Some oldies might remember this

jambo1961

I was given an old 70s scarf as a kid similar to the pin striped one and it got binned as it was old fashioned to a boy of 11 (wish I'd kept it) but I did hold onto my scarf from my teenage year's, (not looked this out for years) wonder if I'll still get accused of being a Hibby after posting this? ?

20180224_122919-picsay.jpg

• Replies 175
2 minutes ago, farin said:

Should start a scarf thread Morgan ?

56410EAD-2FE1-4B1F-80C3-44071229AD20.jpeg

Ya shite! You found yours and I cannae still find mine :facepalm: 

1-0 to you then :lol:

9 hours ago, Shedro said:

I was given an old 70s scarf as a kid similar to the pin striped one and it got binned as it was old fashioned to a boy of 11 (wish I'd kept it) but I did hold onto my scarf from my teenage year's, (not looked this out for years) wonder if I'll still get accused of being a Hibby after posting this? ?

I remember that one Shedro.

Good scarf :2thumbsup:

1 minute ago, farin said:

Get the wife telt tae get in there & help oot with the searching. ?  

I would mate, but she’s lying in a drunken mess the now.

Women and wine :lion:

1 hour ago, farin said:

Should start a scarf thread Morgan ?

56410EAD-2FE1-4B1F-80C3-44071229AD20.jpeg

10 hours ago, Shedro said:

Had them both , wish I still did ??

aberhill jambo
On 23 February 2018 at 20:18, Morgan said:

:nojustno:

You didn’t pierce your own ear did you? 

Neil Grant hairdresser over the back of Hanover Street between Queen Street and George Street for me. :sweeet:

Yeh Methil man 3 tries to get it right left ear never the right and never ever both.

Guys in my class used to hanve made to measure jerseys think the were called Arthur Blacks if I remember correctly.

N Lincs Jambo
On 2/23/2018 at 23:21, Shedro said:

The days when folk would stash drink under their flares before entering the ground  ?

Screenshot_20180223-231912-picsay.png

Only ever did that the once. Dug out my old flared jeans for the Scotland v Argentina match at Hampden in 79. 4 cans of Tennents Lager successfully smuggled in. Only problem was it was a boiling hot day and that plus keeping lager effectively at body temperature rendered the last 2 cans pretty undrinkable. Went on to vodka injected oranges after that :lol:

On Saturday, February 24, 2018 at 09:47, Morgan said:

If it was the right ear were you not considered a poof?

3 hours ago, N Lincs Jambo said:

Only ever did that the once. Dug out my old flared jeans for the Scotland v Argentina match at Hampden in 79. 4 cans of Tennents Lager successfully smuggled in. Only problem was it was a boiling hot day and that plus keeping lager effectively at body temperature rendered the last 2 cans pretty undrinkable. Went on to vodka injected oranges after that :lol:

Adidas Sambas Never out of fashion.

33 minutes ago, John Findlay said:

It certainly was John.

1 hour ago, John Findlay said:

Both ears, well that's just wrong. On a dude i mean.

3 minutes ago, farin said:

Knew I had some of the centenary envelopes somewhere. 1 signed by players the other signed by directors. ? 

7696F692-524C-4BC8-B080-EF41CA34A507.jpeg

I can see Alfie Conn, Alex Young, Jimmy Wardhaugh, Bobby Parker. 

Absolutely splendid collection of stuff you’ve got.

This is not the end of it...!

Watch this space :lol:

3 minutes ago, Shedro said:

Had this badge since 1983 so it's old in my time line. 

20180307_144520-picsay.jpg

That’s a wee beauty!

Here's a couple I inherited.

28661185_1816532685032662_60414691423179

On 19/02/2018 at 18:11, jambo1961 said:

*ya bass*

Did anyone from Edinburgh say that in those days? By the time I was growing up in the 80's-90's it was always 'bampot' or 'ya bam'. One girl from Gorgie told me and my pals "I'll sparkle you ya teapot" :D

On 20/02/2018 at 11:31, jbee647 said:

Young Keir Hardie Terror who hung about Keir Hardie Hall from Dundee Street Fountainbridge Watson Crescent area, TCR from Tollcross and Cal-D from Dalry

When I lived in fountainbridge for a joke I went round writing 'Fountainbridge Team'. Must've taken off because years later I still see it written in places occasionally.

On 19/02/2018 at 18:11, jambo1961 said:

image.thumb.png.7946c3efe5571ad0a66084b87a857bbc.png

On 19/02/2018 at 22:51, Morgan said:

Jungle was Gilmerton area wasn’t it?

On 20/02/2018 at 13:11, Morgan said:

Part of mine.

59345798-4C35-4DD3-8C18-1E2C898EFC36.jpeg

6CFEBA75-49F3-406D-B902-564105F994C6.jpeg

F6D56D01-A343-496F-B95B-ED96C7475FD0.jpeg

On 20/02/2018 at 14:55, rmreido said:

Snap!20180220_145232.thumb.jpg.0082ae529db7fd1e64e2533b88bc3bfd.jpg

On 20/02/2018 at 14:59, Morgan said:

I’ve got more to post but the feckin thing won’t upload.

Watch this space!

On 20/02/2018 at 17:19, Morgan said:

At last.

9B222BE0-7905-418F-8C6A-B2209AA4545A.jpeg

7E30D831-8FA2-41CC-99F3-F1B0145EBD76.jpeg

Off topic, but there must be some way to prevent images being shown in quotes.

Just now, farin said:

Did your our envelope have the wee pamphlet inside them like mines have ?. It’s the 1 on the left. 

D1DB5685-6925-44DB-82F2-DCE9541AD26E.jpeg

Yes it did Farin.

It’s in with my programme collection in our storage unit.

2 minutes ago, LesJambes said:

Off topic, but there must be some way to prevent images being shown in quotes.

Good point. :thumb:

Incidentally, see last night? I was quoting the wrong person when replying to you. My mistake, sorry.

2 minutes ago, farin said:

I’m sure you’ll like this press pic. ?

64917D09-83C5-40F2-A013-60ADEC49B0F2.jpeg

I’m guessing that photo was taken in Oliver’s bar?

5 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Good point. :thumb:

Incidentally, see last night? I was quoting the wrong person when replying to you. My mistake, sorry.

Nae bother mate, I was drinking vodka and no doubt saying something daft t deserve it anyway! :D

16 minutes ago, ...a bit disco said:

Here's a couple I inherited.

28661185_1816532685032662_60414691423179

Lovely jubbly!

Just now, LesJambes said:

Nae bother mate, I was drinking vodka and no doubt saying something daft! :D

:2thumbsup:

Beer and wine for me!

Just now, farin said:

No idea & the back doesn't give any details either. Someone on here will recognise it prob.

Is that one of the West brothers on the left of the pic?

The pair that went on to own Harry’s Bar at the West End.

On 20/02/2018 at 21:38, 22games nro said:

What were the Airdrie guys called, the bother we used to have going through there would make your hair curl,

Im thinking it was section B or D or something like that ??

Section B. Total headcases!

On 20/02/2018 at 17:55, Roxy Hearts said:

YNT and Niddrie full of Hibbies! All my mates were!

That's disappointing, I always thought south Edinburgh was mostly jambos, and north Edinburgh mostly hibees. When I lived in Wester Hailes I think most of the people I knew were celtic fans. :(