Curiosity /NASAs Mars Rover.

Just a heads up here for anyone interested ,NASAs Mars rover Curiosity is due to land on the surface of Mars tonight, there is a live feed from Curiosity , this particular Mars rover is one big chemistry laboratory and is more complex than the other rover already on the surface of Mars. It is expected to make some more discoveries too.lets hope for a safe landing for Curiosity and it survives the "7mins of terror", so called because of the risks involved when it enters the Martian atmospheresweat.gif.ML.geek.gif

live feed from Curiosity , this Mars rover is due to land on surface of Mars tonight here is the link for the Live Stream; http://www.ustream.tv/nasajpl#

space-073112-004-617x416.jpg

Curiosity;NASA;

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P4boyXQuUIw

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h2I8AoB1xgU

Edited by maroonlegions

Better call Saul

Nice one ! been watching of the proposed landing and ...bloody hell it looks so complex :mellow:

Edited by Clark Griswold

Nice one ! been watching of the proposed landing and ...bloody hell it looks so complex

It does seem a ludicrously complicated system for landing, almost seems bound to go wrong... :unsure:

Better call Saul

It does seem a ludicrously complicated system for landing, almost seems bound to go wrong... :unsure:

All to dig up a bit sand here and there and see if it was ever wet :ermm:

Captain Sausage

I'm staying with two sons of the head of JPL.

Grey goose is on ice. Things are tense... (I'm celebrating either way)

So they can get a signal back from the surface of mars but I can't get a mobile phone signal in midlothian aye?

Isnt there already a rover up there ?

What a colossal waste of money.

This rover is much bigger and contains a huge science lab.

It also runs on nuclear power that theoretically will last for 14 years but they think it will last for 2.

Guest GhostHunter

This rover is much bigger and contains a huge science lab.

It also runs on nuclear power that theoretically will last for 14 years but they think it will last for 2.

Perspective.

The science lab can hold 76kg.

"Huge".

:turned:

Isnt there already a rover up there ?

What a colossal waste of money.

And there are children starving.

Stuart Lyon

Had a brief look at the press conference but was put off by the guy saying how wonderful the USA is in a variety of areas including National Security! This on the day that another 7 people were shot dead was just too much to be bothered listening to the rest of the message.

They've already extracted proof of water ice from Mars' soil and that there may be running liquid water on mars during it's hottest months.

I take it this is to check for proof of microbial life? I was under the impression this had also already been found though.

Edited by Kyle Falconer

Perspective.

"Huge".

How the feck does weight work up there by the way?

Something that weighs 75kg on Earth will weigh 12kg on mars. Does that make a blind bit of difference to the size of this lab? I'm fecking clueless when it comes to this :lol:

Captain Sausage

How the feck does weight work up there by the way?

Something that weighs 75kg on Earth will weigh 12kg on mars. Does that make a blind bit of difference to the size of this lab? I'm fecking clueless when it comes to this :lol:

The weights are different, but the masses are the same. The only variable is gravity, which is around 35% as strong on Mars as it is on Earth, as the respective gravitational force is 3x smaller.

So the lab is the same size on Earth and on Mars, it would just require less effort to lift it on Mars than Earth.

Perspective.

"Huge".

TBF 76kg of dirt is quite a lot.

Good news that Curiosity has touched down safely, this Mars rover will hopefully send back the data that expands the scientific understandings of how,where and why life can exist under the most sever conditions and and discovery that helps science understand how and why life can flourish outside of earth is welcomed.This is no ordinary rover ,this is a laboratory on wheels and the technology that went into it is to be commended and the scientific team behind the scenes that successfully landed this huge rover on the Martian surface. Below is curiosity descending by parachute on its journey to the Martian surface. This image was captured by the MRO.ML.geek.gif

553548_396558407060807_1654971091_n.jpg

For anyone interested in the cameras on Curiosity and on maybe these points listed below, the link provided should answer these main questions.These cameras are vital because it allows any data sent back of the Martian surface to determine the and i quote, acquiring natural color images and visible/near-infrared multispectral views (to help decipher mineralogy).

1. what sort of telephoto capability does it contain?

2;How large is the sensor?

3;What wavelength filters does it have?

4;Also how well would it survive the actual trip to Mars and the surface conditions on the Martian surface?

MARS SCIENCE LABORATORY (MSL) MAST CAMERA (MASTCAM) INSTRUMENT DESCRIPTION

link; http://www.msss.com/...description.php

Edited by maroonlegions

Fantastic.

The USA have sent a tonka truck to stoat about mars & take some holiday photos, but couldn't find Osama Bin Laden living in a semi detached in Pakistan for 10 years

Nice wee article here on the successful landing of Curiosity.

http://media.smh.com.au/news/national-news/australian-role-in-mars-landing-3533187.html

quote;

''TOUCHDOWN confirmed.''

