Things you've always wondered about but couldn't be bothered to find out

Scnorthedinburgh
2 hours ago, milky_26 said:

yes, tuna swim at a depth that is under dolphins, dolphin friendly means they get the dolphins that are caught back into the water so they can survive. it used to be that they thought to hell with the dolphins they caught and they let them die

Think it also means long line fishing is not used, as that catches anything hungry.

• Replies 5.5k

• Tazio

• redjambo

• FWJ

On 13/04/2020 at 11:09, I P Knightley said:

I've received his image on countless memes I feel I have more pictures with him on my phone than I do of any member of my family but I don't know his name. 

I'm sure many of you will have seen him too. The heavily built black guy sting with no clothes on, legs apart and a rather large schlong hanging between. He's been sat on the girder with the builders having their sandwiches in New York; he's replaced ET in Elliot's basket and he replaced Mr Stay-Puft in Ghostbusters - among many other appearances. 

Does anyone know his name? 

I saw an ‘article’ about this. Can’t remember his name but he’s apparently dead. 

14 minutes ago, gjcc said:

I saw an ‘article’ about this. Can’t remember his name but he’s apparently dead. 

In the name of scientific inquiry, his name was "Wood".

https://www.the-sun.com/news/565101/star-of-coronavirus-big-penis-prank-text-revealed-as-dead-porn-actor-wood-and-snapper-wants-cash-to-help-family/

On 13/04/2020 at 11:09, I P Knightley said:

I've received his image on countless memes I feel I have more pictures with him on my phone than I do of any member of my family but I don't know his name. 

I'm sure many of you will have seen him too. The heavily built black guy sting with no clothes on, legs apart and a rather large schlong hanging between. He's been sat on the girder with the builders having their sandwiches in New York; he's replaced ET in Elliot's basket and he replaced Mr Stay-Puft in Ghostbusters - among many other appearances. 

Does anyone know his name? 

Wardy Joubert III. 

5 hours ago, Pennywise said:

I bought my daughter a chihuahua. 

Why did I do that? Absolute arsehole of a dog. 

Bit harsh, it's your daughter ffs.

3 minutes ago, JWL said:

Sandwich Spread................what's in it? Does anybody actually buy it? If so, what does it taste like?

I like it but not had it in years. Might get some the next time Im in a shop.

Not sure whats in it. Salad cream, veggies, carrots that sort of jazz. Looks like sick but tastes good.

1 minute ago, been here before said:

Not sure whats in it. Salad cream, veggies, carrots that sort of jazz.

Hmmmm....think I'll give it a miss

7 hours ago, JWL said:

Sandwich Spread................what's in it? Does anybody actually buy it? If so, what does it taste like?

I love it, usually got a jar in the fridge and a back up jar in the cupboard.

Just checked and that is the case right now. 😁

Ricardo Shillyshally
7 hours ago, been here before said:

Not sure whats in it. Salad cream, veggies, carrots that sort of jazz. Looks like sick but tastes good.

You've probably used the wrong vowel in "jazz"

Why are they so good at knocking people out in films and tv? I’ve been punched a few times and punched a few people as well. Never have I felt like being knocked out or knocking someone out. Yet in films people do it all he time with one punch. Are films possibly full of bullshit? :greggy:

Edited by Tazio

9 hours ago, Tazio said:

Why are they so good at knocking people out in films and tv? I’ve been punched a few times and punched a few people as well. Never have I felt like being knocked out or knocking someone out. Yet in films people do it all he time with one punch. Are films possibly full of bullshit? :greggy:

You just punch like a girl and have a solid head!

Just took a walk along to Musselburgh harbour. What do all the boats that there, and in Newhaven, Granton etc. Actually get used for? Never see boats our in the Forth, but plenty harbours in and around Edinburgh full of boats. 

12 minutes ago, Locky said:

Just took a walk along to Musselburgh harbour. What do all the boats that there, and in Newhaven, Granton etc. Actually get used for? Never see boats our in the Forth, but plenty harbours in and around Edinburgh full of boats. 

I had a boat at granton for a while years ago, the harbour rights were shared between Corinthians yacht club and a posh one. Basically, pleasure boating is the answer. People own leisure boats and the majority sit in the harbour waiting to be used for a few hours a couple of times a year. It might suddenly appear busy then quiet because they come out of the water over winter, there's a big crane operation lifting them into the yard.

49 minutes ago, Smithee said:

I had a boat at granton for a while years ago, the harbour rights were shared between Corinthians yacht club and a posh one. Basically, pleasure boating is the answer. People own leisure boats and the majority sit in the harbour waiting to be used for a few hours a couple of times a year. It might suddenly appear busy then quiet because they come out of the water over winter, there's a big crane operation lifting them into the yard.

Would be a great thing to have. I'd love to just bugger off out to sea for a day. Just always wondered why there are so many around, yet you seldom see any boats out there. Even in summer, I can't recall ever seeing a lot of boats out in the water. It's a shame.

Don't know if you will know Smithee, but I recall a while back, 2007 maybe, there was some kind of open day at Cramond Harbour where people could have a shot on the boats and go out with the skipper. No idea if they still do it, or if it was a one off. I got a shot on one of those wee motor dinghy's. Barely much bigger than a bathtub and 4 of us were in it. Bit white knuckle, but it was good fun.

31 minutes ago, Locky said:

Would be a great thing to have. I'd love to just bugger off out to sea for a day. Just always wondered why there are so many around, yet you seldom see any boats out there. Even in summer, I can't recall ever seeing a lot of boats out in the water. It's a shame.

Don't know if you will know Smithee, but I recall a while back, 2007 maybe, there was some kind of open day at Cramond Harbour where people could have a shot on the boats and go out with the skipper. No idea if they still do it, or if it was a one off. I got a shot on one of those wee motor dinghy's. Barely much bigger than a bathtub and 4 of us were in it. Bit white knuckle, but it was good fun.

That was about the time I had one in granton actually. I never did the cramond thing but I got my power boat level 2 license at south queensferry on a RIB, rigid inflatable boat, a 40HP outboard strapped on the back and you go like utter stink!

Great fun, great weekend that was

2 hours ago, Smithee said:

That was about the time I had one in granton actually. I never did the cramond thing but I got my power boat level 2 license at south queensferry on a RIB, rigid inflatable boat, a 40HP outboard strapped on the back and you go like utter stink!

You're a lucky man getting to experience that. I absolutely love the sea. Very cathartic. If only I could ****ing swim. :lol: 

16 minutes ago, Locky said:

You're a lucky man getting to experience that. I absolutely love the sea. Very cathartic. If only I could ****ing swim. :lol: 

I'm not great in the water either tbh, but they do courses at port edgar. It's not that pricey for what it is, once you pass powerboat level 2 you can get an international certificate of competency so you can rent boats abroad.

3 minutes ago, Smithee said:

I'm not great in the water either tbh, but they do courses at port edgar. It's not that pricey for what it is, once you pass powerboat level 2 you can get an international certificate of competency so you can rent boats abroad.

I went on a holiday with my ex and her family a good few years back. Caledonian Cruisers in Inverness, down to Fort Augustus and Loch Ness and back for the week. Fantastic holiday. Sitting on the boat staring into the night. Got a good shot of driving (driving? :lol: ) through Loch Ness and stuff. Loved it all.

8 minutes ago, Locky said:

I went on a holiday with my ex and her family a good few years back. Caledonian Cruisers in Inverness, down to Fort Augustus and Loch Ness and back for the week. Fantastic holiday. Sitting on the boat staring into the night. Got a good shot of driving (driving? :lol: ) through Loch Ness and stuff. Loved it all.

That sounds great, I'd really love to do some inland waterways in scotland. Years ago we bought a boat in rotterdam, got an amazing deal for a grand, a 20 foot thing with a cabin, cooking facilities- a floating caravan in decent nick. We took 24 hours to bring it back to Haarlem in the nicest weather imaginable, just brilliant, you can have the best days of your life on the water. 

6 minutes ago, Smithee said:

That sounds great, I'd really love to do some inland waterways in scotland. Years ago we bought a boat in rotterdam, got an amazing deal for a grand, a 20 foot thing with a cabin, cooking facilities- a floating caravan in decent nick. We took 24 hours to bring it back to Haarlem in the nicest weather imaginable, just brilliant, you can have the best days of your life on the water. 

Yeah, I wanted to make the caravan comparison myself, but that might not be a selling point to some. :lol: 

I love a caravan holiday. My Mum and Granny own 2 down in Berwick. But a caravan-esque holiday on the water, with a new surrounding every day is bliss.

9 minutes ago, Locky said:

Yeah, I wanted to make the caravan comparison myself, but that might not be a selling point to some. :lol: 

I love a caravan holiday. My Mum and Granny own 2 down in Berwick. But a caravan-esque holiday on the water, with a new surrounding every day is bliss.

Outside's great eh? :laugh2:

3 minutes ago, Smithee said:

Outside's great eh? :laugh2:

Aye, even more so when you live in a 3rd floor flat with nae back green or anything. :lol: 

This photo.......https://i.postimg.cc/3xQpXJQL/F10-EE552-F303-433-C-97-CF-2-AE7-C236-E523.jpgF10-EE552-F303-433-C-97-CF-2-AE7-C236-E5

A. Is it real or an illusion?

b. Why whilst obviously in the construction stage is someone taking a A. photo B. a camera to work

c. where do they keep their lunch boxes

d. health and safety......couple haven’t even got gloves? guy at the end with his empty bottle of moonshine.......dearie me.....

12 hours ago, Angel eyes said:

This photo.......https://i.postimg.cc/3xQpXJQL/F10-EE552-F303-433-C-97-CF-2-AE7-C236-E523.jpgF10-EE552-F303-433-C-97-CF-2-AE7-C236-E5

A. Is it real or an illusion?

b. Why whilst obviously in the construction stage is someone taking a A. photo B. a camera to work

c. where do they keep their lunch boxes

d. health and safety......couple haven’t even got gloves? guy at the end with his empty bottle of moonshine.......dearie me.....

