• Silvery_Moon

• The Real Maroonblood

• Maroon Sailor

• Elmore

On 09/06/2018 at 08:53, Alva-Jambo said:

It used to go as far as Juniper Green, who thin gs have changed.

Aye, changed days now right enough.

drumie jambo

When the first game of the new season comes along who is getting the 44 bus to Tynecastle Park?  More

importantly how many bell rings then?

On 6/9/2018 at 08:53, Alva-Jambo said:

It used to go as far as Juniper Green, who thin gs have changed.

Remember that well. Had to walk to Currie unless I could catch an SMT 52. Kids today............

1 hour ago, inspector said:

Remember that well. Had to walk to Currie unless I could catch an SMT 52. Kids today............

Was that in the days when the 'corporation' buses had those square wee tickets?

I'm from the east side.Walk to joppa ,44 to Ardmillan .thrupence for a half fare.

Edited by norrie1952
Wrong starting point

Mars plastic
12 minutes ago, Elmore said:

Had the wee man on it and had the text ‘go by bus’ 

3 hours ago, drumie jambo said:

When the first game of the new season comes along who is getting the 44 bus to Tynecastle Park?  More

importantly how many bell rings then?

I get the 44 to the games and have to admit to only ringing the bell once, or not at all if someone else has already done it. I apologise to JKB as I now realise I was to blame for the lack of goals last season. 

You can get a 44 from Juniper Green to Musselburgh for the Races. I did once and it took the best part of 2 hours each way. Never again.

23 minutes ago, Elmore said:

The SMT buses had the rectangular cardboard tickets but I can't remember square tickets. I also thought that local buses had to be in the local teams colours.

will-i-am-a-jambo
2 hours ago, Elmore said:

I thought the wee square tickets were on the LRT buses that used to pop out a wee red box by the drivers door but my memory could be playing tricks on me.

3 hours ago, indianajones said:

Do 44s still come at a rate of one every 20 seconds?

three 20 seconds apart then none for half an hour.

wheatfield to sheffield

Because it's a bus that I used to often use to go to Tynecastle, 44 has always been one of my lottery numbers

south morroccan

For me it was 33 to Cameron Toll, then thumb oot. Usually got me home but sometimes had to flag down the SMT bus. 

5 hours ago, Elmore said:

5 hours ago, Mars plastic said:

Had the wee man on it and had the text ‘go by bus’ 

2 hours ago, will-i-am-a-jambo said:

I thought the wee square tickets were on the LRT buses that used to pop out a wee red box by the drivers door but my memory could be playing tricks on me.

Were the tickets not square with a wee semi circular notch cut out the top and the bottom?

I want to say they were a green colour.

8 minutes ago, been here before said:

Were the tickets not square with a wee semi circular notch cut out the top and the bottom?

I thought it was LRT that was the corporation buses?  Also, what did SMT stand for?  Slow Midlothian Trek?  

Edited by Elmore

will-i-am-a-jambo
8 minutes ago, been here before said:

Yep l remember the wee semi circular notch at the top, think you're right there. Not sure about the green colour though but my memory isnae the best!

will-i-am-a-jambo
3 minutes ago, Elmore said:

I thought it was LRT that was the corporation buses?  Also, what did SMT stand for?  Slow Midlothian Trek?  

Scottish Midland Transport if memory serves but l much prefer your version!

2 minutes ago, Elmore said:

I meant the colour of the tickets. In fact I meant to type grey.

SMT was Scottish Motor(ised?) Transport was it not? Green/manky Yellow buses.

Mars plastic
15 minutes ago, been here before said:

They were indeed but I remember them being more of a grey colour. The machine that spat them out was red if I remember correctly 

The corporation buses had a conductor who had a machine that spat out pink tickets from a roll. The SMT conductor had a number of different coloured tickets that he put into his machine that printed individual tickets. This was mid-60's

2 hours ago, been here before said:

But they ran a decent service in West Lothian, 45 minutes from Blackburn cross to St Andrews Square, with First it can take that long to get to the Centre in Livi.

Silvery_Moon
17 hours ago, Elmore said:

17 hours ago, been here before said:

17 hours ago, will-i-am-a-jambo said:

Scottish Midland Transport if memory serves but l much prefer your version!

SMT stood for Scottish Motor Traction. 

I used two 4p bus tokens for the 8p ride to school.  Wee card ticket with semi circle holes came out of the machine and could be chewed up and spat through straws.  Upstairs for smokers.

11 minutes ago, Sydney said:

I used two 4p bus tokens for the 8p ride to school.  Wee card ticket with semi circle holes came out of the machine and could be chewed up and spat through straws.  Upstairs for smokers.

With the added service of a match striker on the back of the seat in front of you. Class!  

1 hour ago, Sydney said:

Upstairs for smokers.