After almost a decade of planning, a budget of $US2.5 billion and seven final minutes of terror, those two words signified NASA's Curiosity rover had landed safely on the red planet just after 3.30pm Sydney time yesterday.

In the mission control room in California, NASA scientists could hardly contain their excitement as they applauded, cried, hugged and congratulated one another for landing the largest and most advanced spacecraft ever sent to another planet, without a hitch.

EB-NASATH-20120806185813920455-620x349.jpg

sob.png

Read more: http://www.smh.com.a...l#ixzz22nNzHjQy

Edited by maroonlegions

Of course this is the real reason why they worked so hard in landing this rover on Mars, the following text sums it up.ML.

QUOTE;

''Now we start the next phase and we'll be part of a major science project to collect and transmit the data. This is really just the start of it.''

During the next few days, the Tidbinbilla tracking station will upload the software to Curiosity that tells it to change from spacecraft mode to rover mode so it can spend the next two years trying to analyse whether conditions have ever favoured life.

NASA's first Mars program director, Scott Hubbard, said Curiosity's safe arrival would ''begin a truly transformational science mission that could change our view of life in the universe''.cool.gif

The rover will head for Mount Sharp, the Gale Crater's highest peak, and the place where Mars orbiters have spotted minerals that formed in water.

Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/technology/sci-tech/nasas-curiosity-pays-off-with-touchdown-on-mars-20120806-23q8t.html#ixzz22nPyWjeP

Fantastic.

The USA have sent a tonka truck to stoat about mars & take some holiday photos, but couldn't find Osama Bin Laden living in a semi detached in Pakistan for 10 years

Tonka truck whistling.gif, did you read the NASA web page that described the array of the scientific instruments this , eh,tonka truck has,laugh.gif, read below what the real goals are of this mission and see that space exploration is a natural instinct for those that want to explore.Holiday snaps laugh.gif, stoat aboot on Mars laugh.gif, feck me , you are either joking or attempting thread derailment,in view of the information i posted on this mission it beggerds believe that you could describe this mission as just collecting holiday snaps,stoating aboot Mars in a tonka truck, its not a schemey holiday to fecking Butlins.romanovpalm.png

quote;

"During the next few days, the Tidbinbilla tracking station will upload the software to Curiosity that tells it to change from spacecraft mode to rover mode so it can spend the next two years trying to analyse whether conditions have ever favoured life.(holiday snaps).cornette.pngNASA's first Mars program director, Scott Hubbard, said Curiosity's safe arrival would ''begin a truly transformational science mission that could change our view of life in the universe''.kirk.png

The rover will head for Mount Sharp, the Gale Crater's highest peak, and the place where Mars orbiters have spotted minerals that formed in water.(stoating aboot)cornette.png

http://www.smh.com.a.../#ixzz22nPyWjeP

Of course you are entitled to you opinion but gob.png

Edited by maroonlegions

Good news. Sooner we start exploring space sooner I get a crack at some alien poontang.

Edited by Das Root

Jimmy McNulty

A good friend of mine from High School is part of the Canadian Space Agency team for this rover thing. Very exciting!

Good news. Sooner we start exploring space sooner I get a crack at some alien poontang.

Well, that's the best comment I've ever read.

Fantastic.

While he was next door to Pakistans secret service HQ :lol:

• 1 year later...

Apparently they've found water.

http://news.sky.com/...bstantial-water

Yip indeed they have all thanks to the Mars rover Curiosity.... No lakes or beds of water in this picture , most likely underground...

pia17083-1-942x530.jpg

There are around two pints of water in every square foot of Martian soil;sn

quote;

"The first scoop of Martian dust, dirt and finely grained soil analysed by Nasa's Curiosity rover suggests there is a "substantial" amount of water on Mars.

Scientists confirmed the soil sample was about 2% water, increasing the chance that a manned mission to the red planet would be able to survive.

In a cubic foot (0.03 cubic meters) of Martian soil "you can get maybe a couple of pints (0.47 litres) of water out of that," said Laurie Leshin, lead author of the study in the journal Science".

link; http://news.sky.com/story/1146964/mars-curiosity-rover-finds-substantial-water

Also this below from your link, are we all Martian descent... are we all Martians..lol .... :kirk: :illogical:

Life on Earth may have started millions of miles away on Mars, according to scientists; lol;

quote;

"An element believed to be crucial to the origin of life would only have been available on the surface of the Red Planet.

These "seeds" of life probably arrived on Earth in meteorites blasted off Mars by impacts or volcanic eruptions, Geochemist Professor Steven Benner claims.

Prof Benner, from The Westheimer Institute for Science and Technology in the US, said: "The evidence seems to be building that we are actually all Martians; that life started on Mars and came to Earth on a rock."

Speaking at the Goldschmidt 2013 conference in Florence, Italy, he said: "It's lucky that we ended up here nevertheless, as certainly Earth has been the better of the two planets for sustaining life."

• 7 years later...