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lunch_atop_a_Skyscraper

I got some petrol today 30 quids worth at 102.9p a litre.

What would happen though if Id only bought 1 ltr. How would I get my change if I gave them £1.03?

Georgecowie
10 minutes ago, A Boy Named Crow said:

Why does baked rhyme with faked,  but not naked?

I don't know, a boy named crow. But baked does still rhyme with faked, fully clothed or starkers. I love riddles! 

1 minute ago, Georgecowie said:

I don't know, a boy named crow. But baked does still rhyme with faked, fully clothed or starkers. I love riddles! 

Ok, it ruins the brevity, but just for you...

Why is it that baked rhymes with faked, yet neither of these words rhyme with naked?

8 hours ago, A Boy Named Crow said:

Why does baked rhyme with faked,  but not naked?

Baked and faked are both past participles and formed by adding a 'd' onto the base form of each verb.

Naked is an adjective.

The answer probably lies there.

50 minutes ago, Konrad von Carstein said:

Why do vets not wear face masks when operating on animals?

They do when operating on species known to be able to catch diseases from humans.

Not many animals can catch human bugs and vice versa.

On 18/04/2020 at 18:38, Smithee said:

I have a national sports boat licence I got through the army........used to fly around the havel in Berlin on rigid raider boats with a 140hp engine.....super fast and great fun.

2 hours ago, redjambo said:

Baked and faked are both past participles and formed by adding a 'd' onto the base form of each verb.

Naked is an adjective.

The answer probably lies there.

That'll do, cheers 

I’ve seen, and watched, these twirly things that are attached to the top of chimneys, for all my life, and never really wondered why they are there. They’re on a relatively few chimneys, and tend to be on older buildings.

My wife reckons they are to stop birds from falling down the chimneys. Might be, but you’d think they could avoid that anyway.

Are they just a cosmetic addition maybe?

Dawnrazor
8 minutes ago, SectionDJambo said:

I’ve seen, and watched, these twirly things that are attached to the top of chimneys, for all my life, and never really wondered why they are there. They’re on a relatively few chimneys, and tend to be on older buildings.

My wife reckons they are to stop birds from falling down the chimneys. Might be, but you’d think they could avoid that anyway.

Are they just a cosmetic addition maybe?

They cause an up draft to draw the smoke up the chimney and out, if you don't have one or a broken one as we had a few months ago, the pressure out side is greater than inside and the smoke comes back down the chimney and inti the room, with, as we found out, enough carbon monoxide to set off the cm detector.

45 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

They cause an up draft to draw the smoke up the chimney and out, if you don't have one or a broken one as we had a few months ago, the pressure out side is greater than inside and the smoke comes back down the chimney and inti the room, with, as we found out, enough carbon monoxide to set off the cm detector.

Wow

Essential piece of engineering then.

Now I know. Thanks 

Dawnrazor
1 minute ago, SectionDJambo said:

Wow

Essential piece of engineering then.

Now I know. Thanks 

You can get electric ones now, ones that turn even when there's not enough wond to turn a standard one.

1 hour ago, SectionDJambo said:

I can confirm that birds can - and do - end up down chimneys. Don't know how, but they do!

On 18/04/2020 at 21:32, Locky said:

Until about 5 years ago I worked for a marine electronics distributor and went round all these wee cruise companies and had customers in just about every marina in Scotland and Northern England, some cracking parts of the country. Caley Cruises was the big one on the Caledonian canal.

One of the best parts of the job was going to the big boat shows in London and Southampton and getting taken out in the big bastart superyachts like Sunseekers worth millions.

I think I'll save up for one of them rather than a bathtub sized rib. 😁

superjack
57 minutes ago, Dawnrazor said:

You can get electric ones now, ones that turn even when there's not enough wond to turn a standard one.

The problem I had when I fitted 1 was they are not covered by warranty in areas where wind can go above 50 mph. Ours only lasted a couple of months. We got get an issue when the winds is from the north east and more than a breeze.  To get round this, I had to extend my flue and just fit a standard cowl to prevent down draught. 

Dawnrazor
1 minute ago, superjack said:

The problem I had when I fitted 1 was they are not covered by warranty in areas where wind can go above 50 mph. Ours only lasted a couple of months. We got get an issue when the winds is from the north east and more than a breeze.  To get round this, I had to extend my flue and just fit a standard cowl to prevent down draught. 

We had had a standard cowl(?) fitted, we live at about 950 ft and it blows a gale 90% of tbe time!!!

superjack
1 hour ago, Dawnrazor said:

We had had a standard cowl(?) fitted, we live at about 950 ft and it blows a gale 90% of tbe time!!!

Possibly down to a lack of ventilation in the room then. With us, the flue is lower than the main roof so just don't get enough flow of air when it's a north east.

Worthing Jambo
3 hours ago, Boof said:

I can confirm that birds can - and do - end up down chimneys. Don't know how, but they do!

Maybe carbon monoxide poisoning?