Boozers in Gorgie - My take on it.

It's actually cracking steak pies and a decent pint. Oh and forget about the sample rooms since they went wine bar.

Think Im barred from Diggers after the last KB night out in May.

Had a bit too much vino at the derby day hospitality.

• Replies 122
Think Im barred from Diggers after the last KB night out in May.

The way you're going your match day local will be anywhere outside a 3 mile radius of Tynie.:confused:

LOL!

That explains the dude in the corner with his hood up carrying a scythe...

hey stop dissing the West End Hearts ganghut .. apart from the warm beer,slow service and hibee manager its great

Dunk-Section G
Decided to take a wee tour of gorgie last night to see what was the best boozer in Gorgie.

Westfields - Rubbish, I've been going there for years now, but its lost something.

Station Bar - Too quiet.

Strattie's - Good atmosphere, great laugh, rubbish pints though.

Robbo's - Magic. Fair enough there was a fair bit trouble and some guy tried to punch my mate, but apart from that the place was rocking. Met S.U.S.S last night who's cool as feck. Almost got knocked out myself for asking everyone in the place if they were The BoomTownRat.

Merchie Hearts - Cheap bevvy, plenty o slappers, I loved it.

So all in all, I think Robbo's could be getting visited from now on. I even met Drylaw Hearts who was smiling for a change:).

What was the bother in Robbos?

The way you're going your match day local will be anywhere outside a 3 mile radius of Tynie.:confused:

Hehe, I guess.

Liked Diggers as well, but cant see Auld Jock inviting me in with open arms anytime soon.

Westfields was great, but too many Hibee's serving behind the bar these days, its lost its charm since the hot Landlady left.

She's now at Robbo's though :)

What was the bother in Robbos?

Just a couple of wee skirmishes, and some lad accusing one of my mates of throwing a punch at his mate, but he was steaming and completely wrong.

Liked Diggers as well, but cant see Auld Jock inviting me in with open arms anytime soon.

Jock is a Merchie man through and through, his Diggers visits are pretty rare these days.

That sounds like your sending me an invite up to Diggers mate?

Andy and the crew are going on tour this season with the pubs, next stop Armillan.

Ding dang doo.

Andy and the crew are going on tour this season with the pubs, next stop Armillan.

Ding dang doo.

ARMILLAN's good, you need to get up to the Orwell before it closes, if it closes.

Always thought it was called Ardmillan??????? yeah Orwell and Ettric are good or they used to be...

yeh it is... lol

I actually put that then corrected it after seeing Andy's post, why the feck did I doubt my self over after reading his post!

Ding dang doo.

Watch out Andy and his lot seem to attract bother!:eek::ninja:;)

Robbos for me anyday

altho tend to just go for the big game snow

have my prawn sannies in the Haymarket for the quiter ones

hahaha Andy68 i remember you asking if i knew the boomtown rat lol

i was fairly hammered

did you see the state of our corner, was about 20 broken pint glasses

Ding dang doo.

If your in the Ardmillan then mines a Tennents mate, you'll find me buckled in there on most match days.

Robbos for me anyday

i was fairly hammered

I was more drunk than you bud, you're corner was bouncing.

S.U.S.S - Moi, with my goody goody reputation.

D-McG - Will see you in Ardmillan next big game, I'll be the tall one falling about asking if you 'Ken the Boomtownrat and that'.

I know mate!

I can state without fear of contradiction big Andy and the crew are top drawer!

I know mate!

I can state without fear of contradiction big Andy and the crew are top drawer!

Even though I think you're tattoo's kinda gay after seeing it in the flesh ;)

Roll on thursday

It only looks gay when compared to my sheer volume of masculinity!;)

Good stuff. The next big one is against the Huns I think. Think the whole of Gorgie was wrecked on Saturday, even the Ardmillan was getting boisterous! Robbos was like a train wreck when I popped in for a quick Jack D, everyone destroyed, broken glass everywhere, folk walking about with their tops off. Magic.

I've already apologised for the top off incident.

Mind you the ladies loved it :)

So did i8!;)

Aye, but that big Jessie fancies himself a bit, especially when it comes to singing on the old Karaoke.

Me, thought he sounded pretty bad if Im honest :ninja:

I've already apologised for the top off incident.

Mind you the ladies loved it :)

Was probably about as popular as my trash talk at the poker table at the Casino at 3am after going to subway! 15 hour sessions are not only big, they are clever too.

i was a wee bit mangled by the time you and belgium ollie came in hope i was not slevering pish i actually got a lot worse back in the wegie despite having a quality kip on the stagecoach

He still made more sense than you Mr Burns ;)

Aye, but that big Jessie fancies himself a bit, especially when it comes to singing on the old Karaoke.

Please believe me, that was one of his better nights!:wacko:

I was lucky enough to have Ih8 on his knees in Stratties doorway singing to me!!!!

Robbo's was fun apart from the guy chatting to me getting a headbutt! Dunno why it happened but the whole place was rocking!

