• ri Alban

• frankblack

• Boris

• JamboX2

coconut doug
12 minutes ago, Geoff the Mince said:

And what if I don't explain anything to you Coco  ?

anyway what's your views on Salisbury ? 

I don't think you can explain it. That's what.

It's still the wrong thread for the Salisbury discussion.

Geoff the Mince
12 minutes ago, coconut doug said:

I don't think you can explain it. That's what.

It's still the wrong thread for the Salisbury discussion.

If you dont understand why pro Palestine & Catalan groups would attach themselves to the indy movement then i cant help you .

coconut doug
20 minutes ago, Geoff the Mince said:

If you dont understand why pro Palestine & Catalan groups would attach themselves to the indy movement then i cant help you .

Of course i understand that they have something in common especially the Catalans that is why some might fly their flags as a gesture of solidarity. What evidence have you got to prove that these groups have attached themselves to the indy movement and that they have "hijacked" it. Why is it a bad thing if they have?

If you can't explain the claims you make then perhaps you should'nt make these claims. 

1 hour ago, Arnold Rothstein said:

100k people apparently. ?

A fraction of the crowd we get when parading the cup through Edinburgh.

For something as big as this I can’t take it seriously unless there’s at least a million marching.

SwindonJambo
1 minute ago, Gashauskis9 said:

For something as big as this I can’t take it seriously unless there’s at least a million marching.

Edinburgh City Council’s estimate was 20,000.

53 minutes ago, Gashauskis9 said:

That's 1/5 the entire population of Scotland

This is apparently todays march organiser.

A see you jimmy hat ?

Christ its bad enough they believe in Brigadoon and take Braveheart as gospel but Russ Abbot as a cultural touchstone?

Here's a quid now feck off and get a life and leave us to get on with ours.

_103749641_indyref_march_edinburgh_frame_47862.png

1 hour ago, Janbo1874 said:

A see you jimmy hat ?

Christ its bad enough they believe in Brigadoon and take Braveheart as gospel but Russ Abbot as a cultural touchstone?

I was drinking in Platform 5 today - thought I would be far enough away from the cretins but no - a group of them appeared later in the afternoon.  They looked utterly ridiculous.

I am not sure exactly what point they think they are making but a march on the parliament where their party is ruling is hardly going to increase their following nationwide.

Edited by frankblack

5 hours ago, Geoff the Mince said:

Do you still doubt the Russians involvement in Salisbury ? 

Aye, how? You know when the British are lying when their lips move. 

2 hours ago, Janbo1874 said:

A see you jimmy hat ?

Who's stopping you getting on with your life other than Wm. But hey,  the no voting traitors with Stockholm syndrome, keep hating their own people on behalf of their British handlers. 

Give me the sound of bagpipes and you can keep the sound of flutes. 

14 hours ago, i8hibsh said:

The SNP expect everything to be free so Catalonia and Palestine should be no different.

Says the Brexiteer. 

3 hours ago, ri Alban said:

Says the Brexiteer. 

That joke seemed to go above most people's heads

7 hours ago, Janbo1874 said:

A see you jimmy hat ?

Ffs the boy is a ****ing parody. What an absolute cretin.  Catalan flag in the background. What are they about, I mean seriously. It is Green Brigade causes. There is even an Irish Tricolore waving about there.

I do not care about Catelonia or Palestine. It s not my fight. Why do they insist on peddling this on our doorstep. My hatred level for these people is through the roof. However keep up the good work you cretinous letches as with every Green Brigade march you damage your 'cause' more.

Edited by i8hibsh

Couple of posters above calling people cretins for having different political opinions.

Pretty pathetic. 

12 minutes ago, Sarah O said:

Couple of posters above calling people cretins for having different political opinions.

Pretty pathetic. 

To be fair Sarah O, both sides are guilty of this on political threads. 

36 minutes ago, i8hibsh said:

Ffs the boy is a ****ing parody. What an absolute cretin.  Catalan flag in the background. What are they about, I mean seriously. It is Green Brigade causes. There is even an Irish Tricolore waving about there.

I do not care about Catelonia or Palestine. It s not my fight. Why do they insist on peddling this on our doorstep. My hatred level for these people is through the roof. However keep up the good work you cretinous letches as with every Green Brigade march you damage your 'cause' more.

No, I think you'll find Brexit (that you voted) will finish your filth ridden poxy little no mark union. 

9 hours ago, Cade said:

That's 1/5 the entire population of Scotland

Here’s me thinking that 45% of the country voted for it.

5 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

No, I think you'll find Brexit (that you voted) will finish your filth ridden poxy little no mark union. 

Ok.

Krankies claim 100K at Brigadoon Rewind which looks to be out by 80000 - an estimate of seville proportions ( putting 3 flags on 1 stick doesnt count !) and a lot of very strange looking people will do nothing  to persuade the electorate 

funny the Krankies party conference starts today - desperation !

20 minutes ago, manaliveits105 said:

Krankies claim 100K at Brigadoon Rewind which looks to be out by 80000 - an estimate of seville proportions ( putting 3 flags on 1 stick doesnt count !) and a lot of very strange looking people will do nothing  to persuade the electorate 

funny the Krankies party conference starts today - desperation !

It's interesting the bitterness that is shown toward people who are, after all,  only exercising their democratic rights.

All the polls seem to suggest that should there be another Indy ref then no would win again, yet that side seems really uncomfortable with any yes activity whatsoever. You would think they would be quite sanguine about it all, knowing they were secure.

I mean after reading the comments here, it appears that the yes campaign is actively self harming itself so why all the ire and aggressiveness?

I seen the photos and social media storm after the event last night and today. I kind of think however there's a huge gaping black hole in the middle of the Indy movement at present, that being a plan and an alternative vision.

From the placards and banners you'd think the intent is to establish a nation of either socialist workers or one of intense Scottish patriotism which is narrowly focused on independence at a costs. Which is no different from Brexit at all costs. Frankly that won't appeal to the centrist, middle of the road voters needed to win the independence fight.

Let's compare this movement to the major constitutional flash point previously: devolution.

There was an intellectual underpinning to the devolution movement which informed their way ahead. The movement had a broad and diverse political and civic leadership which disagreed with on outcomes and debated how best to achieve a platform for whatever change people wanted. This movement had a Labour, Liberal and soft Tory and (unaffiliated) nationalist tinge to it which was added to by trade unions, charities, churches and other groups. The movement had weight of breadth and depth of opinion. Not just the SNP in the lead but a wider societal group which people of all persuasions could buy into. AUOB appeared to be a load of saltires and a demand for an Indy now and predominant political hue was the SNP.

Devolution brought about the political but long lasting Claim of Right. An intellectual underpinning to the Constitutional Convention which drew up a blueprint for what Scottish devolution would look like. Where's the corresponding cross-society convention? Again we've had a spell of assemblies from the SNP. We've had a poorly received economic analysis. But there's never been a real attempt to set out how the yes movement truly see things set out and operating. Fairness and equality are mere words. How you intend to achieve these things via laws and constitutions another. And yet beyond a watered down Scotland Act that the government prepared in 2013 there's been little done here. Creating a vacuous cause which can be filled with empty platitudes and merely saying what you're against, not for. And (dangerously) the response to questions about the movements aims of "it'll be decided at a later date". 

It lacks a narrative for all people to buy into. It's narrowly focused on its already converted base - a seemingly international failing of politics at present. But Catalan solidarity, calls for a United Ireland and Free Palestine won't win the vote should it come. 

As an outsider looking in it appeared to be naked patriotism. The loons in the counter demo would be better staying away from protesting as it does as much to their cause as these AUOB marches do the yes cause. 

What I don't get is how the SNP are immune from criticism here - and the Greens to an extent. Keith Brown was one of those leading the march chanting he wants independence now. Yet his party's leadership has consistently danced on the head of a pin since the 2017 General Election on this issue. Which - to me - suggests a lack of conviction and readiness to go to the people on it. Which is in part because they've done 0 ground work to open up their constitutional goal beyond their party - a failing of all Yes Parties imo. Why isn't RISE attending the STUC and calling for Yes? Where's the Greens asking environmental groups for their input on the benefits of Yes to climate change and energy security? 

At present the whole thing just seems empty beyond rhetoric. It was a well attended and organised display. But I don't think it's got independence ant closer nor convinced those still undecided or no. Simply put it's a cheerier form of Brexit at the moment: vacuous of a defining and unifying cause beyond itself.

18 hours ago, Geoff the Mince said:

Probably about 100 bikers which was impressive apart from one of the lead bikers with a large Palestine and Catalan flag

nothing about Scotland . The Scottish marchers seem to be getting hijacked by these minority groups .

Very green brigade .

286 bikes left the airport. I was one of them One Palestine flag hardly a hijacking.

People were encouraged to bring flags from where you were from to show the diversity. Perhaps this chap was from Palestine ?

There was also a Rangers Supporters for Yes banner.

Very Union Bears.

Edited by Rally200

2 minutes ago, Boris said:

It's interesting the bitterness that is shown toward people who are, after all,  only exercising their democratic rights.

All the polls seem to suggest that should there be another Indy ref then no would win again, yet that side seems really uncomfortable with any yes activity whatsoever. You would think they would be quite sanguine about it all, knowing they were secure.

I mean after reading the comments here, it appears that the yes campaign is actively self harming itself so why all the ire and aggressiveness?

The No side would be best ignoring it all together. Counter-demos of people wearing the UJ are nuts. As naieve as thinking you can make the world better by calling for the break up of Spain and reunification of Ireland as part of the indy cause.

10 hours ago, Janbo1874 said:

A see you jimmy hat ?

Why does it have to organised by a dickhead like this ffs? I’m not against indy and would likely vote for it but this does the movement a lot of damage. 

Its actually ****ing hilarious tbh :lol: 

Like a lot of these things it’s actually like they’re at the wind up. 

Looking at some of the pictures, it's a very white movement, very white and very male. Each to their own I suppose.

17 minutes ago, pablo said:

Looking at some of the pictures, it's a very white movement, very white and very male. Each to their own I suppose.

Scotland's 96% white, what were you expecting?

7 minutes ago, Smithee said:

Scotland's 96% white, what were you expecting?

Yeah granted. Edinburgh is more like 90% white though, and in the circles I move in professionally it's a lot less than that. What about the gender make up? Looks very blokey.

To be honest,  it was merely an observation. Looks similar in gender and race to a Scottish football crowd.

26 minutes ago, pablo said:

Yeah granted. Edinburgh is more like 90% white though, and in the circles I move in professionally it's a lot less than that. What about the gender make up? Looks very blokey.

To be honest,  it was merely an observation. Looks similar in gender and race to a Scottish football crowd.

Politics, and in particular political activism,  tends to be male dominated in this 96% white country.

Pointing out that there's a lot of white males comes across as trying to find a negative when it's actually exactly what you'd expect. 

7 minutes ago, Smithee said:

Politics, and in particular political activism,  tends to be male dominated in this 96% white country.

Pointing out that there's a lot of white males comes across as trying to find a negative when it's actually exactly what you'd expect. 

As I said,  merely an observation. No different to calling it out in relation to one of those Football lads alliance marches. 

3 minutes ago, pablo said:

As I said,  merely an observation. No different to calling it out in relation to one of those Football lads alliance marches. 

Exactly, it wasn't just an observation, there was an implication behind it. 

SwindonJambo
1 hour ago, jack D and coke said:

Why does it have to organised by a dickhead like this ffs? I’m not against indy and would likely vote for it but this does the movement a lot of damage. 

I agree - people like that don’t do whatever cause they attach themselves to any good at all.He looks like a complete numpty. Have a look at Man alive’s shots further up. To win,  Yes have to present cogent economic arguments, an acknowledgment of the likely challenges and how they’d tackle them. A robust currency plan would help them too. It’s hard to see how marches of flag wavers do any good at all. Especially those flags of foreign countries.

19 minutes ago, Smithee said:

Exactly, it wasn't just an observation, there was an implication behind it. 

Nothing at all is being implied. It looks from the pictures I've seen very white, and very male. And that's all I said.

3 minutes ago, pablo said:

Nothing at all is being implied. It looks from the pictures I've seen very white, and very male. And that's all I said.

It wasn't all you said though, you also said "each to their own"

You also said "No different to calling it out in relation to one of those Football lads alliance marches" which is hardly neutral.

But fair enough, we've both said our bits, it would be boring if we all agreed.

Just now, Smithee said:

It wasn't all you said though, you also said "each to their own"

You also said "No different to calling it out in relation to one of those Football lads alliance marches" which is hardly neutral.

But fair enough, we've both said our bits, it would be boring if we all agreed.

Absolutely. From the limited number of images I've seen, the diversity within my own communities(both personally and professionally) doesn't appear to be represented. I thought it worth mentioning. Although as I wasn't there, perhaps it was different on the ground?

3 hours ago, jack D and coke said:

It's not. A few dudes dressed like this and the uj brigade latch on. There were thousands of folk from different backgrounds supporting independence there. All having a ball. 

Sir Vladimir of Romanov

If only the separatists could use the same Seville calculator they use for their marches when the votes are actually cast... 

Looked very diverse. By the looks of it there were Catalans, Palestinians, Irish and even Russ Abbott turned up. It really is hard to take seriously when the leader dresses up like a pissed up stag doer who has just went and bought a lot of Scottish tat from one of the tacky cheap souvenir shops to take funny photos and post on facebook to show that he is 'on it' in Edinburgh.  An absolute mockery of political activism. They should have went all out and had some of them come dressed as Tunnocks Teacakes.

Sir Vladimir of Romanov
39 minutes ago, i8hibsh said:

Looked very diverse. By the looks of it there were Catalans, Palestinians, Irish and even Russ Abbott turned up. It really is hard to take seriously when the leader dresses up like a pissed up stag doer who has just went and bought a lot of Scottish tat from one of the tacky cheap souvenir shops to take funny photos and post on facebook to show that he is 'on it' in Edinburgh.  An absolute mockery of political activism. They should have went all out and had some of them come dressed as Tunnocks Teacakes.

Hopefully nobody was asked to smile. 

6 minutes ago, Sir Vladimir of Romanov said:

To be fair, one of them did have a tooth.

5 hours ago, i8hibsh said:

Why are you so angry? Oh right there were women there. 

5 hours ago, Sir Vladimir of Romanov said:

Nae chance of a smile from your manky mob of filth. Face all squashed up with bitter rage against everyone. 

5 hours ago, Sir Vladimir of Romanov said:

5 hours ago, i8hibsh said:

If you 2 are the people, thank feck I'm not.