Arnold Clark Mazda - Shameless.

Magic Numbers

As some of you may know, I work for an independent garage, and I drive a 2012 Mazda 3 which I bought new from an Arnold Clark branch.

When the 1st service was due I rung them for a quote, mega pricey for what, according to the handbook is basically an oil & filter change & some general checks.

My boss suggested we do it, so I bought the oil & filter from Arnold Clark, and we gave it the service & reset the service mileage counter, but after we were done, we couldn't get the service warning light to go off, even using the diagnostic equipment.

I called Arnold Clark & asked if they would turn it off for me, even at a price. They would...?80+VAT!!!!!!!!!!! I argued them but they stuck to their guns & wouldn't negotiate so I decided just to live with it.

I discovered online tonight on a forum that the procedure takes 30 seconds & involves no specialist equipment. I turned it off myself 1st time. ?96 indeed!!!!!!!!! No wonder garages get bad press, that was really, really shameless of them.

Anyway, just fancied a moan & I am still annoyed by this!

Happy Motoring folks.

PM me if you are a Fifer needing tyres....Cheers

Magic Numbers

Nah, slightly weirder than that.

Ignition on.

Press accelerator & brake to floor & hold there for 20 secs or so

When light flashes then goes off remove feet from pedals & start engine warning light free.

Simples.

Aye, but when you think that it would take nearly double the time you mentioned by the time they get the car unlocked and the highly-trained engineer to carry out the procedure it almost makes ?96 sound like a bargain.

Yup! And that's why Arnold is a Sir and also loaded. Old fud has been scamming us all for years!!!!

Magic Numbers

I was with the op until he hinted at cheap tyres but only for Fifers - sleekit barsteward - worse than Sir Arnold in my book.

Haha you are welcome even if not in Fife, but the petrol money'll probably make it not worthwhile, just being practical haha!

I got a brand new van from them years ago,1st problems were a faulty speedometer and the clock not working.They fixed the speedo but told me I'd just have to live with the dodgy clock,while it wasn't a big issue I decided that because the van was new I'd prefer a new clock fitted.Dropped the van off and went back later to discover a massive dent on the rear wing and a smashed tail light.After pointing this out to the manager he said that it must have been like that when I brought it in!!!!!!! :-0

The glass from the burst light was lying under the back of the van,it'd clearly been hit while parked at the back of the garage.Obviously I was beginning to lose the plot at this point but after while he agreed to repair it FOC.Wasn't impressed and will never go back.

The fuel on my Citroen froze last winter and kept cutting the engine out, it was about 5 in the morning. I nursed it to a BP garage and put half a tank of the expensive Diesel in it to thaw it out. As I drove out of the town I fueled up in, it became apparent that I had no headlights. Fortunately the job I was going to was accessible via smaller country roads so I set off with only full beam, blinded a few but not many. Got the job done and by the time I was finished the sun was up. Struggled on with the dodgy fuel till I got home around lunchtime and took it to the main dealer to check if something serious hadn't blown the lights. By that time the fuel was OK as well.

I explained what happened and while they where very busy they checked the van over, the vehicle was still under warranty so I figured that was the reason for the swift service, I also told them not to just change the bulbs if they had only popped as I would probably get them for half the price somewhere else. The came straight back and said with the vehicle cutting out so much it probably popped the lamps and the would pop in new ones for ?20. Result thought I.

Got up the next morning and set off about 6am, put the lights on, it was like looking into the Sun, brilliant.

Drove out of town where there are no streetlights and thought this looks a bit odd, I was struggling to see the road but could quite clearly see the tops of the trees. Idiots had put the lamps in upside side. I had a 40 mile drive with my lights pointing at the sky, must have pissed off hunners of drivers going the opposite way. I had calmed down by the time I got it back to the garage and found it rather amusing ripping the pish out of the mechanical culprit, won't be taking it back to the main dealer for anything ever again though.

They're all as bad as each other.

Mrs took her Corsa into the Vauxhall garage for its MOT. Came back with issues with steering column & some minors.

Steering column was fixed but she declined the minors. One of the minors was a rear windscreen wiper however when she went to pay she'd been stung ?45 for the replacement/fitting!

