The monthly Annoying Advert thread

:shitwine:

2 hours ago, Salad Fingers said:

The new McDonalds one with people losing their shit over it opening again. Has anyone over the age of 8 ever been that excited about one of their meals? Plus I'm convinced their 1/4 pounders have got smaller. 

Bit like the deliveroo adverts where people do a wee dance in their living room because their kfc has turned up. 
Go on a diet you fat *****. 

• Replies 635

• JWL

• Sooperstar

• milky_26

• neilnunb

The advert annoying me at present is the Visit Scotland one appearing at the top of these pages! 

The advert itself looks well made but as it contains video content, it always overrides the sound I have currently playing (Spotify, radio etc...) 😠

What steps can I take to prevent this ad constantly appearing? 

12 hours ago, neilnunb said:

Awesome screen, awesome camera

🤬

Long lasting battery life!

The Snoop Dogg just eat ad. He must be desperate. 

All the just eat ads just put me off eating, full stop.

YouTube adverts. It’s gone from occasional ads at the start of the video to constant ones including in the middle of videos. 

19 hours ago, Francis Albert said:

Every advert that is exploiting the pandemic to try to flog me something or other.

I was saying this the other night and totally agree. Seems every household in the country has been having a 24/7 party and every company is supporting the nations fight.

It's all bullshit.

1 hour ago, Tazio said:

YouTube adverts. It’s gone from occasional ads at the start of the video to constant ones including in the middle of videos. 

I've noticed this in the last couple of weeks. Watching five minute video and at least three ads pop up. They are really pushing the premium app with two months free. They can bloody whistle.

3 hours ago, Tazio said:

I have noticed that too and many don't have the skip ads option now either. 

Claudia Winkleman and her made up tweets. 

On 17/06/2020 at 18:59, JWL said:

Nationwide again...........this is a pisstake surely!

I can’t begin to describe how much I hate all the nationwide adverts. 

• 3 weeks later...

That one with Shane Warne and Darren Gough about thier hair replacement treatment, my god it's cronic.

the nescafe azera one in the laundry shop. lets just start a party and destroy someones business because you are hipster arseholes and think it is fun

• 3 weeks later...

All the adverts where the music is some slowed down cover version.  The latest is a god awful version of Born  to be Wild.

This seems to be  a new trend.

It just seems so tiresome.

The one highlighting the Scottish Childrens Lottery where we're told all about the kids going to Tannadice for breakfast and dinner etc.  They were even showing it all through lockdown.  Just ground my gears when it came on for the umpteenth time.

9 hours ago, frankblack said:

All the adverts where the music is some slowed down cover version.  The latest is a god awful version of Born  to be Wild.

Thank John Lewis and their Christmas ads for that one.

12 hours ago, frankblack said:

I had to Google the lyrics :facepalm:

13 hours ago, frankblack said:

the worst one i have seen uses 500 miles and is for viagra

16 minutes ago, milky_26 said:

I saw that - it seemed appropriate for a product about dicks considering where it came from.

There is a truly shit version of Imagine as well kicking about on some advert frequently.

Dick Gordon and his radio advert for "Fantastic Fanatics". 🤬

I can't believe it was agreed for this guy to conduct the Doncaster 'interview'. 

17 hours ago, milky_26 said:

Were the words changed to "when he stands up, and you give him a wee tug, theres gonna be 500ml coming to you". 

those purple bricks ones with the annoying woman phoning altheles. i dont know if anyone else thinks it but when she smiles she resembles wallace from wallace and gromit

On 31/08/2020 at 22:15, Tazio said:

The beardy prat lip syncing in his car in the 2nd hand car advert. 

9 minutes ago, neilnunb said:

Bellend.

All the radio ads in spoken word poetry, telling us to "keep the heid" and "carry on" in a Scots accent,, really doin my tits in😖😆

12 minutes ago, millerjames398 said:

All the radio ads in spoken word poetry, telling us to "keep the heid" and "carry on" in a Scots accent,, really doin my tits in😖😆

Queen's English only, aye?

On 05/09/2020 at 20:51, Furious Styles said:

The new asda advert.

Horrific.  

Is there something wrong with the guy in the advert?  Comes across as a bit daft.  

Any advert featuring the nasally, weejie (albeit North Lanarkshire) accent of that twat of a dentist dictating to us all how to live our lives. 

13 minutes ago, Seymour M Hersh said:

Any advert featuring the nasally, weejie (albeit North Lanarkshire) accent of that twat of a dentist dictating to us all how to live our lives. 

Do you have to pollute every thread with your one sided political nonsense ? 

Anyway it isn't an advert its a public information Notice. 

Back on topic that Asda advert has

me reaching for the remote. 

16 minutes ago, luckydug said:

Do you have to pollute every thread with your one sided political nonsense ? 

Anyway it isn't an advert its a public information Notice. 

Back on topic that Asda advert has

me reaching for the remote. 

Oh boohoo. :lol:

The "we buy any car" adverts with Schofield. They should provide a wee warning before it comes on, along the lines of, "there is a person in the following advert who may cause some viewers extreme annoyance", like the wee warnings of potential upset they give out before soaps. 

Any remote chance of me using them has long gone.

On 22/07/2020 at 13:21, All roads lead to Gorgie said:

The Snoop Dogg just eat ad. He must be desperate. 

All the just eat ads just put me off eating, full stop.

100/% This !

There is one that says 'Perfect' repeatedly that I turned off within about 5 seconds the 1st time I saw it.

The Asda one is just mind blowingly bad and I will make a point of never visiting one of their stores again.

Battle of the gimps at present between 'Sunny' on the Asda ad and the poet on the Nationwide on. 

I think the poet rambling on about his privacy takes some beating! 😳😠

20 hours ago, Sooperstar said:

There is one that says 'Perfect' repeatedly that I turned off within about 5 seconds the 1st time I saw it.

The Asda one is just mind blowingly bad and I will make a point of never visiting one of their stores again.

That's the one with Danny Dyers daughter. You're correct she is ****ing annoying as is the advert. 

4 minutes ago, Seymour M Hersh said:

That's the one with Danny Dyers daughter. You're correct she is ****ing annoying as is the advert. 

the lass in that perf with surf ad is danny dyers daughter?

it is a very annoying ad

Just now, milky_26 said:

the lass in that perf with surf ad is danny dyers daughter?

it is a very annoying ad

So the missus tells me and she knows about stuff like this. :lol: