Attendances this season

Gorgiewave

1 hour ago, All Out Attack said:

Reality check required here. 

As long as we have empty seats in Tynecastle, we are losing money. More than anyone, kids also tend to spend a fortune on food and drink at the games which is also being lost.

Believe it or not, everthing the club does, is not automatically the best way and needs defended. Sometimes, there are better ways to do things. Filling your stadium with the next generation, like Hibs are doing,  is one of them. 

More importantly, if kids don't come to Tynecastle at a young age, they could end up veering to the dark side, then we could lose them for life. 

Before you go raving about how good kids prices are, Hearts also treat 15 and 16 year olds as if they are in employment. This is pretty distasteful and the bigger stadium means the is simply no reason to do this anymore. 

Little bit vision is required sometimes for a longer term view. 

Utter shite!

Hearts offer excellent prices. Just because we might not have the very cheapest prices, it doesn't mean they're the wrong prices. 

• Replies 232

• All Out Attack

• i wish jj was my dad

• Spencer

30 minutes ago, All Out Attack said:

The conversation was about getting kids to games, they are the future support base after all

We get kids to games!

26 minutes ago, Ryder said:

Theres loads of kids at Hearts games. What are you slavering about? :lol:

He's one of those strange posters who spends all their time looking for excuses to have a go at Hearts. He certainly picked an apt username!

6 hours ago, Enzo Chiefo said:

No-one has mentioned the 2 occasions in our history when we have played them at Hampden.  Both entitled to a 50:50 split and we hammered them both on and off the park in 2006 and 2012. They have never beaten us at Hampden and won't be doing so this season either.

Thats why we are the big team, :smile:

17 minutes ago, FarmerTweedy said:

We get kids to games!

We do, and lots of them. I do think Hibs have been pushing hard to attract younger fans though. Time will tell if it works or not, but in the meantime, it's a bit embarassing for them when they announce their official crowds just now. The empty seats all over the place just make a mockery of their  official attendance - clearly there are either hundreds or more tickets given away, and/or hundreds or more tickets bought as season tickets that are rarely/never used.

24 minutes ago, FarmerTweedy said:

He's one of those strange posters who spends all their time looking for excuses to have a go at Hearts. He certainly picked an apt username!

It’s clutching at straws with this one though. Hibs are giving away thousands of free tickets because they have the space, and nobody else would buy them. They are hoping to keep some of those kids in the future. We are attracting plenty young supporters as it is.

55 minutes ago, Ryder said:

Theres loads of kids at Hearts games. What are you slavering about? :lol:

I don't see anything wrong with the club being more proactive in getting kids interested in following Hearts, whose families can't normally afford it. .

Just read the replies from the kids who have benefited from Dagger's "Donate a ticket to a future Jambo" scheme for confirmation.

4 minutes ago, Jingle Bells said:

I don't see anything wrong with the club being more proactive in getting kids interested in following Hearts, whose families can't normally afford it. .

Just read the replies from the kids who have benefited from Dagger's "Donate a ticket to a future Jambo" scheme for confirmation.

If we start doing that, then won’t the parents of the kids who are paying £50 for their kid’s ticket feel a wee bit put out?

I think I prefer Dagger’s scheme.

Edited by Ryder

37 minutes ago, FarmerTweedy said:

It's funny watching these threads with the usual suspects diving in to slag of our club while bigging up our green neighbours. Then they complain when someone suggests that they might just be on the wrong forum. Never to be seen any time we win or have good news off the pitch

1 minute ago, XB52 said:

It's funny watching these threads with the usual suspects diving in to slag of our club while bigging up our green neighbours. Then they complain when someone suggests that they might just be on the wrong forum. Never to be seen any time we win or have good news off the pitch

Totally agree. 

All Out Attack
1 hour ago, davemclaren said:

You are right in that we need to encourage kids. I think we handed out free tickets previously but that seems to have stopped now. There is a balance to be had though and a kids ticket for £50 a season ( if that is correct ) is great value imo. 

It is great value. 

The trouble is still have lots empty seats every week, so they're is scope for more. 

How much are we losing in food and drink sales on each empty seat.

Season tickets have already been sold, so we should now be giving them away in some way shape or form. Perhaps then we will get a season ticket sale from them next year. 

Bit of creativity required. 

5 minutes ago, All Out Attack said:

It is great value. 

The trouble is still have lots empty seats every week, so they're is scope for more. 

How much are we losing in food and drink sales on each empty seat.

Season tickets have already been sold, so we should now be giving them away in some way shape or form. Perhaps then we will get a season ticket sale from them next year. 

Bit of creativity required. 

More often than not when I get served at a kiosk, they are sold out of just about everything.

24 minutes ago, Ryder said:

If we start doing that, then won’t the parents of the kids who are paying £50 for their kid’s ticket feel a wee bit put out?

I think I prefer Dagger’s scheme.

Most are a bit bigger than that.

There doesn't seem to be any mean spiritness towards Dagger's scheme where both adults and kids are attending for free, whom may or may not be able to afford it, in return for good behaviour at school.

1 minute ago, Jingle Bells said:

Most are a bit bigger than that.

There doesn't seem to be any mean spiritness towards Dagger's scheme where both adults and kids are attending for free, whom may or may not be able to afford it, in return for good behaviour at school.

As I said, I think Dagger’s initiative is absolutely outstanding. You will hear no arguments from me on that one.

The empty spaces at Tynecastle are mainly down to hospitality however, I think.

There are plenty of kids at games these days.

It's the young adult age group that i think has diminished over time, mainly because they have to pay full price for tickets on lower (or no) income.

17 hours ago, All Out Attack said:

I think if you take away the inflated away fan figures from Murrayfield is pretty close between ourselves and Hibs. Our home figures were also inflated due to some of the deals we had on during that spell. 

I don't think anyone can deny that Hibs have had a good a season and have kicked on, playing attacking football. The bottom line is goals and wins keep crowds coming back. Hibs will hit a slump sometime, so we'll see what happens to their crowds then. 

Our own season ticket sales next season are going to be intesting as we won't have the uniqness of the new stand as a draw. I think we may need a cup win or some genuinely exciting signings this time, to maintain our upward attendance trajectory. 

If we’re comparing supports there’s really no contest. You’re forgetting the small matter of 8000 or so jambos sending the club at least 10 quid a month in addition to turning up for games in consistently high numbers (not just when doing well in the league).

Hibs are 4th and out the cup in this “good season” they’re having.

Next season will be the first full season for the new improved Tynie. Given how Levein has turned things around I think we’ll break recent ST records.

4 minutes ago, socrates82 said:

If we’re comparing supports there’s really no contest. You’re forgetting the small matter of 8000 or so jambos sending the club at least 10 quid a month in addition to turning up for games in consistently high numbers (not just when doing well in the league).

Hibs are 4th and out the cup in this “good season” they’re having.

Next season will be the first full season for the new improved Tynie. Given how Levein has turned things around I think we’ll break recent ST records.

Aye, but take away our bigger attendances and it’s pretty close likesay...

4 hours ago, hughesie27 said:

Aren't our U-12 tickets £50?

That's cheap enough for me I reckon. Just over £2.50 a game is great value.

Fair comment - that is good value. My children are grown up so will not take a keen interest in this until any grandchildren are of age..... 

14 hours ago, Poseidon said:

Craig Levein record as player, manager or DoF versus Hibs;

P64   W29   D24  L11

Take the DOF stats out of it (when he had no impact on the team) and the stats are better. 

All Out Attack
33 minutes ago, socrates82 said:

In my opinion  you need momentum to continue increasing season ticket sales and unless we win the Scottish I just can't see it. 

We are already running at 40 year highs just now. I think this is a legacy of the Romanov era and then the combined need to save our club. 

Without a cup win, the style of football we play, isn't the most inspiring for attracting supporters.

Your faith in Levein isn't supported by history either. 

There was a significant drop in attendances the last time he was in charge, as per earlier post. His football style was the same then as it is now. 

With a cup win we may break 15,000 ST's. 

The last  time Craig Levein was in charge was between 2000-2004. 

1997-98 22 16642

1998-99 22 13966

1999-00 19 14115

2000-01 24 12346

2001-02 21 11974

2002-03 20 11758

2003-04 24 12219

2004-05 26 13030

2005-06 23 18155

2006-07 22 18604

2007-08 21 15566

1 minute ago, All Out Attack said:

In my opinion  you need momentum to continue increasing season ticket sales and unless we win the Scottish I just can't see it. 

We are already running at 40 year highs just now. I think this is a legacy of the Romanov era and then the combined need to save our club. 

Without a cup win, the style of football we play, isn't the most inspiring for attracting supporters.

There was a significant drop in attendances the last time he was in charge, as per earlier post. His football style was the same then as it is now. 

1997-98 22 16642

1998-99 22 13966

1999-00 19 14115

2000-01 24 12346

2001-02 21 11974

2002-03 20 11758

2003-04 24 12219

2004-05 26 13030

2005-06 23 18155

2006-07 22 18604

2007-08 21 15566

Where are you getting these attendance stats from?

The 05-06 and 06-07 figures were more than Tynecastle actually held at the time?

All Out Attack
3 minutes ago, heartsfc_fan said:

Where are you getting these attendance stats from?

The 05-06 and 06-07 figures were more than Tynecastle actually held at the time?

Showing your age here. 

I pretty sure it will include the AEK game here. 

All Out Attack
23 minutes ago, King prawn said:

Do the figures from the late nineties and early 2000s include the season ticket figures? 

He is a larger list. 

I remember the yo yo years, we really were something else and attendances reflected this. 

Up until the 3 new stands were built, we were also getting much larger away supports from the ugly sisters, which inflated figures. 

I'm pretty sure Murrayfield games in Europe inflated some years around 2006

The previous Levein era is again in bold. 

1945-46 18074

1946-47 19310

1947-48 23624

1948-49 28014

1949-50 27325

1950-51 23917

1951-52 25238

1952-53 22377

1953-54 26248

1954-55 23133

1955-56 23588

1956-57 23882

1957-58 24159

1958-59 21471

1959-60 23059

1960-61 20294

1961-62 13828

1962-63 12778

1963-64 13834

1964-65 16786

1965-66 12110

1966-67 10241

1967-68 11228

1968-69 11546

1969-70 12475

1970-71 11667

1971-72 11196

1972-73 10261

1973-74 11733

1974-75 12225

1975-76 12677

1976-77 11716

1977-78 9863

1978-79 10887

1979-80 5734

1980-81 7759

1981-82 5157

1982-83 5913

1983-84 11914

1984-85 11305

1985-86 16198

1986-87 14499

1987-88 16633

1988-89 15367

1989-90 15694

1990-91 13232

1991-92 13317

1992-93 9829

1993-94 11019

1994-95 10124

1995-96 12078

1996-97 12349

1997-98 15337

1998-99 14183

1999-00 14246

2000-01 12774

2001-02 12080

2002-03 12037

2003-04 11962

2004-05 12272

2005-06 16762

2006-07 16889

2007-08 15933

2008-09 14398

2009-10 14497

2010-11 14186

2011-12 13386

2012-13 13163

2013-14 15434

9 minutes ago, All Out Attack said:

He is a larger list. 

I remember the yo yo years, we really were something else and attendances reflected this. 

Up until the 3 new stands were built, we were also getting much larger away supports from the ugly sisters, which inflated figures. 

1945-46 18074

1946-47 19310

1947-48 23624

1948-49 28014

1949-50 27325

1950-51 23917

1951-52 25238

1952-53 22377

1953-54 26248

1954-55 23133

1955-56 23588

1956-57 23882

1957-58 24159

1958-59 21471

1959-60 23059

1960-61 20294

1961-62 13828

1962-63 12778

1963-64 13834

1964-65 16786

1965-66 12110

1966-67 10241

1967-68 11228

1968-69 11546

1969-70 12475

1970-71 11667

1971-72 11196

1972-73 10261

1973-74 11733

1974-75 12225

1975-76 12677

1976-77 11716

1977-78 9863

1978-79 10887

1979-80 5734

1980-81 7759

1981-82 5157

1982-83 5913

1983-84 11914

1984-85 11305

1985-86 16198

1986-87 14499

1987-88 16633

1988-89 15367

1989-90 15694

1990-91 13232

1991-92 13317

1992-93 9829

1993-94 11019

1994-95 10124

1995-96 12078

1996-97 12349

1997-98 15337

1998-99 14183

1999-00 14246

2000-01 12774

2001-02 12080

2002-03 12037

2003-04 11962

2004-05 12272

2005-06 16762

2006-07 16889

2007-08 15933

2008-09 14398

2009-10 14497

2010-11 14186

2011-12 13386

2012-13 13163

2013-14 15434

Will that be the Levein era where we became the first British team to qualify for the group stage of the UEFA Cup and qualified for Europe two years on the bounce amid Chris Robinson protests?