Mind that insane thing they done when you werent allowed to smoke in the front half of the upstairs seats. Mental.

Used to hate buses full of smoke. Utterly vile and dusgusting environments. Probably one of the reasons I cant stand buses now.

5 hours ago, Sydney said:

Stephane Grappelli

Got this bus many times in the past.  Fairly confident I'll be on it again in the future too.

On 15/06/2018 at 15:00, The Real Maroonblood said:

What happened to the 44A?

Took the A away.

Only difference to the 44 was the way it went round Balerno

On 11/06/2018 at 16:26, been here before said:

Mind that insane thing they done when you werent allowed to smoke in the front half of the upstairs seats. Mental.

Used to hate buses full of smoke. Utterly vile and dusgusting environments. Probably one of the reasons I cant stand buses now.

Upstairs in the bus in Fort William used to say ‘No Spitting’.

Nice.

Silvery_Moon
7 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Took the A away.

I know this probably doesn't count but I was on an x44 last week. Sadly doesn't run at weekends. 

7 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Took the A away.

The bus stops are still there so maybe it will comeback.

Alternatively they probably have forgotten about them.

8 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Took the A away.

Was that the same route as the 43?

2 minutes ago, superjack said:

Was that the same route as the 43?

Don't think so

43 when I was a kid went from Waverley to Wester Hailes shopping centre via Lanark Road up to Gillespie crossroads. 

Then it got dropped and came back as a bus that served Barnton to the City Centre

Silvery_Moon
1 hour ago, Boof said:

Nothing to do with the 44, but scarcely worthy of a new thread...anybody know why the route numbers 9, 13, 17, 28, 32, 35 + a few more don't exist. Or at least they don't on https://www.lothianbuses.com/our-services/lothian-city-buses/ 

They all used to. The 9 was linked to the 10 then all services became the 10. The 13 does exist in Edinburgh but isn't Lothian Buses (Edinburgh coach lines) at the moment. The 17 used to be similar to the 16. Can't remember when the 28 stopped. The 32 and 52 were circular services similar to the routes covered by the 18 and 21 these days. The 35 was renumbered to 300 last October. The 43 does exist but is a Green Lothian Country service to Queensferry. This is effectively still a Lothian service though. 

Edited by Silvery_Moon

9 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Don't think so

43 when I was a kid went from Waverley to Wester Hailes shopping centre via Lanark Road up to Gillespie crossroads. 

Then it got dropped and came back as a bus that served Barnton to the City Centre

I was in balerno for a wee bit in the mid 90s. The 43 went there but went around the back, past the johnsburn. 

3 minutes ago, superjack said:

I was in balerno for a wee bit in the mid 90s. The 43 went there but went around the back, past the johnsburn. 

Didn't know that

Did it turn right at Gillespie Crossroads and go through Colinton Village like the 45 does now ?

Edited by Maroon Sailor

2 hours ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Didn't know that

Did it turn right at Gillespie Crossroads and go through Colinton Village like the 45 does now ?

If I'm being honest I don't remember. I just remember getting off near the johnsburn as I stayed about 100 yards from there. Would have been late 94 to early 95. Didn't like it there at all, probably something to do with staying with my folks after leaving the forces.

12 hours ago, Silvery_Moon said:

They all used to. The 9 was linked to the 10 then all services became the 10. The 13 does exist in Edinburgh but isn't Lothian Buses (Edinburgh coach lines) at the moment. The 17 used to be similar to the 16. Can't remember when the 28 stopped. The 32 and 52 were circular services similar to the routes covered by the 18 and 21 these days. The 35 was renumbered to 300 last October. The 43 does exist but is a Green Lothian Country service to Queensferry. This is effectively still a Lothian service though. 

Wow - comprehensive answer!!

I have a vague early 80s recollection of the 9 and did the 35 go near Sighthill?

Could be a fascinating history.

15 minutes ago, Boof said:

I have a vague early 80s recollection of the 9 and did the 35 go near Sighthill?

35 ran from the airport up Calder Road through gorgie I'm sure it went up lothian Road then up to Holyrood but I may be wrong. 

Old days 34/35 did the reverse route Sighthill to Lochend.

35 would go through Longstone to Lochend but back through Gorgie to Sighthill

34 would go through Gorgie to Lochend but back through Longstone to Sighthill

Silvery_Moon
1 hour ago, Boof said:

The 35 only just stopped but yes it did go near Sighthill. The 300 that we have now is the old 35 route just that it is now a posh blue bus and it charges a bit more if you are going to the airport. 

Silvery_Moon
32 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Old days 34/35 did the reverse route Sighthill to Lochend.

35 would go through Longstone to Lochend but back through Gorgie to Sighthill

34 would go through Gorgie to Lochend but back through Longstone to Sighthill

:spoton: sir