Jordan McGhee EEN article

HamishMcGonagall

Fed up hearing same stuff after virtually every match under Cathro. Not good enough / bounce back / boys gutted etc.

Some different players this season - but there's a common denominator with our poor performances and he's in the dugout.

Clearly is a pop at RN. Perhaps there is merit in what he's saying.

Talk is cheap however. He needs to seize his chance. He's probably fortunate that we'll play with a 3 and that Hughes isn't likely to play every week.

I suspect his contract will be renewed and he'll stay

McGhee needs to keep his mouth shut and focus on playing. Gave the impression that he got a bit big for his boots and thought he deserved a move away.

Think he's realised at Boro that he's not ready to make a massive step up just yet. Let's hope he's learned a lot from that and focuses on improving.

Sounds like he is prepared to knuckle down which is good. We really may need to rely on him this season. Obviously Neilson never believed in him. Neither do a lot of supporters though tbf, Jordan has it all to do just to redeem that handball against Aberdeen never mind everything else. Maybe this season can be the making of the man, we certainly could do with it

As usual when you read the actual article he just talks himself up and how he's learnt this and that, he may sound like he's on Cathro's side but as soon as he is dropped he will be wanting a move, I really don't like this guys attitude, I don't know him personally so can only comment on quotes I have read in newspapers etc over the years,  even when he moved to Boro he said he would learn more at U23 level than he would at Hearts, an element of this may be true however he was still contracted to us so I don't agree with talking down your parent club like he did tbh. 

As always I want all Hearts players to succeed but having watched him on Tuesday I think its clear he is not good enough, he talks about being a player who likes to lift his head and pick a pass, I've yet to see him really do this, he needs an extra touch to get the ball under control and in Scotland guys are on top of you straight away, he should already be a step ahead in his brain and thinking if I get this pass it is going to this area/player, I don't think that is the case as he always looks rushed, his only hope of a starting 11 spot imo is that Hughes keeps getting injured and he gets a chance when he's out.

Players were "devasted" , aye ?

There's nothing more to say then. 

A barnstorming , must win game on Saturday that IC knows is now critical to be followed by more utter dross the week after.

Write the script now. 

maroonnicky63

As usual when you read the actual article he just talks himself up and how he's learnt this and that, he may sound like he's on Cathro's side but as soon as he is dropped he will be wanting a move, I really don't like this guys attitude, I don't know him personally so can only comment on quotes I have read in newspapers etc over the years,  even when he moved to Boro he said he would learn more at U23 level than he would at Hearts, an element of this may be true however he was still contracted to us so I don't agree with talking down your parent club like he did tbh. 

As always I want all Hearts players to succeed but having watched him on Tuesday I think its clear he is not good enough, he talks about being a player who likes to lift his head and pick a pass, I've yet to see him really do this, he needs an extra touch to get the ball under control and in Scotland guys are on top of you straight away, he should already be a step ahead in his brain and thinking if I get this pass it is going to this area/player, I don't think that is the case as he always looks rushed, his only hope of a starting 11 spot imo is that Hughes keeps getting injured and he gets a chance when he's out.

Don't agree at all , I have always thought Jordan was a really good prospect and nothing has happened to change my mind, he deserves a decent run. The stick he took on here from the numpties was disgraceful. Good on him

All about opinions, however just because someone else has a different opinion to you does not make them a numpty, personally have yet to see anything that has made me think he will make it, and I look at all players with an open view then make up my mind, some players can make you change your mind but I just don't think he will unfortunately.  And this is not a knee jerk reaction to the Peterhead result, he never really impressed me last week either, when East Fife did actually press us in the second half he looked out his depth.

Cruyff Turn

He obviously doesn't like RN very much, other than that he's not said anything wrong. Always been a good player and just turned 21 so he's got his best years ahead of him and I have every confidence he will become a good player for us this year.

Probably did gain a fair bit of experience playing in the U23 League but seems like he's back here to knuckle down and get on with it.

Your support of young players is admirable. But it's also highly blinkered

He obviously doesn't like RN very much, other than that he's not said anything wrong. Always been a good player and just turned 21 so he's got his best years ahead of him and I have every confidence he will become a good player for us this year.

Probably did gain a fair bit of experience playing in the U23 League but seems like he's back here to knuckle down and get on with it.

Think having Berra here could be huge for Jordan. He needs to commit to his long term development at Hearts, Berra was 24 before he moved south McGhee is only 21. Long way to go before he is fit to lace Berra's boots.

Pretty standard interview.

If he's in the team he's going to be happy, if not he's going to be unhappy.

Play at 100% every week and he'll do ok.

He was skinned so easily in the lead up to the penalty in Peterhead.

