Vegans

Alba gu Brath

so what are you saying

we develop and naturally change or are we in some sort of time bubble before apes when we only at friut and veg ask yourself why are our teeth like they are, should if we were veggis have teeth like cows or elephants

al the veggies I know are stuck in the past and socialists, and basically thick as mince and won't move on. so as I've said before never argue with an idiot as you cant win because they ware you down

You're not doing yourself any favours with your own standard of spelling and grammar.

In fact, most veggies and vegans I know are intelligent folk and a lot less blinkered and dogmatic than your average fitba fan.

As to teeth - our teeth are most definitely not like those of common carnivores - dogs, cats etc. Omnivore? Maybe but that just means we can eat stinking rotting meat if we so choose. And let's face it, all meat is just that.

As to nature... who can tell? What is natural in our lives these days?

Edited by Alba gu Brath

• Replies 640

• i8hibsh

• Dawnrazor

• Maple Leaf

• Governor Tarkin

You're not doing yourself any favours with your own standard of spelling and grammar.

In fact, most veggies and vegans I know are intelligent folk and a lot less blinkered and dogmatic than your average fitba fan.

As to teeth - our teeth are most definitely not like those of common carnivores - dogs, cats etc. Omnivore? Maybe but that just means we can eat stinking rotting meat if we so choose. And let's face it, all meat is just that.

As to nature... who can tell? What is natural in our lives these days?

Well that's completely untrue isn't it? :lol: Try eating some rotting meat and see what happens, I dare you.

I enjoy milk, eggs, cheese, a bacon roll and various other meat products such as but not restricted to a nicely cooked sirloin / fillet steak. I also eat (and enjoy) fruit and veg.

Vegans enjoy fruit and veg.

Their loss IMO.

Alba gu Brath

Well that's completely untrue isn't it? :lol: Try eating some rotting meat and see what happens, I dare you.

No. The minute an animal dies it has bacteria swarming over it. We - or some folk - just like eating meat that is rotting to different degrees. I.e the Icelanders bury shark in the beach and leave it for 3 months - Hakarl, i think its called - and eat it when it's good and stinking. Fish? Need I say more? But, it is all rotting meat. That's why a lot of meat often has to get the rigor mortis beaten out of it. Never mind the tigers and dogs - we're more like the worms and beetles.

Each to their own though.

Edited by Alba gu Brath

Alba gu Brath

Here's a quote I found from AC Grayling - interesting stuff which I think he sourced from Dutch biologist Midas Dekkers:

"It is prudent to take the health argument seriously. We do not eat 'fresh' meat, we eat carrion, for the former would be stiff with rigor mortis, and meat only becomes soft enough to cook and eat once it has begun to rot. We like our game especially rotten, which is why we leave it hanging for days so that the microbes swarming in it can do their work. Microbes are the meat-eater's friend; without them there could be no tender steak, no juicy roast, no tasty chops or rib. To see how they work, put a dead mouse in the garden and watch what happens. The little corpse decomposes with such fury that it seems to be wriggling and trying to run away, such is the pullulating mass of microbes consuming it within... Everything is finished off by bacteria, which in ten hours multiply from 100 to 100 million. They are present in these numbers on the meat in your kitchen; they eat your meat as they ate the mouse, and since everything must defecate, it is their lack of toilet training that gives exposed meat its gamey aroma."

If folk want to eat meat, let them. If vegans don't, let them be. Funny though how others' choices seem to wind some folk up so much.

I'm not going to bother thinking too much about bacteria & microbes (but let's be fair, we're surrounded by/consume/polluted by/absorb zillions of different wee horrors these days) and instead share a section of the original report which amused me no end. Great photo and caption. :laugh:

bcdf050a-8233-d921.jpg

Surprised this subject has led to quite so much feisty debate. interesting stuff though.

Craig Gordons Gloves

imagine a life with no sausages, pies, bacon, kebabs and other such stuff that is clearly bad for you but tastes fantastic. That would be hell.

This thread went from amusing to alarming quite rapidly. There is some amount of utter welts out there. I might go from being part time veggie (i.e. eating a high number of meals which don't contain meat) to full time veggie just to watch the seethe on these morons' faces.

Edited by The People's Chimp

This thread went from amusing to alarming quite rapidly. There is some amount of utter welts out there. I might go from being part time veggie (i.e. eating a high number of meals which don't contain meat) to full time veggie just to watch the seethe on these morons' faces.

Well if you have a steak in the fridge when you do, give me a shout.

If I do, I'll be going out in style, fillet steak for breakfast, lunch and dinner so there'll be none left for you, I'm afraid.

I don't think I could ever really give up the delights of carpaccio, roast pork, proper hams...but I could easily go a long time without eating any of those.

• 5 months later...

:wtf:

Are you suggesting we should all be cannibals?

How can animals eat other animals, but we are not allowed to eat animals such as cows and pigs? How is a vegetarian concert a 'win for the animals'?

Edited by dokratrO

dobmisterdobster

I'm not taking any dieting advice from you lot.

fat-bastard.jpg

Yoo're nae gettin' enaw protein lad!

Edited by dobmisterdobster

Fairly conclusive from this thread that there are idiots on both side of the great meat divide. No great surprise to see who they are as well......!

Eat what you want folks, its no-one else's business.

In saying that I have half roast chicken to chow down on now. Having it with cauliflower rice, red onion and peppers. Yum.

How can animals eat other animals, but we are not allowed to eat animals such as cows and pigs? How is a vegetarian concert a 'win for the animals'?

Maybe we need an animal police force.

Perhaps one species in particular is best suited...

Pig_police.gif

The beginning of the thread reminds me of some random program on channel 4 a few years ago about extreme vegans. It included a family whose mother wouldn't allow her children be friends with meat eaters and another woman who filtered all her tap water because she was convinced that there was cocaine in the tap water.

Raw food Junkies..... Kate Wood ( a raw food guru) her kids were home schooled. Filtering water, fairly plausible too.....the bit I found strange was the guy that pours coffee up his ass..... :dizzy2:

I went a Brazilian steak house last night and it was brilliant.

There was a massive grill that had dozens of big skewers with meat on them. A boy would come round every few minutes with one of these four foot skewers and serve you as much of it as you wanted. Steaks, chicken, bacon, sausages all right off the grill and as much as you could eat.

I committed animal genocide that evening and I'll do it again in a couple of weeks :jjyay:

I don't really care what people eat, I just know that I couldn't do it myself and I'd miss out on so much if I didn't.

I don't like it when my wife's vegetarian friend comes to dinner, it has to be said.

Why should I change my cooking habits for her? I don't get meat at her place.

Exactly! If you have to provide a "vegetarian option" for her, she should have to reciprocate. Otherwise it's double standards surely?

You want a vegetarian to cook meat for you who may never have cooked meat in their lives and certainly wouldn't be tasting the food as its cooking? Good luck with that.

Edited by frankblack

You want a vegetarian to cook meat for you who may never have cooked meat in their lives and certainly wouldn't be tasting the food as its cooking? Good luck with that.

But by the same token, how is a normal person supposed to know what a leek and tofu pie is supposed to taste like?

Well other than "like a shoe", I mean.

When I was about 10 I remember shooting a rabbit

I proudly carried it home and asked my mum if we could eat it

I was dissapointed when she said that one was too small to be worth cooking and we already had loads of them

Suddenly, what had been food was transformed into the lifeless corpse of a formerly sentient being

But then it was explained that the main reason we shoot rabbits isn't for food but to stop them eating the farmers vegetables so I'd helped out after all.

So basically I'd killed a cute little bunny rabbit on behalf of the vegetarians

I hope you all feel good about that.

Edited by topcat

But by the same token, how is a normal person supposed to know what a leek and tofu pie is supposed to taste like?

Well other than "like a shoe", I mean.

Sounds pretty horrible TBH.

Tofu only has one place and thats as a component of a stir fry.

As a Veggie I do like some flavour in my food. Indian meals are obviously the best, where the majority of the population there are Veggies.

Sounds pretty horrible TBH.

Tofu only has one place and thats as a component of a stir fry.

As a Veggie I do like some flavour in my food. Indian meals are obviously the best, where the majority of the population there are Veggies.

I was hoping you'd bite on the "normal person" shtick to be honest.

Maybe we need an animal police force.

Perhaps one species in particular is best suited...

Pig_police.gif

I thought you were just a WUM, but I see you're actually a vegetarian; care to answer my question?

Rastapopolous

I like the cut of Walter White's jib. Knows what he's talking about.

S'funny, of all the contributors to this thread, I thought he came across as the biggest arsehole.

I thought you were just a WUM, but I see you're actually a vegetarian; care to answer my question?

You put a loaded question down with a fixed agenda, hence I don't consider it worth wasting my time on.

If I'm having to make a special effort for them, I would expect them to do the same.

You missed the point.

By "Good Luck" I was referring to the food poisoning you would be letting yourself in for by expecting people who don't eat meat to cook it for you. You don't run that risk with vegetables...

I guess they could always order a take away and heat it in a microwave.

dobmisterdobster

If it's your house, you are not obliged to change your cooking habits for anyone.

Another thing. Humans are NOT carnivores, they are omnivores.

• 5 years later...

Vegan for about 2 weeks and already notice significant physical and psychological benefits... am not heavy into the ethics side of things personally but there is no doubt the health benefits of a plant based diet are real.

This has to be one of the longest bumps in JKB history.  Over 5 years.  Wow!  Good bump, though

Half my family are vegans ...I'm in the other half.

They are vegans for reasons of personal health, health of the planet, and because it avoids cruelty to animals.  I think they're right on all counts.

Although I'm not vegan, and probably never will be, I've cut back on animal products significantly.

Bindy Badgy
1 hour ago, jambo_ said:

Vegan for about 2 weeks and already notice significant physical and psychological benefits... am not heavy into the ethics side of things personally but there is no doubt the health benefits of a plant based diet are real.

Depends on what type of meat you eat and what you replace it with. If you used to eat a lot of cheap sausages and other processed crap then switched to a plant based whole food diet then you should improve your health. If you replace good cuts of lean meat with frozen pizzas then your health will probably get worse.

Anyone met a vegan before that did not make a point of telling you that they were a vegan within a minute of first meet (pun intended)?

12 minutes ago, i8hibsh said:

Anyone met a vegan before that did not make a point of telling you that they were a vegan within a minute of first meet (pun intended)?

Yes.