Worst Night Club in Edinburgh??

Civil Jambo

oh and as for these days i would not set foot in any of the afore- mentioned flea pits. not because of their location or choice of music but just the general clientele frequenting said hot spots. i am 34 so maybe i am just old

Whats wrong with Shanghi?

Not that I am saying there is anything wrong with not liking it as I am aware it is fairly hit or miss at times - you really have to go on the right night.

I like the place, just interested to see why others perhaps dont rate it....

Not a fan of the George Street clientele in the slightest.

Plus I got knocked back from there going in for my mates birthday on a Sunday night back in October. I was drunk but wasn't anywhere near steaming and there was nobody in the place (as my mates discovered_. It was my first attempt at entering a club after returning home and getting KB'd for little reason just reminded me just how crap nights out in Scotland can be.

But the main reason, as stated earlier, is that it's full of arrogant ******s. :D

Clubs, no thanks I am too old for that malarky. Although Madchester might be getting a load of speedbump love next week!

Plus I got knocked back from there going in for my mates birthday on a Sunday night back in October. I was drunk but wasn't anywhere near steaming and there was nobody in the place (as my mates discovered_. It was my first attempt at entering a club after returning home and getting KB'd for little reason just reminded me just how crap nights out in Scotland can be.

But the main reason, as stated earlier, is that it's full of arrogant ******s. :D

Compared to Ibiza the clubs here are sickening.

What I'd give to able to go to Space every weekend!

Compared to Ibiza the clubs here are sickening.

What I'd give to able to go to Space every weekend!

I went to Space closing then 13 days later I entered Le Monde (my first bar I went into since I got back), I took a few sips of my pint, went outside while my flat mate had a fag and just point blank refused to go back inside. The thought of doing it made me feel ill, I literally could not bring myself to go back in. I just hated the sight of the place and everyone in it.

Since then I've gradually managed to ease my way back into enjoying Edinburgh night life, but it'll be a long time before I set foot in Le Monde again.

I used to get a great feeling when out at Stereo around 3 or 4 years ago. The white room upstairs we used to term "the tequilla lounge". We had a rule that we would drink nothing but tequila up there and spent many a night singing "tequila, it makes me happy!". Oh the memories.

Nothing to do with the club or the clientele, just the fact that almost despite the negative factors, my friends and I still had a great night with great banter. I find that we are getting so much more fussy of our surroundings now instead of having the feel good factor of going anywhere and not giving a toss and still having a riot!

I was planning on going out in edinburgh for my birthday in a couple of weeks but now you have all got me thinking that i should give it a miss because everywhere is apparently ****!!

Fair enough.

Yours Faithfuly,

An Arrogant ****. x

Fair enough.

Yours Faithfuly,

An Arrogant ****. x

Nae bother

Cheers

An unwashed wannabe Alternative.

Me and my mates went to mood on saturday night, was one of the best nights out iv had in a long time.

The fact we were all disgracefully drunk probably helped! :laugh:

Forgot about Cab Vol, love that place.

Ego did change to Luna but it's shut/shutting down at the end of the month. They have lost the clubbing license I think. Dunno if it's to do with the fire at New Year or if it's just not making money but it's very dissapointing.

Nothing to do with the licence, it's just not making enough money.

I'll be at James Zabiela. One of my best mates is a Musika resident - Jamie McKenzie. Never been to Potterrow before so should be good.

Who are you? I know Jamie's mob fairly well, am nae Leither though! :D

Ahh, the good 'ol Shanghai/Tiger Lily/etc.... "Where the hair is white and the girls are orange"

I genuinely had one of the best nights out ever in Shanghai (my mate used to be bar manager so we'd get in for nothing and pay much cheapness for bevvy :) )

We went out after the Scotland -Ukraine game (i'd been drinking since 9 that morning) and spent the entire night ripping the pash out of the JLS-crew / WAG wannabes. I remember my wee mate chatting to this chick, who obviously came out in the hope of spending other peoples money, he asks her what she looked for in a guy. SHe replies "It's all about the face" to which my mate replies "Well that's you ducked then darling" and walks away. I bought him a beer for that...

Shanghai, Why Not, Espionage, Stereo, Cav, Subway, City and Massa.

That leave anything?

My favourite clubs are currently Citrus, Faith and The Hive. Although that is only because they have Indie nights and I would happily admit that the places themselves are in fact **** holes.

Agreed, was in Citrus a few weeks ago and was in Faith on Friday for Evol (not a patch on LR though). Both ****eholes, but play good tunes.

Much prefer pubs to clubs but would only really go to either The Hive or Studio24 maybe Citrus at a push! Cannot stand George St or mood/massa/city etc!

My worst night out in Edinburgh was at Why Not on a Friday a while back. We got in at the back of 10 which is pretty damn early for us. 5 minutes in my mate had to get a taxi back home cause he was too guttered then lost another couple a couple hours in which left 4 of us.