Gotcha.

12 minutes ago, All Out Attack said:

He is a larger list. 

1945-46 18074

1946-47 19310

1947-48 23624

1948-49 28014

1949-50 27325

1950-51 23917

1951-52 25238

1952-53 22377

1953-54 26248

1954-55 23133

1955-56 23588

1956-57 23882

1957-58 24159

1958-59 21471

1959-60 23059

1960-61 20294

1961-62 13828

1962-63 12778

1963-64 13834

1964-65 16786

1965-66 12110

1966-67 10241

1967-68 11228

1968-69 11546

1969-70 12475

1970-71 11667

1971-72 11196

1972-73 10261

1973-74 11733

1974-75 12225

1975-76 12677

1976-77 11716

1977-78 9863

1978-79 10887

1979-80 5734

1980-81 7759

1981-82 5157

1982-83 5913

1983-84 11914

1984-85 11305

1985-86 16198

1986-87 14499

1987-88 16633

1988-89 15367

1989-90 15694

1990-91 13232

1991-92 13317

1992-93 9829

1993-94 11019

1994-95 10124

1995-96 12078

1996-97 12349

1997-98 15337

1998-99 14183

1999-00 14246

2000-01 12774

2001-02 12080

2002-03 12037

2003-04 11962

2004-05 12272

2005-06 16762

2006-07 16889

2007-08 15933

2008-09 14398

2009-10 14497

2010-11 14186

2011-12 13386

2012-13 13163

2013-14 15434

Different figures from your first list. You enjoying just making things up to paint Levein in a bad light?

All Out Attack
2 minutes ago, Rudolf said:

Different figures from your first list. You enjoying just making things up to paint Levein in a bad light?

I Google'd this and these were actually taken from an old JKB thread, they are not mine. I have no reason to doubt them though. 

3 minutes ago, All Out Attack said:

I Google'd this and these were actually taken from an old JKB thread, they are not mine. I have no reason to doubt them though. 

What about answering my previous post then?

'Will that be the Levein era where we became the first British team to qualify for the group stage of the UEFA Cup and qualified for Europe two years on the bounce amid Chris Robinson protests?

Gotcha.'

We also finished top scorers outwith the OF both seasons.

I'm sure your mob finished 8th and entered the inter tattie:laugh:

2 hours ago, Nookie Bear said:

It's the young adult age group that i think has diminished over time, mainly because they have to pay full price for tickets on lower (or no) income.

Or because they are at ER where nobdy gives a **** if they behave a bit naughty.

All Out Attack
1 minute ago, Governor Tarkin said:

Or because they are at ER where nobdy gives a **** if they behave a bit naughty.

I have previously asked some Hibs supporting friends this very question and to be fair they didn't deny it either. 

32 minutes ago, All Out Attack said:

He is a larger list. 

1945-46 18074

1946-47 19310

1947-48 23624

1948-49 28014

1949-50 27325

1950-51 23917

1951-52 25238

1952-53 22377

1953-54 26248

1954-55 23133

1955-56 23588

1956-57 23882

1957-58 24159

1958-59 21471

1959-60 23059

1960-61 20294

1961-62 13828

1962-63 12778

1963-64 13834

1964-65 16786

1965-66 12110

1966-67 10241

1967-68 11228

1968-69 11546

1969-70 12475

1970-71 11667

1971-72 11196

1972-73 10261

1973-74 11733

1974-75 12225

1975-76 12677

1976-77 11716

1977-78 9863

1978-79 10887

1979-80 5734

1980-81 7759

1981-82 5157

1982-83 5913

1983-84 11914

1984-85 11305

1985-86 16198

1986-87 14499

1987-88 16633

1988-89 15367

1989-90 15694

1990-91 13232

1991-92 13317

1992-93 9829

1993-94 11019

1994-95 10124

1995-96 12078

1996-97 12349

1997-98 15337

1998-99 14183

1999-00 14246

2000-01 12774

2001-02 12080

2002-03 12037

2003-04 11962

2004-05 12272

2005-06 16762

2006-07 16889

2007-08 15933

2008-09 14398

2009-10 14497

2010-11 14186

2011-12 13386

2012-13 13163

2013-14 15434

Thanks for the long list of numbers but you didn't answer my question..