Can't be arsed with his brain farts every week.

If he's custodian of a Hearts Jersey for short or long term, good on him. All else, does matter.

Long long way to go b4 legend.

Fed up hearing same stuff after virtually every match under Cathro. Not good enough / bounce back / boys gutted etc.

Some different players this season - but there's a common denominator with our poor performances and he's in the dugout.

the cathro threads are still on the go. we changed our style ( slow it down, past it about for a while then pass it about a bit more, don't get passionate and speed up) long before cathro, it was probably the biggest nail in neilsons coffin and is draining the life out of the fans. this style cant be laid at cathros door. things aint gonna change until someone instills some drive and passion into the players. watch any recent derby will show you where its lost, theres just no get up and go

Pretty standard interview.

If he's in the team he's going to be happy, if not he's going to be unhappy.

Play at 100% every week and he'll do ok.

Aside from how he plays of course his chances depend on the fitness of Aaron Hughes

But this could be his big break. To be fair to Robbie Neilson McGhee needed to improve and maybe he has come back from Middlesbrough a better player.

Cruyff Turn

Think having Berra here could be huge for Jordan. He needs to commit to his long term development at Hearts, Berra was 24 before he moved south McGhee is only 21. Long way to go before he is fit to lace Berra's boots.

Yip, Berra always had the physical size to compete at that level, he was still quite raw in some aspects as well.

McGhees a bit of a Steven Pressley type character, he's head strong, a leader and a winner. He's always been the captain of his team, always, at youth level, as a youth International.

In 3-4 years time McGhee will be a very good player for us.

He just needs games and more experience.

Nothing wrong with what Jordan says in the article; it's just that many of us are fed up hearing the same excuses. Was hoping this season would be a new beginning but sadly it's the same old story.

Hollow words. I won't give any credence to these statements after Cathro's "we'll never play like that again" comments following the Hibs replay. The performance at Firhill on the Saturday was an absolute disgrace. I'd be raging if I'd been at Peterhead on Tuesday. 

7 months of talk.

Nothing to show for it on the pitch.

30 games 'in charge' and 2 good performances imo (Rangers and Motherwell).  Seriously that is absolutely diabolical!!!

It is just not happening for him.

I've not written McGhee off yet - given captaincy most games for Boro's U23s so they obviously saw something in him. He's been really vocal in the games I've seen him play for us this term.

Here comes maroonnicky the protector of all youth players where they can never be "not good enough"

I dont believe Jordan will make it at Hearts i dont think he is good enough and upto the time he moved showed no development improvement.

Every time we capitulated last season, a player was wheeled out to apologise to the fans.

It happened all too often and before July is out its d?ja vu.

Words mean nothing. Get it done on the park.

We are not stupid and are not interested in players apologising.

THIS

And it was and is continuing to be a different player(s) after every bad result.  What is the point in having a captain as it is rarely the captain that speaks. Even all 100 different ones we had last season.

a player was wheeled out to apologise to the fans. .

????

You think that a member of staff from the club (presumably Cathro) asks a different player to approach the media after every defeat to apologies?

Every time we capitulated last season, a player was wheeled out to apologise to the fans.

It happened all too often and before July is out its d?ja vu.

Words mean nothing. Get it done on the park.

We are not stupid and are not interested in players apologising.

Saturday is the test for the players to show it

The good thing is unusually qualifying can put the Peterhead game to a footnote

????

You think that a member of staff from the club (presumably Cathro) asks a different player to approach the media after every defeat to apologies?

Not being funny but it clearly looks like this is the case.

Not read the article, no need. Do the talking on the park be it Peterhead, Dunfermline or Celtic. We can all talk a good game!

No it doesn't. How could it?

Becasue it is a different player after every horrendous Cathro result.  They are starting to get quite random with Mcghee now though.  They probably have someone lined up for the eventuality of another one on Saturday.  I'll go for Bauben next time.

Becasue it is a different player after every horrendous Cathro result. They are starting to get quite random with Mcghee now though. They probably have someone lined up for the eventuality of another one on Saturday. I'll go for Bauben next time.

Justified that you want Cathro out but what is not justified is you making up Pish about him on every thread you post on I8

Doesn't really matter who says what it matters on the pitch. McGhee has an opportunity to further his career he either takes it or he doesn't that's up to him. His return doesn't matter one way or another we would've needed another central defender so it was either him or use his transfer fee to buy one. Probably better it's him for now if his heads right as he knows the league and the club and should have a point to prove.

But same as last season talk is cheap let's see it on Saturday.

No it doesn't. How could it?

It does look like that. We get embarrassed and then in the following few days a player is wheeled out to go through the motions in a statement about fight and hunger.