After politely discussing with a supervisor he went into the garage and after 10 mins came out with the old wiper blade, literally ripped the new one off and put the old one back on!

She went to drive away and noticed that the column hadn't been put back together properly (parts were in passenger seat) so went back in. The supervisor was really rude to her so they've lost the families business as a result!

Her old man has bought two new cars from them plus her Corsa & her brother also bought a nearly new car!

How the hell did you manage to buy a BRAND NEW car last year that didn't come with free servicing for the first couple of years at least?

First rule of buying any car from Arnold Clark is don't part with any money until they've agreed to throw in 2 years free servicing and MOT's and if they're really keen get a free extended warranty as well.

The second rule of buying from Arnold Clark is, should they find anything wrong with it during the free servicing, get it fixed else where then take back to Arnold for the free MOT

Guest GhostHunter

D&G Autos are the guys to go to. They might produce cheesy adverts, but they are cheap, do the work properly, and above all else, value their customers...

Have never bought from Arnold Clark because of what ive heard previously from family and friends, going by this thread ive been proven correct not to

My girlfriend had a minor accident two years ago in an Arnold Clark hire car. They retained her 250 quid deposit and said they would refund the balance once repairs had been done. About six months later we'd heard nothing so I phoned and was told there was some kind of confusion and they refunded all the money. I don't know what to conclude from all that. Chancers who realised I'd remembered would be my guess.

WeeWillyWinky

A couple of years ago I put my car into Arnold Clark for an MOT. Got a phone call a couple of hours later saying car passed and all fine. I collected the car and went about my business. The following day I was looking through the paperwork and noticed the mechanics check sheet was there. There were 3 columns next to a list of mechanical items - green column for ok, orange for may need attention and red for immediate attention. There was tick in the red column next to suspension coil. I call AC and they confirm that it hadn't been fixed and asked me to return the car ASAP. After inspecting the car they tried to deny it had been an error however they sent for a part, fixed it and gave me a courtesy car all for free. Sounds like a mistake to me!! At least I got the work done for nothing but still shows how incompetent they can be.

Guest GhostHunter

At this juncture, I'd like to remind members over posting potentially libellous comments.

Never a good place to be, so please be mindful over what you post.

At this juncture, I'd like to remind members over posting potentially libellous comments.

Never a good place to be, so please be mindful over what you post.

I think you'll find theres trillions of unhappy AC customers, good luck in shutting down the entire internet to them :lol:

Guest GhostHunter

I think you'll find theres trillions of unhappy AC customers, good luck in shutting down the entire internet to them :lol:

Not bothered about anywhere else - just bothered about getting lawyers letters for here.

That ok ?

Cheers

Not bothered about anywhere else - just bothered about getting lawyers letters for here.

That ok ?

Cheers

Never ever used them and never posted about them in this thread.

Got my first car from A/C at 18. Worth it with free car insurance.

The speedo cable broke after 3 miles, so got another car.

Bought too more cars and then switched to Belmont.

When I first got my 2009 Honda Accord I saw on Google that there was a problem with the brakes. My brakes early in having the car started to squeal when applied, I took it into the dealer right away. The service reception guy took the car came back said there is nothing wrong with the brakes, I politely told him I begged to differ, and he refused to take action. Now having lost my patient , polite demeanor I started asking for more senior people with whom I could discuss, none available and the franchise owner on holiday. I was now communicating in my loudest irate voice, and was starting to get support from other owners in the waiting area. The salesman with whom I had dealt when buying the car came to me and asked what was my problem, I advised him that there was a recall in the U.S. for this exact complaint and brakes were not something I was prepared to take risks with, and wanted them replaced, and now. I added to this that if this was not forthcoming they could keep the "expletive" car and started to walk out . He assured me my request would be looked after, and it was, with brake pad replacement and extended warranty on brakes. The service guy came back, sarcastically advising me that the unnecessary repair had been carried out, and hoped I was satisfied, I assured him I was, I did say I hoped we met sometime in the future in less public circumstances and left.

When I went back some time later I was a bit apprehensive, not knowing what the attitude would be, different guy at reception, and my friendly salesman came to me, he said all the service staff had been fired, because of numerous complaints, my reaction and complaint being the catalyst for the action No problems since.