All Out Attack
Just now, King prawn said:

Thanks for the long list of numbers but you didn't answer my question..

I have absolutely no idea. 

As I said earlier, they came from a previous JKB thread and I posted the link above so you can look through it yourself. 

4 hours ago, davemclaren said:

You are right in that we need to encourage kids. I think we handed out free tickets previously but that seems to have stopped now. There is a balance to be had though and a kids ticket for £50 a season ( if that is correct ) is great value imo. 

£50 for U13s. 

12 minutes ago, All Out Attack said:

I have absolutely no idea. 

As I said earlier, they came from a previous JKB thread and I posted the link above so you can look through it yourself. 

Also relevant is that Levein’s budget was reduced each season as we were entering a financial mire. 

1 hour ago, All Out Attack said:

1997-98 22 16642

1998-99 22 13966

1999-00 19 14115

2000-01 24 12346

2001-02 21 11974

2002-03 20 11758

2003-04 24 12219

2004-05 26 13030

2005-06 23 18155

2006-07 22 18604

2007-08 21 15566

Your faith in Levein? Time to exit stage left.

All Out Attack
1 minute ago, davemclaren said:

Also relevant is that Levein’s budget was reduced each season as we were entering a financial mire. 

I know. 

Was that not the time when Romanov was attending games, but hadn't commit himself yet. Money was scarce. 

Coburg Hearts
6 minutes ago, All Out Attack said:

I know. 

Was that not the time when Romanov was attending games, but hadn't commit himself yet. Money was scarce. 

Is it true that you are green ginger on hibs.net? If so, you can :bolt:

All Out Attack
1 minute ago, Coburg Hearts said:

Is it true that you are green ginger on hibs.net? If so, you can :bolt:

I take it that is an insult. 

If so it has passed me by, as I don't have the foggiest who that is. 

Coburg Hearts
Just now, All Out Attack said:

I take it that is an insult. 

If so it has passed me by, as I don't have the foggiest who that is. 

Rightie oh, then. I doubt there is a Jambo on kickback who has never heard of green ginger, but for someone like yourself who is never away from here, it beggars belief. 

Only green ginger himself would deny knowing him, so again I say, :bolt:and double :bolt:

All Out Attack
1 minute ago, Coburg Hearts said:

Rightie oh, then. I doubt there is a Jambo on kickback who has never heard of green ginger, but for someone like yourself who is never away from here, it beggars belief. 

Only green ginger himself would deny knowing him, so again I say, :bolt:and double :bolt:

Nice

I think you will find that when you reach your 50's, whatever the dross that's gets spouted on Hibs.net, is really not that important. There is enough on here for me to deal with. 

33 minutes ago, John Findlay said:

£50 for U13s. 

John, not trying to be pedantic but it was £55 this season, £50 for U12's last season, bleeding new menu in the new main stand blows the value for money:mad:

Coburg Hearts
13 minutes ago, All Out Attack said:

Nice

I think you will find that when you reach your 50's, whatever the dross that's gets spouted on Hibs.net, is really not that important. There is enough on here for me to deal with. 

It'll be a long time before I'm in my fifties.

3 minutes ago, john5698 said:

John, not trying to be pedantic but it was £55 this season, £50 for U12's last season, bleeding new menu in the new main stand blows the value for money:mad:

My mistake you are bang on.

Don't forget the wage bill was getting slashed massively every season because of the debt. Wage bill was under half of what Jefferies had to play with by 2004. Levein did well in a not so happy club at the time!

1 minute ago, johnking123 said:

Don't forget the wage bill was getting slashed massively every season because of the debt. Wage bill was under half of what Jefferies had to play with by 2004. Levein did well in a not so happy club at the time!

correct, he must have been really pissed season after season having his budget cut, but he did really well.

All Out Attack
14 minutes ago, john5698 said:

correct, he must have been really pissed season after season having his budget cut, but he did really well.

As a manger at that time he was fine, but we weren't the most exciting team to watch. 

Levein himself bailed out when he saw what was coming but he got a good move for himself to Leicester. 

4 hours ago, XB52 said:

23 hours ago, Gorgiewave said:

Taken from .net

Hibernian persons lamenting us "doing a Kilmarnock" by offering Rangers a large allocation forget we were really doing a Hibs:

SPFL attendances.jpg

Dunfermline and Falkirk have done well

Top 12 are city centre or traditional grounds