So now Cathro controls what the players say to the media???

**** sake guys yous are paranoid.

Justified that you want Cathro out but what is not justified is you making up Pish about him on every thread you post on I8

To be fair to I8 we have over the last 6 months had this type of chat in the papers from a variety of players. Personally its likely the papers are struggling for stories and hitting any player they can with some quite happy to chat and us ****ing it up with Peterhead is a decent story.

Though these interviews the second day after a game eg Tues / Thu normally take place immediately post match and are published in a way giving the impression its today

Maybe got that one on the bus back from game

It is not pish though  - the evidence is there.  A different player comes out to say how sorry they are and how unacceptable it is after almost every game.

Ian Cathro is the worst thing to ever happen to our football club.

To be fair to I8 we have over the last 6 months had this type of chat in the papers from a variety of players. Personally its likely the papers are struggling for stories and hitting any player they can with some quite happy to chat and us ******* it up with Peterhead is a decent story.

Not disputing that we have had the same chat, but to think a player is sent to the media to say this after every defeat is ludacris and paranoid

It is not pish though - the evidence is there. A different player comes out to say how sorry they are and how unacceptable it is after almost every game.

Ian Cathro is the worst thing to ever happen to our football club.

A different player comes out after every defeat, so you jump to the conclusion the club are sending them to the media?

I did not intend to imply that, McPhee so I apologise if it came across that way .

What I meant to convey was that after the regular defeats someone apologised and here we go again this season.

I have no idea who or how it is decided who comes out to give us the usual spiel and frankly I don't care.

Action not words, McPhee. That is what we all demand, surely.

I apologise for jumping on this comment I read it wrongly.

I agree with you, actions do speak louder than words.

Seems certain posters do believe the players are shipped out by the club ^^

Not disputing that we have had the same chat, but to think a player is sent to the media to say this after every defeat is ludacris and paranoid

The club will be obliged to supply a player for interview on a weekly basis. Same way as the managers have to give interviews.

The fact we've lost most of our games recently makes these interviews repetitive as there's not much else they can say.

I'm fairly sure there'll be a rota for interviews and this week was McGhees turn he'll be briefed by Hearts PR on what should and shouldn't be said so I8 is technically correct.

The club will be obliged to supply a player for interview on a weekly basis. Same way as the managers have to give interviews.

The fact we've lost most of our games recently makes these interviews repetitive as there's not much else they can say.

I'm fairly sure there'll be a rota for interviews and this week was McGhees turn he'll be briefed by Hearts PR on what should and shouldn't be said so I8 is technically correct.

Does Cathro tell the players what to say?

Same cirumstances.

Same message.

Different match.

Different name.

Yawn about sums it up.

Does Cathro tell the players what to say?

No he doesn't but the PR people do. So not Cathro but the club. Again though I don't care it's actions are louder than words stuff!

http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/jordan-mcghee-we-let-hearts-fans-and-the-gaffer-down-at-peterhead-1-4514763

Wonder if the comments about wanting a manager to be honest with him and to drop players when they deserve to be dropped is a not so subtle dig at Neilson..?

"The League Cup is a massive thing"

So can all the Cathro apologists drop the "It's only a pre-season warm up" crap.

Thank you.

I'd like to think there's a sincerity behind Jordan's words and he's mentally down for the hard graft required to make himself a starter. It definitely felt before that he'd had his head turned with patter about moving to England and thought he could cut it down there, but his loan spell has obviously been an eye opener. I'd rather see him playing at the back instead of Nowak.

http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/jordan-mcghee-we-let-hearts-fans-and-the-gaffer-down-at-peterhead-1-4514763

Wonder if the comments about wanting a manager to be honest with him and to drop players when they deserve to be dropped is a not so subtle dig at Neilson..?

This article has been taken from an article in another paper where what Jordan said provided more detail. the original article that wee Barry has probably had a look at and retyped indicated that while their level of performance did let the fans down, themselves down etc. etc. the main person they let down was their coach, Ian Cathro, by failing to do what they were asked to do and set themselves up in the way they were asked to do so. However, based on some of the absolute fecking drivel you can read both on this website and on Facebook I am happy to accept that in their eyes players not doing as they are asked to do is genuinely the fault of their coach, a coach who up until Tuesday night had us looking much more like a team for the first time in an awful long time. And the reason for the change on Tuesday night, these fans are blaming Cathro despite the players coming out and saying they didn't do what they were told to do.

I didn't read much more of the article so cannot comment on what else Jordan has said in general.

Gordon Ramsay

Same pish, different player.

Just win games, show commitment and play well that is all the fans want.