The music was absolutely dreadful as was the talent. Then it was full of the typical student folk. The best bit of the night was a fight on the dance floor between students who seemed to have no idea what the hell they were doing. Just swinging punches. One boy floored his own mate. Cringeworthy stuff.

I will admit that I don't mind Cav as we all just get blootered and head upstairs to the cheesy stuff and just ***** around giving the most awful chat.

Cab Vol was probably the best overall club. Went on a thursday and it was the first time up town that I actually heard decent music such as MGMT.

Surely the worst club in Edinburgh ever was Babylon on Great Junction street. It lasted 2 weeks before getting shut down for stabbings, people smacking up in toilets etc

That's the port for ya.

Did Mussleburgh not get its own club (Cube rings a bell) which shut down for similar reasons.

Who could forget Eros - Elite/ Edinburgh Arena, another class A (in more than one sense) ****hole

Did Mussleburgh not get its own club (Cube rings a bell) which shut down for similar reasons.

Who could forget Eros - Elite/ Edinburgh Arena, another class A (in more than one sense) ****hole

It did only went there twice but on both occasions there were riots and also police raid on both occasions!

Subway westend and Opium (arrrrrrrrrgh!!! went there once, NEVER AGAIN) have to be the worst.

In all honesty Cav is good if you are with a lot of your mates and on a mission to get wasted :)

Subway westend and Opium (arrrrrrrrrgh!!! went there once, NEVER AGAIN) have to be the worst.

In all honesty Cav is good if you are with a lot of your mates and on a mission to get wasted :)

Cav is Sh**e the last time i was there i lost count of how many people asked me if i had any E's to sell them!! ............or maybe i just look like a drug dealer????

Have ye any swedgers, ma man?

gurn7azmp1.jpg

tommythejambo
I'm only 21 and already long fed up with all the ****ty clubs in Edinburgh-Stereo, City, Scrubway,Faith,Mood, Massa etc etc.

I'm 19 and I'm sick of all of them.

However Mood is the worst no question.

My worst night out in Edinburgh was at Why Not on a Friday a while back. We got in at the back of 10 which is pretty damn early for us. 5 minutes in my mate had to get a taxi back home cause he was too guttered then lost another couple a couple hours in which left 4 of us.

The music was absolutely dreadful as was the talent. Then it was full of the typical student folk. The best bit of the night was a fight on the dance floor between students who seemed to have no idea what the hell they were doing. Just swinging punches. One boy floored his own mate. Cringeworthy stuff.

I will admit that I don't mind Cav as we all just get blootered and head upstairs to the cheesy stuff and just ***** around giving the most awful chat.

Cab Vol was probably the best overall club. Went on a thursday and it was the first time up town that I actually heard decent music such as MGMT.

Probably because Friday at Why Not is the student night:laugh:

Pick your nights better next time and you may not have the trouble of running into us 'Student types'

It's difficult to choose a worst as there is such a large number to choose from. Liquid Room (haste ye back!), Hive and Citrus are about the only places I go to these days. Hopefully the Picture House will be good.

Probably because Friday at Why Not is the student night:laugh:

Pick your nights better next time and you may not have the trouble of running into us 'Student types'

I honestly don't know why I posted that bit as I am also a student and mostly go to clubs on a student night. I should have said there were more stereotypical students than I have witnessed before in clubs on student nights.

If that makes sense.:o

Cube in mussy, first club I went into, complete hole, riots etc.

head to Citrus/Hive/Liquid Rms... get into an absolute mess, jump about like a dafty and not get kicked out = magic. The clubs are actual holes but play gd tunes and usully gd crowds in the clubs.

worse club has to be subway, it is a cross between a 18-30s club and butlins nightlife.

City is an awful club along with Mood and a few others. Im not too fond of George Street either just overpriced and full of numpties.

Good clubs are Citrus/the Hive/Liquid Rooms and the one time I have been in Faith it was a good night aswell. Even though Citrus and the Hive are both fairly scabby they play decent tunes and thats the main thing I suppose. Also the Hive is cheap as chips.

A wee mention to Berlin aswell. One of the best clubs in town in my opinion. However I think I may be getting beyond my clubbing days even though im 21. I prefer a few beers in a pub where you can chat and get hammered without being robbed unlike club prices.

After being convinced to go to Mood or Doom for those who know it (it was a mates birthday and his choice) i have to say its my vote! what a hole!! fat people and miniskirts do not mix!!:eek:

The one that rat boy gets in,:108years::108years:

Luna closes it's doors on the 31st of Jan.

Luna has not lost it's licence, the current owner has decided that it will be better to close the doors as the club not making money, that decission was taken before the fire on NYE

Like someone else said the Picture house my well be the future of Edinburgh clubbing, or at least utill the Liquid Room re-opens. The picture house owners are at this time in a legal battle with Luminar for rights to hold club nights in the venue.

Massa is only closing for a few months as the club is to undergo a majour refit and rebranding

For me the worst club in Edinburgh has got to be Mood, las time I was in there I left after about 30 mins, just had a pint then went across to Ego. I vowed never to go there again