. I get dealt A 9, clown raises to 10, I go all-in, instant call, he has A K. Chirrow!

Still pretty impressed with the way I played, only made 2 mistakes all night and knocked out a few of the regulars, few of them are right greetin faced bairns! :cool: Final table was good craic, lookin forward to Mondays game already haha.

Came 4th in the Casino game last night, pretty gutted to be honest. 6 players left. 200,000 chips in play. I had 100,000 of them. Came down to 4, down to about 80,000 chips and limped in on the button with AJ as no one was even bothering to call any raise from me. Flop 5 J 5, turn A, I bet a smallish amount, small blind re-raises, I re-raise all-in and he shows a 5.

Turned into the chip monkey but managed to get back level with the chip leader after another 10 hands. All 4 of us are pretty much evens by this point and it's half 5 in the morning now. Two of us are up for work at 8 so we offer a deal, ?350 each, other boy is happy to split but the other clown refuses. I get dealt A 9, clown raises to 10, I go all-in, instant call, he has A K. Chirrow!

Still pretty impressed with the way I played, only made 2 mistakes all night and knocked out a few of the regulars, few of them are right greetin faced bairns! :cool: Final table was good craic, lookin forward to Mondays game already haha.

Nice work...

I didn't leave till 6am this morning

Era Macaroons

River comes a 2- sends me home after he fills up his trip 9s... Not anywhere near as bad a play from him as some of the others on this thread, but I'd like to think I could have got away from bottom set with so many raises on the flop. Obviously he's laughing because he sucked out, but do people think the hands played themself, or do you think you could have got away (in his shoes).

not much you could do there!! if your not going in with this situation theres really no point in playing!

though ive often heard people say flopping str8s can lead to trouble (as opposed to developing them) , however id take them every time!

Era Macaroons

great effort....hope you put as much effort into your work at 8am;)

anyone up for the 9.10 pm ?7K gteed on will hills ?30+3 entry:cool:

Whats your username on Hills, I might take a look out for your progress.

Era Macaroons
Whats your username on Hills, I might take a look out for your progress.

oh im not sure if I could disclose that just yet, esp if your gonna watch my play!!!:hae36:....but if u look at my username here u wont b far anway.... oh and im currently 67th out of 123 left (228 runners)

hope you were quick!! root toot oot 96th:sad:

I seen one of yours.

Dude calling your KT bluff with KQ, weird!

erm ...anyone up for the 11pm $5K game $25 entry:rolleyes:

Think I'll give it a bash.

Means I have to deposit though.

:sad:

Era Macaroons
I seen one of yours.

yeah, didnt go too well for me....i had to start doing things

didnt he have AA tho?

same guy had just taken 1/3 of my stack when i had to fold AJ with a J on board but 4 Hearts...which i had none of....plus my birds bugging me about Big Brother all the time ...need to 'tune in'!

Era Macaroons
Think I'll give it a bash.

Means I have to deposit though.

:sad:

enter the June bonus code...for free dosh (cannae mind what it is)

Too late.

I'm in though.

Era Macaroons
I seen one of yours.

oh, ..know the hand u mean.....i thought my raise would have put him out of it....was kicking myself , that I didnt bet again.

Yeah 1 more bet and he surely would have packed.

Username is "Cliokid"

Cannot for the life of me remember creating that username for myself!

Arghhh.

Down to 800, hit a flush with 89 of hearts but some other cant had limped in with K3 of hearts and hit a better flush.

Walter Payton

Playing in a 5 dollar S&G and there's a complete donk who doubled up first hand then proceeded to lose it down to about 500 in the space of 5 hands. He shoves all in , and somebody else calls- I've got K,Q and I make the marginal call.

Flop comes 10,3,2 and the other guy pushes, so I fold.

They both show A,9 and the pot ends up getting split, but not before the turn and river come K,Q.

Question is- why do donks make stupid bluffs to win no pot that they can only lose chips with if called, and allow other players to stay in the game? I've seen the same thing a few times, and it always really annoys me, whether I'm in the hand or not!

Era Macaroons
Arghhh.

Down to 800, hit a flush with 89 of hearts but some other cant had limped in with K3 of hearts and hit a better flush.

i ve got your table up....good recovery tho

ive sunk a bit....down to your level now:p mid table

i ve got your table up....good recovery tho

ive sunk a bit....down to your level now:p mid table

Hmmmm, could have potentially doubled/trebled up last hand there.

Limped with A9 of clubs then guy with 20k chips raised to 500, I folded and some shorty went all in, it was QJ v KT and the A would have hit. Why the fecks the guy raising 500 with QJ.

:mad:

Era Macaroons
Hmmmm, could have potentially doubled/trebled up last hand there.

Limped with A9 of clubs then guy with 20k chips raised to 500, I folded and some shorty went all in, it was QJ v KT and the A would have hit. Why the fecks the guy raising 500 with QJ.

:mad:

can be annoying when its like that,,,cant really blame the guy on 20K.....you folded just as he wanted.youll find a better spot to play those cards

Nice work...

I didn't leave till 6am this morning

If I didn't have work I'd of been more than happy to still be sittin there now :laugh:

can be annoying when its like that,,,cant really blame the guy on 20K.....you folded just as he wanted.youll find a better spot to play those cards

Don't suppose you seen what happened there?

Limped with KJ spades. Thought if the leader raises I'm going all-in. He does so so I push in. He turns over 97 off.

Needless to say my KJ didn't hold up.

Era Macaroons
Don't suppose you seen what happened there?

Limped with KJ spades. Thought if the leader raises I'm going all-in. He does so so I push in. He turns over 97 off.

Needless to say my KJ didn't hold up.

yeah i did, vul

im having a bit of a rollercoaster at the mo....cant get out the low end...as soon as i do im back in it....gonna cool it for a bit...mibi.

Won the Nuts poker at The 3 Sisters last night! :)

Didn't actually win any money but i've only played live tournaments 6 or 7 times and it's my first win so i was pretty happy with that!

Well played.. A wins a win, whether its for free, ?100 or a million. Well A million is a bit different. But you've taken the first steps to that goal.

D-Mcg

Got back from Vegas and it was awesome. Spent about $5k in total but I bought shed loads of clothes and sneeks, I would recommened getting a good hotel in the centre of the strip.

Lost $500 at poker tables and was down a little at the mugs tables. The women are out of this world, just a shame most of them are sluts.

Era Macaroons
Well played!

indeed. also gutted...felt i should have taken it down

3 of us all on same chips...........hadnt seen any special play from the other 2.....blinds big

alll with approx 90000 i go 16000, flop rubbish. called

turn K

I hit

bet another 16000

called

river ace

all in by other dude , im thinking ..was he really betting so far in for an ace to hit.call. and he was ...Str8.

ob could have got out of it....bet bigger etc...but thats the story...out 3rd...was fun playing in same tourney D McG

Era Macaroons

result,good stuff

Dave - Me and Steve are going to go to Vegas.. You planning it as well? We should team up!

I really want to go like aye...

When you planning it?

Tourney tonight I got bent over and raped up the shiiiiter tbh.

Lost with Jacks to A4.

Later on, have A4 in the big blind, folds round to SB, he raises it, I know he's just trying to steal my blind so move in. Calls with J8 and beats me and leaves me with only 2k.

Then double up and have 4600. Raise with Aces from under the gun, some guy pushes, obviously call.

He has Kings and hits quads.

Arghhhhhh.

Played live cash at Circus for 1st time last night and the standard was shocking. If you hit cards you can easy make 4/5 x the buy in.