My liver is having a rest for a few weeks after the 15 hours on the lash, should try to remember I'm half the size of all the boys I drink with.

hey stop dissing the West End Hearts ganghut .. apart from the warm beer,slow service and hibee manager its great

Who's dissing?:)

I keep going there pre-match despite the above too!

fairly regular in the diggers post match - enjoy the good beer and generally good atmosphere. although they seem to be getting even fussier about singing. You'd think you could have a wee sing song in a hearts pub after a derby win without the staff growling at you?

Still my favourite place for a drink on match day though :) Maybe it's something to do with my liking of prawn sandwiches.

The only time I've been in Robbos was a non-match Saturday night. The 2 females having a serious fight in the middle led me to question its class. We left after 1 pint. :P

Robbos for me anyday

i was fairly hammered

Aye yer a messy bunch you lot!!

Who was the guy sleeping in the corner with the beermats and stuff stuck all over him, and covered in broken glass carefully placed by SUSS and the crew lol?? Funny as feck that was!! :4_1_111:

Roll on thursday

You should see his men only tatoo on his right but cheek!

I like Ardmillan pre match and Tynie arms after (when get the chance). Got to go to Tynie arms before and after derby game as my son wasnt down for game. Do miss not getting to go in regularly but thats the way it goes. Robbos for me is only if well drunk and not being able to think properly. never been in the merchie club.

Oliver Tobias

Robbos def the best, who was the muppet in there on sat with a Green & white Ireland top on. surprised he was allowed in.

Was in Robbos pre match. As much as i love the atmosphere and the fact that i know 1/2 the boozer the place is a bit of a nightmare, in having to queue 4 deep at the bar and it being completely understaffed, plus its 8000degrees celcius!

They also ran out of pint glasses so it was bottles only!

Its got its faults, but still love it. Drank there since i was 15.... :)

Robbo's all the way.

Nae self-important dicks who turn their noses up. Party tunes, flat beer and a rocking atmosphere. Fantastic.

Of the ones I've frequented...

The Polwarth

My old local and the final stop on the cup winning bevvy train. Never been in pre-match, but it's decent for a bit later on after a game and to watch a match if you can't attend.

Golden Rule

First stop once back in Edinburgh after Prague. Great boozer, although I did once get warned away from there by a bunch of Hibs casuals after a derby who were going to "take it".

The Fountain

Just a poor boozer.

McGowans

Wannabe Wetherspoons, although you can't knock the cheap Miller.

The Orwell

Always busy but not too packed, had many the pre and post match pint in there. Will be sad to see it go.

The Ettrick

It's nice and all that, but doesn't feel right on a match day.

The Shandon

Not too busy and pool tables. Good for a change.

BM

Quality old man haunt.

Station Bar

I'm not a fan. It's a craphole without the charm.

Stratties

Legendary. Minging to look at but full of character. Scene of many a cup final pint, and a convenient hop, skip and a jump to my old seat in the main stand.

Tynie Arms

The quintessential Hearts boozer. Venue for Bordeaux and Basle away. Good memories.

Robbos

If you're that way inclined then fine. It has a good party atmosphere etc, but I'm afraid the racism is a bit much for me. And I'm pretty thick skinned.

Balmoral

Eurgh.

Ardmillan

Much like the Orwell, busy but usually not too bad. Close to the doctor's if you drink too much. Did get glassed here once (shoulder).

Dickens

You can always buy Kenny a pint...

Why do people that dont drink in or have not been to Robbos for x years still have a pop at the place?

Cos it hasnt changed much?

Robbo's all the way.

Nae self-important dicks who turn their noses up. Party tunes, flat beer and a rocking atmosphere. Fantastic.

Haha, bang on mate!

Bonnie Prince Charlie
Robbos is definately the best boozer to drink in the Gorgie area!!

Are you serious? It is a dirty sh*t hole and the bar staff are rude and do not have a clue about working behind a bar. At least in Stratties the staff are efficient and polite. I stopped going to Robbos around 6 months ago as I'd had enough of poor service by rude bar staff.

Robbos, sometimes in the Orwell pre match to meet the old man but made a habit of going into the balmoral on the way home, its not that bad actually. Had quality banter with a bunch of Germans who had traveled over and took in a game.

Robbos is definately the best boozer to drink in the Gorgie area!!

Is it busy non match days.Do not see the attraction of drinking there myself.

Are you serious? It is a dirty sh*t hole and the bar staff are rude and do not have a clue about working behind a bar. At least in Stratties the staff are efficient and polite. I stopped going to Robbos around 6 months ago as I'd had enough of poor service by rude bar staff.

Always polite and efficient with me. Quite a few new faces behind the bar now as well.

Is it busy non match days.Do not see the attraction of drinking there myself.

Not really, the tumbleweed has its own seat but thats about it!:)

Robbo's all the way.

Post of the week.

Robbo's for me, before, after and sometimes during all home games :whistling: